Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Welcome to North America, Ford Fiesta. Thanks for bringing your herky-jerky transmission, numerous interior quality complaints, and an engine that dies while driving.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,792 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fiesta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Jun 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford knows that there is a problem with the transmission. They will not fix it. When the transmission shifts it shifts hard and losses the get up and go.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #26

Dec 022014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
For approx. 2 months, my car will not always start. I would have to crank it a few times before it would turn over. Replaced the battery and it still happened. One night, stopped at the store for a few minutes. Got in the car and it wouldn't start. Left for an hour, got back in and it started. Dropped it off at the Ford dealer and they replaced the starter. The next day went to the P.O., got back in and it wouldn't start again. Waited 1/2 hour and it started. Drove right back to the dealer and they replaced the tcm. (transmission control module). That was 12/5. I am hoping this does the trick. Have read about 2011 Fiesta transmissions problems and hope I have no more problems.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #25

Sep 232014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 39,298 miles
Door lock assembly safety issue, door latch fails and door stays open: I went to close right rear door of Fiesta. No problem warning until that moment. It would not stay shut. Door lock assembly went bad. Took to visalia Ford in visalia, ca, appointment that afternoon. Service writers said that was the 4-5th Fiesta/ Focus with this problem lately and that they were waiting 2-3 weeks on back order for the same parts for the previously known vehicles.this small town dealer was waiting 2-3 weeks on back order to fix this in 4-5 other Fiesta/Focus. I had to order and pay for parts so they would be ordered. Upon my going home, after cinching up the door again, I called the number for Ford West representative. I had "direct #" ([xxx]) from previous incident not related to this door. The phone was answered by a different person, who said she was in that position now and that I was in error calling her instead of Ford customer service. Her info: "[xxx] (866) 631-3788 [xxx]. I then tried to explain the situation about the 4-5 Fiesta/Focus waiting at this small dealership and this could not be happening just in visalia, ca. I asked about safety recalls by Ford; she blew me off saying I was wrong. I told her to call visalia Ford I gave her their #. her concession was that she would try to expedite the parts to visalia Ford, and call me a week later, on the next Tuesday (9/30/14), to check on progress. She never called again. I received call that parts were in on 9/26/14, had the repair done on 9/29/14, which was the next day service department was open. The concern I have on this problem is that some child or other back seat rider who is not belted in is going to have the door open and fall out, I would guess this will happen to any of the doors. If I was driving and a door suddenly opened for no reason due to the latch failure, I may freak or swerve or worse. Thanx information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 052014

Fiesta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Issues with the transmission since I bought the car sputters dies wont start shifts into neutral on its own dangerous car its not safe Ford knows and wont fix it. I have had the battery changed to fix the issue to no avail and the shift solenoid to no avail dealer cant fix it what can be done to make the car safe.

- San Marcos , TX, USA

problem #23

Sep 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Transmission repaired under recall. Now car will not start, no lights, radio. Battery checked and charged-not issue.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #22

Jul 082014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 71,784 miles
My car has malfunctioned and been "repaired" three times. Each time the car malfunctioned, the gas pedal stopped working and the car began to slow. The gear indicator light switched from D to P and back again, over and over. The check engine light started blinking and later turned solidly on. Since it was just coasting, I had to pull over the car and in each case I was lucky enough to be in an area with a decent breakdown lane. At one point when the mechanics were pulling the vehicle into a bay, it started doing this and the reverse lights also started blinking. In addition, it jerked back into drive, jumping forward. Thankfully no one was close to it. So far the repairs have included an ignition coil pack, spark plugs and wires, replacing two bolts and reprogramming, and replacing the transmission control module for a grand total of over $2,000.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #21

Aug 152014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 84,396 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was driving down a major interstate at 70 mph and when she slowed down for slower traffic and the car stopped. The motor shutoff and coasted to a stop (she said it jolted to a stop in about 20 feet). The traffic was very heavy so she tried to get to the shoulder but couldn't make it, she turned on her hazards and put the car in neutral and tried to restart (didn't restart) then put it into park to restart (didn't restart) so then tried to take it out of park to move the car (pushing to the shoulder) but because of the way the system is designed the car wouldn't come out of park. She even tried to release the transmission manually but because there was no power to the solenoids, it would not release and so left the car in the middle of the freeway and called the police and tow truck. I have had this car in multiple times for a flash upgrade but still does the stumbling and hesitation. This car has also had the water pump replaced as well as minor fit and finish

- Sachse, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 042014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Fiesta went into neutral while moving. It would not return to 'drive' or reverse or 'low' until stopped ( in traffic ), killed engine, and restarted. Brake peddle felt 'locked' when re-starting. It ran ok until later in day when it failed to drive at all and was towed to dealer. Failure was always when moving in traffic.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #19

Mar 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle in May 2013 as a used vehicle from the Ford store in san leandro, ca. I have had nothing but trouble with this car since I purchased it. The first thing that broke was my passenger side visor. Even though "visors and front seat SRS warning" is checked off on the 172 point inspection form I was given, the visor had a crack in the piece of the visor that held it to the roof of the car. I had no idea anything was wrong with it until a passenger tried to use it and it fell into their lap. After a few months of driving the vehicle I started noticing that there is a delay when you press the gas peddle (about a 3-4 seconds), it was like the car didn't want to respond to the peddle being pushed down. I also noticed that the car would roll backwards when on a hill, I always thought I had all of the worst parts of a manual transmission, but the car is an "automatic". besides rolling backwards, the delay in the peddle would make it tough to stop at the top of a steep hill and start again, I would give it gas and it would be very sluggish. The worst part of the car has to be that when I was "crawling" in traffic, the car would shut off. It seems that it is idling too low when the car is moving slow. This also happened to me when I was pulling into a parking spot. After having this car for a year I had to replace the cooling fan after its motor burned out, I think it was a result of too much acceleration, too fast... cause you just don't know when the thing will die on you.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 082014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
On April 8, 2014, my 2011 Ford Fiesta was losing acceleration. As I was pressing on the gas and going about 45 mph, the acceleration slowed and eventually completely stopped. Thank goodness I was not on the highway! also, the gear display was flashing fro P to D, over and over. I brought my car into cal worthington Ford of anchorage on April 9, 2014 and explained everything. My car was ready for pick up on April 11, 2014. They reprogrammed or replaced the electrical components dealing with the transmission. That is what I was told but I never received any paperwork or a detailed explanation on the repairs. On April 14, 2014 my car experienced the same symptoms as on April 8. the car could not accelerate and stalled in traffic. I videotaped all of it. I can email it to you, if you would like. The gear display was flashing again from D to P over and over. I brought my car back to cal worthington on April 15, 2014. They got me a rental car until 05/09/14, then I was moved to one of their loaner cars. On 05/12/14, my car was ready again. Supposedly they replaced the clutch. On May 13, 2014, the next day, the same thing happened again! the acceleration slowed and the gear display was switching from D, P, R, L, over and over. I brought the car back to cal worthington on May 14, 2014 and I had another loaner car. They had my car until May 21, 2014. The next morning, the engine stopped at the stop sign, which is about 100 feet away from my house. My car would not start, the gear display was flashing D, P, R, L, over and over while the car was making a humming sound. We had to push my car back to my drive way and have it towed back to cal worthington Ford.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #17

Apr 022014

Fiesta

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had just started accelerating after stopping at a street light. My car began shifting back and forth as I pressed on the accelerator. I noticed my engine was running but my car wasn't moving. It seemed as though the power was there but it wasn't going to the wheels. My car was struggling to do what it was supposed to do. My car jumped and shifted back and forth trying to move. Finally it caught up with the problem and moved a little. I was able to let it roll downhill far enough for me to get out of the road into safety. Later when on the side of the road, I turned on my engine and it worked. I put my car into reverse and moved it back. When I put my car into drive the gear lever moved but the gear did not shift into drive. I pressed on the accelerator but my car didn't move at all. I did hear the engine revving up but the car didn't move. I put my car in neutral and was able to roll it forwards.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #16

Mar 032014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 47,619 miles
Engine mil turned on after car was started, driving was fine at speeds under 45mph. Once over 45mph the vehicle started to shake violently. The engine code indicated that it was the natural vacuum leak detection (nvld) service kit, that had failed or a fuse in the fuse box. The vehicle was turned into a dealership and the part replaced, the engine mil turned back on before I claimed the vehicle and has been sitting with the dealer for 4 days, as they have no idea how to fix the car. This sensor failing is a known issue on this vehicle as there is a technical service bulletin dated Feb 13, 2013, this replaced a previous bulletin dated May 21, 2011. This sensor failing is dangerous and has been an issue since 2011. And it seems that there is no real fix, at least with my vehicle. The wording in the tsb states "some 2011 Fiesta vehicles may exhibit a malfunction indicator lamp (mil) with diagnostic trouble code (dtc) U029F set in the powertrain control module (PCM) and/or a no crank condition with no communication with the PCM." This leads me to believe that the engine could fail at anytime with this code, creating a hazardous condition especially if traveling on the freeway when the mil comes on and the part fails. This is a wide spread issue based on the abundance of forums and internet posts discussing this exact engine code, and the various symptoms associated with it.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #15

Jul 162012

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Driving in traffic normal speed about 40-45 mph, vehicle stopped accelerating completely. Normal commute & almost got rear ended since the car started to decelerate quickly. Once we were able to pull off to the side of the road we tried switching the gears and restarting the car. After this, the car would not restart at all. Taken the car to Ford multiple times and they have ran all sorts of diagnostics and we find ourselves at the dealership at least every 2-3 months with issues. Ford corporate did nothing but provide extended warranty. What would they have done if we were actually rear ended & severely hurt because of the faulty car? unfortunately an extended warranty does not correct he problem & this vehicle is still jeopardizing my family's safety and we'll being.

- North Lauderdale , FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 092014

Fiesta

  • 88,000 miles
Driving on the freeway going normal speeds the "transmission failure" message popped up on my dash and the car started viscously jerking. The car had trouble stopping as if the brakes couldn't function properly cause the transmission was out. My car would fiercely jerk forward when I was coming to a stop that I then noticed I had to stop further back than normal in fear of the car jerking forward to hard and hitting the car in front of me. When I finally parked and was ready to go to a well lit area the car started up perfectly normal and the transmission failure message was gone. Took it to Ford and they couldn't understand the severity of the issue due to the fact that the car basically "fixed itself." I then asked them if it is going to take someone getting into an accident for them to recall the transmission on this car and they only told me "there's nothing they can do about it". they saw an issue and told me it would be approx. 3 thousand dollars to fix the car is only 2 years old. Ford also told me the car isn't safe for me to drive on the road. Yet they don't see that as a reason to not recall the cars to get it fixed since I'm positive my car isn't the only one that has done this. I guess myself almost getting into and accident and causing injury to myself and others is not a good enough reason for them.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 242011

Fiesta

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that she depressed the accelerator pedal and the engine shuttered. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the computer needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 300.

- 704-892-6577, NC, USA

problem #12

Dec 092013

Fiesta

  • 22,000 miles
My boyfriend went out to start my car up and warm it up for me... it would turn over...then after trying again it started. I went out to go to work and went to back out of the drive way and my car would not go in reverse. I then put it in drive and moved up a little and then proceeded to back out and then when I went to put it in drive again it would go any where.it was like the gear go stuck. I had to have my boyfriend push my car back into the driveway.I then called jones junction where I purchased the car and had it towed into their shop because I had coverage on it for repair for them to call me and say there is nothing wrong with my car. I did some research myself and found that this has been an issue with the 2011 Ford Fiesta transmission electronic controls. I'm furious that any dealer would inform me that there is nothing wrong with the car and because no repairs were being done I had a towing bill of $185. I was stuck out in the middle of the road on a icy day and could have been easily hit by another vehicle. The gears locked up and would not go in drive.I hope and wish that Ford will resolve this matter on these cars before it causes a injury or a someone's life. I will be contacting the Ford dealership this morning.thank you

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Oct 152013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Referring to previous complaint #10546964, vehicle was towed to a Ford dealership for examination and repair after opening case # with Ford Motor Company and referencing research that points to a systemic problem with Fiestas. Shop had vehicle for three days and reported a repair had been completed, a computer "update." Car was retrieved and after 30 miles of driving +/- same problem returned when transmission stopped working and no gear could be found. Turning the car on and off was not easily done and on more than one occasion there was no response when trying to start the car. On at least two occasions, the problem occurred on a two lane road with no emergency lane so vehicle was stopped on us 321 with no immediate way to move it to a safe area. Since it was after 8:00 P.M. traffic was minimal. When the car was started finally, we were able to get it home by not going over 30 mph. This is a dangerous situation that does not seem isolated to this one car. This is the same problem that was not diagnosed when the car was in my possession for less than one month. The recommended fix, at over $100, did not result in any resolution of the problem. There appears to be a problem with the Fiesta transmission and the communication it receives from the computer rendering the vehicle completely immobilized and unable to function.

- Mountain City, TN, USA

problem #10

Oct 062013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
This problem first occurred after having car for less than 6 months. Towed to dealer for warranty work and the said they could not find a problem. Yesterday, was traveling and, as before, engine light came on, car went into neutral (gear indicator on dashboard looked like a slot machine) and when I coasted to a stop (more than once on a two lane road with no emergency lane), it would not go into gear. After turning engine off, it then had trouble starting, and when it did re-engage into gear, it would randomly go out of gear and we "limped" home going less than 25 miles an hour having to stop a half dozen times hoping the car's transmission would re-engage long enough for us to get home. It was a very dangerous situation because it would disengage at any rate of speed and would not go back into gear even once I stopped for a period of time, getting progressively worse. In the rural area where we reside, there was more than one time when it disengaged, would not go back into gear, on a curve of a two-lane road with no emergency lane. I have learned that the Fiesta has had these problems since 2011 when my problems first began. It is a dangerous situation that appears to be systemic to the vehicle in many cases. At this point, it is not safe to drive.

- Mountain City, TN, USA

problem #9

Aug 132013

Fiesta

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated the air conditioning unit malfunctioned and was blowing hot air into the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, who stated that a new fan box needed was needed to remedy the defective air conditioner. The contact did not replace the fan. The contact did not speak to the manufacturer regarding the air conditioner. The failure mileage was 48,000. The VIN was not available.

- Lehigh Acres , FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 072013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
The wire harness had to be replaced. (fuse box and all connected wires) they are considered all one part. Car would not start at first. Then when it did, it had no gears. Could not move forward or backward. Then could not start altogether. Repairs cost $1500 my feeling is that a car that is only three years old with only 100,000 miles should not have this problem. Please find out if it is a factory defect.

- Carlyle, IL, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?