Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,103 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #8

Jan 042016


  • 27,000 miles


Recently I took my vehicle in because both driver and passenger seat heaters were "fried" according to the service department. There are multiple people with this same problem. Here is a post with some same owners the the same problem. I was quoted $1900 to fix the seat heaters. In one of the posts the owner stated the seat heater got burning hot. Another stated it charred the foam and even the leather. I feel like it is going to take a vehicle to catch fire or even worse someone getting injured from this problem. It is Ford problem if this is happening on multiple vehicles and all they are doing is putting in new elements until they fry again. They need to figure the issue out right and see what is causing it to happen. I feel it is a safety issue and a hazard that these problems are occurring. I am not sending this complaint because I want Ford to pay for the seat heaters. It is because it is happening to multiple owners and its a safety issue. This issue can be resolved but it seems like my service advisory didn't take this issue seriously.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #7

Jan 132016


  • 27,252 miles
Seats stop working the truck has 27,252 reading Ford forums multiple people have experenced this after the warranty has just ran out. Ford will not stand behind their product and the dealership wants $1,700 to fix the seat heaters.

- 81505, CO, USA

problem #6

Dec 112015


  • 20,960 miles
20,484 miles on truck. 10/18/15 RPM's increase but doesnt shift into next gear. 10/19/15 roadside assistance towed to dealer. Dealer found no code, sent back to me. 11/17&11/22 driver seat lost memory. 11/28/15 RPM reved when brake was applied RPM's were still increasing. 12/2 brought to dealer no code on diagnosis, sent out again without troubleshooting 20,900 miles on truck. 12/8/15 RPM's reved didnt go into gear. 12/8/15 1hr after prior failure, tried to leave driveway and 2 attempts to engage drive it wouldnt move put truck in reverse then proceeded to put in drive, stuck in 1st gear for 2 blks. 12/10/15 my 5yr old granddaughter and I drove 4 blocks before truck shifted to 2nd gear. 12/11/15 truck did not seem to be running right heard a clunk upon leaving prk lot got across 4 lanes of traffic and truck failed to shift, wrench on dashed showed and went away, dash info had lines across instead of mpg and air bag light stayed on, dealer was on my way, this time code showed and was the torque converter. I ended up driving this vehicle 500 miles iwith the torque converter failing here and there until a code showed. This caused a very dangerous condition to all on the road and much unneeded stress. I am very concerned what other components have premature wear due to continuing to drive my truck in this condition. I purchased an extended vsc from dealer but unsure what it covers so Ford will not offer extended warrenty, only offering oil changes. I do not want anyone to go through this same dangerous situation. Please act on this before deaths start occuring. After reading up on the torque converter, the symtoms my truck experienced were exact along with the truck increasing RPM's although brake was applied. Instinct is you dont continue driving a vechile that doesnt shift even due to likelyhood of other components failing and dangerous conditions in traffic.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #5

Nov 122013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,600 miles


While driving after approximately 10-15 minutes, smoke started to appear under and around the front passenger seat which rapidly converted to flames. Immediately stopped and parked the car. Opened the hood and disconnected the battery. I had an abc fire extinguisher which I used to extinguish fire.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #4

Sep 072012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
I purchased my F-150 ecoboost, on July 28, 2012. Almost immediately after purchasing it, I have had issues with the engine. Often when it rains, the truck will not start or when it does start, it refuses to go or when it is going, it will not accelerate. When I attempt to pass a slow vehicle, there is no power. The engine boggs down, to an idle. The truck has left me stranded numerous times. I took my family on a trip to miami, Florida, during the christmas holiday. On the open road the motor quit. I was able to limp it into a Ford dealer, who had to perform extensive engine repairs in able to get the truck running again. While I was driving it back to Tennessee, after 3 weeks of repairs, it happened several more times. When I attempt to pass slower vehicles, I try to accelerate and there is no power. It is dangerous, particular when traveling on 2 lane country roads with hills. Often, when I park and exit the truck, there is a strong odor of gas coming from somewhere under the hood of the vehicle. This is a fire hazard. On 2 occasions, the driver's seat has come unattached from the floor of the truck. This morning, I went to take my children to school I was driving and heard/felt thumping and the seat fell back, I was nearly laying on my back, while driving. This has happened twice. This is dangerous and scary, when it happens while driving down the road. The Ford customer care representative was very flipped and seemed to be more concerned with ensuring that I understood the terms of the warranty than the safety of my vehicle. I was insulted and humiliated, for suggesting they provide me with something to drive while they corrected the problem. The first time this happened, it took 3 weeks to fix. I bought this vehicle, I should not have to buy another vehicle to drive. To date the best fuel mileage I have gotten is 13.2 miles per gallon.

- Camden, TN, USA

problem #3

Jun 142013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Traveling hwy 70 E between saint augustine pass and aguirre springs turnoff, coming from las cruces, nm. Had just pulled back into traffic after switching from a 5'9'" driver to 4'9" driver. The seat memories were programmed for both drivers, but did not work. The short driver adjusted seats and mirrors, noticed that the electric controls seemed to be sluggish. After pulling back into traffic, the seat was a little too close to steering wheel. Driver tried to nudge seat back, but control did not work. Driver tried to adjust seat to tilt backward, but the seat moved all the way back. When trying to bring seat back up, the control stuck in the tilt forward position and folded driver in seat to where driver could no longer see above the dash (40-45 degree sharp angle of seat). Passenger navigated the vehicle onto median. Driver then pulled control with both hands, when it finally came unstuck. The injury to driver was a sore lower back lasting several days after experiencing great pressure from seat back on lumbar region. (might have been more or less severe with larger driver) local Ford dealer will service vehicle on 20 June 2013.

- Alamogordo, NM, USA

problem #2

Apr 192013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The driver seat of my 2012 Ford F150 platinum, 4X4, supercrew occasionally makes a grinding noise when I slide the seat backwards. I took my truck to the Ford lakewood dealership in Washington state and was informed that Ford had some sort of technical bulletin about the driver seat bracket. So the dealership installed a bracket which I think is supposed to provide stability support to the seat. The bracket had nothing to do with the grinding noise I hear. The seat doesn't appear or feel loose. The noise is still there.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 132012


  • 13 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F150. The contact stated that the headrest was blocking her visibility of the rear window. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they advised the contact that there were several compatible head rests that could be installed on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 13.

- Georgetown, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?