Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,215 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford F-150 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jun 202015


  • 36,000 miles


Approximately 1 year ago, I filed a complaint with NHTSA regarding a faulty master cylinder on our Ford truck. I had notified Ford of the issue but the complaint fell on deaf ears. Recently, Ford issued a recall on these vehicles because of this problem. This recall came after 9 reported accidents and 1 injury. This could have been avoided. I am still struggling with Ford to be reimbursed $1100 that I paid to replace the master cylinder and fix our brake problem. I would like to be contacted to see if you can assist me.

- Portage, PA, USA

problem #25

Jul 152016


  • miles
This is a lariat model F-150 with less than 36K miles. The evaporator is leaking and requires the complete dashboard to be pulled in order to replace the evaporator at a cost of $1,700.this poor design along with poor production should be covered by Ford due to model type and amount of miles.

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #24

Jul 142016


  • 21,000 miles
Exploding driver side power rear window that is tinted and defrost accessory, while driving 45 mph.

- Oak Grove, LA, USA

problem #23

Jun 192016


  • 52,000 miles


Ford F-150 brake failure was driving on Sunday and had a complete brake failure with no electronic warning, warning light for low brake fluid came on after failure. Was traveling about 35 mph on a city street at time pushed pedal all the way to floor with little response by brakin system. Had to use parking brake to stop car, extremely scary bc I had kids in car.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #22

Apr 052016


  • 28,000 miles
Remote started my pickup on a cold morning. Doing this it automatically turns on the defrosters and the one in the rear window. Was driving to work and hear a loud pop. Wasn't until that night that I noticed that loud pop was a rear window shattering. Something with the defroster in the back window malfunctioned causing the glass to shatter. In pictures you can clearly see that no object struck the window because there is no indentations.

- Brown City, MI, USA

problem #21

Mar 202015


  • 87,000 miles
Air conditioner has chemical smell when turned on... inspected by Ford pag oil to be leaking from the evaporator core behind the dash.

- Kula, HI, USA

problem #20

Mar 302016


  • miles


Used remote start on my pickup in below freezing weather at roughly 28. came out to drive to work and rear driver side back window had spider web cracks throughout the glass.

- Prattsburgh, NY, USA

problem #19

Jan 252016


  • 28,348 miles
Back window shattered when remote start was turned on.

- Grosse Ile, MI, USA

problem #18

Jan 132014


  • 849 miles
I have a 2013 Ford F 150 limited 4 X 4. I lost my brakes twice while traveling on the freeway in the first 4 months of ownership. On Jan 13,2014 with approx 849 miles on the od I had no brakes. After letting the vehicle sit for 8 hrs, magicially I had full brakes function and could drive to dealership for repairs. On April 3, 2014 with approx 2517 miles on od, my brakes failed again without warning on the freeway. I let the vehicle sit for 8 hours and by magic the brakes worked as normal. I believe there is a corrupted program in the vehicle computer and the ABS computer. The first loss of brakes, the vacumn pump was not hooked up at the factory. The brakes should never have worked. But they worked perfectly for 3 weeks before failure. The dealership hooked up the vacumn pump. The second time, the Ford factory instructed the dealership to replace the vacumn pump. To add insult to injury. Ford wanted to keep my vehicle and drive it every day till it failed for them. I still had to pay for the lease. No financial help from the factory or dealership.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #17

Mar 032016


  • 65,000 miles
Shortly after turning on the rear window defroster the rear window shattered, nothing hit it. It's like the defroster shorted and got too hot and blew the glass out.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #16

Feb 112016


  • miles


There was a loud "boom" while parked in my truck. After exiting vehicle to inspect. The driver'side rear window was completely spidered. It is a power sliding rear with rear defrost. It was 5:30 a.M. on 2/11/2016. Temp that morning was 15F. I park between two buildings, and there was no one else at work yet. Vandalism can be ruled out. Seems to me to be an obvious defect in construction, or design. I am glad I was parked22 and not going 70 mph on an expressway. This could be a major safety issue with truck in motion and/or a passenger riding in the back seat.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #15

Feb 132016


  • 23,000 miles
2013 F 150 super crew 23000 miles second time in less than a year back glass shattered both times sitting still should seriously look into what is definitley a serious problem people can't continue to pay every year for a new window.

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #14

Jun 052015


  • 34,000 miles
Automatic door locks are malfunctioning causing doors to stay locked and unable it open.

- Trinidad, CO, USA

problem #13

Jan 142016


  • 28,461 miles
2013 F150 Ford parked outside on driveway. Sunny with temperature roughly 32 degrees Fahrenheit. Remote start used to warm up truck. Walking out to truck when a loud bang/gunshot type of sound happened without warning. Walked around truck and saw that driver's side of the power sliding rear window (3 sections) had started to spider crack. This part of the window then continued to crack until the whole section was spider cracked. (the sharp edges of glass were on the inside of vehicle window.) the vehicle was taken to dealer for evaluation but was told it is out of warranty. The dealer estimated replacement cost is $1,200-1,300 usd. (parts and labor).

- Kennett Square, PA, USA

problem #12

Apr 092014


  • miles
In April 2014 our sunroof exploded as we were driving on the highway. We took it to the Ford dealership where we purchased the truck and they said that they had never heard of a sunroof exploding for no reason. After further research it looks like this has happened to other people. Ford took no responsibility and charged us $1035.05 to replace the sunroof. Scared us to death when the sunroof exploded. Thankfully no one was hurt.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #11

Oct 202015


  • 44,000 miles
Rear window defroster does not work. I have read numerous reports of a defect in the wiring of the rear defroster that causes rear windows to shatter in colder weather. Dealer says the entire window and system needs to be replaced due to a faulty switch. Ford does not accept responsibility for the defect. This is a potential safety hazard as the rear window panel could shatter while driving. Rear defroster mechanism is linked to side mirror defroster mechanism, so the only way to defrost side mirrors is to activate the entire system. I am filing this complaint in advance of an event such as the window shattering on my truck in order to force the nhtsb to make Ford issue a recall on these vehicles to correct the problem in an appropriate manner.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #10

Sep 262015


  • 31,000 miles
Power rear middle window shattered when truck was sitting still in parking lot. Rear window defroster was on while driving truck. Windshield wiper come on every twenty seconds with switch in off position

- Clanton, AL, USA

problem #9

Sep 072015


  • 26,000 miles
On September 7, 2015 while turning onto traffic the truck locked up in first gear and will not shift even though the accelarator was being pushed. The truck was jerking but will not shift gears. RPM and speed remained the same as well. This is the fourth time it happens and I have taken in to the Ford dealership where I bought it but nothing is done.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 142015


  • 44,000 miles
Turned on rear window defogger. After 4 minutes of operation, left section (behind left rear passenger) of rear window exploded (shattered) with loud bang. Local Ford dealer says issue is not covered. Internet research says this happens routinely. Glass replacement company says they will not warrant replacement as the replacement "genuine" Ford glass has been "red flagged" in their system due to replacements failing for same reason. (knoxville tn area). Fyi: I am a senior quality engineer - automotive parts manufacturing.

- Lancing, TN, USA

problem #7

May 302015


  • miles
Your web site dose not list a 2013 F-150 when I do a manual search F-250 F350 but no F-150.

- Washington, DC, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?