Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-350 Owner Comments

problem #19

Jan 052011

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-350. The contact stated that coolant was observed leaking from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer confirmed that the head gasket needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage is 73,047...updated 04/19/12 updated 04/25/12

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #18

Jun 012009

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
2004 F350 diesel 6.0, egr cooler went out. I was in the middle of the hwy when this occured. Clouds of smoke went out the tailpipe, engine overheating stranding me in the center lane stopped before I could get over to the shoulder. Passerby's help me push my truck off a busy hwy. Smoke was so thick I couldnt nor could other drivers see around me. Ford has had numerous complaints on this engine and part, but have failed to respond, or they waiting for a death to occur. The internet is full of complaints for the exact same thing. Letters to Ford Motor Co. And my local dealer leif johnson Ford were unsuccessful. I'm not able to pay the almost $3000 the dealer wants to fix the problem. This is an obvious defect on Ford's part. Very fustrated as I have a expensive truck just parked for several months in my driveway. Updated 2/17/10 updated 02/22/10

- Elgin, TX, USA

problem #17

Apr 252009

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F350. The contact stated that smoke appeared from the egr cooler tube. She also smelled antifreeze in the cab of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that it was still safe to drive and to return if the failure worsened. Later, the contact noticed thick, black oil coming from the exhaust. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic replaced the egr cooler tube with a kit from Ford at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 79,000. Updated 06/09/09.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #16

Jan 012009

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F350. While driving at highway speeds, the vehicle will spontaneously decelerate from 60 mph to 15 mph. In addition, the engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact took the vehicle to a local repair shop and a mechanic stated that there was excessive carbon in the engine. There is currently no remedy for the failure. The engine size is 6.0L V8. The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 70,000. Updated 05/05/09 updated 05/06/09.

- Exeland, WI, USA

problem #15

Aug 012008

F-350 Diesel

  • miles
2004 Ford F350 dump truck shuts down with no warning. Consumer states that Ford will not honor truck warranty and will not repair the problem. The consumer stated when the dump truck shut down, there was no power steering or brakes. The dealer stated the problem was with the diesel tank and diesel line which had eroded due to containments in the diesel gas, however the problem recurred two more times.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #14

Apr 072008

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,047 miles
I have a 2004 F-350 superduty 4X4 [6.0 diesel]. I drove through water the depth of the stock tires. The engine ingested water by way of the intake. I was advised by the Ford dealership that the incident destroyed the engine. The air intake is located at the front grill. I believe this is a flaw in design, causing easy access for the water to enter from the air intake. I am getting no assistance from the Ford company or my vehicle insurance in covering the damage, which is estimated at $ $15,000 dollars. I am not sure if this type of problem is occurring often.

- Palatka, FL, USA

problem #13

Nov 052007

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The truck stalled in rush hour traffic, just before the entrance to a tunnel. This could have been a very serious safety issue had I not been able to get out of the travel lanes of the interstate. Managed to cross from the right lane, across a merge lane to the shoulder. Managed to restart engine. Excessive smoke, running rough. Stayed on shoulder until engine ran smooth enough to go. Taken to dealer. Egr valve replaced. Intake manifold cleaned. Turbo cleaned. Cost $1776.82 to repair. Supposedly not covered by warranty. This happened on either the first Monday of November or the last Monday of October, as well as the previous Friday.

- Onley, VA, USA

problem #12

Mar 022007

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The pickup truck keeps running very rough and lurching forward while in drive. The truck has almost completely died on me several times. Even when you have your foot on the brake it will lunge forward and has almost caused me to hit the car in front of me. I have taken it to the dealer 5 or 6 time over the past several months. They have done a upgrade on the computer and replaced several valves/parts. Every time this mystery problem keeps coming back. It seems to surface at its worst when the temperature outside gets warmer, above 50 degrees. Ford has basically been no help and seems to be stumped over the problem. I have spent at least $500 on a warranty item that has not been fixed. After reading other complaints, it seems as if I'm not the only one with this problem. This problem needs to be solved before it gets worse and causes accidents.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 032006

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2004 Ford F350 crewcab rear seal has been replaced three times, turbo unit has been replaced twice. ***** the rear ABS sensor was replaced.

- Pana, IL, USA

problem #10

Sep 102004

F-350 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
When truck originally purchased bubble on tire, and dealer said they all come that way, tire went flat while parked about a month later, no holes, we were told tire was no good, had to be replaced. Truck kept stalling, loss of brakes and steering while navigating downhill, solenoid assembly replaced. 2 days later kept stalling. Dealer had truck 21 days to rebuild transmission, again solenoid assembly replaced after that replaced wiring harness. Since then, caliper broke and brakes went, turbo has been replaced. Vehicle has repeatedly stalled, noises from rear end with no dx. Now engine smoking, loss of power, rpms jump while idling. Truck has also repeatedly changed gears automatically, ie while at red light truck would jump to 3rd and then truck would stall.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 302004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,994 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford F-350 power stroke diesel 2004 has stalled twice while driving down the road. Loose power steer and brakes on highway. Have replaced turbo charger and worked on fuel injection system. Turbo charger is now making the same noise again. Mileage when worked on 2994/4437/18081.

- Marengo, IN, USA

problem #8

Aug 012004

F-350

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 F350. Owned truck for 13 months, the truck has been in the shop numerous times. It surges while driving and also goes dead while driving. Recall work was done and did not fix the problem.

- Crossville, AL, USA

problem #7

Jun 092005

F-350

  • miles
Occasionally while stopped in gear with the brake depressed my truck will "surge" and lurch forawd as the idle increases. If I'm not depressing the brake firmly the truck move foward and won't stop untill very firm pressure is applied to the brake.

- Kinnelon, NJ, USA

problem #6

Sep 152004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
Incident occurred in the afternoon, the temp was about 70 degrees. The truck was loaded with my family (5 including myself); we were traveling over a hill at about 50 mph. A sign indicated a 6 percent grade. On the way up the hill, at about 2000rpm and about 45 mph we noticed a large amount of black smoke being expelled from the tailpipe. There was no hesitation on power output at that time, then coasting down the other side of the hill the engine shut down. Fortunately we were able to narrowly avoid the traffic ahead with what little brake action I could apply. When the engine was started again, the "check engine" light came on. After being taken to the dealer the sensors were replaced on the turbocharger and other undisclosed work was done to the engine. Lately the truck has been mimicking these symptoms.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 162005

F-350 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,400 miles
On 16 April 2005, I took my F-350 turbo diesel dually in for 10,000 mile service ( vehicle had 9400 miles) also asked to have left speaker checked and scheduled an appointment for the recall on the transmission pins replacement. Upon completion of 10,000 mile service I noticed that the vehicle was making a thumping sound when decelerating on the road. Went back to the dealership and asked that they check to see if everything was back in place, reason for this was that they replaced the left speaker and did not put the door molding back on when they gave me back the car. Service person road in the vehicle and stated that they knew what the problem was and that it was listed on the Ford engineering website, they printed out the memo stating it was an known problem and had to do with the air filter vibration and that no adjustment was necessary. Upon leaving the dealership again for the third time the noise started to increase in volume and then would not accelerate, I returned and had the diesel mechanic test drive the vehicle, the vehicle showed no indication on dash panel and showed rpms increasing but vehicle not accerating and continuing to make thumping vibration noise. Mechanic stated I was not going anywhere with this truck. I have a loaner from the dealership and as of today April 25,2005 my truck is still at the dealership for repairs.

- Dendron, VA, USA

problem #4

Nov 062004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,486 miles
2004 Ford F350 crew cab 4 wheel drive w/ 6.0 diesel engine and automatic transmission. [xxx] 1.) I was on a 180 mile trip, descending hill (from 3800 feet to 1000 feet elevation) at less than 30 mph with cold outdoor temperature. 2.) while coasting down steep grade an engine stall nearly caused an accident due ot loss of power assist for steering and brakes. 3.) dealer recalibrated eec system. My son had the same problem with his truck (near an idenical vehicle) under the same conditions. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Aipine, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 102004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,200 miles
Vehicle stalls without warning and under no particular load or temperature conditions.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #2

Sep 302004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
All of the following is documented on Ford computer system through magnussens in newark, ca. June04, started with a rough idle problem took my 2004 F350 back to dealer. Did a reflash seem to fix for a while. Progressed to rough and searching idle. Approximately 9 times back to dealer, each time either clear check engine light or replace parts, approximately 7 or 8 days out of service from June till late August, last time replaced the entire turbo assembly. Each time just replaced parts, never did the dealership or Ford corporate have a definite answer to what caused the problem. Each time code P0299 was on the check engine. Between the 2 and 9th incidents, the vehicle stalled unexpectedly in the middle of a downhill coasting turn almost resulting in a crash each time. Total of 5 times, last occurrence of stall was first time vehicle presented any problems since turbo replacement on two thursdays ago on my way to work. After I got in to work I called Ford support and my dealership and started a replacement process through what Ford calls the dsb dispute settlement board. I am not comfortable driving this particular unit any more and fear I might not be able to stop the vehicle safely one of these times it stalls and may cause injury to myself or another. I have done a lot of research regarding others who might have had this problem and it led me here.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 032004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,803 miles
Engine stalls/stops running, leading to a loss of steering and braking. This has ocurred three times, twice at low speed when coming to a stop, once at high speed.

- Keedysville, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?