10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,603 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #74

Feb 272014

F-150

  • 30,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When accelerating to merge onto 4 lane byway veh. Lost all power started eng miss. Throttle had no effect, coasted along in emergency lane for about 10 seconds. Veh started to accelerate while still missing for about 5 more seconds. 3/4 fuel tank. Ps was a auto tech. For 28 years with U.S.P.S.

- Lake Placid, FL, USA

problem #73

Jan 082012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Traveling down the road. Got up to 55 to 60 mph lost power transmission stared jerking. Power caught back up and lunged forward. At times the engine stalls and catches back up. At times when you put it in gear it feels like the power train is bumping as though your getting stuck are hit from behind.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #72

Aug 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 34,920 miles
Ford F150, 3.5L ecoboost engine- while driving in rain, vehicle hesitated and misfired, with an associated check engine light on some occasions and not on others. Seemed to happen after cruising and attempting to pass another vehicle. Was unable to accelerate and continued to slow to 50mph. Had to ease on the throttle to slowly accelerated after the condition cleared. Vehicle in the shop 4 times for updates, 3 for changes to the intercooler and the last was for a change of the catalytic converter.

- St. Augustine , FL, USA

problem #71

Jun 122012

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

F150 eco boost 2012 will not run right when its damp or raining it shutters and misses while driving it Ford has worked on it over and over and it still has the same issues it is a safety issue and they don't care. They tell U when U buy it that it get 22mpg but it really get 12 to 14 mpg this is by far the worst truck I have ever owned. I have contacted Ford Motor Company several times over the past year and they still haven't fixed or addressed this problem.

- Mount Clare, WV, USA

problem #70

Jan 192014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 37,151 miles
Since new my fuel mileage has been declining and I was experiencing a shudder, with no check engine light (cel). Dealer performed a tsb and replaced the charged air cooler and reprogrammed the PCM. This left me with worse mileage and a noticeable loss of power. This progressed until 1-19-14 where I lost engine power and the engine began to shudder when trying to accelerate to pass a slower moving car. When I floored it, the trans shifted down to 2nd, and the engine shook and the truck slowed. Once I left my foot off the gas, and coasted for 30 seconds, it returned to normal, unless I floored it again. No cel was observed until the next day on the way to the dealer. They replaced all 6 spark plugs due to fouling. I think there is water ingestion issue and that is what caused the plugs to foul. My concern is that if I had been in front a fast moving vehicle, I may not have been able to accelerate and gotten rear ended.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #69

Jan 242014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,301 miles
Jan 24 2014. Morning 6:00 am. My truck stalled on the elgin ohare expressway. I was cruising 65 mph. All of a sudden my trans or engine started to stall. I noticed the indicator on the dash go from 6 gear to 2nd. Gear, my speedometer dropped to 40 then 20 mph. I took my foot off the gas, slowly cruised. Then I put my foot back on the gas and drove to work at 45 mph. Called the Ford dealer made an appointment. Drove it there after work. Left it there for two days. They could not duplicate the incident. They reformatted my digital readout on the dashboard. Deleted the numbers indicating the gear my transmission was in. Therefore they did nothing but cover their[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #68

Mar 132013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 33,180 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Having recurring issues with Ford ecoboost engine on my 2012 F-150. Below is a summary of visits to the dealership for service related issues: 3/13/13- engine light on, shuttering, shaking, and won't go over 70 on highway. Dealership found no issues. 3/29/13- engine light on, shuttering, shaking, and won't go over 70 on highway. Dealership identified issue as bad cac intercooler and replaced per tsb 130303C. 7/9/13- engine light and misfire. Also, transmission slamming forward as if being rear-ended. Dealership coil #2 and spark plug. Not able to verify the transmission slamming?? issue. 10/30/13-filed a complaint with Ford customer service. Still experiencing intermittent cac intercooler symptoms and transmission slamming. 1/3/14- another dealership found that the new cac intercooler had been improperly installed without deflector shield. Also repaired transmission issue. 1/18/13- engine light on. Replaced catalytic converter bank. 1/27/14- contacted Ford customer service with new information. Ford forwarded this information to the regional dealership manager. 2/2/14- still having cac intercooler issues during snow storm. 2/4/14- Ford customer service closed claim. Never contacted by any dealership representative regarding my concerns. I feel that I am getting the run around from Ford on this particular matter. I do not think they are taking the issues with these F150 trucks seriously enough. No permanent fix for the problem has been found, at least not with my truck. I am also concerned that you can take your vehicle to one dealership where they cannot identify a transmission issue, but another one can. Furthermore, it concerns me that this intercooler problem can create a safety issue on the roadway, yet, the dealership makes a repair without installing all of the necessary components.

- Ida, MI, USA

problem #67

Feb 022014

F-150

  • 30,335 miles
Lost power on secondary road at 40 mph pulled over to side of roadway stopped vehicle, stepped on fuel pedal RPM's went up slowly truck would not move. Turned off truck and restarted, then I was able to drive to were I was going. On the way home truck lost power sputtered when I gave it gas for a few seconds and then returned to normal driving conditions.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #66

Jan 202014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 15,319 miles
Truck was parked in driveway which is a slight incline. Truck rolled backwards 30 feet while in park striking a bush in front of my home. This was duplicated 2 X at will to determine the cause.

- Cleve's, OH, USA

problem #65

Dec 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
I was travelling on a 4-lane, 65mph highway when I floored the gas pedal. The truck failed to accelerate as it should have. Instead, it acted as if it was coasting. There was no power for several seconds even when I moved the gas pedal to different positions. When the truck finally seemed to resume power, it started to shake violently. The shocked passenger and I looked at each other, then I checked to see if there were parts strewn on the road behind me. Suddenly, it smoothed out and there were no more issues on that trip. I had been driving that truck for about 10 hours with various forms of precipitation at the time. This was December 21, 2013. The second incident was on December 28, 2013. Weather conditions were sunny and dry. I had been driving about 50 minutes. I floored the gas pedal again to overtake a vehicle and was barely able to overtake due to no power. Again, I worked the throttle to no avail. The truck finally recovered but started shaking violently again. As before, it smoothed out. I took my truck to a local Ford dealership where they told me it was showing no codes and that their techs could not reproduce the symptoms I had mentioned. I checked on NHTSA website and found this issue is under investigation. I do not agree with the service bulletins. My theory is that there is a computer programming problem specific to this direct-injection, turbo gasoline engine. I plan on trading for something other than an ecoboost engine, as this problem is dangerous.

- New Burnside, IL, USA

problem #64

Jan 132014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 46,340 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon hitting the gas to cross traffic I had a sudden loss of power. I had to let off and hit the gas a couple of times in order to get the truck moving. This unfortunately is not the first time that this has happened and I have only had the vehicle a month since buying it as a certified vehicle. The dealership that I bought it from supposedly fixed the problem but apparently it is something that needs more than just a little adjustment and new parts. I have noticed through some research that I am not the first to have this issue. Unfortunately some of the posts are people who have been trying to get them fixed but end up past the warranty mark before Ford is able to make it right.

- Cornelia, GA, USA

problem #63

Jun 132012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
2012 F150 3.5 ecoboost, on multiple occasions while driving the truck at highway speed, then attempting to accelerate to pass the truck shudders violently and temporarily loses power. The most recent occurrence almost caused an accident. While traveling from a 40 mph zone into a 55 mph zone with closely following traffic the truck began to shudder as described, then lost power completely causing me to coast to a stop. When this happened I was nearly struck from behind, the vehicle would not respond to throttle input and remained idling very roughly. I shut the ignition off, waited a few moments and re-started the engine, then continued home. I am becoming very concerned that these events may cause a crash and someone could be injured or killed. I'm making an appointment with my dealer for service but after reading many forums, I'm not optimistic that the problem will be resolved.

- Chemung, NY, USA

problem #62

May 032013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
On 2 separate occasions, approximately 3 months apart while in hard acceleration attempting to merge on an interstate on-ramp, vehicle began to shudder violently and lose power. In first instance, I was able to merge in the left lane and let off the accelerator. As vehicle coasted, the shudder subsided and within 1 minute stopped all together. In the second instance, when the vehicle lost power, traffic conditions would not allow me to merge and I was forced to coast along the shoulder of the road until the shudder subsided and power was resumed. In neither situation, did the vehicle go into safe mode or the check engine light appear. Vehicle simply resumed normal operation.

- Mt Zion, IL, USA

problem #61

Oct 172013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
I was driving to the eastern shore in the rain. When I slowed down to get something to eat when I tried to get back on the road the truck shuddered and lost all power. It did it two more times that night and then it did it again leaving the toll booth on the chesapeake bay bridge tunnel two days later. I took it to the dealer and they tried to fix it but last week when it rain I drove to langley afb and it did it again. Contacted the dealer and they said to be patient and Ford will get back to me when they come up with a fix. How can I trust this truck when it rains. This is a dangerous thing and they will not fix it unless you make them. I almost got ran into on the bridge with all the vehicle merging back into traffic.

- Chesapeake , VA, USA

problem #60

Dec 042012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 15,236 miles
My 2012 Ford F150 with eco-boost engine stalls and shakes upon fast acceleration. This happens mostly on rainy damp days but has happened during night driving also. Once this happens the trucks looses all power and I have had to pull off the highway, turn the engine off and restart. Have brought the truck to the dealer on three occasions with no results of correction. I know this is a common problem with this engine and need help to get Ford to correct problem or allow trade for trade on a new truck without the eco-boost engine.

- Bourg, LA, USA

problem #59

Jul 132013

F-150

  • 30,000 miles
Dealer installed ECU update without my knowledge or authorization which changed how the vehicle accelerates, decelerates, shift points and engine stumbles continuously. Dealer does not have the ability to undo the update. Opened a case with Ford Motor Company, they basically blame the dealer for not informing the customer (myself) prior to installing the update and informed me they currently do not have a program to undo an update or install a previous update to return the vehicle back to factory specifications.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #58

Sep 292013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Traveling with my wife from little rock to houston on a rainy / humid day with the temperature at about 80-85 degrees, I accelerated quickly to pass on a 4-lane highway. The truck began shuddering violently and we experienced a loss of power. After slowing down and pulling off and restarting the truck it seemed to run fine. This happened two more times during the trip. The second time the check engine light began to flash, but ended up going off. The third time the light flashed and stayed on. After getting back to houston I took the truck in and they "reprogrammed the cac" and installed a new "air dam deflector plate." I just got the vehicle back so I do not yet know if this fixed the problem permanently, however, I have searched numerous blogs and websites and discovered that hundreds of other owners have had the exact same experience with their 3.5L ecoboost engines. I also understand that Ford has not offered any kind of recall for this problem. The characteristics of the power loss (and exactly at a critical time when power is needed) were frightening and extremely dangerous. Had I been passing on a two-lane road instead of a 4-lane highway, we could have been killed. There is the potential for a head-on collision, a second car rear-ending my vehicle, or a loss of control due to the shuddering and instability at high speeds. I did contact Ford regarding this and was basically told there is no recall and they just recommended that I have the repairs done. It is completely ridiculous that they know about this issue and don't 1) recall the vehicles that may experience this problem and, 2) let the general public know about the issue - for those purchasing a new vehicle. It is deceptive and irresponsible.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #57

Apr 182013

F-150

  • 11,577 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the air cooler and several other unknown components were replaced but the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 11,577.

- Buloxi, MS, USA

problem #56

Oct 152012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
I put my truck into drive and it hesitates, jumps back and fourth being real sluggish. The only way out of this is to floor the gas and let it push through for about five to ten seconds and then it is done. Which is hard to do when it is time to take my kids to school and I am in a school zone. This is very intermittent, but happens more often than not. If I let the car remain off for more than 15 minutes then the cycle can continue. Sometimes it starts up and drives fine. I notice it is more and more prevalent as the miles climb up. It has been doing this since the beginning and is still doing this. Since around 20000 miles the truck hesitates on the road after driving for sometime. So now it happens whenever it wants to. I have read online that this is a common occurrence that Ford knows about, just doesn't admit to or try to fix. My best friend had to trade his truck in because of this problem. This has the potential to be a problem just like the acceleration of the Toyota. This problem happens sporadically but it is more often than not. Now the transmission is jumping when slowing down or speeding up. I was told this is normal, it is just the computer getting used to my driving. I don't make a habit of making my truck hesitate at all. So this is a dumb response that once again, many people online get the same answer. I am nearing my 36000 mark. So I know this is about to cost me out of my own pocket to fix because the Ford house will just say nothing is wrong and not fix it. So my question is are transmissions really this cheap and we just move on and accept that craftsmanship in America or do we make Ford fix their issue. I have purchased many vehicles throughout my 39 years in this great country. I have never had a car act like this on such a wide scale with nothing being done about it. Please hold them accountable.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #55

Jun 012013

F-150

  • 4,900 miles
Attempting to pass a vehicle on the highway, motor lost all power and began shaking. Code came up as engine misfire. Brought to the dealership said known issue, they inspected did not find anything wrong. Since that date has occurred 4-5 more times during wet weather anytime accelerating (passing vehicles, on ramps).

- Marlborough, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?