Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,764 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #165

Jun 012013

F-150

  • 4,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Attempting to pass a vehicle on the highway, motor lost all power and began shaking. Code came up as engine misfire. Brought to the dealership said known issue, they inspected did not find anything wrong. Since that date has occurred 4-5 more times during wet weather anytime accelerating (passing vehicles, on ramps).

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #164

Aug 092013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 26,400 miles
Noticeable lag during acceleration. Most noteworthy incident involved passing at freeway speeds, engine bogged down and car felt like it was about to stall. Have noticed this a few times since as well. We are in monsoon season, have had rain and higher than normal humidity. Have also noticed what feels like delayed and hard transmission shifting. Fuel consumption/mileage seems to be affected. (was getting 17-23mpg when truck was first purchased in March 21013, am now averaging 13-15mpg). Have also noticed vibration/shuddering when accelerating from a stop light or sign, and during downshifting. Vehicle is currently in shop as check engine light came on on 8/26/13. Ford is performing a cold-soak(?) the code that they pulled from the vehicle was indicative of a misfire but they cannot determine what is causing the misfire at this time.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #163

Aug 232013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
My wife and I were traveling on I81 North bound. I attempted to pass the car in front of me and when I accelerated (I pushed it to the floor) the engine died. There was an instant where I thought the car behind me was going to crash into the rear end of my truck. During the failure the check engine light flashed on and off and it took at least 1 minute for the engine to return to normal operation... I have not been able to duplicate the failure again... I call rising sun Ford dealership in Maryland where I purchased the vehicle and will have it there this Wednesday for them to check out... the service manager was aware that there was a potential issue with this engine doing exactly as I described... why do they not have a legal obligation to warn me of this issue with this engine before I bought it and most importantly what about all the other vehicles out there where the owners are clueless of this potential issue that can put their life at risk"?"

- Lincoln University, PA, USA

problem #162

Aug 182013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When returning from cullowee, nc, I was on the entrance ramp of I-40 East. At approximately 45 mph, I pressed on the accelerator to increase to highway speed. The engine started sputtering and the entire vehicle started shaking violently. The vehicle never gained speed until I let of the accelerator completely and slowly applied pressure to the accelerator again. The violent shaking of the vehicle and the resulting dangerous merge into traffic terrified my wife, child and grandchild.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #161

May 302012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 5,955 miles
While accelerating on an on-ramp to merge into traffic on I-90, the entire vehicle vibrated very hard, the engine then lost power, causing electric to shut down, and uncontrolled deceleration to occur. The check engine light started to flash. Once I released the pressure on the gas pedal, and pulled off the interstate to avoid oncoming traffic, the power returned and the engine responded again. The catalytic converter was determined to be the problem and was replaced. Notified Ford regional service manager about concerns that this was a safety issue, he responded that the car was under warranty, and nothing else could be done despite acknowledging that we could have been involved in a very serious accident due to the engine failure. About 2 months later, the same problem occurred, and apparently the computer system was not updated as required. After the update, it worked fine. In December 2012, similar symptoms occurred and the dealership determined it was the coil in engine 4 as the problem.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #160

Aug 142013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 17,600 miles
While driving on the interstate at about 60 mph. I pressed the accelerator to about 80% of travel. The transmission downshifted and the engine immediately had an almost total loss of power. I totally released the accelerator and then apply about 10% and the engine resumed normal operation. The engine continued on as normal - given traffic conditions I did not attempt a second hard accelerator application. It was raining and had been raining about an hour when this occurred. I call Ford and was given a tsb repair code. It is Ford tsb 13-8-1 - an earlier version of the this tsb was 12-10-19 and 12-6-4. this is a serious issue with this engine and could have caused a serious accident. The next day I did accelerate in the same fashion and the engine responded properly - it was not raining when I did this.

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #159

Aug 132013

F-150

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling at 65mph and went to pass and at acceleration the truck stalled and almost died. I almost got rear ended by a semi I had to pull off on shoulder to a complete stop then accelerate again. My truck has the ecoboost engine and hope they can recall and fix problem before somebody gets killed.

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #158

Jun 282013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
The first incident 6/28/13, when accelerating to get onto a highway the vehicle stopped accelerating somewhere before 60 and lost all power. The speedometer pegged at 60 and the rpms jumped to redline, but there was no power being produced. The vehicle took at nose dive and would not allow fuel to the engine until the rpms settled to idle and I was able to feather the gas pedal in order to regain control of the engine. The second incident 8/9/13, when going to pass someone at highway speeds on I-95 the vehicle fell flat again, same scenario, this time the check engine light came on. Same actions as above, with feathering the gas pedal and able to regain control of the engine. I brought my vehicle to the dealership and the intercooler was replaced at 7600 miles. Thankfully there were no accidents in both scenarios, these events could've been catastrophic both being on heavily traveled highways. At 500 miles I had the check engine light come on and one of the catalytic converters needed to be replaced.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #157

Aug 102013

F-150

  • 9,750 miles
Ford F150 2012 ecoboost ext cab 4X4 XLT after driving for several hours and stopping at a rest area I began to reenter the interstate. As I accelerated on the onramp traffic was moderate so I pressed on the accelerator even harder. The truck was in 5th gear and downshifted to 4th. The truck began to shutter and loose power. At this point I panicked and pushed the accelerator even harder. The truck downshifted into 3rd gear at which point it lost all power. All that I could do was let out at this point and hope to regain power. Fortunately traffic had moved over by the time I had made it to the end of the onramp at which point the truck had a clear and definitive miss and very little power. The truck slowly accelerated up to 60 mph and continued to miss for another quarter mile. After arriving at my parents home 5 hours later without another incident of full loss of power I dropped my wife off to get her car. As I pulled out the driveway only minutes later I punched the accelerator to see if the truck would do it again. The truck fell on its face. I could have got out and ran faster. Once again is missed for a quarter mile and cleared up. Today, I had to make a quick trip into town to pick up something for my wife. Again I punched the accelerator and the truck fell on its face and had no power. This time the check engine light came on and has stayed on ever since. Thankfully I have not been involved in an accident as of yet. These trucks need to be recalled before someone is killed!!!

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #156

Jul 162013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
On acceleration ramp on interstate 75 attempting to get up to speed to merge into traffic, the vehicle started to sputter and lose all power for approximately 30 seconds to a minute. I was forced to pull out of traffic onto shoulder to avoid accident. Eventually the vehicle regained power. This happened 2 more times during the same trip on July 30 and Aug 5.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #155

Jul 122013

F-150

  • 33,235 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When accelerating and decelerating then accelerating the turbo drops out a severe loss of power occurred.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #154

Aug 192012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I was traveling at approx. 50 mph behind a slow vehicle and pulled in the oncoming lane to pass when the truck seem to miss fire. It would not accelerate and I had brake hard to pull back in behind the slow vehicle. It did this for about thirty seconds and cleared up. It has only happened once. 2012 F150 ecoboost

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #153

Jun 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 1,050 miles
It is a new truck 2012 with about 650 miles when purchased. The first cold start the engine ran rough and had a slight miss. Told dealer said not to worry they could fix it. Went to ky on way back ran into a down pour of rain. The truck at about 40mph started to shake and quiver like it was going to quit.got to the side of road to keep from getting hit from other vehicles. I have had it to the dealer numerous times they cant fix it.I hope that no one gets hurt from this engine failure.the truck now has 4160 miles, it still idles rough and has miss. The dealer checked it out and still can't find the cause.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #152

Aug 152012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,199 miles
On numerous occasions while accelerating to merge into traffic or to pass a slower vehicle or hard accelerating from a standing stop vehicle shakes and stalls, stays in second gear and has no throttle response, in wet or dry conditions, sometimes completely dying. On one occasion vehicle stalled and died while entering expressway causing me to have to run off road, hitting a sign and dirt bank to avoid approaching semi truck. Engine oil is diluted with gas, has burning smell in engine compartment. We are afraid of engine explosion and fire, burning smell is so bad. Ford has attempted several fixes, but problem continues, now there is a grinding grunt when going into reverse.

- Signal Mtn, TN, USA

problem #151

Jun 092012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
I've had problems since the first month of purchase, first time it stalled pulling out of a stop sign with my kids in the truck, scared us to death. Second time, my wife and I were on the interstate going on vacation driving at night in a steady rain, truck begin to shudder and stalled out, had to pull over about 5 times during a 5 hour trip and sit until it would crank and run again. When I returned I took into Ford, they couldn't find any problems, truck kept doing the same in a rain so I took back to dealer and after the third or fourth time they said there is a defect and Ford has a new part coming out in October of 2012, ended up getting the part installed in December 2012. Truck is doing the same thing, just stalled on me in branson, Missouri, I called dealer and corporate Ford and get nowhere. I have a complaint file number with Ford corporate on this problem but no will help me or offer me a new truck without ecoboost. Very frustrating to buy a brand new $57K truck and find out it does not run well in the rain and Ford new of this problem when they sold it to me in April 2012. Now I find out there is a class action suit started in Louisiana and Ohio for the eco boost trucks. Dont really want to go this route but Ford and autonation-cook whitehead Ford dealer has given me no choice. We need to all publicly let our dealers know by being on the news or other means so Ford will stop selling these vehicles. Its not right to treat us this way.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #150

Nov 152012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Ecoboost engine has a terrible miss at idle and blows black smoke at start up. Fuel mileage is also bad due to rich fuel conditions. Ford has replaced many parts including injectors and plugs that were carboned up. Now Ford refuses to do anything else until a new calibration program is released mid August 2013. The truck has spent a total of 6 weeks in the shop and is only 10 months old. Bottom line...Ford refuses to honor the warranty. They cant fix it and they wont buy it back.

- Comfort, TX, USA

problem #149

Jul 272013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 11,922 miles
I was getting on the freeway on Saturday evening around 7:30pm and tried to accelerate my 2012 F-150 ecoboost to merge and the engine lost all power. It was vibrating so bad and the check engine light was flashing and not to mention I almost got hit by another pickup truck because I had lost all power. I paid alot of money for this truck and I am scared to drive it. I pulled of to the side of the road and shut it down for about 3-4 min and started it back up and it was fine. I am scared to drive it because of this issue and my wife was terrified and said she will not get back in it.

- Mayfield Hts, OH, USA

problem #148

Jul 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,150 miles
On July 6, 2013, I was driving in rainy weather on the highway and occasionally noticed a miss/shudder of the engine during the drive. This is a problem that I had experienced before and had addressed, under warranty with my Ford dealer. I had slowed to 30mph due to heavy traffic and the need to merge onto another highway when I experienced a very severe and frightening issue with my F150. I was merging in heavy traffic on an on-ramp and needed to accelerate hard. When I stepped on the accelerator, the engine revved but had no power. The truck shook so badly that I could barely control it at 30 mph. I let off the gas and tried again with the same result. By now, I had to steer to the shoulder to avoid a collision with oncoming traffic. On the fourth or fifth attempt, the engine finally came to life and accelerated with enough power to get me onto the highway. This is a chronic problem with the 3.5L ecoboost equipped F150S. Although Ford has issued tsbs to correct the problem, several "fixes" have been attempted on my truck and none have solved the problem. These vehicles need to be recalled or bought back and replaced with safer, non-defective vehicles.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #147

Jul 112013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
While driving on interstate I attempted to pass a slower vehicle. After moving over and accelerating - the truck buckled and stalled! I was almost rear ended by an 18 wheeler at 65 mph! this was very close to being a serious accident involving multiple vehicles. Please investigate and resolve this issue as Ford doesn't seem to be concerned about it. Not to mention I took it in for Ford to repair the problem and they refused to make the repairs as the vehicle did not show a trouble code. I looked online and there is a tsb on this vehicle by Ford for the repair but Ford won't make the repair. Not to mention since then the fuel mileage has dropped drastically since the event. This has happened three times now. I am very worried about an accident with this issue, not to mention it going out of warranty and I should not have to foot the bill. This is a design flaw and there are lawsuits all over the internet for this same reason. This is our family vehicle and it losing power is a huge safety issue due to tractor trailers not being able to slow down in time when this happens on the interstate. When the vehicle lost power it drops the vehicle speed to 40 mph. Not a safe speed for contested interstates. I bought this vehicle in April and spent 40,000 dollars on a truck that's very unsafe but not even dependable. This vehicle has a 3.5L ecoboost engine with an automatic transmission and it also shudders at various speeds with a hard clunking sound during gear changes. Thank you.

- Mcdonough , GA, USA

problem #146

Jul 162013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Attempting to pass on interstate, vehicle bogged down until I took my foot off accelerator, at this time my speed had declined from 65 mph to 50 mph. During the past 2 weeks this has occurred other times. This has never occurred since I have owned this vehicle but I am concerned. Once thing that I noticed that this has happened on rainy days. I was called by a friend that bought a similar vehicle make model equipment and motor and mentioned that he was aware of a problem made aware to him by a friend that works as a Ford service manager. I have scheduled an appointment with my local Ford dealer. They seemed indifferent as to this being a potential problem. I am submitting this complaint because if this is a common problem that is actually happening, Ford needs to step up and make this known to other owners to prevent something bad happening involving lives.

- Sweetwater, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?