Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,397 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Jul 042013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While merging onto a highway via an on ramp in rainy conditions I was almost involved in an accident when my 2013 Ford F150 ecoboost equipped truck lost power and would not accelerate. I was forced to the shoulder as the approaching tractor trailer was unable to stop in time and the impending collision would have caused serious harm to my family. The check engine light flashed for a few moments as we drove slowly on the shoulder and then it went off. No further highway travel was used following this potentially catastrophic incident due to the rainy conditions. One additional incident occurred with the truck one month prior but did not result in the check engine light. When pulling out of a parking lot onto a busy street the truck hesitated for a few moments before finally accelerating. When the truck finally responded a large smoke cloud appeared behind the truck and the engine revved much higher than normal. Until the recent event we thought it was an isolated incident. There was no rain or excessive moisture in the air on this particular day.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #38

Jun 222013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Upon hard acceleration to merge on to an interstate, a loss of engine power was experience causing a failure to accelerate. The vehicle was moved to the side of the road to prevent a rear end collision with another vehicle secondary to loss of speed and inability to accelerate.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #37

May 092013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,849 miles
Reduced engine power during hard accelerations. Experiencing misfires at highway speeds and when pulling out into intersection. Was almost hit by oncoming vehicle in intersection because truck lost power and speed in the middle of the intersection, truck was called on fast to make a lefthand turn at the gap in traffic and lost power. Vehicle was purchased new on April 13, 2013. Ford dealership ran diagnostics and determined problem was due to oasis special message number 32227, "intermittent stumble/misfire on acceleration". Ford said there is no fix yet "engineering is investigating, continue monitoring for updates".

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #36

Jun 222013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 4,087 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 5th incident with the same problem, but worst now. I had this truck at the Ford dealership on Monday June 17,2013. They said it will be hard to diagnosis without a fault code. How is it they can tell me how fast I have been driving for the past month, but the inboard computer cannot tell Ford technicians what is wrong.the engine cut off again for the 5th time, but this time it would not start. The instrument showed 2 icon's this time, a ( wrench and check oil ), I'm sorry but the wrench indicates I believe something to do with a rear end on a 4 X 4 truck, sorry this is only a 2 wheel drive vehicle. I tried the ( 2 ) recommendation in the instruction book and when turned the ignition to start it only tried for less than 3 seconds, then the power to the ignition went blank. I tried for 30 minutes, then called Ford road side assistant for a tow truck, which was dispatched within a hour. I had already called Ford Friday June 21,2013 for an appointment for # 3 & 4 with the engine cutting off. I then called Saturday morning and asking then for a better appointment, they gave me one for Monday 6-23,2013 instead of Tuesday 6-24-2013.I badly need transportation this next week, I'm going to ask Ford for ambulance service this next coming Friday June 28,2013, I am a disabled senior veteran and having hip injections next Friday out of town at the veterans hospital and need a care giver, since I won't be able to drive after the procedure.Ford this is beginning to be a very serious condition when driving and probably cause accidents very soon. Lets get the problem fixed or order me a new truck because of North Carolina lemon law.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #35

Jun 032013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,600 miles
Pulling out into the highway with traffic coming, I tried to accelerate and the engine lost power. To avoid being struck by oncoming traffic, I steered vehicle onto the shoulder of the highway. I have had several other instances of where I lost power, the engine did not respond while trying to pass other vehicles. It was not humid or raining at the time these incidents occurred. Took vehicle to the dealer, it was there for two days. They could not find or recreated the problem.

- Fair Haven, MI, USA

problem #34

Jun 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,991 miles
This is the 2nd time today, I've had this problem and is the 4th episode of the same problem. This is a flex fuel 2013 Ford F-150.this is beginning to be a big concern, as stated I was only going about 10 mph, since I was in a shopping center getting ready to park. The engine usual cranks after I come to a complete start and turn the ignition off. I need this fixed asap. I've got a trip planned.

- Charlott, NC, USA

problem #33

Jun 112013

F-150

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while parked, he noticed flames coming from under the hood of the vehicle. The fire department was called to the scene and a fire report was filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The cause of the fire was undetermined. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.

- Greenbrier, AR, USA

problem #32

Jun 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,970 miles
This is the 3rd time that this new F-150 truck engine suddenly has cut off. I was at the Ford dealership in belmont, N.C on Monday June 17,2013. They said they could not find anything wrong. They then said they put in a new update code. I now have only drove about another 50 miles since Monday. It cut off again while I was driving about 30 mph on a busy charlotte, nc street. I thought my nuckles were going to part since I had to control the vehicle and not cause an accident. I am schedule to take in back to keith hawthorne Ford on Tuesday, June 25,2013--there phone number 704-825-5186-service person- will

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #31

May 222013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
May 22, 2013- while driving South on I-55 and merging onto I-12, I was traveling approximately 35 mph when I gave the truck gas to accelerate into oncoming interstate traffic of 70+ mph. My truck completely went limp and I could not accelerate at all with the check engine light coming on. I was in real trouble at this point so I pulled off with one tire in the grass to avoid a serious accident and potentially being killed. Approximately 1 minute later the truck regained power and I continued to my destination with the check engine light going back off. May 23, 2013- I called Ford dealership where I bought my vehicle and they explained to me that nothing was wrong if the warning light went off. Stating the system does this as an environmental precaution? May 28, 2013- I was traveling in galveston, tx at 25 mph when the check engine light came on again. I did attempt to give it gas to see if the same problem was occurring and it once again would not respond with the check engine light staying on permanently this time. I parked my truck for work until June 11, 2013. I took a picture of my dash to document the warning light. Called Ford dealership @ 7:20 a.M. on 6/10/13 explaining my situation. He stated that over the phone it sounds like the inner cooler. He explained to me that it is not dangerous and not to worry. He said the part was an updated part and they would have to run diagnostics to know the problem for sure. Dropped truck off at Ford dealership @ 11:10 a.M. on 6/12/13. Received phone call from Ford @ 3:20 on 6/13/2012. They told me that it was not my inner cooler because my truck has this so called updated inner cooler and they replaced my catalytic converter. They assured me this was fixed and would not happen again since the system was updated. The power loss happened two more times since and has me really worried to drive it.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #30

May 282013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,781 miles
2013 F150 eco boost problem with approximately 2781 miles drove thru the town albert lea, mn at about 1100 hours on 5/28/13 (cst) at about 30 mph. Entered the on ramp (cloverleaf style ramp) to I-35 southbound. Attempted to accelerate to 60 mph due to short on ramp/merge lane. Engine lost power (approx. 80%"?") then went into a shaking/shuttering mode. Engine warning light flashed intermittently. Attempted to merge with several semiż's on I-35 (the reason for quick acceleration plus the sort merge lane). Backed off on the gas pedal when engine power decreased and in approximately 20 seconds the engine recovered and never hesitated again. The weather temperature was approx. 60 degrees F with a heavy mist and moderate fog. The bottom line: If any one of the truckers had hicupped or had been distracted during our terrifying merge we would be writing this info from a hospital bed (or not writing from a morgue). Dealer ran diagnostic with no indications of any failure in spite of engine warning flashing during power loss or shaking (death rattle"?"). date of manufacture appears to be December 2012.

- La Veta, CO, USA

problem #29

Jun 072013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While running approximately 45 mph I accelerated hard to make a pass and the truck just lost all power. It started sputtering and I fell back into line. The check engine light came on and it continued to run rough so I pulled off the road. As I did this it "caught up" and started running smooth again and the check engine light went off. Later in the day I tried it again and it started to do the same thing so I quickly let off. Both of these times it was raining. Later after the rain stopped I tried it again with no problem. It only happened when it rains. I took it to the Ford dealership and they told me there was a fix but my truck was made before included date. Don't know that date. Told me also that no code was registered on the computer even though the check engine light came on. Truck battery keeps going dead too and it has now been in the dealership for 8 days straight and I still don't have any answers. Truck has been in shop 10 days in past month.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #28

Jun 082013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 13,200 miles
6/08/13 while traveling from kingsville to rio hondo at 6 am for a fishing trip, I accelerated hard to pass a semi-truck. My F150 shuddered violently in the back end, and I felt a significant loss of power. The check engine light blinked excessively before extinguishing. The truck resumed normal operation fairly quickly, within 5 sec. I continued to my destination with no further problems, making sure to limit my speed and make no more hard accelerations. The weather was rainy and wet conditions. I intended on investigating this issue once I returned home. 6/09/13 the truck had been parked and not driven until my departure on sun, 2 pm. On my way home I was forced to accelerate quickly on hwy 77 on ramp from fm 107 to keep up with traffic. The truck once again shuddered violently and the A/C began blowing hot air, the loss of power was much more significant than the last episode and I was forced to pull onto side of hwy 77 to avoid being struck by traffic behind me. The engine light blinked and continued to stay on. The truck resumed normal operation; however the length of time before that happened was much longer than before. I was certain I was going to be stranded and it was necessary for me to take emergency measures. The weather was hot and dry.

- Kingsville, TX, USA

problem #27

Jun 112013

F-150

  • 2,600 miles
6/11/13 driving in moderate rain in 75 degrees with cruise control on I attempted to accelerate to pass. Truck lost power and began to shudder rather violently. Check engine light began to flash. Incident lasted 20-30 seconds. This occurred again on 6/13/13 in similar conditions. I took the vehicle to a dealer in massena NY. They pulled a P-306 code (#6 cylinder misfire) and ran an oasis report. The report showed my exact symptoms as an ecoboost issue. They assured me it was not going to damage the vehicle so I drove it back to home in Virginia. I have an appt with my local Norfolk va dealer on 6/17/13. My build date is 03/03/13.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #26

Jun 122013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,750 miles
On this new F-150 with eco boost engine, the engine now has shut down 2 times the last 2 days on June 12 and 13, 2013. The engine oil light came on. I was only going 20 mph when this happened both times since I was stopping at the stop sign 3 blocks from my house. On the highway with the engine in cruise control at speed of 60-65 mph the transmission goes from 6 th gear to 5th gear alot.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #25

May 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 16,800 miles
When accelerating the engine shut off without warning. After the dealer provided service for this issue, the engine shut off while decelerating to a stop and again while accelerating from this stop. Most recently the engine has been very sluggish at times while attempting to accelerate.

- Brandon, SD, USA

problem #24

Jun 072013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 10,503 miles
While traveling at highway speed on I-69 in Michigan between lansing and flint, I attempted to merge into the passing lane to allow merging traffic from the on-ramp onto the expressway. In order to change lanes, I used firm acceleration to avoid contact with the faster vehicles in the passing lane. The steering wheel started shaking violently while the check engine light flashed. All forward acceleration was impossible the engine sputtered for 45-60 seconds after the event until power was restored. One week after I took delivery of the truck, this problem began on a similar trip on the way to toledo around the dundee exit on I-23. The vehicle only had 400 miles on it at the time. This was in early May 2013. I took the vehicle to the dealer who performed the tsb replacing the charged air cooler and updating the software in the engine control module. This can be repeated on any trip of significant duration on a rainy day. The tsb did absolutely nothing to address this problem, and I fear for my safety as well as my family's safety. I do not let me wife drive the car because she would not be as well equipped to deal with an event like this. I feel cheated by Ford, and I am not satisfied with their attempts of fixing this. Furthermore, I know every time this happens the engine is taking in large amounts of water through the intake, and this is catastrophic for engine life and longevity. Please pursue recall efforts now on this horrible engine.

- Eaton Rapids, MI, USA

problem #23

May 152013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 10,600 miles
Vehicle lost power when trying to pass another vehicle. Note I was in a 75 mph area trying to pass a vehicle that had trash flying off truck. In any case when I punched the accelerator the vehicle did a nose dive as it lost power. It took about 2 seconds for the vehicle to restore to normal operation.

- Anthem, AZ, USA

problem #22

Jun 062013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 550 miles
My vehicle is a 2013 Ford F-150 ecoboost. I was traveling on the interstate and my check engine light came on and the truck shuddered violently. While this was occurring the vehicle had little power. I was in the left hand lane, and was pinned between a tractor trailer on my right and a car behind me. The vehicle shuddered for approx. 8 to 10 seconds then stopped. I was then able to accelerate and pass the truck. Weather conditions: Raining temp: Between 75 and 80 degrees time: 7:00 a.M.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #21

Jun 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 600 miles
Traveling on the interstate during heavy rains. Traffic in my lane stopped. I tried to change lanes and accelerate briskly. When I tried to accelerate, the vehicle started to shutter and the engine power died. It seemed to go into limp mode. The check engine light flashed several times. The vehicle would not accelerate and left me hanging in the travel lane with faster traffic almost causing a crash. Vehicle is one week old and has approximately 600 miles on it. The engine is the Ford ecoboost 3.5L V6. The vehicle had to be turned off and restarted to get it to drive normal again.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #20

May 222013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 950 miles
On 5/22/13, while traveling on I-81 vehicle hwy mileage dropped from 20.3 to approx 16 mpg. On 5/23 while driving to Ford dealership in houlton, Maine I was passing a vehicle at 30mph ina 45 zone and the engine almost shut down. I had to pull back because of approaching traffic. At the Ford dealer, their computer check showed the engine dropped the #6 cylinder (that's what they told me). They said it was a ecoboost problem and would have to call the factory engineers. Two weeks later, I have not heard from Ford or the Ford dealer. I ordered & they built the truck in April 2013. It was delivered 4/26 at Cherokee Ford, woodstock, ga. I bought the ecoboost engine because of the epa hwy mileage rating of 21 mpg and paid $1050 extra to get it. I have always go better than the rated mpg on my vehicles, so this is not driving habits. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Acworth, GA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?