Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,962 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-350 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-350 Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 032006

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approximately 1 month ago I purchased a 2006 Ford F350 Super Duty.while traveling along highways 45-65mph, after hitting a rougher portion of the road, the front wheels begin to hop/shake in a highly unsafe manner to which the vehicle is almost uncontrollable. This happens almost everytime I travel on the highways which is everyday. I have researched this issue quite extensively online in such forums as this. Many have tried replacing parts but it seems to be a manufacturing defect. I wanted to make sure nothing was out of the ordinary before I waste hundreds or thousands of dollars trying to fix. Safety is of the main concern for myself and especially others on the road due to the size of the vehicle. I have contacted a local reputable Ford dealer and they informed me that there are no recalls as of today January 4 2011.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #12

Jun 152010

F-350

  • 33,000 miles
This is in reference to ODI #10336687 filed on 6/16, 2010 concerning "wheel shimmy" on Ford F 350 trucks. After reading "defect investigations" concerning this topic, the NHTSA summary was that it seemed that the problem was caused by underinflated tires. It appears that the NHTSA and Ford, just like bp oil and the mineral department are greasing each others palms. For a safety arm of the govt. To say that this is a tire pressure problem is bull! please check out www.topix.com/forum/autos/Ford-F-350-super-duty and read hundreds of posts with the same problem. What is it going to take, another oil spill like bp has created, crashes with deaths like Toyota is responsible for? I can see that it is useless to report this.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Jun 152010

F-350

  • 33,000 miles
I own a 2006 Ford F 350 superduty 1 ton pickup with approximately 40,000 miles. I have experienced what is called "death wobble" when hitting a bump, crossing railroad tracks or going over a rough road. The steering wheel will shake violently at speeds from 30-60+ causing a potential loss of control. Ford has sent out a memo stating that "you need to check your tire pressure". I have read hundreds of similar complaints on the internet dating back several years into the 1990's. Ford refuses to do anything about it and from what I have read on the internet, trying to find a fix for the problem, many have had really bad safety issues including accidents involving women drivers with children as passengers.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 102009

F-350

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 F350 4X4 XLT and when I hit a bump at over 55mph the front shakes and feels like it is coming off. I know this is a problem that numerous Super Duty owners have. I have done extensive research and know that this has caused serious injury and I am sure death.

- North Chili, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 012008

F-350

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F350 crew cab 4X4 which was purchased in 2005. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact lost steering control when the steering wheel began shaking excessively. The manufacturer stated that they were aware of the failure. The manufacturer also confirmed that there were no related recalls; however, there were technical service bulletins. The front end of the vehicle was replaced as well as previous repairs were performed to correct the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000 and the current mileage was 29,000.

- Morganhill, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 172009

F-350

  • 7,000 miles
I purchased new a 2006 F350 4X4 3 years ago. I have had numerous (so there are many dates this has occurred) left front end death wobbles when taking a sweeping turn to the left at about 70 mph on a freeway with some bumps under the left front tire. This wobble is so bad that I have to immediately slow the vehicle to almost 30 mph on the freeway for it to go away. I have taken this truck in to the dealer several times for this wobble to no avail. I have rotated tires and made sure the tires are inflated properly by the dealer. Tire inflation does not resolve this issue. After proper inflation by the dealer and checked by me, I still get the "death wobble". recently, I received a generic letter from Ford acknowledging the fact that this issue is not uncommon and that I should make sure my tires are inflated properly. I have done this several times. I have now searched the internet and find that this problem is not uncommon. I need to know how to get this problem fixed. It is dangerous to me and my family.

- Arvada`, CO, USA

problem #7

Sep 132008

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle drove over a bump in the road. The steering wheel vibrated and shimmied severely. The vehicle began to veer across the road without assistance. The failures occurred whenever the vehicle traveled over rough road surfaces. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection and they stated that the front suspension was faulty due to a manufacturer design defect. The manufacturer was notified, but did not assist. The contact was advised to check the tire inflation pressure. The contact is in the process of taking the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The failure mileage was 42,000 and current mileage was 57,000. Updated 07/17/09. Updated 07/20/09.

- Twin Bridges, MT, USA

problem #6

Apr 242009

F-350

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. While driving 55 mph, the front end of the vehicle struck a bump and drifted from side to side. The contact received a tsb regarding the "shimmy" of the vehicle. The vehicle is currently at a Ford dealer for suspension repair. Ford does not recognize the failure as a safety issue; therefore, no recall has been issued. The current and failure mileages were 11,000.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #5

Aug 202006

F-350

  • 5,000 miles
2006 F-350 dually has a shimmer or severe vibration of the steering wheel that begins when a bump or dip in the road occurs and does not correct itself. Even though the tires are in good order. Ford Motor Co says there is nothing that can be done to correct this situation. Their letter of notification is dated April 2009.

- Stokes, NC, USA

problem #4

May 202008

F-350 4WD

  • 23,000 miles
I own a 4WD F350 dually. While traveling at highway speeds approx. 45mph and above and after traveling over an uneven road surface or bump in the road, the front end goes into an uncontrollable shimmy/oscillation. This can only be stopped by pulling over and completely stopping the vehicle. I have taken the truck to a Ford dealership who checked the front end and said there was nothing wrong w/ the truck and that it was a tire problem. I have since then bought new tires which somewhat lessened the problem but did not correct it. I also have taken the truck to a reputable independent alignment shop, and they told me that they have seen a lot of trucks w/ the same problem, but are unable to fix it due to the design of the front end. The independent shop said there is to much castor in the front end and no way to adjust it. I am now on my third set of tires w/ only 45000 miles on the truck. I bought this truck for around $ $48,000 and have had this problem since the truck had about 23000 miles on it. I cant even drive it on the interstate due to the uncontrollable front end shimmy. The Ford dealership will not acknowledge that I have a problem. I have searched the internet and have found post after post of people who have the same problem with their truck and the lack of acknowledgment from Ford. This is a very serious problem and to date I have spent over $ $1,600 trying to remedy it. I hope some one from your dept. Is familiar w/ this and could possibly help me. Thank you stephen hall

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #3

Dec 192008

F-350

  • 7,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am having a violent shaking (steering wheel oscillation) in my 2006 Ford F-350 amarillo with only 7K miles. This shaking has almost caused severe injury and or death at speeds of 35-60 mph. The incident occurs frequently enough just not to drive the vehicle anymore. I fear for my family and others on the road near the truck as it shakes until is completely stopped wherever it occurs. Please help before others are injured or killed!

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #2

Apr 262008

F-350

  • 35,000 miles
2006 F-350 front end shakes violently on occasion. Usually occurs with a change in level of interstate as in driving over an overpass back onto the normal road surface. Speed is usually around 65-70 mph when it happens. Immediate reduction to approximately 30 mph is required to make it stop. Has happened 6 times so far and almost caused an accident on 3 of those occasions.

- Calhoun, LA, USA

problem #1

Mar 242008

F-350 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Severe suspension and steering wheel shimmy.

- Forestdale, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?