Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,241 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #86

Aug 082014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving home from vacation we had stopped and were getting back onto highway, it had been raining all the way and when were merging back onto highway I accelerated quickly the truck started shaking lost power I lifted off accelerator until the shaking had quit and then eased back in and was able to drive the rest of the way home. The check engine light came on dealer showed it as a misfire. The current fix for this is to cover the first 6 to 8 inches of the intercooler...updated 09-24-14

- Lawrenceville, IL, USA

problem #85

Sep 102014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 11,900 miles
Using truck to pull approx. 5000 lb travel trailer for camping. We had been driving for about 45 mins since last stop, 15 min bathroom break. Weather was drizzle rain that had been continuous for last 2 hours of trip time and there was standing water on roadway. I was in a 65 mph location, flat roadway, and came upon a small car doing less than 60 mph on the turnigan arm area of the seward highway (2 lane-opposing traffic). It was clear and I began to pass. As I cleared the vehicle I noticed a large class a rv had followed me to pass the car. I continued at 65-70 mph to finish passing and my truck started vibrating and losing power and speed, no lights or problems shown on dash. The rv that followed me was on my rear end and trying to fit back into the lane without running the small vehicle off the road as opposing traffic approached. I could do nothing but signal and pull off on to the shoulder of the highway. As I stopped and put truck into neutral and revved the engine it appeared fine. I waited for a clearing in traffic and pulled back in and accelerated with no problem. The problem corrected that quickly with out me shutting it off. The truck had no problems for the rest of a 250 mile trip. This incident could have ended up very bad and it shook my wife up emotionally. The problem occurred one more time on the return trip on 9/13/14. Similar weather, but not quite as wet. This time when the problem happened I was in a passing lane and had a slight incline and a semi was dropping down in speed and I went to pass accelerating from 55 to about 65 mph, moving into the passing lane. As I accelerated the truck had the same thing happen. This time the situation was not as dire as I recognized it, signaled, moved back into the slow lane and then shoulder. Other than upsetting other motorists as I slowed down no endangerment to life occurred.

- Soldotna, AK, USA

problem #84

Sep 012014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,760 miles
While traveling at interstate speed of approx. 70 mph, I attempted to pass a slower vehicle going up a slight hill. There was a shudder and then the vehicle lost engine speed. I went from 70 mph to 55 mph without the ability to maintain any speed, I was not applying the brakes. I could not complete the pass and had to pull over to the side of the road. If I tried to maintain speed or accelerate the vehicle shook violently, waking up my family. The check engine light came on and just flashed. I pulled from the driving lane and restarted the vehicle. The light went off and I was able to continue the drive, had to be very mindful of my acceleration. It happened a second time the next morning, again passing; shudder and then an inability to maintain speed or increase it. I pulled over this time the light came on and stayed on. I will be taking it to a dealer this week. I was traveling for approx. Two hours prior to the first event. It was raining during the first event, the second event it was partly cloudy.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #83

Jun 272014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the interstate during wet conditions my 2012 Ford F150 ecoboost started to stumble and loose power drastically while pulling a trailer. The truck would only do 30 mph as it shook and stumbled down the interstate. This power loss made it really dangerous to get off the road safely without other cars and trucks being affected. The only way to reset the truck was to shut the engine off and restart it. This has happened twice to me during wet rainy conditions. This issue really concerns me from the safety of my well being and other fellow drivers. Ford needs to take action in fixing this problem with the F150 ecoboost trucks.

- Mantorville, MN, USA

problem #82

Mar 032014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
At highway speeds a horrible shudder occurs. I took the truck in for service at 78000 miles, my warranty runs out at 80000. I was told that this was "normal for 157 inch wheelbase trucks" is there any help available for this? thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Brooklyn , WI, USA

problem #81

Jul 142014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
This vehicle is equipped with the ecoboost 3.5L engine. While attempting to accelerate onto a highway, the vehicle sporadically and unpredictably loses power, seems to have trouble shifting gears and shudders severely. Because this has occurred on several occasions while entering a highway, it poses a definite safety risk of being struck in the rear of the vehicle. Complete loss of acceleration or stalling while entering a highway could result in a crash that could result in serious injury or death.

- Mendham, NJ, USA

problem #80

Oct 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to acceleration problems. The consumer stated as he tried to merge into traffic on the interstate, he floored the accelerator pedal, but the engine shut down completely. He was able to get the truck off the main interstate and into the emergency lane. The engine light came on. He let the truck sit in the off position for approximately 10 minutes and then he re-started the truck. At that point, he was slowly able to accelerate while in the emergency lane, to a speed that allowed him to re-enter the interstate. All attempts to accelerate quickly failed and it would only accelerate gradually at slower then normal speeds. He continued his trip with the engine light on and at his first opportunity he took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer returned the vehicle to the consumer saying they had fixed the problem. The truck performed well for the next year without any incidents, there were no occasions where quick acceleration was required. In October 2013, he made another trip, and the same incident happened. Then engine shut down again in December 2013. The dealer stated they made a different repair and they returned the truck to the consumer. The engine shut down again in April 2014. The dealer kept the vehicle, for two weeks, stating they were unable to find a problem.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #79

Jun 092014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Driving to work on June 9 at 8:00am after a hard rainstorm, on South memorial parkway just North of green cove road, traveling about 40 to 45, slowly accelerating, the rear end of the F150 locked up, tires squealing, began to fishtail to the right for a few seconds, then released. I thought I had been hit from the rear, no cars behind me. Temperature gauges were fine, the gear display on the dash board showed only gears 1, 2, and 3. gears 4, 5, and 6 were not displayed. I sped up and the transmission would not change, I slowed down and the transmission would not change, I eased the transmission into neutral and pull to the side of the road and put the transmission in park. The gears 4, 5, 6 were redisplayed. There were no fluids coming from the transmission under the truck. I eased back into drive and noticed a little bit of a shudder around 3rd gear. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership and they have told me that there was no computer code and it was likely to be a computer glitch and there was nothing they could do. I asked if it would be recorded as a complaint and was told no, that unless they could witness the event or there was a computer code, the complaint would not be documented....I escalated to the service manager, we agreed to drive the truck for a bit and see if they could reproduce the problem, but, that there was nothing else T hat could be done. Obviously, if I had been doing 70 mph, the vehicle would have been much more difficult to control. If you have any questions, please ask.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #78

May 142014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My two children and I were driving up hwy 75 North from macon when we accelerated to the next lane. The speed limit is 70 so we were just going to pass in at a normal rate when the engine just quits and the whole car starts to shudder. Now I have had this happen at 19,000 miles and took it in to the dealership. This was only about two months ago. Went in today before I read all the complaints about this 3.5 eco boost engine and the similar problems I experienced. It was raining on when we had this happen but it occurred before with no rain. As the truck stopped and shuddered we were finally able to get to side of the road and did not get hit by oncoming traffic. There are six lanes of traffic in this area. Surprised today when I went to the dealership and told them what was happening and they didn't even know of the problems or have ever heard of it. "???" so based on what I have read I called back only to find out they have had issues.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #77

Mar 252014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The vehicle felt like it was losing power and missing at times. The vehicle gas mileage had decreased over the last few times driving. The engine light came on and stayed on. Not flashing just illuminated. I took the vehicle to my local dealership the same day as the engine light came on. I was told by the dealership that the catalytic converter and vapor valve needed to be replaced. This could be a major safety concern if these 2012 ecoboost motors are losing power while driving.

- Tunnel Hill, GA, USA

problem #76

Mar 242014

F-150

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to merge onto the highway the engine shuddered and the cel came on which put my truck into limp mode. Since, under any load the vehicle shudders and goes into limp mode when there is any load put on the engine.

- Midwest City, OK, USA

problem #75

Mar 042014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 31,680 miles
Very cold morning, 3/4/2012, vehicle started by remote at 5:30am. Approximately 10 minutes after starting, I went out, opened both driver side doors, put my gear in the back seat, closed the rear door, got in the driver seat, closed the door, put seat belt on, foot on the brake, moved console shift lever to R, when a very loud bang occurred. It sounded like a shotgun. I looked around but did not see anything. Thought it may have been a window, but could not tell with salt spray on windows and darkness. I drove roughly 12 miles, picked up a co-worker who got in and asked immediately what happened to your rear window" I called my local dealer a short time later and was told to bring it in to be looked at. I could not do that until Saturday 3/8/14. When the dealer checked it out, they said they would contact Ford and that it would take 8-10 days for a determination. They seemed to be unaware of a larger problem than just my window. After researching on the web, I found that this problem is not uncommon in this model and year. On Monday 3/10/14 after work, I got in my truck, only to have most of the glass fall out when I closed my door. It would have been nice if the dealer had taped the glass, I thought it was laminated. Because I now had a big hole in window, I stopped at a glass company, to see how soon they could replace it, with rain and snow predicted for midweek. When they called to check availability, they were told that there were none available, that there was a problem w/ the driver's side blowing out. I believe that Ford has known this for quite some time, as evidenced by web blogs documenting the problem and Ford's delay or denial in taking care of the problems. Some complaints have stated that children were in the rear seat at the time of the implosion. I would think that anyone exposed to the noise that it makes could be subject to hearing loss. Recall "

- Rockland, MA, USA

problem #74

Feb 272014

F-150

  • 30,567 miles
When accelerating to merge onto 4 lane byway veh. Lost all power started eng miss. Throttle had no effect, coasted along in emergency lane for about 10 seconds. Veh started to accelerate while still missing for about 5 more seconds. 3/4 fuel tank. Ps was a auto tech. For 28 years with U.S.P.S.

- Lake Placid, FL, USA

problem #73

Jan 082012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Traveling down the road. Got up to 55 to 60 mph lost power transmission stared jerking. Power caught back up and lunged forward. At times the engine stalls and catches back up. At times when you put it in gear it feels like the power train is bumping as though your getting stuck are hit from behind.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #72

Aug 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 34,920 miles
Ford F150, 3.5L ecoboost engine- while driving in rain, vehicle hesitated and misfired, with an associated check engine light on some occasions and not on others. Seemed to happen after cruising and attempting to pass another vehicle. Was unable to accelerate and continued to slow to 50mph. Had to ease on the throttle to slowly accelerated after the condition cleared. Vehicle in the shop 4 times for updates, 3 for changes to the intercooler and the last was for a change of the catalytic converter.

- St. Augustine , FL, USA

problem #71

Jun 122012

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles
F150 eco boost 2012 will not run right when its damp or raining it shutters and misses while driving it Ford has worked on it over and over and it still has the same issues it is a safety issue and they don't care. They tell U when U buy it that it get 22mpg but it really get 12 to 14 mpg this is by far the worst truck I have ever owned. I have contacted Ford Motor Company several times over the past year and they still haven't fixed or addressed this problem.

- Mount Clare, WV, USA

problem #70

Jan 192014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 37,151 miles
Since new my fuel mileage has been declining and I was experiencing a shudder, with no check engine light (cel). Dealer performed a tsb and replaced the charged air cooler and reprogrammed the PCM. This left me with worse mileage and a noticeable loss of power. This progressed until 1-19-14 where I lost engine power and the engine began to shudder when trying to accelerate to pass a slower moving car. When I floored it, the trans shifted down to 2nd, and the engine shook and the truck slowed. Once I left my foot off the gas, and coasted for 30 seconds, it returned to normal, unless I floored it again. No cel was observed until the next day on the way to the dealer. They replaced all 6 spark plugs due to fouling. I think there is water ingestion issue and that is what caused the plugs to foul. My concern is that if I had been in front a fast moving vehicle, I may not have been able to accelerate and gotten rear ended.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #69

Jan 242014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,301 miles
Jan 24 2014. Morning 6:00 am. My truck stalled on the elgin ohare expressway. I was cruising 65 mph. All of a sudden my trans or engine started to stall. I noticed the indicator on the dash go from 6 gear to 2nd. Gear, my speedometer dropped to 40 then 20 mph. I took my foot off the gas, slowly cruised. Then I put my foot back on the gas and drove to work at 45 mph. Called the Ford dealer made an appointment. Drove it there after work. Left it there for two days. They could not duplicate the incident. They reformatted my digital readout on the dashboard. Deleted the numbers indicating the gear my transmission was in. Therefore they did nothing but cover their[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #68

Mar 132013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 33,180 miles
Having recurring issues with Ford ecoboost engine on my 2012 F-150. Below is a summary of visits to the dealership for service related issues: 3/13/13- engine light on, shuttering, shaking, and won't go over 70 on highway. Dealership found no issues. 3/29/13- engine light on, shuttering, shaking, and won't go over 70 on highway. Dealership identified issue as bad cac intercooler and replaced per tsb 130303C. 7/9/13- engine light and misfire. Also, transmission slamming forward as if being rear-ended. Dealership coil #2 and spark plug. Not able to verify the transmission slamming?? issue. 10/30/13-filed a complaint with Ford customer service. Still experiencing intermittent cac intercooler symptoms and transmission slamming. 1/3/14- another dealership found that the new cac intercooler had been improperly installed without deflector shield. Also repaired transmission issue. 1/18/13- engine light on. Replaced catalytic converter bank. 1/27/14- contacted Ford customer service with new information. Ford forwarded this information to the regional dealership manager. 2/2/14- still having cac intercooler issues during snow storm. 2/4/14- Ford customer service closed claim. Never contacted by any dealership representative regarding my concerns. I feel that I am getting the run around from Ford on this particular matter. I do not think they are taking the issues with these F150 trucks seriously enough. No permanent fix for the problem has been found, at least not with my truck. I am also concerned that you can take your vehicle to one dealership where they cannot identify a transmission issue, but another one can. Furthermore, it concerns me that this intercooler problem can create a safety issue on the roadway, yet, the dealership makes a repair without installing all of the necessary components.

- Ida, MI, USA

problem #67

Feb 022014

F-150

  • 30,335 miles
Lost power on secondary road at 40 mph pulled over to side of roadway stopped vehicle, stepped on fuel pedal RPM's went up slowly truck would not move. Turned off truck and restarted, then I was able to drive to were I was going. On the way home truck lost power sputtered when I gave it gas for a few seconds and then returned to normal driving conditions.

- Temple, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?