10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,205 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #250

Sep 102014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 11,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Using truck to pull approx. 5000 lb travel trailer for camping. We had been driving for about 45 mins since last stop, 15 min bathroom break. Weather was drizzle rain that had been continuous for last 2 hours of trip time and there was standing water on roadway. I was in a 65 mph location, flat roadway, and came upon a small car doing less than 60 mph on the turnigan arm area of the seward highway (2 lane-opposing traffic). It was clear and I began to pass. As I cleared the vehicle I noticed a large class a rv had followed me to pass the car. I continued at 65-70 mph to finish passing and my truck started vibrating and losing power and speed, no lights or problems shown on dash. The rv that followed me was on my rear end and trying to fit back into the lane without running the small vehicle off the road as opposing traffic approached. I could do nothing but signal and pull off on to the shoulder of the highway. As I stopped and put truck into neutral and revved the engine it appeared fine. I waited for a clearing in traffic and pulled back in and accelerated with no problem. The problem corrected that quickly with out me shutting it off. The truck had no problems for the rest of a 250 mile trip. This incident could have ended up very bad and it shook my wife up emotionally. The problem occurred one more time on the return trip on 9/13/14. Similar weather, but not quite as wet. This time when the problem happened I was in a passing lane and had a slight incline and a semi was dropping down in speed and I went to pass accelerating from 55 to about 65 mph, moving into the passing lane. As I accelerated the truck had the same thing happen. This time the situation was not as dire as I recognized it, signaled, moved back into the slow lane and then shoulder. Other than upsetting other motorists as I slowed down no endangerment to life occurred.

- Soldotna, AK, USA

problem #249

Aug 302014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
While driving on a 2 lane highway in northern Wisconsin with my 11 year old son, I went to pass a slower moving vehicle in my 2012 F150 ecoboost and when I accelerated quickly the engine just lost all power and to avoid a head on collision I had to slam on my brakes and quickly return behind the slow moving car. Quite frightened, I didn't accelerate the rest of the trip North. While returning labor day, day, and on a four lane expressway I again tested the acceleration to have it happen again, but this time the check engine light started to flash and then shortly after stayed on. Being 400 miles away from home, I drove the rest of the way very carefully. After getting home and before calling the dealer service to schedule a service visit, I did some searching on the internet to find this to be a problem with F150 ecoboost engines. Doing some more searching I found the following article "NHTSA closes Ford-150 ecoboost acceleration probe" by [xxx] on April 14th 2014, detroit news. I was appalled that you would close an investigation when the reason to accelerate, could be to pass a slower moving vehicle, and to lose power during this move could be deadly! since I purchased this truck, I have made countless passes on slow moving vehicles on two lane highways and felt very safe to complete that legal move until Saturday, when, if I didn't take a drastic measure to brake and turn back into my lane, more than likely I would not have had the opportunity today to write this letter to you and more important, my son may have not been here either. I question why you made the determination to first, close the probe, and second, not demand that Ford take the necessary steps to correct the problem, that is clearly a safety issue. I would appreciate a response and hope not to have to take further action for you to resolve this oversight. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Highland, IN, USA

problem #248

Sep 012014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,760 miles
While traveling at interstate speed of approx. 70 mph, I attempted to pass a slower vehicle going up a slight hill. There was a shudder and then the vehicle lost engine speed. I went from 70 mph to 55 mph without the ability to maintain any speed, I was not applying the brakes. I could not complete the pass and had to pull over to the side of the road. If I tried to maintain speed or accelerate the vehicle shook violently, waking up my family. The check engine light came on and just flashed. I pulled from the driving lane and restarted the vehicle. The light went off and I was able to continue the drive, had to be very mindful of my acceleration. It happened a second time the next morning, again passing; shudder and then an inability to maintain speed or increase it. I pulled over this time the light came on and stayed on. I will be taking it to a dealer this week. I was traveling for approx. Two hours prior to the first event. It was raining during the first event, the second event it was partly cloudy.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #247

Sep 022014

F-150

  • 65,285 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2012 F150 ecoboost at 55mph I had to accelerate to merge into traffic. 75degrees outside with light rain. The motor stumbled and lost power. Service engine soon light appeared. I let of the accelerator and truck regained power. To shop for diagnosis and computer showed 3 cylinder misfires. This happens constantly and Ford refuses to come with a solution. Is it going to take a fatality before someone care?

- Clinton, IL, USA

problem #246

Aug 022014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
On this date (8-2-14) at approx 0400 hrs(4am) while driving in wet rainy conditions and air temp approx 75 I had been driving for a few hours and made a stop. Upon getting back into truck and attempting to merge back onto the highway my truck equipped with 3.5 ecoboost lost all power and failed to accelerate. During this time the truck began to shake while losing acceleration. This occurred approximately 4 times in a two week period and when I took the truck to the Ford dealer they said no record in the computer so they could not do any repairs. This happened one year earlier (previous August) when on vacation and Ford found it was the charge air cooler (intercooler) and bolted on an air deflector which obviously did not work. Ford sold me this vehicle knowing there was issues with this system and failed (did not) tell me about it until the issue occurred and at that point I learned about it on the internet prior to Ford employees telling me. This problem will cause an accident at some point. The very first time it happened to me August 2013 I was merging while pulling a small cargo trailer and upon the vehicle loosing all power a semi almost rear ended me which would have caused a major accident. Power seems to come back after about limping truck for approximately 1/8 th of a mile. Ford knowingly sold a truck with faulty equipment that will cause injuries and/or fatalities and does not appear as though they care to fix the problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #245

Aug 032014

F-150

  • 36,000 miles
While traveling at 55mph, up a slight incline on the highway, I pulled out to pass another vehicle. As I pressed on the accelerator I had no engine power and the F150, lariat, eco boost began to slow. The check engine light came on and flashed. I let off of the accelerator and then pressed it down again. This time I had power. I pulled back into the lane and everything appeared to be in working order.

- Gill, MA, USA

problem #244

Jun 102013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While trying to pass another vehicle during wet weather, my vehicle would loose engine power at a critical moment during passing. Ford dealer could find no problem. Loss of power happened more than one time while passing. After about one year of service I traded vehicle off....not liking the passing performance during wet weather. Then found out that this is a problem with many F150 ecoboost engines. I believe this is a serious issue.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ackerly, TX, USA

problem #243

Aug 022014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
While passing, my vehicle loses power and starts to sputter. This has happen on numerous occasions, and on the latest occasion the service engine light has come on. I have the 3.6 L ecoboost engine in the vehicle. I have turned the vehicle into the dealership for repairs, but was told they had to order a cooler to install on the turbo charger. Bottom line no parts are broke, but it now requires additional parts. I do not see any recalls for this issue.

- Raeford , NC, USA

problem #242

Jun 272014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Driving down the interstate during wet conditions my 2012 Ford F150 ecoboost started to stumble and loose power drastically while pulling a trailer. The truck would only do 30 mph as it shook and stumbled down the interstate. This power loss made it really dangerous to get off the road safely without other cars and trucks being affected. The only way to reset the truck was to shut the engine off and restart it. This has happened twice to me during wet rainy conditions. This issue really concerns me from the safety of my well being and other fellow drivers. Ford needs to take action in fixing this problem with the F150 ecoboost trucks.

- Mantorville, MN, USA

problem #241

Jul 252014

F-150

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while making a turn, the vehicle stalled and smoke emitted from under the hood. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the motor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Leonard, MI, USA

problem #240

Jul 252014

F-150

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle would vibrate and there was a sudden loss of power. The contact also mentioned that the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #239

Mar 032014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
At highway speeds a horrible shudder occurs. I took the truck in for service at 78000 miles, my warranty runs out at 80000. I was told that this was "normal for 157 inch wheelbase trucks" is there any help available for this? thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Brooklyn , WI, USA

problem #238

Jul 142014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
This vehicle is equipped with the ecoboost 3.5L engine. While attempting to accelerate onto a highway, the vehicle sporadically and unpredictably loses power, seems to have trouble shifting gears and shudders severely. Because this has occurred on several occasions while entering a highway, it poses a definite safety risk of being struck in the rear of the vehicle. Complete loss of acceleration or stalling while entering a highway could result in a crash that could result in serious injury or death.

- Mendham, NJ, USA

problem #237

Jan 012013

F-150

  • 30,000 miles
While driving at highway speeds, after accelerating to pass another vehicle, the truck suddenly shuddered and there was significant power loss. So much so, it was dangerous to get over to the side of the road to see what was wrong. The vehicle continued acting like this throughout the day. I took it into a Ford dealership who 'resolved' the issue. 1.5 years layer, the same exact thing started occurring again (18jul2014). Again, it was unsafe for me to pull over after such a considerable power loss.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #236

Apr 162012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Engine shutters, loss of power, engine misfires. Dealer has attempted to repair on several occasions. This problem has almost caused several accidents.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #235

Jul 142014

F-150

  • 32,000 miles
Pulled into parking lot and truck stalled. Could not steer. Could not accelerate. Warning light popped up said low oil pressure. Was not on a hill. Ran vehicle health report through Ford sync service and everything came back ok. Will call dealership next. Had my daughter with me and it scared me to death.

- Bryant, AR, USA

problem #234

Jul 102013

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Doing 45 on a two lane highway, pull out to pass, had no acceleration at all. I was unable to complete the passing. The first time this happened I thought perhaps I got bad gasoline. The second incident, a few months later, went just about exactly the same way. Recently, while attempting to merge on to a highway I put the pedal down, the vehicle seemed like it was missing very badly and it started shaking violently and would not stop for several minutes, even when I slowed down. I took the vehicle right to the dealership, it's still there.

- Commerce Twp, MI, USA

problem #233

Jun 012014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Was traveling up the roadway on 6/1/14 in our 2010 F-150 XLT and went to make a turn into an intersection. The vehicle stalled and was rendered useless in the middle of the intersection. The vehicle lost complete power, steering capability, and braking was diminished tremendously. We were stalled in an intersection with cross traffic approaching at 55mph. With little time due to oncoming vehicles, was able to immediately restart the engine and proceed, before oncoming vehicles approached us in the intersection. Not very safe being that my entire family was in the truck. Ford has issued a service bulletin about the issue with the vapor canister purge valve and its needing to be replaced. However, I believe this is a serious safety issue being that the vehicle stalls when reducing speed (such as turning into intersections with other oncoming traffic coming at you). There is no recall in lieu of this potentially dangerous situation they are causing. Additionally, this problem with the canister causes a tremendous vacuum on the fuel tank, so much that it damages internal components and has raised questions about whether it is affecting the stability of the actual tank itself. When you go to fuel the vehicle, there is so much of a vacuum that you hear it release the pressure when inserting the nozzle. Immediately after fueling, the vehicle will not start for several minutes. This issue needs to be corrected before someone is seriously injured or killed due to their vehicle sitting in the middle of a roadway and being hit by oncoming traffic.

- Lagrange, KY, USA

problem #232

Jun 052013

F-150

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that during heavy rain and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle hesitated and stalled. The contact mentioned that the check engine light illuminate. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. However, he advised the contact to bring the vehicle back when it rained in order to duplicate the problem. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.

- Phornton, CO, USA

problem #231

Oct 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to acceleration problems. The consumer stated as he tried to merge into traffic on the interstate, he floored the accelerator pedal, but the engine shut down completely. He was able to get the truck off the main interstate and into the emergency lane. The engine light came on. He let the truck sit in the off position for approximately 10 minutes and then he re-started the truck. At that point, he was slowly able to accelerate while in the emergency lane, to a speed that allowed him to re-enter the interstate. All attempts to accelerate quickly failed and it would only accelerate gradually at slower then normal speeds. He continued his trip with the engine light on and at his first opportunity he took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer returned the vehicle to the consumer saying they had fixed the problem. The truck performed well for the next year without any incidents, there were no occasions where quick acceleration was required. In October 2013, he made another trip, and the same incident happened. Then engine shut down again in December 2013. The dealer stated they made a different repair and they returned the truck to the consumer. The engine shut down again in April 2014. The dealer kept the vehicle, for two weeks, stating they were unable to find a problem.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?