Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,435 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Dec 232015

Fiesta

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2013 Ford Fiesta I purchased on December 23, 2015 at the laurel, Maryland carmax store. On Saturday, September 24th, I went to jim coleman Toyota to buy a Toyota prius. They examined my Ford for its trade-in value. The manager, who was a former carmax manager, examined the car and informed me that my Ford Fiesta has unibody damage. The rear driver's side as be replaced. The car has unibody damage was not disclosed to me when I purchased this car on December 23, 2015. I purchased the car for $14,000, which is far above the blue book value of $9,419. In March 2016, I bought the car to carmax in laurel for overheating. The heat pump was replaced for $250. Additionally, on September 15th, I paid for repairs at the carmax gaithersburg store. The repairs were for the following: 1-front passenger door latch;2-truck latch; and 3-horn I was charged $250 to repair critical safety features. While the car was in gaithersburg, the battery drained. The car door could not close, so the interior lights remained on. I reported the door latch problems on Monday, August 29th. The car was in park. My sister and I were trying to leave for church and the door would not close. However, I was not given an appointment until September 8th in gaithersburg and September 13th in laurel. That was quite a long time to wait for such a critical issue. I would have never purchased a car with unibody damage had it been disclosed. To be charged for a recall item that should have been repaired prior to purchase, is unconscionable. I am totally outraged.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #32

Jul 312016

Fiesta

  • 73,319 miles
Background: NHTSA case no. 861644, recall no. 15V246000 on September 15, 2015, the front right door of my vehicle failed to latch while I was unloading groceries while parked in my driveway. This problem was fixed by shamaley Ford as a recall repair. In September 2015, shamaley Ford stated to me, and apparently also to Ford Motor Co., that all four door latches were replaced, not just the front right door latch that failed. On July 31, 2016, I put one bag of groceries in the back seat and, I thought, closed the rear left door. I drove out of the parking lot. About a half-block away, I saw a dashboard warning light that my rear left door was not closed. I pulled off the road and attempted to close the door. I could not close the door. The latch of the rear left door of the vehicle failed. I do not know if the rear left door came unlatched while I was driving, or if I failed to notice the latch failure in the parking lot before driving off. The left rear door is held closed at this time by a bungee cord between the door arm rest and the front passenger seat head rest. I am taking the vehicle to shamaley Ford for service on August 2 at 7:00 a.M. I put approximately 12,050 miles on the vehicle between the September 2015 latch installation and the latch's failure on July 31, 2016.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #31

Apr 152014

Fiesta

  • 8,000 miles
Bucking, kicking, jerking, harsh engagement, and delayed acceleration and lurching - rolls backwards on hills - transmission rebuild two times and replaced in 24000 miles, these cars a safety issue and Ford needs to take responsibility. Ford will not discuss and just keeps deny. They will not return our calls - please help also, all door pawl spring tab latches have failed more then once.

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #30

May 152015

Fiesta

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear passenger side door, where my son sits in his booster, stopped closing one afternoon on our way to his soccer game. I used a piece of rope to tie the door across the car to the door opposite until I could get my car into the Ford dealership the next day. I searched the internet and saw an article regarding other 2013 Ford Fiesta's having the same issue. I took my vehicle the next day to the dealership and since I was there I let them know that my car, which only had 15K miles on it, has a problem with acceleration. When I accelerate I hear an airy sound coming from the engine and I lose power so that I accelerate very slowly. This is a huge safety issue when getting onto the highway. I was advised when I picked up the car that the lock was a recall item as was an issue with the cooling system that they fixed. In addition, when they checked for the airy sound they found I have a bad transmission. My service rep said the transmission was on back order for 30 days. That was May 2015. Today is 11/2/2015 and I still do not have the parts to replace my transmission. I have asked several times if I could have a rental car or borrow a car from Ford until my transmission is fixed due to the low acceleration and have been told time and again that they can not "authorize" it.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #29

Sep 012015

Fiesta

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the service engine warning light illuminated intermittently. In addition, the transmission hesitated. The contact also stated that while driving, the door popped open without warning and could not be closed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the door latches needed to be replaced and the transmission needed to be repaired. In addition, there was a manufacturers recall on the engine warning light. The vehicle was not repaired for the failures due to the parts not being available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #28

Oct 052015

Fiesta

  • 39,000 miles
The transmission has been slipping constantly. When starting from a dead stop the transmission slips preventing its from catching the first two gears. Also the passenger side door latch will not close. The door all of a sudden came open while driving. This car is unsafe.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #27

Aug 102015

Fiesta

  • 19,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While taking the baby to visit the grand parents, we arrived there and taking the baby out of the car the passenger rear door popped open and would not latch. We had to tie the door closed. The car is not safe to drive in this condition, rely on ropes and bungee cords to keep the door closed. It offers no protection in the event of a crash. This condition should be reported to the car owners now, they should have to wait for doors on the vehicle to pop open to find out they have a problem with the car.

- San Leon, TX, USA

problem #26

Jul 252015

Fiesta

  • 48,200 miles
While driving on the freeway, my passenger door suddenly swung wide opened. I had to pull over and then hold the door all the way to dealership. The dealer said they will fix the passenger door only since they were not allowed to fix the rest of the doors even though all 4 doors are in recall. My car have been with the dealer for the past two weeks since there is no part to fix my door latch. Its very unsafe to drive this car and Ford do not care about it.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #25

Jun 202015

Fiesta

  • 41,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, my back door suddenly swung wide opened. My dog was in the back seat and I had to grab her before she flew out. I had to pull over then hold the door shut all the way to the dealership. Once at the dealership they fixed one door, and said they were not allowed to fix the rest even though all 4 doors are recalled.... my dog could have died, and if it was a child leaning on the door when it opened they could have been killed as well. Ford doesn't care that this vehicle is not safe.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #24

Jul 102015

Fiesta

  • miles
Door latch failed, door had to be tied shut to operate.

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #23

Apr 252015

Fiesta

  • 10,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This past Saturday, I opened my rear passenger side door, and it took a few attempts to close it again. It did not want to latch. I wasn't sure why it happened, and all but forgot about it. Later in the day, I picked up some friends from the airport, and the same thing happened. I opened the door to load in a suitcase and it took several attempts to get it to latch closed again. Then, on Sunday, I lent my car to my visiting friends, and while they were driving the door popped open. It did not fly open or cause alarm, it just came unlatched. When they stopped the car they used the seat belt to hold the door closed. They texted me to let me know what was happening. We discovered that just only two days earlier a recall had been issued on the door latches on my make and model of car. The most frustrating part is that the dealership says they are not ready to fix the problem. So far they have not received instructions or parts yet. I have an appointment scheduled on June 9th to address another recall issue concerning an emissions part, but I was informed that only if the dealership had the parts and instructions would they address my open door problem. So I will be driving around for at least 5 weeks with a door that won't close. That can't be safe. Meanwhile if the door is not tied tightly the interior light stays on. Fortunately there wasn't anyone in the back seat when the door popped open.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #22

Jan 242015

Fiesta

  • 11,022 miles
I went to close the back passenger side door and the latch wouldn't catch all of a sudden. With no prior incidents or indication of an issue, the latch just broke - when I took it to the dealership, they said they have had a lot of these types of issues happen because of faulty defective latches from the manufacturer. 3 months later and the front passenger door latch does the same exact thing. And I haven't gotten one notice on this defective latch, before or after my incident. I would think safety would be a major concern for Ford - who would want their doors not being able to shut?? since they acknowledged other cars having the same issue, I don't believe I just received a lemon, but I sure won't be buying Ford again!

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Mar 292015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 19,673 miles
I got out of my car, closed driver's door, it wouldn't catch on the latch. The door mechanism is not in the closed position indicating it was stuck. The door mechanism is in the open position and won't catch on the latch.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #20

Mar 242015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 50,350 miles
The doors on my 2013 Ford Fiesta will not latch. It came unlatched while driving and all 3 of my children were in the back seat.

- Oilton, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 202015

Fiesta

  • 40,999 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the front passenger side door locking mechanism failed and the door would not remain closed while driving. In addition, the vehicle interior ceiling light would remain on while operating the vehicle because the door could not be secured. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,999.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #18

Mar 212015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 38,887 miles
Rear passenger door will not stay closed. Latch will not hold.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 012015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 41,428 miles
The rear passenger door does not stay closed and will fly open while driving if not secured with rope.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #16

Dec 302013

Fiesta

  • 11,601 miles
2013 Ford Fiesta has water leaking into trunk area from rear seat to back of car. Car has been to dealer seven times for repair and still has water leak in trunk area. Also vehicle has a hesitation when pulling out, transmission jerks and makes grinding noise. Car has been to dealer two times to have transmission checked. Transmission has been reprogrammed two times and still has same problem. Dealer says this is normal operation for this transmission. Car feels unsafe when pulling out into traffic, feels like engine is going to stall.

- Beaver, WV, USA

problem #15

Jan 122015

Fiesta

  • 14,640 miles
Rear passenger door fails to stay closed. Door latch fails to keep door shut.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #14

Oct 192014

Fiesta

  • 22,651 miles
I was driving approximately 40 mph when the right rear door of my vehicle flew open rapidly. I was afraid of the door striking another vehicle or injuring my passenger and had to quickly pull over. In order to pull over safely, the passenger was forced to grab ahold of the door so that I could steer the vehicle out of traffic. Once I reached the side of the road, we examined the door, at first thinking that perhaps it had been improperly shut. We discovered, in fact, that was not the case. There was some defect in the car that caused the door to fly open while the vehicle was in motion. The car was not drivable as-is because the door would not latch so we had to tie the door shut from the interior to drive it home safely. The dealership mechanic was not open at that time. Once home, I could not activate the alarm system so the car sat unlocked overnight with the interior lights on. The lights would not shut off because the door would not close. I drove the vehicle to the Ford dealership mechanic as soon as they opened the next morning and had to miss half a day of work because of the issue. It took several hours for the dealership mechanics to fix the latch and they referred me to Ford Motor Company to voice my complaints and concerns about a defect that caused me to fear for my safety and that of my passenger. I filed a claim with fmc. Two weeks later I received a letter from Ford Motor Company saying that my case had been closed. Fmc offered me no explanation of or resolution to this serious safety concern.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?