Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Welcome to North America, Ford Fiesta. Thanks for bringing your herky-jerky transmission, numerous interior quality complaints, and an engine that dies while driving.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,063 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 4 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Jul 052015


  • 34,000 miles


When acceleration transmission shifts very rough. Bangs gear -> grinding noise. Car feels weak and rolls backward very easy. Gas pedal not responsive. Caused almost a car crash on the freeway when sudden loss of power. I have been driving manual and automatic cars but this is dangerous!!

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #149

May 132013


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fiesta. While driving 20 mph, various warning lights illuminated and the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the automatic transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000....updated 09/22/15

- Los Angelos, CA, USA

problem #148

Sep 172013


  • 54,625 miles
September 2013- whining/grinding noise in car. Nothing found. All 4 tires replaced (was told the sound was the tires). Sound was still there after tires were put on. Was told it was "normal". February 2014- transmission whine, grinding noise, car shudders when changing gears. Ford replaced the clutch assembly (first clutch replacement). May 2014- grinding noise in car. Ford checked the wheels, nothing found. July 2014- transmission whine, grinding noise, shudders in between gears. Ford replaced clutch (second clutch replacement). Also, gas tank was slow to fill. Ford replaced gas tank. August 2014- gas still slow to fill. Ford adjusted filler neck. October 2014- car overheated, stranded me at a gas station. Had to get car towed to the Ford dealership. Ford replaced cooling fan. February 2015- replaced serpentine belt (believe this was damaged when car was hit on the interstate by a crate that flew out of a truck 2 months prior. Insurance covered repairs at the time, but believe the damages to this belt was missed.) April 2015- transmission whine, grinding noise, shudders when shifting gears. Ford replaced clutch assembly (third clutch replacement). Took 2 months for parts to come in because they were on national backorder. Ac was also not cooling. Ford replaced the rt valve. The car now has 125K miles on it and our warranty has run out. Called Ford this week to launch a complaint and was told they couldn't do anything else because the warrant was out (warranty was good thru 125K miles). There are thousands of people who have the same issues. I do not understand how this is not a recall item yet. This transmission has slipped and on more than one occasion, my family and I were almost hit because of the car stalling. Why do you have to wait until someone gets killed to recall something"?"

- Clanton, AL, USA

problem #147

May 292015


  • 27,400 miles


There were two incidents where car lost all power while travelling at 35 and 50 mph, the check engine light came on, the transmission dashboard indicator flashed from P to D back and forth. When restarting and idling, the engine shuddered. After the first incident (5/29), Ford dealership reprogrammed the transmission control module. After the second incident (6/13), two weeks later, the dealership replaced the clutch and the transmission control module (tcm).

- Chestnut Hill, MA, USA

problem #146

Jun 012015


  • 104,965 miles
While the ac is running and the car is idling the car will surge forward and will then cut off.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #145

Jun 112014


  • 58,000 miles
My vehicle would not start on this date. Approximately 1 to 2 months before this date I notice that my vehicle would accelerate at an erratic rate while driving on the highway. After taking my car to a Ford certified mechanic I discovered that my car did not turn on, and the reason I was experiencing erratic acceleration, was because there was a defect in my car's transmission. On 05/22/2015, while shifting from park to reverse I experienced a considerable delay in shifting gears and my car's display informed me that there was an error in my transmission. It appears that the error my car's transmission was experiencing was not properly fixed or the transmission itself is inherently flawed if it requires constant repairs.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #144

May 292015


  • 100,400 miles


While parked with the vehicle running (about 30 minutes in 87 degree weather with the ac on), the transmission felt like it tried to go into drive and rocked forward slightly. I looked at the dash and the check engine light came on. I tested the vehicle and it seemed road worthy enough to try and get home. When driving home and stopped at a stop light, the car's display for park, neutral, reverse, drive, started quickly flashing between drive and park. I could not accelerate the vehicle while this was going on. I placed the vehicle in park, and then met fairly heavy resistance putting it back into drive. After a few seconds of flashing between drive and park, it stopped and I was able to drive again. The same thing happened a few minutes later while I was about to turn into the Ford dealership. This time I tried turning off the vehicle to see if that would remedy the issue. I was unable to start the vehicle for a minute or two after because it was acting as if I was in drive (or the fast park / drive flutter) and trying to start it. It's been two days, yet I haven't heard back from the dealership on what this problem is. I did receive a recall notice that spells out the exact symptoms that I had, yet the mechanic has twice said it is very unlikely that the recall part, the tcm or transmission control module (which is back ordered six weeks), is the actual problem.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #143

Jun 012013


  • 50,000 miles
While driving on the expressway (70 mph) the car suddenly had no power. I was pushing the gas pedal down to the floor but, the car was not responding. I yanked the steering wheel hard and the car settled on the shoulder. If a car were behind me (rarity for a car not to be right behind on expressway) it would have plowed right into my car. Mechanic could not find a problem. A year later same thing is still happening. The last happened while, I was stopped at a red light. Car just went dead. I drive stop and go to work and back. Car seems to shift from first gear to third gear every time I have to slow down or stop. Seems to fight me from moving, then suddenly lurches forward. My mom borrowed my car one day and says she will never step foot in it again. The dealership just told me that they can't find a problem but, that the front brakes and rotors are bad and I need a new catalytic converter! if Ford knows they can't fix the transmission problem (or what they call not a problem), why did they extend the warranty" Ford claims it is normal for this transmission to jump. Then why did it not jump the first two years I owned it"! my check engine light goes on all the time. My traction control light and hill climb light both came on in the summer, on a flat surface. There was no snow, no slush, no ice, and no hill! the dealership said they didn't find a problem with that either. I am finally down to 8 more car payments and I'm scared to drive any distance in this car! especially in traffic!

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #142

Apr 232015


  • 116,382 miles
As I was leaving work pulling out of the road I stepped on the gas and the car stalled. Making multiple vehicles come to a screeching stop almost causes multiple wrecks. This was the first time. Other times I was in traffic passing people or just driving down the road and the car started to shake and would stall not accelerating. Last of all my car would not start at least 3 times in one week due to code P2837 and P2832

- Hampton, AR, USA

problem #141

Jan 172015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
I reported to sterling mccall on 8/18/14 at 5:50 P.M. the problems that I have been having with my 2011 Ford Fiesta. I also reported the customer satisfaction program 14M01.0N 8/20/14at 7:19 a.M. I brought my vehicle into sterling mccall. Sterling mccall refused to fix the problem. I reported to legacy Ford on 9/5/14at 4:05 P.M. to [xxx]. the problems that I have been having with MY2011 Ford Fiesta. I also reported the customer satisfaction program14M01. On 9/11/14at 6:59 P.M. I brought vehicle into legacy Ford. They gave me a rental car at 7:15 P.M. on 9/12/14 legacy Ford refused to fix the problem. I filed a case [xxx]-5211951 with the customer relationship center at 2:15P.M. I brought my 2011 Ford Fiesta to Firestone for a diagnostic on 12/4/14. The find was that the article supersedes tsb 11-9-2 to update the issue statement and service procedure. I brought it to legacy Ford again on 1/14/15. And legacy Ford refused to fix my 2011 Ford Fiesta again. Then on 1/17/15 my car was in a accident. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #140

Apr 072011


  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fiesta. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle shifted gears without being prompted. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission and automatic clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #139

Mar 032014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
This cars transmission slips out of gear whenever it wants too, shifts erratically and unpredictable especially in traffic at speed between 0 and 45 miles per hour. Two time I was almost in a fatal accident because when I stepped on the gas with the car in drive it was not it gear, the engine tachometer jumped to 4,000 RPM and then snapped into gear, the transmission sounds like it is falling apart from the inside out, sounds like rocks inside. The rider side air bag light saying they are off comes on when ever it wants as well even with the seat belt buckled, up hill assist shuts off causing no or very little acceleration. The car is a death trap it was sold to me with a certified pre-owned warranty 12 month bumper to bumper and 150,000 mile drive train warranty. I have taken it back twice already and paradise Ford in cocoa says its fixed its worse now than when I took it in and now the owner at the dealership refuses to service the car anymore.

- Melbourne , FL, USA

problem #138

Jul 012013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
This vehicle hesitates and shudders upon acceleration, - mostly between the lower gears. It has done this from the start. This has resulted in several close calls in traffic. Ford replaced a seal in the transmission, then they told us the shuddering and hesitation was within "normal specs." It is worse when the vehicle is warmed up and is dangerous -as it can lose power when you need to cross traffic. Ford has now agreed to replace the clutch but there aren't any in stock and we were told to drive it until the part can be obtained. However, I feel the car is a danger in traffic and may break down altogether, leaving myself and two disabled persons stranded. I don't feel that the clutch repair will last as they are only replacing what is a defect in the first place in these transmissions. I don't understand why there hasn't been a safety recall on them. Maybe they are only waiting for enough people to be killed or injured. I hope we aren't one of them.

- Hermiston, OR, USA

problem #137

Jan 052015


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who replaced the clutch. Four months later, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer for further inspection and diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Palm Springs , CA, USA

problem #136

Nov 172010

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 7,155 miles
Vehicle will not pull over 40 miles per hour.

- Hazelwood, MO, USA

problem #135

Jul 252011


  • 10,806 miles
I purchased a Ford Fiesta 2011 in October, 2010. Within the first year of ownership (around 8,000 miles), the car began to shutter upon initial acceleration at low speeds, especially when going up or down an incline; when moving the accelerator pedal back and forth quickly (in stop and go traffic, for example, or when accelerating to turn left from a stop) the rpms would jump and the car would not accelerate promptly, and then only after harsh jerking. Numerous trips to the dealership resulted in several explanations (and costly "repairs"), including being told I needed a complete engine flush, faulty brake calipers, recalibration of the computer software, and the classic "that is normal operation for the car." As of February, 2015 (my car now has 50,000), the issue continues to persist and, most concerning of all, my car will now periodically stall with complete engine and electrical failure. Please note the issue described above occurs from a stop and/or at slow speeds. My car has stalled several times while I was attempting to turn left or pull into the road from a driveway. These are particularly hazardous times for the car to fail and severely compromise not only my safety but those of other drivers on the road. Frustratingly, the dealerships consistently report "there is nothing wrong with the car" and "it functions normally." A car like mine -- relatively new, average mileage, with maintenance always completed at a Ford dealership and according to manufacturer recommendations -- should not stall. I am greatly concerned each and every time I drive the car and Ford's apparently inability to solve the issue.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #134

Oct 102011

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 6,300 miles
When taking off from a stop the engine shutters causing a delay in acceleration.this has almost cause many accidents. It is very startling when the whole vehicle starts to bounce and shake. Clutch parts have been replace 2 times now. Other work has been done to try and fix the problem with no luck.over 20 times in shop. I also have been told Ford has chosen to set guide lines now that they say shutter in the transmission is normal. Normal does not help when I'm trying to pull out on a highway and lose power. I would like to know if there has been other reported issues. This car is dangerous.

- Leavenworth, KS, USA

problem #133

Jun 272013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The transmission would not shift properly and made grinding sounds.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #132

Feb 032014


  • 34,000 miles
I purchased a 2011 Ford Fiesta with apx 30000 miles from the Ford dealership in about December 2013. Within 2 months it was at the dealer having new clutches put in the transmission. This apparently is a common problem. Six months later it began to have the same issue. The vehicles has unpredictable acceleration which is dangerous when pulling onto the roadway. I fear I will be run over as the car shutters and fails to accelerate. I have been waiting 4 months for Ford to fix it. The parts are apparently on back order. I fear that people will start being seriously injured or killed due to this problem.

- Pigeon Forge, TN, USA

problem #131

Jun 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
Ford knows that there is a problem with the transmission. They will not fix it. When the transmission shifts it shifts hard and losses the get up and go.

- Winchester, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?