Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Jun 012016


  • 15,000 miles


2012 F-150 ecoboost with 55K miles. Sever loss of power and missing during idle and acceleration. The issue started at 15K miles and after a lot of pushing, Ford installed the deflector shield for water. That solve the problem for heavy rain, but the missing, lack of power, and poor mileage has persisted and is getting worse. The issue happens when the vehicle is in park, stationary in drive, and while under power. It is really bad when it is under heavy power. This is dangerous when it comes to merging into traffic and loosing power all of the sudden. It seems to be worse when it is hot and/or hot and humid out.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #50

Jun 252016


  • 77,000 miles
Driving truck at 65 plus miles per hour on interstate and vehicle stalled out lost power steering and brakes and was too close to having an accident. Later found out that fuse 27 had melted and lost all fuel pump pressure.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #49

May 312016


  • 50,000 miles
The engine light came on 3 times and my truck dropped speed to what Ford calls "limp home mode" which is rough idle. When the truck is restarted, it runs fine. The Ford dealership reported that my throttle box needed to be replaced for $388. The truck has 50,000 miles on it and out of warranty (not covered under power train). They also then told me I should do a fuse relocation because its a known problem with this vehicle but its not a recall. The total cost would be $750+ I guess I'll role the dice on the second part since its not a total failure yet.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #48

Apr 042016


  • 60,000 miles


When on cruise control going 60-70 mph, and you pull out to pass and step on the gas, the ecoboost "hesitates" and will not gain speed, but loose speed. I can only stop this by downshifting, then reengaging the gas. This can be a very dangerous situation. This has happened about 10 times over the last 4 years.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #47

Feb 012016


  • 72,000 miles
Vehicle fuel pump shuts off while driving due to fuel pump fuse (location #27) burning up in fuse box. After my vehicle shutting down while driving several times, last on the highway, with a total loss of power steering and other safety concerns, I found Ford has issued a tsb (tsb 15-0137) with a work around fuse relocation. This is unsatisfactory as this is a known issue to Ford, but not the consumer, putting drivers at risk. The fuse at issue, location #27, literally melted and burned up in the socket.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #46

Feb 012016


  • 20,000 miles
I took delivery of this truck in March of 2012. The truck has had documented ongoing serious drivability, safety and reliability issues since October of 2013. The issue of immediate concern relates to ongoing misfire, back fire, and engine stall. This condition has occurred at low speed, highway speed, and while towing. The immediate loss of power and subsequent surging effects caused by this condition renders the truck hazardous to me, my family, and other motorists. This issue has been repeatedly reported to and serviced by Ford. I have also personally filed complaints and concern with Ford Motor Company. See Ford customer service case number 8603638. The misfire, back fire, and engine stall is the current ongoing issue but you will also see in the service history this vehicle has also experienced traction control, drive shaft, steering system, and sensor/electrical component failures dating back to may of 2012. It is my understanding Ford Motor Company is aware of this issue with the eco boost engine and drivetrain in my truck. This known issue was responded to by tech service bulletin 13-2-14. However, the mitigation measures of that bulletin and other subsequent service attempted to repair my truck have not been successful. Further, the service bulletin does not take into account the significant safety issue of a truck traveling public roads and experiencing sudden loss of engine power. Finally, I want to point out that the ignition/engine problems my vehicle experienced has caused premature failure to other components to my drive train. This includes fouled spark plugs, damaged coils, and likely accelerated end of life to other emission controls and mechanical components to the engine due to the misfire and water entering the combustion chamber.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #45

Dec 302015


  • 48,250 miles


Ecoboost, almost 5 serious accidents in a year. In Jan, my wife, 3 children & I were on I-85 in heavy traffic when my truck stalled. We went from 65 mph to 20 & no power. An 18 wheeler was barreling down on us & had to make an aggressive move with his brakes locked to miss us & the other cars. I pulled the car through 4 lanes of 65 mph traffic, doing 15-20 mph & turned the truck off to get it running again. Next, I was stopped at a light. When the light turned green my truck stalled out 3 times before the truck would finally go. Over the next month my truck stalled at least 10 more times. In April, Ford told me that the ecoboost had a problem & they performed tsb 13-8-1, reprogramed PCM & installed deflector. I haven¿T notice any power loss, but lost 2 mpg from my normal driving habits. In June, I merged into heavy traffic & my truck stalled. 65 mph to idle on a major highway. I don¿T know how I avoided an accident. I pulled off the highway & turned the truck off to get it going. My truck stalled 5 more times before taking it back to Ford. In August, my truck stalled at an intersection 4 times. I completely blocked traffic for about 10 mins. I got on the hwy & went 8 miles. My truck stalled 14 times¿ very dangerous. Every time I got the truck up to speed, it would stall & I would have to pull it over & turn the truck off and restart it. In Aug I took my truck to Ford & they replaced the throttle body. 2 months later it was stalling again. Ford told me that it was misfiring & that they needed to change the plug boots, spark plugs & the fuel filter. I was told that it was the next step they were required to do. So now I¿M paying Ford to test different things & hope that something works. Yesterday I pulled out onto a busy street & my truck stalled. I was almost T-boned. I am driving a time bomb. Every time I drive this truck I am risking my life & everyone around me.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #44

Jul 202015


  • 18,900 miles
Vehicle is a 2012 Ford F150 3.5L V6 ecoboost. Vehicle had a full tank of gas (30 gal tank). Vehicle gas gauge began to drop quickly. Compared to trip counter gallons used, vehicle showed empty tag after only using 9.2 gallons. Upon filling gas and pump entering fill hole, pressure from the tank was released more so than any other time. Gas gauge repeated same issue upon adding the 9.2 gallons to fill the tank again. Gauge once again showed empty when approx 10 gallons were used.

- Beacon, NY, USA

problem #43

Jul 062015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
July 6 lost power to truck engine at 60 mph when going to pass in hard acceleration situation. Truck engine shuttered for over 3 mins until I could get it stabilized around 2000 rpms in a lower gear/speed. This was the first of two similar situation on the same day with the truck and throughout the remainder of the day any acceleration over 3500 rpms caused a loss of power. We limped the vehicle home that day. Next day check engine light came on and off until we could get truck into our local Ford dealer for service on 7-13. This issue has been researched via info on this site to no conclusion. I can say if you drove this vehicle and simulated this issue you would see the major issue this causes and potential risk of accident at highway speeds with acceleration. Specifically heavy traffic situations. The issue caused spark plug damage, catalytic converter damage and the dealer performed the tsb (4th issued by Ford) to attempt to fix the issue. This is a known issue, causes safety issues and should be recalled to permanently fix not try to patch with four different tsb. Fix this correctly before accidents occur that cause deaths. Updated 9/25/15 updated 3/23/2016

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #42

Mar 172014


  • 24,991 miles
24,991mi: Misfire when accelerating while driving. No check engine light. Dealer reported no problem found, no codes & made no repairs. 29,440mi: Misfire when accelerating & going up & down hills specifically when in 4,5, 6 gear during both flat & inclined highway driving. This was while pulling an 8000lb trailer. No check engine light. Dealer found misfire in #1 & 4 and replaced coils & plugs in #1 & #4 only. Test drive still showed misfire, then replaced turbo boost pressure sensor. I was told that moisture had damaged the plugs & sensor. 35,214mi: Misfire when taking off from a stop, during normal acceleration and going up check engine light. Dealer replaced the driver's side exhaust manifold because it was warped. 37,164mi: Misfire when taking off from a stop, during normal acceleration & going up hills. I saw this in acceleration conditions from 10-60mph without towing a trailer. No check engine light. Dealer reported no problem found, no codes & made no repairs. 38,577mi: Repeated severe misfires while going up moderate inclines. Check engine light came on (first time this ever happened) & I had a reduction in power, could not get out of 3rd gear & my speed dropped from 65mph to 50mph. After repair had moderate misfires during major inclines while towing a trailer but no check engine light. 39,000mi: While towing a trailer, experienced series of moderate to severe misfires in waves – be ok for an hour & then go into a series of misfires for 3-10 minutes. Some were on hills, some were on flat highway driving. I had 5 occurrences where the check engine light came on during this drive. 3 of these were during a hill climb where I had a power reduction & lost speed. Vehicle stayed in 3rd gear. When I would get a series of severe misfires, misfires were so severe (without the check engine light on), that I could hear & feel the turbo kick off & on..

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #41

May 062015


  • 71,000 miles


The truck is equipped with a cap less filler system for the fuel filler. The mechanism that controls this has failed leaving the fuel filler door to not close properly and it flaps in the breeze as you are driving. This leaves the gas line to the tank exposed and is certainly a safety issue. Normally Ford has a 36mo/ 36000 warranty and on this truck there is an extended warranty of 100000 miles but when contacted about the issue they said this isn't covered and there would be a charge for repairing it. This is a safety issue as far as I'm concerned and they should be addressing it as this has become standard on all of their vehicles.

- Conway, MA, USA

problem #40

Dec 232014


  • 65,000 miles
2012 F150 ecoboost engine.loss of power and truck shuddering when accelerating at highway speed from possible misfiring. Service engine light came on also, but turned off soon after event. Took to dealer to check, dealer said to change spark plugs and boots. Dealer did not mention previous or current technical service bulletins for this.

- Sarver, PA, USA

problem #39

Jan 042015

F-150 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
I was pulled to the side of the highway (I-95) waiting out a heavy rainstorm. Upon pulling back onto the highway, my truck would not accelerate, lost power, shook and almost stalled out..I was almost rear ended by a truck. This was the second time this happened since I bought the truck new. The first time was Jan -14 under the same location and circumstances.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #38

Jan 032015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
After driving in raining conditions for more than four hours, I attempted to pass another vehicle. When I accelerated, my vehicle began to lose power and shake violently. Because of this, I nearly cause a multiple car accident do to my inability to control my trucks rapidly reducing speed. The same issue or type of issue occurred in late August of 2013 while attempting to merge into traffic. Upon acceleration attempt, the engine reduced power, failed to respond and the vehicle shook violently. A Ford dealership completed tsb-13-8-1, however, it was reluctantly done as no code would verify a problem. The truck is currently at another dealership, who once I explained the problem I was having, told me that I needed to have tsb-13-8-1 performed. I mentioned it had been performed and was told that unless a code could verify a problem, nothing could be done. This is a well documented problem, with many occurrences. This vehicle is going to get someone killed if someone doesn't correct the issue. It is not something that can be "created" by a mechanic to, it only happens in real-life situations. Is there something someone can do to make Ford research, identify and correct this issue before even one death?

- South Mills, NC, USA

problem #37

Oct 122014


  • miles
When trying to pass a slow moving vehicle ( going 45 in a 55) I tried to pass. When I moved into other lane and gassed truck I lost power and started jerking. I had to let up completely off the gas and fall back behind the car that I was passing. This was a very dangerous situation since there were other cars behind me that had also started to pass as well as oncoming cars up ahead (a safe distance before attempting to pass of course). This seems to be a major issue since many of the same stories came up when searching the internet about this.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #36

Oct 252014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Under non-tow situations truck will shudder/misfire during hard acceleration. Acceleration does not have to be wot. Weather conditions can be hot and sunny or cloudy, raining and humid. Truck did not start doing this until 60,000 + miles.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #35

Sep 202014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,963 miles
For the fourth time, my 2012 Ford F150 ecoboosted engine stalled or shuttered when hauling a load (trailer or heavy bed load) in a high humidity environment. I was pulling a U-haul trailer behind my truck and it was raining heavily. When I punched the accelerator to pass a slower vehicle, the engine stalled, sputtered, and nearly shut down. The "check engine" light came on for about a minute, then turned off once the engine had cleared what felt like condensation, and returned to normal operating mode. When I took the vehicle to the dealership to complain (for the 4th time), they told me that they were of aware of a design problem with the intercooler on 2011-2013 turbocharged vehicles, but since they could not verify the defect "code, " Ford would not reimburse them for the service fix. This is clearly a safety and environmental issue as the service bulletin that Ford issued to correct the problem, requires replacement of the catalytic converter as well. Frustrated!

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #34

Jun 102013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
While trying to pass another vehicle during wet weather, my vehicle would loose engine power at a critical moment during passing. Ford dealer could find no problem. Loss of power happened more than one time while passing. After about one year of service I traded vehicle off....not liking the passing performance during wet weather. Then found out that this is a problem with many F150 ecoboost engines. I believe this is a serious issue.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ackerly, TX, USA

problem #33

Jun 012014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Was traveling up the roadway on 6/1/14 in our 2010 F-150 XLT and went to make a turn into an intersection. The vehicle stalled and was rendered useless in the middle of the intersection. The vehicle lost complete power, steering capability, and braking was diminished tremendously. We were stalled in an intersection with cross traffic approaching at 55mph. With little time due to oncoming vehicles, was able to immediately restart the engine and proceed, before oncoming vehicles approached us in the intersection. Not very safe being that my entire family was in the truck. Ford has issued a service bulletin about the issue with the vapor canister purge valve and its needing to be replaced. However, I believe this is a serious safety issue being that the vehicle stalls when reducing speed (such as turning into intersections with other oncoming traffic coming at you). There is no recall in lieu of this potentially dangerous situation they are causing. Additionally, this problem with the canister causes a tremendous vacuum on the fuel tank, so much that it damages internal components and has raised questions about whether it is affecting the stability of the actual tank itself. When you go to fuel the vehicle, there is so much of a vacuum that you hear it release the pressure when inserting the nozzle. Immediately after fueling, the vehicle will not start for several minutes. This issue needs to be corrected before someone is seriously injured or killed due to their vehicle sitting in the middle of a roadway and being hit by oncoming traffic.

- Lagrange, KY, USA

problem #32

Dec 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
I was travelling on a 4-lane, 65mph highway when I floored the gas pedal. The truck failed to accelerate as it should have. Instead, it acted as if it was coasting. There was no power for several seconds even when I moved the gas pedal to different positions. When the truck finally seemed to resume power, it started to shake violently. The shocked passenger and I looked at each other, then I checked to see if there were parts strewn on the road behind me. Suddenly, it smoothed out and there were no more issues on that trip. I had been driving that truck for about 10 hours with various forms of precipitation at the time. This was December 21, 2013. The second incident was on December 28, 2013. Weather conditions were sunny and dry. I had been driving about 50 minutes. I floored the gas pedal again to overtake a vehicle and was barely able to overtake due to no power. Again, I worked the throttle to no avail. The truck finally recovered but started shaking violently again. As before, it smoothed out. I took my truck to a local Ford dealership where they told me it was showing no codes and that their techs could not reproduce the symptoms I had mentioned. I checked on NHTSA website and found this issue is under investigation. I do not agree with the service bulletins. My theory is that there is a computer programming problem specific to this direct-injection, turbo gasoline engine. I plan on trading for something other than an ecoboost engine, as this problem is dangerous.

- New Burnside, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?