Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
23,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford F-150 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Jun 012015


  • 16,757 miles


In May 2015 I experienced a violent shaking in the steering wheel and brake pedal. It was worse when traveling downhill at highway speed on a highway. On June 1 I took it to the dealer with 16757 miles. It was dismissed as poor braking habits that warped the rotors. The tires were rotated and that seemed to help but the shaking was still evident. By 47000 miles and many visits to the dealer they relented and I paid for two parelli tires at cost due to "tire rot". the violent shaking has now ceased; however, there is a shaking in the steering wheel while driving on city streets. I am confident this must be caused by warped rotors. They were warped on the June 1 visit and they remain that way today July 6, 2016.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #70

Jun 182016


  • 30,000 miles
Brake did not work and pedal just went to the floor. Car was in motion in local mall parking lot.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #69

Jun 202016


  • 34,222 miles
I got into my truck parked in the driveway on a level surface. I cranked the truck and pressed the brake to put it into gear and the brakes completely failed. The brakes went all the way to the floor and the dashboard displayed low brake fluid. It not once ever displayed low brake fluid before the failure. The dealership is telling me that the master cylinder will be a recall but not yet and they will replace the part with the defective one. I'm highly alarmed. I can't believe they want to put me back into a truck that the brakes completly failed, with a know defective part that gives on warning that it will fail. When the tow truck driver came to pick the truck of for Ford he told me we need to turn the truck around to tow it. When he tried using the brakes he could not believe that they did absolutely nothing. He was scared to try and move the truck and towed it backwards. The dealership also said the brake booster needed to be replaced.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #68

Jun 192016


  • 33,000 miles


The vehicle was parked. I got in to leave the hotel and the brakes didn't work the brake went all the way to the floor. There was no warning to any brake issues. We have no brakes at all. I added brake fluid as there was none showing in the truck. I drove it to the Ford dealer and the fluid was gone once again. I parked it there. Thankfully I wasn't on the highway going 80 mph. I looked up recalls and appears the master cylinder has failed. Ford has no parts to fix at this time and they are not supplying any rentals. We have called Ford numerous times and they have yet to call us back and it has been a week.

- Papillion, NE, USA

problem #67

Jun 232016


  • 0 miles
Driver reported brakes felt spongy in the morning on location. Driver functioned brakes a few time in park and light came on. Checked fluid level and it was low.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #66

Jun 202016


  • 10 miles
Driver was in route to a locations when the brake light became illuminated and brake pedal started to feel spongy. Driver was able to safely pull over and insect the brake fluid reservoir which was very low. Driver did a visual inspection and did not see any fluid leaks.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #65

Jun 202016


  • 39,000 miles


The break system failed, the warning light for low brake fluid came on and immediately after that the breaking system would not function. I pumped the brakes in an effort to get some petal but to no avail. The petal went to the floor. My speed was approx. 45. I was successful in bring the vehicle to a stop with hard pressure on the petal and the use of the emergency brake. I was within a mile of a mechanic and was able to slowly drive the vehicle to his shop for evaluation. Upon initial inspection the mechanic determined that the master cylinder had failed. He advised that under no circumstances should the vehicle be driven. I subsequently had the vehicle towed to a local Ford dealership for evaluation. I was informed that they would have to contact Ford corporate for directions as how to proceed. To date my vehicle is at the dealership with no word as how they plan to rectify the problem. This is a serious issue. I felt like my life was in great danger when this occurred. This needs to be addressed by Ford and the ntsb.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #64

Jun 202016


  • 26,000 miles
Brake fluid warning light came on. When I tried to stop, there was near complete brake failure. Pedal went to floor with only minor braking capacity. Had truck towed to Ford dealer. I had truck at my local dealer on 6/16/2016 and asked them to check the brakes because of the recall I had heard about. I was told there was not a fix for it as of yet. No mention was made of brake fluid being low at that time nor was there any mention that I may lose all braking

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #63

Jun 142016


  • 20 miles
Lost brake fluid and brake pedal went to floor while trying to brake on the interstate. Luckily I was able to slow the truck down when I came to a stop I had zero brake fluid and no obvious leak.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #62

Jun 102016


  • 41,665 miles
My family and I had headed home from a family vacation and got only 4 miles from my wife's family home when a low break fluid level light came on suddenly. I drove for about 30 seconds before pulling over to the side of road to turn truck off, then on again hoping this might solve what I thought would be an electrical issue. When I turned the truck back on, the sensor was still on. I proceeded to drive about 1/2 mile further when I needed to slow a bit due to turn in road. The break pedal went down to the floorboard. This was less than 90 seconds total after the light came on to begin with. Knowing something was seriously wrong with the truck, we immediately pulled over for good and called a tow truck. Once it got to the dealership, they informed me that the break master cylinder and booster were shot and that Ford had already begun a recall on this issue, though had not notified the consumers yet and were not planning to do so until mid July. That was straight from the dealership that my truck was towed to. Knowing this, my father in law and I begun to call other dealers within 100 miles to see if they might have a master cylinder and booster available and of course, they did not as Ford had already begun recalling the old from the dealers. This is a serious issue and my family and I could have been severely injured had we not thought and acted quickly. Anybody who has ever driven a vehicle knows that most light sensors warn you of a problem that you have some time to look into. This issue is far more serious. We had seconds to pull over and get safe, or the breaks would have been completely dry of fluid levels and the vehicle hitting something or someone would have been completely out of our control. My vehicles now sits waiting for parts that may or may not be available anytime soon. Dealership just said to throw some break fluid in and go.

- The Woodllands, TX, USA

problem #61

Jun 032016


  • 34,492 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the brake system failed to engage. While attempting to stop the vehicle, it proceeded through an intersection and crashed into a vehicle. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed by the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 34,492.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #60

Jun 142015


  • 15,000 miles
This vehicle is currently under recall for the master cylinder in the braking system. My vehicle already experienced the loss of the braking system in June of 2015 and had the braking system replaced. Ford has know recalled the master cylinder and won't have a fix for months and wants the owners to continue driving their vehicle. The system on this vehicle has already failed and I don't T think the vehicle is safe to drive. Ford wants you to continue driving until they get a fix or a tragedy occurs to my family whichever happens first. I spoke with Ford case #cas9744853 and don't feel this is right.

- Ft Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #59

May 242016


  • 42,000 miles
On 5/24/16 at approximately 5:30pm while driving on the Florida turnpike, a low brake fluid warning light appeared on the instrument panel. About 10 miles down the road, I lost braking in the truck - the pedal simply would go to the floor. Fortunately, I was in the far right hand lane and was able to get off to the side of the road and come to a stop. I called aaa and had the truck towed to the dealer I purchased it from.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #58

May 252014


  • 20 miles
Driving to work on the local freeway. Low brake light came on and I pulled off to a near by autozone.5 miles away. Check brake fuild which was almost completely empty. Bought a 32 oz bottle of brake fuild. Drive another 6 miles to work and the low brake fuild light came on. Poured the rest of the fuild to get to another autozone to buy another 2 bottles of fuild to get to a garage near my house. Used a total of 3 bottles and no sign of fuild leaking anywhere on my truck. The fuild could be leaking into the booter. As of right now waiting on my truck to be looked over for the issue of lost brake fuild at my local garage.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #57

May 242016


  • 34,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While driving at various speeds and attempting to brake by depressing the brake pedal, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard. The contact stated that the vehicle was stopped by pumping the brakes and using the emergency brake. The contact stated that the check brake fluid light illuminated on the instrument panel prior to the failure. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,700. The VIN was not available.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #56

May 222016


  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While the vehicle was at a stop, the brake fluid warning light illuminated continuously. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed and traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the master cylinder pushed the brake fluid back to the brake booster and the master cylinder and the brake booster needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Keithville, LA, USA

problem #55

May 212016


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 60 mph, the brake fluid warning light illuminated. When attempting to slow the vehicle down to come to a complete stop, the contact had to depress the brake pedal to the floor of the vehicle. The vehicle took longer than anticipated to come to a complete stop. The contact filled the vehicle with brake fluid and had it towed to the dealer. The dealer diagnosed that brake fluid was leaking from the master cylinder into the brake booster. The master cylinder and the brake booster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #54

May 162016


  • miles
I purchased the vehicle and a couple weeks after having it I got a brake warning and it said low brake fluid. I filled the brake fluid up and drove it a few more day and again low brake fluid appeared on the dash. I took the car to the dealer and they could not find a leak. And I drove the truck back home only to put more brake fluid in. I also told the dealer that my brakes don't feel safe when I push on them because they go all the way to the ground. I basically have been told they can't fix a problem they can't find.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #53

May 172016


  • 27,050 miles
On 5/17/2016 while backing out of a parking space, I applied the brakes to place the vehicle into drive and the brake pedal went to the floor. The truck did not stop immediately but I could hear the sound of what I assumed were the brake pads against the rotors and the truck slowly came to a stop. Immediately after the brakes went to the floor, the dash alarm indicated red and audible beeps telling me to check brake fluid. I left the vehicle in the parking spot and called for a ride home. We were approx 10 miles from home. The next day, Ford roadside assistance towed the vehicle to Ford of clermont. The service writer advised me that they would be replacing the master cylinder and the booster pump and should be repaired in a day or two. On 5/19/2016 the service writer calls me to let me know that they are replacing my lines as well and the Ford wants my brake system returned to them with fluid in the line so that they can inspect them for the failure. On 5/20/2016 I contacted Ford customer service and told them that although they are replacing the brake parts, Ford has not corrected the problem with the replacement parts. Ford did not offer to be proactive, they advised me that if the problem should happen again that I should contact them for assistance. I do not feel safe in this vehicle, I do not feel safe towing with this vehicle and I do not feel safe placing passengers in this vehicle.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #52

May 142016


  • 19,980 miles
While driving at 45 mph the [low brake fluid] light came on with an audible ding. Approximately 15 seconds later we stopped at a traffic light. Made a left upon green light traveled 2 tenths of a mile and readied to exit onto a ramp toward another road. When the brakes were applied the pedal went to the floor without any effect in stopping the vehicle. I immediately moved the vehicle's right side off the shoulder to slow down and pumped the brakes 4 more times which seemed to have a very minimal effect as I continued to completely let the vehicle come to a stop off the side of the road.once traffic cleared we turned the vehicle around and literally coasted 15mph into a food mart exxon 100 feet behind us and came to a stop as the wheels touched the curb. Then we called Ford roadside service for a tow to the dealership. After waiting 2 hours we proceeded to the dealership F-150 in tow. We were informed by the dealership that the master cylinder failed pushing all the brake fluid into the booster.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?