Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: We aren't rating the 2015 F-150 as "bad" yet, but there is an early trend of complaints about the transmission shifting roughly.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,316 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford F-150 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #11

Nov 122015


  • 150 miles


Purchased this vehicle on Nov 12 2015. There was a safety recall issued for this vehicle in May 2015 concerning upper intermediate steering shaft rivets not staked properly. The dealer was given notice by Ford in May 2015 that the vehicle was under recall and the vehicle was on their lot until Nov 12 2015. The dealer did not inspect or repair the problem before selling the vehicle to me, never mentioned a recall. I did not receive the initial recall notice sent in may of 2015 because I did not own the vehicle at the time. I received a reminder notice from Ford Motor Company Sept 2016 that the vehicle had not been repaired. Is it not a federal violation to sell a vehicle that is under a safety recall and not repaired? I have been driving this vehicle for 11 months. I have an appointment Oct 11 2016 for repairs at a different dealer.

- Wilmerding, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 102016


  • 29,122 miles
Driving on interrstate 70 at 65 mph, I had several alerts begin flashing ranging from check 4X4, hill assist failure, 2H, parking brake and many more. In addition I lost power steering, brake lights and turn signals. I was able to drive truck home. This happened 4 more times. I called dealer and they suggested I drive it to their establishment some 20 miles away. I did not feel safe and contacted roadside assistance to tow the truck. I had to beg for a loaner one week later I received a call stating the technician needed to drive the truck to see if the same alerts happened even though they found 12 plus alerts when they analyzed the truck in their shop. I allowed this to occur as I wanted answers. I received a call today stating they had found the problem, a wire had became corroded in the steering column causing all the alerts to malfunction. They are replacing the entire column and my truck will be completed by Tuesday. I had purchased this truck just 4 months prior and have been a loyal Ford customer for 30+ years.

- Brazil, IN, USA

problem #9

Jun 092016


  • 8,800 miles
While driving - complete shut down of vehicle - loss of steering and acceleration. System warning says advance trac warning and shows a picture of a wrench. Stopped the vehicle - restarted and continued to happen. Very dangerous as it happened while driving - had to coast to the side of the road.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 012015


  • 9,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel began to make a clunking nose. When driving over a bump or rough terrain, the contact felt the vibration in the steering wheel. In addition, the vehicle would veer to the right. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the tires needed to be rotated, and the clockspring and steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the failure was common; however, there was no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- Pleasant Plain, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 022016


  • 1,300 miles
Vehicle has a electric componet that controls rackeet pinion unit.when driving vehicle driftts to right and left, worse if I take hands off steering wheel not ot of alignment double checked with Firestone mechanic drove and checked steering steeriing unit over compensating. Ford dealer cant repair told they have a flyer this is suppose to happening only 1200 miles on vehicle purchased Dec, 2015 all test done on flat surface general manager evan drove vehicle after Firestone mechanic report.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #6

Dec 052015


  • miles
My truck has been in the shop 4 times before of drifting to the right. I purchased last month Dec 2015 the first time the realigned it, the second cross rotated and realigned, third they said the put it in a learning mode and the fourth they changed out the steering mechanism. I still have the problem having to maintain pressure to the left and when I let go it goes to the right.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #5

Nov 252015


  • 1,100 miles


Steering is very sensitive to the road and constantly drifts to the right. I've checked it on city roads back roads and interstate driving. According to the dealership everything is in working order.

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #4

Oct 252015


  • 5,500 miles
My 2015 Ford F150 platinum has a problem that it keeps telling the driver to put their hands on the steering wheel. It does not matter where on the steering wheel the driver puts their hands, if it is one hand or both hands, the errors keep popping up on the screen and causing a alarm bell to sound. To make the alarm go off, you must either 1) take a hand off the steering wheel to hit an "ok" button or 2) shake the steering wheel left/right (quick swerve). The problem happens at all speeds, in city, country, and interstate driving. It can sometimes immediately re-trigger (within milliseconds) of hitting the "ok" button. No amount of pressure holding the steering wheel makes any difference, and it does not matter where on the steering wheel you hold it, it will still trigger. It triggers at any time of the day, sunny, cloudy, or dark. I view this as a safety issue for two reasons: 1) the error eronously triggers a lot while driving and 2) you must ironically do the opposite of the warning to make the warning go away, take your hand off the steering wheel to hit an "ok" button. This problem has been happening on my 2015 Ford F150 platinum since I purchased it. My first documented complaint to the dealer was the 12th day of ownership at 493 miles. I have purchased a car dvr to record the truck's behavior for this (and another) safety problem. I have many recordings of this issue. I have had it in the dealer shop many times, yet they have either said it is working as designed, or that there is no way to fix it.

- Story City, IA, USA

problem #3

May 152015


  • miles
Slight steering vibration from 30 mph on up. Problem is much worse when towing a trailer (loaded or unloaded). Steering wheel vibration is excessive. Has been a problem since new (4900 miles currently since purchase in May 2015). Has been looked at several times now with no resolution

- Elk River, MN, USA

problem #2

Jun 012015


  • 3,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed. The steering wheel swerved out of control while the contact drove between 60 to 70 mph. The contact had to decelerate to 40 mph to bring the steering wheel under control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 3,500.

- Hadley , MA, USA

problem #1

Jan 062015


  • 0 miles
Since initial test drive, steering has been drifting and pulling. Been to service 3 times and dealership says normal with electrical steering. Unsafe as vehicle is constantly drifting off track and requires resistance on steering wheel to keep straight.

- Agua Dulce, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?