Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,296 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-350 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-350 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jun 052012

F-350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. While driving 65 mph over bumps in the road, the vehicle shook violently. The dealer diagnosed that the front axle failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired because the remedy was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Sterlington, LA, USA

problem #22

May 202016

F-350

  • 125,000 miles
Ford F-350 2006 oscillation I have filed a previous complaint before re the violent oscillation that happens with our Ford F-350 truck. We have had more events at slower speeds and the shaking is almost unmanageable now. Wednesday May 11 approx 1pm exiting the bourne bridge MA. I was driving at approx 40mph and exiting the bridge. There was a rough construction patch on the road right where the road connects to the bridge. As I hit the rough patch, the oscillation began and the truck shook uncontrollably approaching the rotary. There was a lot of traffic and cars in the lane beside me that could have been damaged. May 20, 2016 at approx 5pm. My husband was driving West on highway route 6, cape cod MA at approx 55mph. As he passed exit 6, he hit a rough patch and the truck began oscillating violently. He was unable to control it and swerved in both lanes of the westerly 2-lane highway also rubbing against the curb. Luckily the traffic stopped when seeing his truck out of control and no one was hurt other than my husband being totally shaken. The tires have been inflated as recommended by Ford when the sent a letter re this defect. This truck is dangerous, not only to us but others who are on the road. I have contacted the Plymouth Ford dealer where the truck was purchased, Ford customer service and Ford head office. Even though they acknowledge the trucks are defective, they say they are not responsible for repairing them. Our truck is oscillating really badly and is dangerous to drive. This should be a recall, not only for those of us driving these defective Ford F-350 2006 trucks, but for the other innocent lives on the road.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #21

Feb 282005

F-350

  • 120 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. While driving over a bump at 35 mph, the vehicle vibrated violently. In addition, the steering wheel also vibrated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the contact was unsure as to what repair was performed on the front suspension of the vehicle. The failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #20

Aug 082015

F-350

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford F-350 2006 complaint. We have experienced violent shaking (shimmying) when the truck hits a bump on the highway and as a result, extreme difficulty maintaining the vehicle on the road. Our first experience was in August 2015, on the interstate highway while travelling at 75mp. We hit a bump and the truck / steering wheel shook violently for about 10 seconds causing us to swerve across lanes and struggle to keep the truck in the lane and out of traffic's way. We have since experienced this problem four more times hitting bumpy highways at speeds as low as 50mmp and as recent as 2 weeks ago. We have checked it out and our mechanic advised that he could not find anything wrong. It has been a great concern of ours as it puts our lives (and those on the road with us) at danger when this issue occurs. Additionally, every time the violent shaking occurs, it throws off the alignment and balancing for the truck. We have just received a letter from Ford advising of this problem and I have called the service center from the Ford dealer we bought the vehicle from. Ford is not assuming responsibility for any diagnosis or repairs to these defects at this time. Our tire pressure is in keeping with Ford's recommendations as they suggest in their letter. Ford F-350 trucks should not be approved for use on highways as this defect could result in fatal accidents if the shaking cannot be controlled. Also, Ford should be responsible for repairing the faulty trucks.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #19

Jan 072016

F-350

  • 115,000 miles
Shimmy in front end forces loss of steering control. Shimmy occurs at speeds over 50 mph. Has nothing to do with tire pressure, contrary to Ford Motor Company claims. This is a problem with the front end steering design and should be reviewed in greater detail by the NHTSA and fixed with more than a letter from Ford telling me to check the air pressure in my tires. Air pressure is perfect and the problem still exists.

- Carefree, AZ, USA

problem #18

Jun 192015

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle independently swayed side to side without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the drive shaft, case shifter, transmission, lift pump, transfer case, left caliber, fuel line and rear shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 131,000. MA 08/13/15 updated 09/01/2015 updated 10/14/2015

- Glenwood, IA, USA

problem #17

Apr 022008

F-350

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. The contact stated that the suspension was unstable and would shake while the vehicle was being driven around a curve or at various speeds sporadically. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the dealer replaced the power steering hoses and the steering stabilizer however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that a caster adjustment would need to be performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but declined to provide the contact a remedy to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

May 022011

F-350

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. The contact stated that the while driving approximately 35 mph, the front end of the vehicle and the steering wheel experienced severe vibration after the contact drove over a road dip. The contact stated that the defect would recur when driving at any speed and anytime the vehicle was driven over a dip or road wine. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Vichy, MO, USA

problem #15

Aug 012013

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 81,000 miles
Our truck experienced a severe, violent wobble that started after traveling over a uneven spot on the road. We feared for our lives as this occurred while passing another truck on a bridge with heavy traffic behind us. The shaking and wobble continued for about 20 seconds, and did not stop until the truck slowed down to about 40 miles an hour. All our tires have been recommended and installed at the Ford dealership. I maintain tire pressures as indicated on door jam. 75 lb on front and 60 lb on rear tires. There are no aftermarket modifications on our truck. I consider this issue very dangerous, and wonder how many folks may have been injured or killed as a result of their truck suddenly becoming uncontrollable, as ours did.

- Clinton, TN, USA

problem #14

Sep 192012

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 75,000 miles
Bought truck used with approximately 35,000 miles. Driving down the road from 45 to 55 the front suspension gets a terrible shimmy. When this occurs, its hard to handle the truck. The front end shakes violantly. A dangerous situation since I am normally pulling a race car with this truck. Truck is not a daily driver. It's average use is 4 to 6 times per month. In order to get the shimmy to stop, sometimes I can slow down below 40 mph. Otherwise, I have to stop. It may or may not go away. The strange thing is that it does not always do this. The truck has new shocks, new tires, balanced, and aligned. Tires are approved for the truck. The shimmy has become more frequent and is prematurly wearing the tires. Tires are inflated properly for use of the vehicle. Problem has recently started within the last 6 to 7 months. Mileage is currently 78,490. Therefore shimmy started at approximately 75, 000 miles.

- Swansboro , NC, USA

problem #13

Sep 192012

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 67,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon driving at highway posted speed, I encountered a bump in the road while in a turn. Upon hitting the bump, it sent my front-end into a violent speed-wobble which almost put my family and I into the retaining wall. Being that I'm a former state police officer, I may have "saved" us only by being highly trained within driving and vehicle control. I have read forums with many stating that they have experienced the same flaw, some with not very god endings.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 152006

F-350

  • 2,500 miles
This vehicle since new has had numerous incidents with a severe uncontrollable shimmy in front end and steering wheel.I have had it to the dealer numerous times and they tell me there is nothing wrong with it. Ford has sent a few notifications stating that they are aware of the problem, but that it is just caused from improper inflation.I have set the tires to manufacturers recommended psi weekly, and doesn't make a bit of difference.Ford is closing their eyes on this one, and it is going to cost lives!!!.when this occurs you have absolutely no control of the vehicle.another problem with this vehicle is the engine is junk. My vehicle has 43000 miles currently, and has had the motor taken out of it twice already for repairs!!!,and has been to dealer at least 6 or 7 times.I own a small tree care company and really cant afford a $45000 mistake to a multi billion dollar company.

- Woodstock, IL, USA

problem #11

Apr 012011

F-350

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. The contact stated that the vehicle would shake abnormally when driving over road bumps at approximately 55 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the tire pressure may be the cause of the failure. Tire pressure on each tire was checked, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Agua Dulce, CA, USA

problem #10

Nov 022010

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-350. The contact stated that the front end of the vehicle would shake violently when driving over any road bump. The contact was told by the manufacturer that the failure could likely be caused by improper tire inflation and that the contact should inspect the tire pressure. The tire pressure was adjusted but the contact stated that it did not correct the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 29,000. Problems happens regularly. Problem becomes more frequent and sever when pulling a trailer. Updated 1/20/2012 updated 01/27/12

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #9

Mar 052011

F-350 8-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
2006 F-350 lariat Super Duty- in March while driving on I-70 I hit a bump in the road at 65mph and the front end and steering wheel shook violently and I was immediately thrown into the passing lane. I took the truck to summit Ford in silverthorne, co where they called my description the "death wobble" and they replaced the track bar, ball joint and steering dampener. I felt fortunate that no traffic was near me and I survived the uncontrollable event! now with the $600 "repair" expense I left the service center satisfied that I would be safe on the road. Two weeks ago while on a trip, the same "death wobble" happened again and I was out of control and in the other lane again, thankfully no traffic was beside me or oncoming which would have caused an accident. So now I have lost all confidence in the safety of my truck and drove conservatively to get home avoiding all bumps and slowing dramatically when approaching any imperfect road surfaces. Even with my new cautious approach to driving the "death wobble" happened again at only 50mph. I have since discovered numerous complaints and you-tube videos of others with the same problem as well as complaints on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's website. I have found 2 documents issued by Ford Motor Company regarding this problem, a technical service bulletin 04-26-1, and a letter dated April 2009 (literature program 09L02) addressed to [xxx] regarding "shimmy, a severe vibration and oscillation in the steering wheel...........". I am running the truck at the label specified tire pressure and there are no suspension modifications. I am considering replacing the F-350 with another vehicle that I can be assured of not having this problem. My question to Ford is, what am I supposed to do now? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newbury, NH, USA

problem #8

Jul 142011

F-350

  • 126,000 miles
2006 Ford F350 experience extremely violent shaking when driving 45 plus mph and hit any type bump. Shaking is so violent steering is not capable and braking only makes shaking worse. I've contacted dealer and they said they replaced a bushing but problem persisted. They have not corrected the problem. Vehicle is basically out of control when this happens. Last date of occurrence is July 14,2011 and this problem has persisted since truck was purchased new from dealer. Truck has no lift and is stock model. Please help!

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #7

Apr 022011

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Ford F350 death shake has happened multiple times truck hits bump or pot hole regardless of speed (but shake is worse over 40 mph)and starts a very dangerous shake that gets worse until the whole truck is out of control. Braking hard to stop will stop it but accident seems to be around the corner. I have taken to dealer and tire shop they say nothing wrong.

- Lebanon, OR, USA

problem #6

Jan 012007

F-350

  • 5,000 miles
This is a company vehicle driven by several different employees. Many of these drivers have complained of a sudden violent shaking of the vehicle while at highway speeds, usually after hitting a bump in the road, expansion joint, etc. This shaking will only stop by lowering speed sometimes to as low as 10 mph. We have taken the vehicle to a local Ford dealership multiple times with no success in solving the problem. They even advised us to install airbags to the rear suspension to distribute weight to the front of the vehicle when loaded. We are currently on our fourth set of quality E-rated tires (recommended tire pressure is maintained) but are still experiencing the problem.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #5

Oct 262010

F-350 8-cyl

  • 104,986 miles
1. traveling at 65 mph hitting a bump in the road 2. front axle begins oscillating with such violence that control of the truck is difficult until slowed down, the entire vehicle shakes to the point you feel it will come apart. I was traveling on a highway when I experienced this. I nearly caused an accident. I'm terrified when this will happen on a icy road. Someone is going to get killed. 3. nothing. Apparently there is no fix as it is unknown. Ford is aware of the problem but refuses to be held responsible. Vehicle information: " 2006 ? Ford ? F350 ?? entire front suspension component ? VIN - [xxx] " tires bfg all terrain 325/65 R18. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alpine, UT, USA

problem #4

Feb 172007

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 24,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F350. While driving between 40 to 60 mph and when hitting bumps on the road the front end of the vehicle along with the steering column shimmies. Around may she received a notice about vehicle vibration. The dealer was contacted and a technician concluded that 4- wheel alignment was needed as well as a steering dampner. Updated. The failure mileage was 24200. The current mileage was 42500. Updated 11/04/09. Updated 11/05/09

- Ramona, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?