Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,388 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Mar 012013

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission/shift vibrates and shakes when it shifts and on occasion dies at stops. Hesitates sometimes when accelerating from stop. Taken to dealer multiple time, they apply software updates and deny anything is wrong. Dealer and Ford motors say it is within guidelines and refuse to do anything further..

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #56

Nov 282014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I am writing in regards to my 2012 Ford Fiesta which was purchased in june2014. Since then I have had nothing but transmission problems. It was taken to dealer who said there is no problem. The issue persisted and was taken to a different Ford dealer who upgraded software. Vehicle was fine for a month, now worse than ever. Was taken back to same dealer and was told yes, we hear grinding noise, and we feel the slipping but there is nothing they can do. What kind of sense is that!!! I did some research and found thousands of others with the same issues and same responses from the Ford people. This is unacceptable! Ford should take some kind of responsibility to this issue my car is so bad, my wife is scared to drive fearing slipping out of gear. I have no choice but to file a lemon law suit with Ford for negligence. I will also forward this email to consumer protection, news stations and the better business's bureau and any other corporate service I can. I would like response back.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #55

Nov 132014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Going up a hill in town the transmission went in and out of gear, almost could not make it up the hill because the transmission would not stay in gear.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #54

Feb 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When making a left turn the automatic transmission acted like it was in the wrong gear. Making a normal left turn, pulled up to the light and waited for cross traffic to clear, when cross traffic cleared pressed accelerator to go and the car barely responded. Almost cause an accident because the car would not go.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #53

Sep 022014

Fiesta

  • 9,500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. While driving approximately 20 mph in second gear, the vehicle started to shake violently. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing and the computer was reprogrammed, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,500.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #52

Mar 042014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,231 miles
Car accelerated without touching the gas pedal at a stop sign and then would not engage when the light turned. This was not a single event it has happened multiple times.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #51

Oct 222014

Fiesta

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a Ford Fiesta 2012 a month ago, and have had transmission slippage since. At regular in town speeds, the Fiesta slips gears sometimes causing the car to roll backwards. Recently I was in bumper to bumper traffic and almost hit a car in front of me because the car jerked so much not knowing what gear it should be in. My car jolted back and forth. I then took the car back to the dealership where it was then taken to Ford and the computer for the transmission was reset, they told me to drive the car 1000 miles and to bring it back if not fixed. The car was still doing the same thing on day 1 of return, this car is not safe to me or other people on the road, especially if you are stuck in a lot of traffic. The car also makes grinding noises along with a lot of vibration. Nobody should be required to drive this car 1000 miles more just to have to bring it back. It's not safe, and I don't feel comfortable driving it.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #50

Oct 222014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 20,460 miles
I purchased a Ford Fiesta 2012 a month ago, and have had transmission slippage since. At regular in town speeds, the Fiesta slips gears sometimes causing the car to roll backwards. Recently I was in bumper to bumper traffic and almost hit a car in front of me because the car jerked so much not knowing what gear it should be in. My car jolted back and forth. I then took the car back to the dealership where it was then taken to Ford and the computer for the transmission was reset, they told me to drive the car 1000 miles and to bring it back if not fixed. The car was still doing the same thing on day 1 of return, this car is not safe to me or other people on the road, especially if you are stuck in a lot of traffic. The car also makes grinding noises along with a lot of vibration. Nobody should be required to drive this car 1000 miles more just to have to bring it back. It's not safe, and I don't feel comfortable driving it.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #49

May 032013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 9,659 miles
2012 Ford Fiesta: Purchased 12/4/12 original owner! have had my vehicle in several times for transmission concerns since my I purchase of the vehicle. Took it to the dealer I purchased it with, they told me nothing about the awareness of the transmission issues. In fact I ran into the salesman who stated he just found out himself and is he had known he would not advised the purchase of this vehicle. Since they had been repairing the transmission/clutch with no cost out of my pocket, I continued to have them repair the transmission. But, I have now spent more time back and forth between the dealer and having to leave my car for diagnoses and repair work and it is getting very old. Not to say what this does for the resale of the vehicle. The repairs for the transmission/clutch have been endless, replacing seals, reprogramming computers etc etc. I have been into the dealer five (5) occasions for the same issue, with some occasions having to leave the car with the dealer for days (parts were back ordered). Clearly Ford was not initially willing to acknowledge the issue until most recently, the dealer now states the symptoms from the transmission are a common occurrence with a 6 speed auto & dual clutch. Repair work on transmission: Date, mileage, repairs thus far: 5/03/13: 9,659: Reprogramming, adaptive learning 7/11/13: 13,193: Ids updated, reset adaptive learning 10/29/13: 19,945: Clutch assembly, seals, gaskets replaced, transmission assistance programming 5/21/14: 33,062: Replaced output shaft: Seal asy., bearing asy., clutch asy. Etc etc. 10/7/14: 42,757: Power control, transmission control and computer updates. 11/22: Called Ford dealer service: Reported the transmission/clutch [problems continue. Their response was the shuttering and hesitations are normal transmission operation, can bring to dealer for additional diagnoses, if I felt so inclined.

- Guyilford, CT, USA

problem #48

Oct 312011

Fiesta

  • 1,000 miles
I bought my 2012 Fiesta in Sept 2011. Within less than 1 month, we noticed that it would get stuck and unable to put in reverse, then would make an awful grinding noise when it would finally go in. Brought it to the dealer several times and they said they found no issue. Now, at 80K miles, that problem continues but is now losing power when upshifting and jumping when taking foot off the gas. Headed back to the mechanic tomorrow but so far Ford service has been pisspoor and far too many transmission issues.

- Union, MO, USA

problem #47

May 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car makes grinding noises from transmission and when pulling out of a parking lot the car stalls I almost get hit by another car. When in stop and go traffic the at lunges forward almost hitting another car. As of today car has been in shop 3 times on third time they fixed the clutch it did fine for a few months now its doing it again and they are claiming its normal. I'm afraid for my safety.

- Celebration, FL, USA

problem #46

Jul 102013

Fiesta

  • 19,121 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph attempting to accelerate, the vehicle started shaking violently. The failure recurred two times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 19,121.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #45

Jan 182014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 19,735 miles
Six months ago I had been to the dealers for a failed door latch on my rear passenger door and lightning struck again. I was beginning to feel like a pro. Went to the store and loaded the front seat this time with groceries and went to close it and it just bounced back. In a way I was grateful because I knew what was wrong but at the same time I was like are you kidding? I was in a location where I could retrieve a bungee cord from my place of business and luckily it was a Saturday and Ford was still open so I took it in and they could lock it up until Monday. They overnighted a part from another dealer and were able to install it late Tuesday night but as it so happened putting the latch and door back together, the right side window handle regulator broke and they hand to replace it. I ended up getting my car back on Thursday. So in a matter of six months I had two broken door latches on two different doors. I was grateful to be close to a Ford dealer but it concerns me for those who are not and those who might be traveling far distances and this happens. It concerned me that it all the warranties that my new car has and still has that this incident was not considered a safety concern that they would have paid for a rental car. Only reason they paid for it was because I called and raised a kerfuffle and pointed out the security and safety concerns and it actually had to be assigned a whole case number. Even after all of this I receive a notice in the mail about a warranty extension on mypower shift 6speed automatic transmission for excessive transmission clutch shudder caused by fluid contamination of the clutch due to leaking transmission seals. After all of this I will never buy a Ford again!!

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #44

Sep 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
2012 Ford Fiesta. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle transmission problems. The consumer the transmission would shake, make a grinding noise, jerk, vibrate, hesitate and slip out of gear.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #43

Apr 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The problem is when I was on a hill and took my foot off of the brake the car would roll backward. I almost hit the car behind me several times especially when trying to accelerate from a hill. Then I would press on the gas and the car would move just enough to get me into the middle of the intersection (slowly) and begin to shake, jar and shutter, almost feeling like it was going to stall out. I would continue pressing the gas and nothing would happen. Finally it would accelerate rapidly lurching forward. My car began having this problem back in December of 2013. I knew this was a new transmission model in the car, but didn't feel like this was a normal thing. I was told the problems were "normal". the problems progressively got worse. Fast forward to March 2014 I took my car into the dealership. I did some research and found out that other people with 2012 Fiesta and Focus were having the same problems. After waiting for the clutch for almost a month, because it was on back order, my car had a new clutch. I thought this would fix the problem and it did for a little while, and then it began again. My car is still having problems after having the clutch replaced and it is just getting worse. The car is still shuttering when applying the gas. When applying the gas sometimes nothing happens. Then it lurches forward. It is hard to determine how much gas to apply because sometimes nothing happens then it's like it all of a sudden shifts gears and at that point it lurches forward. I have barely avoided several accidents where I have almost been T-boned because the car almost stalls in the middle of an intersection. I have also almost rear-ended people because the car lurches forward when in stop and go traffic. My car overall does not feel safe. Now Ford is saying that the shutter doesn't read at a high enough RPM for them to replace the clutch. Please help!

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #42

Oct 232011

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,682 miles
This car is a 2012 Ford Fiesta. I first started noticing problems before I even hit 15,000 miles on it. The car shudders and jumps with acceleration and turning. I have gone in numerous times to have it fixed and the problem is never fixed. There have also been numerous times when the car hesitates when I need to make a speedy decision putting me in danger because the car doesn't react the way its supposed to. Now my engine over heated and I have no idea how that happened. I cannot believe this is happening to my 2 year old car. I am seriously thinking of just trying to sell it and get a new car. Something needs to be done about this make and model. I think the entire line should be recalled and people should get there money back.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #41

Feb 012013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
This is an on-going issue with this car. While driving at lower speeds or while trying to accelerate while merging onto a highway or at a traffic stop the car will shudder, pause, jerk forward or pause. There have been several incidents where I have nearly been in a collision because of this clutch problem. The jerk reaction of the accelerator has caused the most close calls, as it can happen while decelerating as well. I have brought this issue to my local dealer's attention and have had it in the shop for a total of 3 weeks or more within a 6 week period recently. Both times I was told the clutch system was reset and had to re-adapt to my driving, only to have the problem start again within a day or two unexpectedly. I have to bring my car in yet again for this same issue.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #40

Aug 152013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Tranny jerks at stops acts like shift bogs down im always being honked at to move im afraid to drive car then I take to dealer which took 3 weeks N then told had to pay $100 to have checked out which I didn't have the money its under warranty called Ford at least 8 times N never received any satisfaction it was checked my the dealer I bought from N they said nothing was wrong.

- Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #39

Jan 092014

Fiesta

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate. The accelerator pedal vibrated as the contact applied force to the pedal and the speed decreased while driving up a hill. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact observed transmission fluid leaking from the front of the transmission. The vehicle was restarted and the failure recurred. The failure continued to occur on a consistent basis. The manufacturer was notified and did not provide a remedy. There were no diagnostic tests performed nor was the vehicle repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Dallas , TX, USA

problem #38

Mar 192014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
I bought a certified pre-owned 2012 Fiesta in late February 2014. I had serious issues over the next couple of weeks: Lurched when accelerating, so severely thought it would hit cars in front; not shifting right between the lower gears, at times almost stalling; almost in accident when car wouldn't pick up speed or go into gear it seemed; not picking up or going into gear; very little pull up hills from a standstill or lost a great amount of momentum mid-hill (almost rear-ended as a result); revs hard from nowhere; airy, grinding, scraping sound. Spoke to Ford customer relationship center numerous times. They claimed the six-speed transmission provides "an unusual driving experience." I explained I didn't feel safe driving it. I requested an address for sending a complaint letter and the woman seemed to discourage that, stating that the documentation from my phone call would be sent up the chain of command in Ford and to the highway safety administration. The transmission was removed, the clutch replaced, and both input shaft seals replaced in March. The problems began again. Now I'm dealing with the same issues. I'm very concerned, especially when I look at my own experiences with the car coupled with the comments I have read here.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?