10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,205 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #170

Sep 072012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my F-150 ecoboost, on July 28, 2012. Almost immediately after purchasing it, I have had issues with the engine. Often when it rains, the truck will not start or when it does start, it refuses to go or when it is going, it will not accelerate. When I attempt to pass a slow vehicle, there is no power. The engine boggs down, to an idle. The truck has left me stranded numerous times. I took my family on a trip to miami, Florida, during the christmas holiday. On the open road the motor quit. I was able to limp it into a Ford dealer, who had to perform extensive engine repairs in able to get the truck running again. While I was driving it back to Tennessee, after 3 weeks of repairs, it happened several more times. When I attempt to pass slower vehicles, I try to accelerate and there is no power. It is dangerous, particular when traveling on 2 lane country roads with hills. Often, when I park and exit the truck, there is a strong odor of gas coming from somewhere under the hood of the vehicle. This is a fire hazard. On 2 occasions, the driver's seat has come unattached from the floor of the truck. This morning, I went to take my children to school I was driving and heard/felt thumping and the seat fell back, I was nearly laying on my back, while driving. This has happened twice. This is dangerous and scary, when it happens while driving down the road. The Ford customer care representative was very flipped and seemed to be more concerned with ensuring that I understood the terms of the warranty than the safety of my vehicle. I was insulted and humiliated, for suggesting they provide me with something to drive while they corrected the problem. The first time this happened, it took 3 weeks to fix. I bought this vehicle, I should not have to buy another vehicle to drive. To date the best fuel mileage I have gotten is 13.2 miles per gallon.

- Camden, TN, USA

problem #169

Sep 092013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,100 miles
This complaint pertains to the 3.5 liter ecoboost engine. I was driving on I-95 at approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated. There were four lanes of traffic at this location. When I attempted to accelerate around a slower vehicle, the engine shuttered and went into limp mode. I had to drive onto the berm, nearly causing a crash. The engine returned to normal after several minutes and I was able to continue my trip from Pennsylvania to North Carolina. This engine shutter occurred three more times during my return to pa. The last time the service engine light remained activated. The loss of engine power on a busy multiple lane highway is an extreme hazard and could result in a serious vehicle crash. It is time for Ford to issue a recall for this known issue.

- Spring Mills, PA, USA

problem #168

Jun 102013

F-150

  • 18,000 miles
I was driving my vehicle down the road at around 50 mph, I started to pass the vehicle in front of me and my truck lost power. I couldn't complete the pass and nearly was hit head on because I couldn't get back into the lane I came from. When I hit the accelerator the vehicle lost power and slowed to 40 mph. After letting off the accelerator and hitting it again still nothing 40 was as fast as it would go. I was able to make it to a pull off spot and tried taking off again and the vehicle performed as normal. There were no engine lights of any kind that illuminated during this time. This occured at approximately 18,000 miles. It currently has 20,768 miles on it and has done it 2 more times. Both times the same exact symptoms. I googled the issue and found many others are having this problem. I also seen where there was a service bulletin for the problem and recommendations for a possible fix from Ford. I took it back to Ford and told them my issue, I just picked it up and they advised me they did nothing to it because they couldn't get it to act up, and there was no stored engine codes. The dealer said I bet it only happens to you huh, if it happens again we will take another look at it. They totally blew it off and wanted the truck and me out of there. This is a safety issue and is a huge inconvienience to have to take it in to the dealer all the time for something they should have already fixed. For as much as Ford is charging for these trucks they could at least take care of the problems that they have created. Of course it will be hard for the techs to duplicate when it happens randomly at various mileages.

- Glencoe, KY, USA

problem #167

Jul 232013

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon acceleration, between 15-25 mph, my truck began to stumble and lost power. This was the first time. It has happened four times since with the latest occurrence on Sept. 3, 2013. The vehicle mileage is currently 18xxx. The problem normally occurs coming off of idle and accelerating into traffic. It has occurred, however, once on the highway while attempting to overtake a slower driver. Speed was approximately 65-70 during that instance. At no time did any fault lights illuminate and after a few minutes of lightly pressing the throttle, it seem to clear up.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #166

Aug 152012

F-150

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate. The failure recurred mostly when driving in rainy or humid weather. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis and a software update was performed however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not further repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #165

Jun 012013

F-150

  • 4,900 miles
Attempting to pass a vehicle on the highway, motor lost all power and began shaking. Code came up as engine misfire. Brought to the dealership said known issue, they inspected did not find anything wrong. Since that date has occurred 4-5 more times during wet weather anytime accelerating (passing vehicles, on ramps).

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #164

Aug 092013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 26,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticeable lag during acceleration. Most noteworthy incident involved passing at freeway speeds, engine bogged down and car felt like it was about to stall. Have noticed this a few times since as well. We are in monsoon season, have had rain and higher than normal humidity. Have also noticed what feels like delayed and hard transmission shifting. Fuel consumption/mileage seems to be affected. (was getting 17-23mpg when truck was first purchased in March 21013, am now averaging 13-15mpg). Have also noticed vibration/shuddering when accelerating from a stop light or sign, and during downshifting. Vehicle is currently in shop as check engine light came on on 8/26/13. Ford is performing a cold-soak(?) the code that they pulled from the vehicle was indicative of a misfire but they cannot determine what is causing the misfire at this time.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #163

Aug 232013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
My wife and I were traveling on I81 North bound. I attempted to pass the car in front of me and when I accelerated (I pushed it to the floor) the engine died. There was an instant where I thought the car behind me was going to crash into the rear end of my truck. During the failure the check engine light flashed on and off and it took at least 1 minute for the engine to return to normal operation... I have not been able to duplicate the failure again... I call rising sun Ford dealership in Maryland where I purchased the vehicle and will have it there this Wednesday for them to check out... the service manager was aware that there was a potential issue with this engine doing exactly as I described... why do they not have a legal obligation to warn me of this issue with this engine before I bought it and most importantly what about all the other vehicles out there where the owners are clueless of this potential issue that can put their life at risk"?"

- Lincoln University, PA, USA

problem #162

Aug 182013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
When returning from cullowee, nc, I was on the entrance ramp of I-40 East. At approximately 45 mph, I pressed on the accelerator to increase to highway speed. The engine started sputtering and the entire vehicle started shaking violently. The vehicle never gained speed until I let of the accelerator completely and slowly applied pressure to the accelerator again. The violent shaking of the vehicle and the resulting dangerous merge into traffic terrified my wife, child and grandchild.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #161

May 302012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 5,955 miles
While accelerating on an on-ramp to merge into traffic on I-90, the entire vehicle vibrated very hard, the engine then lost power, causing electric to shut down, and uncontrolled deceleration to occur. The check engine light started to flash. Once I released the pressure on the gas pedal, and pulled off the interstate to avoid oncoming traffic, the power returned and the engine responded again. The catalytic converter was determined to be the problem and was replaced. Notified Ford regional service manager about concerns that this was a safety issue, he responded that the car was under warranty, and nothing else could be done despite acknowledging that we could have been involved in a very serious accident due to the engine failure. About 2 months later, the same problem occurred, and apparently the computer system was not updated as required. After the update, it worked fine. In December 2012, similar symptoms occurred and the dealership determined it was the coil in engine 4 as the problem.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #160

Aug 142013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 17,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the interstate at about 60 mph. I pressed the accelerator to about 80% of travel. The transmission downshifted and the engine immediately had an almost total loss of power. I totally released the accelerator and then apply about 10% and the engine resumed normal operation. The engine continued on as normal - given traffic conditions I did not attempt a second hard accelerator application. It was raining and had been raining about an hour when this occurred. I call Ford and was given a tsb repair code. It is Ford tsb 13-8-1 - an earlier version of the this tsb was 12-10-19 and 12-6-4. this is a serious issue with this engine and could have caused a serious accident. The next day I did accelerate in the same fashion and the engine responded properly - it was not raining when I did this.

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #159

Aug 132013

F-150

  • 62,000 miles
I was traveling at 65mph and went to pass and at acceleration the truck stalled and almost died. I almost got rear ended by a semi I had to pull off on shoulder to a complete stop then accelerate again. My truck has the ecoboost engine and hope they can recall and fix problem before somebody gets killed.

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #158

Jun 282013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
The first incident 6/28/13, when accelerating to get onto a highway the vehicle stopped accelerating somewhere before 60 and lost all power. The speedometer pegged at 60 and the rpms jumped to redline, but there was no power being produced. The vehicle took at nose dive and would not allow fuel to the engine until the rpms settled to idle and I was able to feather the gas pedal in order to regain control of the engine. The second incident 8/9/13, when going to pass someone at highway speeds on I-95 the vehicle fell flat again, same scenario, this time the check engine light came on. Same actions as above, with feathering the gas pedal and able to regain control of the engine. I brought my vehicle to the dealership and the intercooler was replaced at 7600 miles. Thankfully there were no accidents in both scenarios, these events could've been catastrophic both being on heavily traveled highways. At 500 miles I had the check engine light come on and one of the catalytic converters needed to be replaced.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #157

Aug 102013

F-150

  • 9,750 miles
Ford F150 2012 ecoboost ext cab 4X4 XLT after driving for several hours and stopping at a rest area I began to reenter the interstate. As I accelerated on the onramp traffic was moderate so I pressed on the accelerator even harder. The truck was in 5th gear and downshifted to 4th. The truck began to shutter and loose power. At this point I panicked and pushed the accelerator even harder. The truck downshifted into 3rd gear at which point it lost all power. All that I could do was let out at this point and hope to regain power. Fortunately traffic had moved over by the time I had made it to the end of the onramp at which point the truck had a clear and definitive miss and very little power. The truck slowly accelerated up to 60 mph and continued to miss for another quarter mile. After arriving at my parents home 5 hours later without another incident of full loss of power I dropped my wife off to get her car. As I pulled out the driveway only minutes later I punched the accelerator to see if the truck would do it again. The truck fell on its face. I could have got out and ran faster. Once again is missed for a quarter mile and cleared up. Today, I had to make a quick trip into town to pick up something for my wife. Again I punched the accelerator and the truck fell on its face and had no power. This time the check engine light came on and has stayed on ever since. Thankfully I have not been involved in an accident as of yet. These trucks need to be recalled before someone is killed!!!

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #156

Jul 162013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
On acceleration ramp on interstate 75 attempting to get up to speed to merge into traffic, the vehicle started to sputter and lose all power for approximately 30 seconds to a minute. I was forced to pull out of traffic onto shoulder to avoid accident. Eventually the vehicle regained power. This happened 2 more times during the same trip on July 30 and Aug 5.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #155

Jul 122013

F-150

  • 33,235 miles
When accelerating and decelerating then accelerating the turbo drops out a severe loss of power occurred.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #154

Aug 192012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I was traveling at approx. 50 mph behind a slow vehicle and pulled in the oncoming lane to pass when the truck seem to miss fire. It would not accelerate and I had brake hard to pull back in behind the slow vehicle. It did this for about thirty seconds and cleared up. It has only happened once. 2012 F150 ecoboost

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #153

Jun 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 1,050 miles
It is a new truck 2012 with about 650 miles when purchased. The first cold start the engine ran rough and had a slight miss. Told dealer said not to worry they could fix it. Went to ky on way back ran into a down pour of rain. The truck at about 40mph started to shake and quiver like it was going to quit.got to the side of road to keep from getting hit from other vehicles. I have had it to the dealer numerous times they cant fix it.I hope that no one gets hurt from this engine failure.the truck now has 4160 miles, it still idles rough and has miss. The dealer checked it out and still can't find the cause.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #152

Aug 152012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,199 miles
On numerous occasions while accelerating to merge into traffic or to pass a slower vehicle or hard accelerating from a standing stop vehicle shakes and stalls, stays in second gear and has no throttle response, in wet or dry conditions, sometimes completely dying. On one occasion vehicle stalled and died while entering expressway causing me to have to run off road, hitting a sign and dirt bank to avoid approaching semi truck. Engine oil is diluted with gas, has burning smell in engine compartment. We are afraid of engine explosion and fire, burning smell is so bad. Ford has attempted several fixes, but problem continues, now there is a grinding grunt when going into reverse.

- Signal Mtn, TN, USA

problem #151

Jun 092012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
I've had problems since the first month of purchase, first time it stalled pulling out of a stop sign with my kids in the truck, scared us to death. Second time, my wife and I were on the interstate going on vacation driving at night in a steady rain, truck begin to shudder and stalled out, had to pull over about 5 times during a 5 hour trip and sit until it would crank and run again. When I returned I took into Ford, they couldn't find any problems, truck kept doing the same in a rain so I took back to dealer and after the third or fourth time they said there is a defect and Ford has a new part coming out in October of 2012, ended up getting the part installed in December 2012. Truck is doing the same thing, just stalled on me in branson, Missouri, I called dealer and corporate Ford and get nowhere. I have a complaint file number with Ford corporate on this problem but no will help me or offer me a new truck without ecoboost. Very frustrating to buy a brand new $57K truck and find out it does not run well in the rain and Ford new of this problem when they sold it to me in April 2012. Now I find out there is a class action suit started in Louisiana and Ohio for the eco boost trucks. Dont really want to go this route but Ford and autonation-cook whitehead Ford dealer has given me no choice. We need to all publicly let our dealers know by being on the news or other means so Ford will stop selling these vehicles. Its not right to treat us this way.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?