Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,300 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fiesta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Aug 242016

Fiesta

  • 67,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was stuck in park and could not be shifted into other gears. This occurred after driving the vehicle and shifting into park. Once in park it could not be shifted to any other gear. The car could be started and turned off while in park. All other aspects of the vehicle seemed to be okay. Could be an issue with the interlock mechanism, but needed a new shifter assembly.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #25

Mar 012016

Fiesta

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle experienced loss of power and vibrated abnormally. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission control module and software needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired per service bulletin number: Tsb-15B22 (electrical system, power train); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #24

Jun 112016

Fiesta

  • 57,000 miles
Takata recall...had radio and speakers replaced but speakers still make popping noise even when car is off, as I open doors or trunk I still hear speakers pop, car was in my driveway with windows down and still hear speakers popping as if it was popcorn in microwave

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #23

Jun 032016

Fiesta

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Radio randomly popped and hissed for 3 weeks, had to shut car off and restart to get radio working again. Radio started popping and squeeilng with no keys in ignition and then finally quit. Radio will turn on but no music can be played through speakers.

- Genoa, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 262016

Fiesta

  • miles
2012 Fiesta will just turn off while driving, it does not matter what type of weather, driving uphill or in regular traffic at a stop. Car is beginning to have problems in traffic and the stopping occurs more during stop and go type of driving. When this happens the engine goes out; light comes on then the ignition switch goes out and sometimes I can restart it and sometimes the signal will turn off everything completely, leaving me stranded in the middle of traffic or in the parking lot of a store;if I'm lucky. Recently it stopped on my mother and had to be towed home. This failure has happened in the middle of intersections, on the freeway or just driving through town. The car will shutter sometimes before it shuts off, or just starts to stall. When this happens I am unable to move to the shoulder or pull off the road to restart the car. This failure of the car just stopping while running has a potential of causing an auto accident. This failure happens at any time and cannot be predicted. Driving unsure what may happen. Currently it is sitting in my drive way it wouldn't restart and I had to pay a towing fee. Need to have it fixed now! am losing time and money with no transportation. This is a Ford misstep and I shouldn't have to pay for a recurring event with this vehicle. Have been driving this vehicle with the stalling and stopping and didn't think much of it, but recently am starting to get the behavior that many other vehicle owners are reporting with the complete stopping anywhere or any time; so I know it is a manufacturer's problem and it's beginning to affect me. I need this issue resolved now. You want the public to drive and use american made products I choose Ford and I'm expecting Ford to keep their manufacturing promise to me. "go further is our global brand promise ". really! Ford come get my car and fix it!

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #21

Feb 022016

Fiesta

  • 64,979 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V246000 (latches/locks/linkages) and repaired; however, the door ajar warning light remained illuminated. The dealer repaired the vehicle again, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who informed the contact that the repair parts were on back order. The failure mileage was 64,979.

- Elkins, WV, USA

problem #20

Mar 202015

Fiesta

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would shake and shudder. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch and catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however the failure recurred a second time. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a software update. The vehicle was repaired. However, the contact stated that the vehicle began to exhibit the same failure shortly after that repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Sacremento, CA, USA

problem #19

Dec 032014

Fiesta

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #18

Nov 072015

Fiesta

  • 21,000 miles
2012 Ford Fiesta fails to turn on at random times. Lights from the control panel to the headlights continually blink and turn off while driving. This evening while driving down a busy highway, I made a right turn and the transmission locked up and I could not accelerate or move the car to safety until turning the car on and off again. Also, a few days after I bought the car, the back right door opened while I was driving with my 10 yr old son in the backseat. Ford dealership fixed the door issue but the power and transmission issues are still going on after Ford checked the car and stated it was fine in my service paperwork. The car is clearly not fine.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 302015

Fiesta

  • 66,000 miles
Radiator ac condenser cooling fan will short out and catch fire without warning. Extensive damage..

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #16

May 032014

Fiesta

  • 23,279 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2012 Ford Fiesta during May 2014 with 23,279 miles on it. It has given me nothing but problems ever since I bought it. Problems I have experienced are: Intermittent shuddering when taking off, loss of power when accelerating, jerking and hesitation when accelerating and electrical issues affecting the radio. I have nearly gotten into multiple accidents due to the loss and hesitation during acceleration, especially when passing cars on highways and pulling out into intersections. I have brought it back multiple times to be fixed and the only thing that has been fixed is the intermittent shuddering due to a new clutch they put in. I am still experiencing loss of power when accelerating, along with jerking and hesitation when accelerating and electrical issues affecting the radio. I don't know what to do as I keep bringing the car back without getting it returned fixed. I do not feel safe in this car, as I fear for my life along with the lives of others on the road. However it is the only car I have.

- Springvale, ME, USA

problem #15

Jun 142015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Sunday (6/14/15) evening I was unable to close my rear passenger car door which made it impossible to lock my car. This problem caused the interior lights to stay on. I could not leave an unlocked car parked on the street overnight and was also worried it would cause my battery to die, so I drove it to the dealership to drop it off. As I drove, the door continued to fly open. I felt very unsafe with the interior light glaring and the door flying open. The dealership called Monday to say they would order the parts from Ford right away. When the dealership called on Tuesday (6/16/15) to tell me the car would be ready Wednesday (6/17/15), I asked if all four latches are being replaced. The dealership said they would only replace the one door latch. I mentioned the letter released by NHTSA, Ford Motor Company, and other press releases and how it stated that dealers should replace all four door latches with an improved part. The dealership told me they were only authorized to fix the defective door and the other three latches are fine. I asked if the part they were going to install was an improved part or the same part for the door latch. They could not tell me and told me to call Ford customer care if I want more information. I pressed the issue and after a phone calls to Ford customer care, the Ford service representative, and the Ford service manager, the dealership agreed to look into whether they think the other three latches should be fixed. They are also agreed to check to see if they followed the correct protocol to fix the one door at my insistence since the dealership mentioned they had not received the protocol yet on how to fix this door latch issue. I am waiting to see what happens next. My car is currently at the dealership....updated 07/30/15

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 112012

Fiesta

  • 15,000 miles
Vehicle has a powershift automatic transmission that acts like a manual: Roll back assist not working properly: Vehicle jerking: Vehicle lurching at stops: 2nd incident May 2013: Same issues added car losing power: November 2014: Same issues: Transmission drivability issues: Roll back issues loss of power issues. March 2015, all same issues: All issues and check engine light on this last time due to transmission circut issue reported continue to fix transmission: Continues to break down. The vehcile has never ran "good" always transmission issues: Loud noises, car losing power while driving, lurching at stops accelerating at stops, no response to acceleration. Four times in three years in for fixes that do not work. Car is unsafe as the loss of power is now more frequent.

- Cannon Falls , MN, USA

problem #13

May 162015

Fiesta

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. After the contact parked the vehicle, he heard an abnormal booming static noise coming from the speakers. Once the vehicle was started and before shifting into gear, the static noise was still audible. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the radio module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 062015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
On April 6, 2015 my rear passenger suddenly stopped working. I had just arrived at my destination, was there for a few minutes, and then started my car up. The light alerting me that I had a door ajar came on. I figured it was my drivers side front door and reopened and closed it again. I noticed that my display said that the rear passenger doors side was ajar. I thought odd because nobody uses my doors. I got out, and tried to close the door only to have to bounce back at me. The door would not latch closed. Fortunately, a friend was able to loan me a bungee cable to hold my door closed. It is currently secured with rope and the bungee cable. On the 21st, as I was making a U-turn in a residential area, my driver's side passenger flew open. At the same time my drivers side door started to unlatch as well, terrifying me and resulting in a minor collision. I managed to get my drivers side latched again, but now I have to have all of my door secured, I bought this car brand new from the dealership. A brand new 2012 Ford Fiesta failing in early 2015. In addition to my door problems, my model had a recall notice for I believe some transmission problems. My car was violently shuddering, cutting out/turning itself off, etc. This occurred when I was at a red light, while driving, reversing, etc. I took it in to have the problem fixed and it is still occurring. I'll try to give the car some gas and it'll shudder and die, I had to replace my car battery because it kept getting drained which did not help the problem, trying to reverse while always result in my car cutting off unless I hit the gas, and it seems it doesn't shift gears correctly. As I said before, I bought this car brand new. I am honestly scared for my safety. I can no longer driver my cat which is utterly unacceptable. I refuse to risk my life.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 53,160 miles
The vehicle had an abnormal idle while at a stop, and would sometimes stall. Upon acceleration the vehicle would hesitate and jerk forward. I took the vehicle to the dealership to rectify the issue. I was told that the mechanic cleared the code for the check engine light, but the internal wiring harness needed to be replaced, on a car that was a little over 2 years old. The internal wiring harness was not covered under any type of warranty. The repair was completed at a cost to me of $245.99. Less than 2 months later, the vehicle was having the same issues, abnormal idle, stalling, and hesitant and jerky accelerating. Again, I took the car back to the dealership for repair. This time the dealership replaced the transmission and clutch front seals, input seals, and axles seals, changed transmission fluid, added 2 quarts of transmission dual clutch transmission fluid. This repair was covered under the Ford 5 year, 60,000 mile power train warranty. About 5 weeks later I was still having the same issues, abnormal idle, hesitant and jerky acceleration. Again, I took my car to the dealership. This time I was told that the throttle body was bad and needed to be replaced. With no choice, I need to get to work, I told them to go ahead with the repair which once again was not covered under any type of warranty. The total for this repair cost me $720.26. In less than 3 years I have had to go to the dealership for major repairs 3 times and spent just under $1,000, plus the inconvenience of rental cars, days off of work, and the general annoyance of knowing my new vehicle has major mechanical issues.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #10

Dec 062013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
I have a 2012 Ford Fiesta and my trunk recently started opening up on it's own. The car can be on or off, stationary or in motion, and the trunk will just pop open on its own. I first noticed that the button to open the trunk would not engage when I pressed on it to open the trunk, and I had to use the button on the key to open the trunk, and then it just started popping open on its own. If I am sitting in the car I can hear it click and then the trunk opens up.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #9

Jan 172015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
While the car was in motion, the door open light and the interior car lights turned on, then I immediately noticed that the back door behind the passenger's side opened by itself. I stopped and tried to close it and it would not shut or lock. The passenger at the time had to hold the door until we got to our destination. Real hazard to the cars that were right by mine and my passengers. It was scary to think of all the things that could have gone wrong because the latch suddenly failed out of nowhere. Called Ford and it's a more than $300 fee to fix the latch system on that door and the service clerk told me that this is something that happens. This does not make sense. If Ford knows this, why aren't they doing anything? never before have I heard of a latch breaking while a car is in motion, specially when my car's back doors are almost never used and my car is still relatively new. I don't want to think that this might happen with any of my other car doors as well. This conveniently happened when my car's warranty expired.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Key would not turn the ignition switch. The tow truck driver could not get the key to turn the ignition, he also could not get the brake-shift interlock override to work and could not get the car out of park. Ended up damaging the front bumper trying to hook-up to the front from the side and eventually towed it from behind with dollies. The ignition switch had to be replaced, the brake-shift interlock override still does not function.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #7

Nov 162014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 36,800 miles
Around 11/16/14 I was on interstate I-35 South and I was exiting and the rear driver side door opened up as I was slowing down at around 50 mph I then pulled over and the door would not close so I had to drive home that way.

- Dilley, TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?