Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #100

Aug 052016


  • 72,000 miles


My F150 is constantly experiencing the exact dangerous malfunction that safety recall 16S19 describes. Ford is not providing any rental assistance and currently does not know when a solution will be available. My transmission will have issues shifting to the next gear, rev up way farther than necessary to shift and then stall. I have to turn off my truck and turn it back on several times to get rid of the issue just to get me to my destination. This occurs on 50% of my drives around the city. I will not dare take it further than 10 miles in fear that I might be stranded and forced to pay for towing. Ford has also told me I must prove something is wrong with my vehicle to even apply for a rental. My local Ford service is not able to find anything wrong besides the exact issue I'm describing. It's a pandora's box, built to put the consumer in the worst position risking injury or death driving a faulty vehicle or paying the bill for a rental.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #99

Nov 172012


  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. While driving under 30 mph, the traction control warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle decelerated without being prompted. The brakes engaged and the failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Southside, AL, USA

problem #98

Dec 112015


  • 20,960 miles
20,484 miles on truck. 10/18/15 RPM's increase but doesnt shift into next gear. 10/19/15 roadside assistance towed to dealer. Dealer found no code, sent back to me. 11/17&11/22 driver seat lost memory. 11/28/15 RPM reved when brake was applied RPM's were still increasing. 12/2 brought to dealer no code on diagnosis, sent out again without troubleshooting 20,900 miles on truck. 12/8/15 RPM's reved didnt go into gear. 12/8/15 1hr after prior failure, tried to leave driveway and 2 attempts to engage drive it wouldnt move put truck in reverse then proceeded to put in drive, stuck in 1st gear for 2 blks. 12/10/15 my 5yr old granddaughter and I drove 4 blocks before truck shifted to 2nd gear. 12/11/15 truck did not seem to be running right heard a clunk upon leaving prk lot got across 4 lanes of traffic and truck failed to shift, wrench on dashed showed and went away, dash info had lines across instead of mpg and air bag light stayed on, dealer was on my way, this time code showed and was the torque converter. I ended up driving this vehicle 500 miles iwith the torque converter failing here and there until a code showed. This caused a very dangerous condition to all on the road and much unneeded stress. I am very concerned what other components have premature wear due to continuing to drive my truck in this condition. I purchased an extended vsc from dealer but unsure what it covers so Ford will not offer extended warrenty, only offering oil changes. I do not want anyone to go through this same dangerous situation. Please act on this before deaths start occuring. After reading up on the torque converter, the symtoms my truck experienced were exact along with the truck increasing RPM's although brake was applied. Instinct is you dont continue driving a vechile that doesnt shift even due to likelyhood of other components failing and dangerous conditions in traffic.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #97

Aug 012014


  • 60,000 miles


I purchased a new 2012 Ford F150 platinum 4X4 ecoboost truck in June 2012. Around 2014, I experienced a complete loss of power and major shaking or shuddering when I went to pass a vehicle in the highway. I thought it was a misfire issue and called the Ford dealer I purchased it from. They asked at the time if it was consistent and I said it was not. They advised that I should just keep an eye on this and that I had an extended warranty. I was told to bring it in if it continued. I have also done a good number of all maintenance related check ups and services with the Ford dealership I bought the vehicle from. It happened a few more times over a 1 year period. I changed the spark plugs as I thought it was a misfire but it continues to happen. The last episode nearly resulted in a collision. I took my vehicle to a Ford dealership near my home and they tested it. Computer reading says it is a P04300 - bad inner cooler. Fix is $1700 per dealer (new inner cooler, new catalytic converter, new boots, new plugs and adding a shield) but that since I am now at 88K, emission warranty ended at 80K and I have no financial support from Ford. I advised I was never told about an emissions warranty and that this is not my driving or mileage issue and that Ford acknowledges this is a design flaw in the charge air cooler and had a redesign. This is a major safety issue and if Ford recognizes this as their design flaw and is now happening to my Ford vehicle, I need them to help accept this as a warrantable item and accept the repair from the dealership. Please assist. Kindest regards.

- Bulverde, TX, USA

problem #96

Jul 162015


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle failed to accelerate and then accelerated unexpectedly. The failure occurred on over ten occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not available.

- Ft Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #95

Jan 062015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
When there was snow and ice on the highways I put my truck in 4 wheel drive and when turned back into 2 wheel drive I began to notice a grinding and vibration noise that occurred when turning. Then couple weeks later the noise started when backing out causing truck to shake and lose power to barely back out. This noise continued and has gotten worse. Was taken to dealership and looked over. Updates were made as well as oil change but days later noise came back. Since 2/12/15 my truck has been in the service department four times and has performed recommendations by Ford but days later noise comes back. The last time my truck was in I was told by the owner and service manager my truck is not fixable as they were informed other 2012 F150's are having same issues and an investigation is being done. Since this my truck is shaking more backing up, jerking the vehicle on the highway as if losing power than will gain power and jolt forward, I hear this grinding noise all the time when driving at different speeds from 30-60 mph, turns, and backing up. The other issue is when truck gets to 60 mph or higher it does not shift down unless I let up on pedal and then push it again. I am feeling unsafe in this vehicle as twice now I have heard a popping noise while driving with this noise. The dealership has told me there is nothing more they can do. The issue has been reported to Ford and they have done nothing for me. I want to get rid of this truck as I do not feel safe driving it like this.

- Hutchinson, MN, USA

problem #94

Apr 052014


  • 17,000 miles


Multiple occasions go to step on the gas and the truck just doesn't accelerate, feels like a misfire or almost about to stall, this usually happens when at a complete stop at a light and light turns green, has also happened when rolling in traffic or trying to get onto highway at the on ramp. Another time driving on highway, stepped on gas and truck lurched forward as if someone hit me from behind and RPM kept accelerating even though I was not stepping on the gas. Have brought this to dealer and they claim they can't find anything wrong. I believe these are particularly dangerous because I'm expecting the truck to move so I can go along with flow of traffic and it just hangs on me putting me in a bad situation or it launches forward making me momentarily jerk the wheel and lose control. Possible known issue? ( thanks

- Somerville, MA, USA

problem #93

Dec 082014


  • 40,001 miles
I was with my family on the way to church. I was making a right turn out of our neighborhood onto the highway when all of the sudden there was a complete loss in power and was unable to resume acceleration. The highway also has a moderate incline in slope which caused the vehicle to slow dramatically. We were almost rear-ended from the car heading in the same direction which was originally a substantial distance away. Luckily the car that was approaching from behind was able to slow down fast enough considering we had a 1 year and 4 year old son in the back seat. I called the local dealership and the earliest appointment they could offer to check the problem was on Wednesday 10/10/2014. This is over 3 days after the incident occurred. The truck only has 40,000 miles on it so I began researching this issue. I discovered that there are more than a substantial amount of complaints and it seems Ford is aware of the issue and is even attempting to modify the air induction system and re flash the PCM. With issues like the millions of vehicles being recalled for airbags that have led to serious injury or death, far beyond the manufacture originally becoming aware of the issues. How long is the issue regarding the 2011-2013 Ford F150 ecoboost going to remain shoved under the rug? how many lives have to be lost before Ford takes accountability for putting the public at risk. In their report to this specific issue (on the NHTSA website), it is more than obvious they have identified a defect in the 2012 Ford F150 and the ecoboost engines within the trucks. Can you help me understand how and why they are not being held accountable for risking the lives of many people. Also, why is the NHTSA allowing Ford to shrug this off and close this investigation" there is a clear defect present that has the potential of leading to loss of life. Is this not pure negligence"

- Rancho Murieta, CA, USA

problem #92

May 202013

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
When you press the throttle pedal to pass the vehicle has a slight acceleration and then shakes, shudders and will not accelerate. I need to coast for several hundred yards before the system recovers and the truck accelerates. This happens all summer long pretty much every time I need to pass. My Ford dealer says they have applied the service bulletins but that does not correct the problem. In your investigation of this matter it is stated that Ford says you can still accelerate I can tell you that is absolutely not true with my truck. I should note that most of the time I am pulling an 18' fishing boat that weights about 3000 lbs. On at least six different occasions now while on vacation I have been in a long string of traffic behind either motor homes or logging trucks that could not go highway speed, I pull out to pass them step on the gas, it shakes, shudders and there I sit in the oncoming traffic lane, meanwhile the string of vehicles behind me have closed the gap, I cannot pull back into the right lane and I cannot accelerate to get in front of them. I end up just slowly moving back to the right hoping the other vehicles will back off and move out of the way, then comes the blasting of their horns and shaking of their fists when they eventually pass me. I cannot imagine how this is not considered a safety issue. Ford specifically markets this ecoboost engine based on it's torque for towing to people that need a truck for towing but you cannot use any of that torque all summer long and I am pulling a boat that is only at one third of the towing capacity.

- Waunakee, WI, USA

problem #91

Oct 062014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While getting on the highway and accelerating, my truck began to shake and lose power. I took it in to the shop afterwards and they had to replace all spark plugs and 1 ignition coil. After researching this, I found out this has been an issue on several 2011 - 2013 model eco boost. Please force a recall, as I do not feel I need to pay for something Ford is responsible for.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #90

Sep 202014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,963 miles


For the fourth time, my 2012 Ford F150 ecoboosted engine stalled or shuttered when hauling a load (trailer or heavy bed load) in a high humidity environment. I was pulling a U-haul trailer behind my truck and it was raining heavily. When I punched the accelerator to pass a slower vehicle, the engine stalled, sputtered, and nearly shut down. The "check engine" light came on for about a minute, then turned off once the engine had cleared what felt like condensation, and returned to normal operating mode. When I took the vehicle to the dealership to complain (for the 4th time), they told me that they were of aware of a design problem with the intercooler on 2011-2013 turbocharged vehicles, but since they could not verify the defect "code, " Ford would not reimburse them for the service fix. This is clearly a safety and environmental issue as the service bulletin that Ford issued to correct the problem, requires replacement of the catalytic converter as well. Frustrated!

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #89

Sep 132014


  • 13,000 miles
While traveling on the interstate, my vehicle starting shuttering as I changed lanes to pass another vehicle. As I accelerated, the engine lost power, and the engine light started flashing. My vehicle continues to shutter under hard acceleration.

- Greeneville , TN, USA

problem #88

Aug 032014


  • 36,000 miles
While traveling at 55mph, up a slight incline on the highway, I pulled out to pass another vehicle. As I pressed on the accelerator I had no engine power and the F150, lariat, eco boost began to slow. The check engine light came on and flashed. I let off of the accelerator and then pressed it down again. This time I had power. I pulled back into the lane and everything appeared to be in working order.

- Gill, MA, USA

problem #87

Jul 142014


  • 32,000 miles
Pulled into parking lot and truck stalled. Could not steer. Could not accelerate. Warning light popped up said low oil pressure. Was not on a hill. Ran vehicle health report through Ford sync service and everything came back ok. Will call dealership next. Had my daughter with me and it scared me to death.

- Bryant, AR, USA

problem #86

Mar 082012


  • 222 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F150. The contact stated while accelerating to enter highway, the vehicle lunged forward and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle began to shake violently before it stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 222 and the current mileage was 61,243.

- Utica, MI, USA

problem #85

Oct 012013


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F150. The contact stated that while traveling 70 mph, the vehicle shifted into 4 -wheel drive independently as the traction control light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road. After powering off and restarting the vehicle it resumed to normal operation. The failure occurred several times. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air actuators needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage 42,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #84

Oct 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to acceleration problems. The consumer stated as he tried to merge into traffic on the interstate, he floored the accelerator pedal, but the engine shut down completely. He was able to get the truck off the main interstate and into the emergency lane. The engine light came on. He let the truck sit in the off position for approximately 10 minutes and then he re-started the truck. At that point, he was slowly able to accelerate while in the emergency lane, to a speed that allowed him to re-enter the interstate. All attempts to accelerate quickly failed and it would only accelerate gradually at slower then normal speeds. He continued his trip with the engine light on and at his first opportunity he took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer returned the vehicle to the consumer saying they had fixed the problem. The truck performed well for the next year without any incidents, there were no occasions where quick acceleration was required. In October 2013, he made another trip, and the same incident happened. Then engine shut down again in December 2013. The dealer stated they made a different repair and they returned the truck to the consumer. The engine shut down again in April 2014. The dealer kept the vehicle, for two weeks, stating they were unable to find a problem.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #83

Jun 092014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Driving to work on June 9 at 8:00am after a hard rainstorm, on South memorial parkway just North of green cove road, traveling about 40 to 45, slowly accelerating, the rear end of the F150 locked up, tires squealing, began to fishtail to the right for a few seconds, then released. I thought I had been hit from the rear, no cars behind me. Temperature gauges were fine, the gear display on the dash board showed only gears 1, 2, and 3. gears 4, 5, and 6 were not displayed. I sped up and the transmission would not change, I slowed down and the transmission would not change, I eased the transmission into neutral and pull to the side of the road and put the transmission in park. The gears 4, 5, 6 were redisplayed. There were no fluids coming from the transmission under the truck. I eased back into drive and noticed a little bit of a shudder around 3rd gear. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership and they have told me that there was no computer code and it was likely to be a computer glitch and there was nothing they could do. I asked if it would be recorded as a complaint and was told no, that unless they could witness the event or there was a computer code, the complaint would not be documented....I escalated to the service manager, we agreed to drive the truck for a bit and see if they could reproduce the problem, but, that there was nothing else T hat could be done. Obviously, if I had been doing 70 mph, the vehicle would have been much more difficult to control. If you have any questions, please ask.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #82

Aug 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I was merging onto an interstate, accelerating from 20 mph to 65 mph to blend in with heavy traffic. The engine began to spit, sputter and shake and bogged down and wouldn't exceed 50mph. With a tractor trailer coming I had no other choice but to abort my merge and pull to the side of the road. I then waited for all traffic to subside before I made another attempt to pull onto the highway. I took the truck back to Ford. They could not duplicate the problem. I have had the truck in for many issues(slow speed shudder, high speed shudder, emergency brake issues, warped rotors, electronic problems, tire issues, acceleration hesitations, rough idle, failed brake pump, and more with less than 30, 000 miles) all of which Ford states are characteristics of the vehicle! this is my family vehicle that I Transport my 3 children and their friends. What will it take for Ford to resolve the problems they have with these trucks?! do people have to be killed before anything is done........ like with Chevy!!!!! Ford is covering up the issues they have with the #1 selling truck in America. It is a shame that people have a facebook page on the problems they have with their F150 because Ford covers up the problems because they don't know what to do to solve them. They told us it is a characteristic of the truck..........really!!!!!!!.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #81

Nov 302013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Traveling on interstate highway from St louis to memphis in right hand lane. Accelerated to pass slower traffic when truck begin to shake violently, lurching forward and back. All the while losing speed and made me fearful to attempt to try to pass or merge. This continued all the way back to memphis. I took the vehicle in for service and described the problem to the service tech. When I picked the truck up the service ticket said "could not duplicate the problem. Since then the problem has gotten worse. I never know when it will occur. It could be rain or shine and there doesn't seem to be a pattern. It is now a weekly/daily occurrence. It has contributed to several near miss accidents. I am afraid to drive anywhere except side streets and I avoid the interstate hwy. The problem is so bad and the vehicle shakes so violently I was looking in the mirror to see what I had ran over. It is a serious safety issue that my Ford dealer denies exists!

- Coldwater, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?