Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,363 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #165

Sep 192015

F-150

  • 36,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

September 2015 I-75 North bound, attempted to pass a vehicle at 70 mph and had loss of power, check engine light and violent engine shaking for 5-10 minutes on the highway before shaking and check engine light stopped. Happened in the gainesville fl area cloudy but dry day, had all scheduled maintenance done in venice fl prior to getting on the road at the dealership, 36,500 miles. October 2015 I-44 East bound tulsa ok, reentering the interstate had loss of power unable to enter at appropriate speeds, check engine light and violent shaking. Slammed on gas and then brake pedals with no difference. Pulled off the interstate parked the truck, turned off and restarted as soon as it started gunned the gas pedal RPM in the red line and again the truck lost all power, check engine light and shook did this for 30 minutes until I was able to start the truck and gun the RPM into the red line without loss of power. Called dealership asking about hydroplaning and engine losing power like in the Tundra trucks, was told no Ford does not have that safety feature. Cold and wet weather conditions 40,000 miles. November 2015 on tx 82 West bound at 80 mph, 35 degrees and rainy conditions. Attempted to pass a semi and had loss of power, check engine light and violent shaking was a passenger in the truck at this time and was still able to feel the shaking from the engine. Again lasted 5-10 minutes. Went to the dealership for oil change before the trip in the beginning of November. 43,000 miles. Have been to my dealership asking about this problem, and have been told there may be a recall but so far nothing. I do interstate driving in less than ideal conditions (rain, snow and ice) I need this truck to preform that is why I bought it. I understand it takes time and money to make a recall happen, but make no mistake this is going to cause accidents.

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #164

Jan 092016

F-150

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle started to shake violently and decelerated as the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnosed the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Greenwood, SC, USA

problem #163

Dec 272015

F-150

  • 69,000 miles
3.5 L ecobost losses power while driving on highway and poor acceleration from stop light or when accelerator pedal is depressed when passing. Several close calls from vehicles going faster approaching from rear at stop lights and while passing. Had close encounter with two tractor trailers on hwy while traveling at 60-65mph going up a hill. Went to pass the trailer truck that was slowing down. After entering the passing lane and pressing the acceleration pedal the truck had a quick shake then with the acceleration pedal pressed to the floor the truck slowed to 45 mph and would not accelerate. I was almost rear ended buy another large truck attempting to pass the slower one. Sometimes has ticking noise at start up that seems to go away after running for 5-30seconds. Has P0016 code and P0299 codes.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #162

Dec 212015

F-150

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck has over 115,000 miles on it now I drive 50,000+ miles a year. I bought the vehicle new 1st occurrence was at appx 50,000 miles I was attempting to pass on interstate the engine stalled started run rough and lost power this corrected it self after I let off the throttle in a few seconds. It did this one more time a few days later. Talked to local dealer asked about fuel filter, they said there was no filter. They recommended running fuel injector cleaner. I did this and continued to do this but engine idled rough at stop signs even in park. It finally did the same thing a third time and then again from a stop sign. I had spark plugs replaced this was at 95,000 miles this helped I did not have the stumble problem again but still idles rough. Finally 2 days ago it was going down road and wrench light came on and vehicle went into limp mode pulled over shut off and restart engine it went into normal mode no problem. I have cleaned the map sensors all three but no help. I did note map sensors are wet. I rear in one of your many complaints about this problem that it may be condensation from inter-cooler this sounds plausible. When it goes into limp it does not throw a code so no way to know what is wrong. I have spoke to my dealer no help. I have not called Ford yet. I have rear multiple (100S) of similar complaints a lot of them on your site. Will it take someone dying for you to force Ford to fix this. The truck cost over 50,000 I am still paying for it and it is unsafe. I had a Nissan with over 300,000 miles and no problems do we need to buy foreign made vehicles to get a good product" will american companies not stand behind their products" I as a tax payer bailed out Ford and GM can I not expect a quality made product in return! I guess after someone dies in a crash caused by the F150 stalling on the highway the NHTSA will finally step in an force a recall!!!

- West Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #161

Nov 212015

F-150

  • 52,000 miles
The engine splash shield has come loose three times in about a year. This is very large component under the engine. The dealership indicated there are a lot of F-150's with this issue, that snow will pull the shield down. They also asked who changed the oil - I believe the shield needs to be removed to change the oil. The dealership indicated the problem is not covered by Ford or the warranty. If the shield comes loose it creates a clear hazard for cars behind the truck. The shield has come loose after an oil change (by the dealership), in the snow, and one other time.

- Grosse Pointe, MI, USA

problem #160

Nov 072015

F-150

  • 29,800 miles
Basically the truck will not start. It has plenty of power and doesn't seem to be electrical. When starting the truck I hear the starter running for ~5 seconds but the engine never fires off. On my 4th or 5th repair after having it towed back to the dealership. Each time they try replacing the fuel pump only for it to work briefly. Twice it started for them at the dealership after it had been towed. Either they don't know what the problem is or the work they do fuel pump temporarily fixes the real issue. This cycle has repeated for 4-5 times for a vehicle with less than 30K miles. First instance was in February 2013. Last 3 instances have been in the last 3 months. I have never seen a problem while driving but if its a fuel pump issue as they keep claiming then the issue could arise at any time. At this point I don't trust nor feel safe driving this vehicle. Oh I should mention that this last tow truck driver towed 9 other Ford-F150 this week that had the same symptoms.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #159

Nov 072015

F-150

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is an update to my complaint filed preciously. After the second episode of loss of power and the check engine light coming on. I took my ecoboost powered truck to a Ford dealer and they performed tsb 14-0017. This was supposed to fix the engine loosing power. This is why the NHTSA closed the investigation of the F150 ecoboost. This has not worked. Yesterday 11-7-2015 I was on a 2 hour highway trip in rainy conditions. While driving the motor again lost power and could not even maintain highway speeds. This was dangerous to my family and everyone around us. The tsb from Ford has not fixed the dangers of these trucks. Please re-open the investigation into this dangerous vehicle before someone is killed or injured. American roads deserve safe cars.

- Sugarland, TX, USA

problem #158

Dec 012013

F-150

  • 1,500 miles
We have taken this vehicle numerous times to fix the transmission and motor (eco boost 6-cylinder) the transmission does not shift smoothly, the vehicle lurches and has a lack of power/acceleration. The vehicle is in motion and experiences these problems both in city and highway driving. The NHTSA has hundreds of complaint and Ford has received over 4000. The last time we took it to the dealer their explanation was: "cannot duplicate customer's complaint" this platform is faulty and somehow Ford has been able to keep it off the radar. Apparently Ford does not know how to fix it and continues to deny that there is a problem.

- Bartonville, TX, USA

problem #157

Oct 232015

F-150

  • 36,400 miles
Reproduceable loss of power after extended highway driving in humid weather. Loss of power happens when the ecoboost intercooler (cac) builds up condensation and then throttle is applied to pass or merge into traffic. When trottle is applied the condesation water is pushed by the turbos psi into the motor. This causes a missfire and the engine to loose power unexpectedly. This has happebed when attempting to pass a slow moving vehicle on a country road with oncomming traffic nearly causing a head on collision.

- Sugarland, TX, USA

problem #156

Oct 242015

F-150

  • 51,000 miles
2013 Ford F-150 with the 5.0 V8 engine that has 51,000 miles. On numerous occasions the truck will crank as normal but will not start, as well as lose power while driving. Ford road side had the truck towed to summerville Ford. Ford service department advised that a fuse form the factory was too small and was overheating causing the truck not to start. The service department told me this is a known/common issue, and the fix was for them to install a fuse relocation kit by splicing into the wiring in the fuse box as well as install a larger fuse. Of course this seems like an engineering/fuse location issue and not a worn out part issue.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #155

Oct 262015

F-150

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle lost power and failed to accelerate. In addition, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #154

Oct 222015

F-150

  • 60 miles
Driving down the road going about 45mph and lost power to gas wouldn't go over 30mph tool light came on then and number 1 warning light came on. Let it sit for half a hour, turn back on and it must have reset it self P. drove back home which is 20 miles away and it did it again. I bought this truck brand new it only has 60K miles on it.

- Morgantown, KY, USA

problem #153

Sep 302015

F-150

  • 20,000 miles
While trying to merg unto interstate engine lost power and started to shake.

- Winfield, WV, USA

problem #152

Sep 282015

F-150

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle lost engine power and the warning light illuminated. The rpms increased to 1,000. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road and the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to locate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- Enola, PA, USA

problem #151

Aug 112015

F-150

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. While making a turn at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle resumed normal operation shortly after the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000.

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #150

Aug 102015

F-150

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart; however, the failure immediately recurred. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Crossroads, TX, USA

problem #149

Jun 302015

F-150

  • 27,750 miles
June 30, 2015 3:30pm F150 shuddered and then stalled out while running traffic. Wrench insignia appeared on dashboard screen. I was able to coast to the side of the road, put it in park and it restarted. I was the only person in the truck. June 30, 2015 5:45pm F150 shuddered and then stalled out while in running traffic. Wrench insignia appeared on dashboard screen. I was able to coast to the side of the road, put it in park and it restarted. There were 4 people in the truck. Truck not used from June 30 to July 4th. July 4th, 2015 6:30pm F150 shuddered and stalled and went in to some type of barely running mode. The wrench insignia again appeared on the dashboard screen. I coasted to the side of the road. Truck struggled to start but eventually did so and I took it home and parked it as it was becoming dangerous to be on the road with it. July 1, 2015 called and made an appointment at wayne county Ford service dep't in honesdale pa. They gave me an appointment date of July 6 at 9:30am. They could not diagnose the problem and the truck is still sitting there as of July 7th.

- Lakeville, PA, USA

problem #148

Jun 302015

F-150

  • 27,750 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle hesitated, stalled, and the wrench warning light illuminated. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred two times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 27,750. MA 10/6

- Lakeville , PA, USA

problem #147

May 012015

F-150

  • 45,000 miles
Vehicle hesitation with jerking and loss of momentum when lightly accelerating at speeds between 60 mph and 70 mph when hot. Dealer determined this was caused by the spark plugs and boots and changed them out at 48K miles. Dealer maintenance book lists changing out the spark plugs and boots at 100K miles which a gross underestimated maintenance schedule. This is miss leading to the buyer for expected repair costs and dangerous for the owner while on the road and dangerous to other motorist because of the unexpected loss of momentum and jerking of the vehicle.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #146

Mar 112015

F-150

  • 13,000 miles
Ford F150 ecoboost 2013 13,000 mile the engine shakes and a lost of power when passing. The check engine light come on while its happen but shuts off when the power come back. I have taken it to Ford 4times but because it has no check engine light on they look at me like if I'm crazy.

- Mission , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?