Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We aren't rating the 2015 F-150 as "bad" yet, but there is an early trend of complaints about the transmission shifting roughly.

7.4

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,184 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford F-150 accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #11

May 202016

F-150

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Ford F-150. While driving various speeds with all the doors locked, the front driver and passenger side doors failed to remain locked. In addition, the window lock on the driver side door was engaged, but failed when the vehicle reached higher speeds. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 09/22/16

- Carthage, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 302015

F-150

  • 6,800 miles
Nov 30, 2015: While traveling on interstate I-64, Norfolk, va. During a heavy rain storm, both wiper blades stopped in the vertical position. I tried to turn the wipers off and attempted various other setting but the wipers remained stationary in the vertical position. Dec. 2, 2015, dealer replaced the wiper motor to resolve the issue.

- Hertford, NC, USA

problem #9

Dec 012015

F-150

  • 1,000 miles
Windshield washer does not work as soon as any dirt bugs etc obscure vision I must stop and clean windshield with water I carry inside. This becomes very difficult in high traffic situations. It has been like this since I bought the vehicle Ford says the part is under redesign and no date is available yet for a fix, it has been for over 2-3 months, yet they continue to sell new F-150S. Are they waiting for a large number of bad accidents before they remedy the problem?

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #8

Jan 042016

F-150

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2015 in August 2015. I took this into the dealer 2 weeks ago as the washer fluid pump would not work. I was told that the washer pump motor needed replacing. However, they could not tell me when this would be fixed. Apparently the washer pump is on backorder. I was told to use a "long squeegee" in the mean time. However, not being able to use the washer fluid greatly affects visibility in my state (wv) in January with the use of road salt. It has been 2 weeks today and I still have not been updated on when they may be able to resolve this issue.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #7

Jan 182016

F-150

  • 6,445 miles
Windshield washers will not spray when cold out. Tank if full of pure -20F rated fluid which is full and not frozen. Nozzles have been heated with hot water and still will not spray. Problem seems to be the check valve is made in such a poor way that it will not work when it's cold out was 20F today had a 3 hour drive on snowy wet roads with no washer fluid spraying. I know this was not safe but was hoping it would fix itself but never did.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #6

Jan 172016

F-150

  • 49,000 miles
Today, 1/17/16 on my way home I turned on the rear defroster but the light didn't come on so I assumed a fuse had blown or something. Then while continuing on my drive home, about 5-10 minutes, later I heard a loud sound like a gun shot and when I turned to see what it was low and behold the passenger rear window was shattered. Apparently this has happened to hundreds if not thousands of Ford trucks from 2009-2014 and something needs to be done about this. Us as consumers shouldn't have to bare the burden of the expense for repair of a known defective part, or as some of the dealers have suggested, file the claim with your insurance company. Here again, it is exactly these types of claims that will keep increasing insurance premiums for us consumers because large corporations like Ford will not step up and do what they know is the right thing and issue a recall.

- Woodstock, CT, USA

problem #5

Dec 022015

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been having an ongoing issue with my transmission, where it shifts rough or does not shift appropriately. When the truck shifts rough, I barely have my foot on the accelerator, where it will slam into gear causing the truck to jolt. I also have been experiencing the truck failing to downshift out of 4th gear while going uphills. While going uphills, the rpms will go below 1000, where the truck will begin to shutter as if it is going to stall. You are forced to press the accelerator in order for it to shift, where the rpms/turbo booster will soar. I have had the truck at the dealership for this concern, where they performed a software update and it did not fix the issue. I feel the transmission shifting rough could cause an accident, if the engine in fact stalls and you lose control of the vehicle. I also feel being forced to accelerate could cause you to strike the vehicle in front of you or lose control it this occurs while negotiating a turn etc. The panoramic sunroof allows water to pass the rubber seal and drain into the water track. I frequently have had the windows fog up from moisture inside the passenger compartment and the odor of mold. If you google "2015 Ford F-150 sunroof leaks", you will find 1000's of concerned Ford owners on forums experiencing the same issues, where Ford states it is normal for the sunroof to leak past the seal. I feel the sunroof is a health concern, as I believe mold may be growing in the truck and is being breathed in. I have been experiencing the seat back getting extremely hot while using the "cooled seat" feature. I feel this could cause a burn or fire hazard.

- Palmyra, PA, USA

problem #4

Nov 172015

F-150

  • 1,100 miles
Carlite windshield - bought 2015 F-150 truck on Sep. 28th, 2015 and had less than 1100 miles. Stress crack from passenger a pillar running towards the driver's side about 5 inches and then down towards the cowl about 7 inches. I was P2232reviously plant manager at the Ford nashville glass plant where w/S was made and this is the result of high residual thermal stress. Ford warranty refuses after 4 submissions form the spradley barr (fort collins, co) dealership. I saw two more vehicles with the same type of stress crack in the lot, both 2015 used as loaner cars.

- Windsor, CO, USA

problem #3

Oct 172015

F-150

  • 50 miles
Quality control issue - loose side-view mirrors: This issue is not only a matter of quality, it raised a serious safety concern at the time. As I was driving away from the dealership (after purchasing this new truck) and increased my speed to over 55 mph, I noticed both of my side-view mirrors vibrating severely. They vibrated so badly that the images in the mirrors themselves were obscured to the point that the vehicles behind me were mere blurs. I took my truck to a local Ford dealership to have a problem assessed the very next day. Despite all of our efforts to reset the mirrors, it turned out that both units were missing something called a "tensioner, " or "tension spring." The side-view mirrors were so loose that you could walk up to the truck and literally shake them back-and-forth (with a range of motion up to a 1/4") with one finger, exerting no effort at all. Again, this is a serious quality concern and should've been identified and reconciled prior to delivery of the vehicle to the dealership. This tensioner component should have been installed in both mirrors prior to their being attached and connected to the body of the truck. This did not occur at the factory as it should have, nor was this issue discovered during the supposed quality checks that occur once the vehicles come off of the assembly line. When I contacted Ford about my concerns, I asked them to extend the warranty on the truck, because who's to say that there are not more quality-related issues that would arise after my factory warranty expires (there was a secondary qc-related issue on the truck that isn't worth mentioning here except to say that it was obvious and involved another missing part). The arrogance I encountered from several representatives on the phone was beyond the pale of anything I've encountered from the company that is supposed to be is reputable as Ford.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 262015

F-150

  • 0 miles
The chrome accents on the ac vents causes a glare on the driver and passenger windows. This happens during the daytime or the nighttime. It has been a problem since I took ownership of truck.

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #1

Mar 302015

F-150

  • 627 miles
Front windshield cracked. Truck not moving, just sitting in the parking lot. I was in it. Nothing hit it. Very weird. I thought the whole thing was going to shatter. Brand new truck, only 627 miles on it. Any ideas?

- Monument, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?