Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 12 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jun 012013

Fiesta

  • 18,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission started shuddering shifting into 2nd gear. I believe it is also doing the samething going into 4th gear. Uphill sometimes it can't get out of it's own way. Had no problems until now. Car was fun to drive and getting 40mpg. Taking it to dealer tomorrow. We'll see.

- Lancaster, NH, USA

problem #16

Jun 082013

Fiesta

  • 620 miles
I purchased my 2013 Ford Fiesta 3 weeks ago with 37 miles on it. My first incident happend at approximately 620 miles where the car started hesitating when I would attempt to accelerate to pass a car on the highway and occasionally when pressing the gas pedal to accelerate from a stopped point. The car now, with 750 miles sputters and jerks and lunges, as it seems has been a very common problem for these cars for a few years now. I took the car to the dealership last Saturday after it happend a few times. They told me there may be a leak in the transmission clutch, but ultimately came back saying the transmission needed an "update" and they processed that. I picked the car up. On the way home, it was much worse. It jerks almost everytime I pull away from a red light/stopped position. It is once again at the dealer. I spoke with the dealer service manager. He tells me this problem is more common with the Ford Focus and that he really feels my transmission needs to be "worn in" until 1500 miles and that they will look at it, but likely not do anything...that I basically need to drive the car and deal with it. I am extremely concerned for safety reasons to drive this car. I feel that I just bought this car, it should not have problems like this. It also was not disclosed to me on test drive/prior to purchase about this "new" double clutch auto manual transmission..which I feel is a disgrace to Ford and their products. I am waiting for the dealership to call me and tell me it's "fine" and see what the next step needs to be..because this is a problem!

- Harleysville, PA, USA

problem #15

May 202013

Fiesta

  • 300 miles
When I first drove the car it was so smooth and quiet; but that didn't last very long. After about a week a heard a grinding noise in the transmission, and the car began stuttering when I tried to accelerate. The grinding noise began to get worse as the week went on. I hear it when I am slowing down, and beginning to accelerate again. I took it to the Ford dealership where it was bought, and they told me it was normal and did not even attempt to fix it. I took it that exact same day to another Ford dealership, because it was still making the exact same grinding sound. The mechanic there test-drove it and said that it was not normal to be hearing that sound. He said it sounded like something was about to fall out. I read online about many problems with the Fiesta transmission; and I want to know what Ford is going to do about it. A sound like that and stuttering does not leave me to feel safe while driving.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #14

Sep 282012

Fiesta

  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car shudders and shakes between 1st and third as it changes gear may be tps or tranny dealer says nothing found Ford is investigating!!??

- Thonotosassa, FL, USA

problem #13

May 202013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
Bought 2013 Ford Fiesta on 5/16/13 with 40 miles on it. After the second day driving it started hearing a grinding and rubbing type noise from front left side of car. Took it to one dealer who told me it definitely has something wrong with the transmission but since I did not buy it there they cant help me. So the next day took it to the place I bought it. The more the car was driven the worse this condition got! with 700 miles on the car the dealer at first told me there was nothing wrong, but after a ride along the story changed fast. After 4 days I contacted Ford about a buy-back since they did not know what the issue was. At 1 week in the shop I was told they wont do a buy back but fix the car when they know what the issue is. Now I got a call that its a known issue with the car and has a tsb on it. We will see if this works I guess.

- Gardner, IL, USA

problem #12

Nov 302012

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
We purchased 2013 Ford Fiesta in November 2012. Since then we have experienced grinding noise from left side of vehicle, plus burning smell. Most noticeably at city speeds and from takeoffs. Thought maybe it was snow tire issue but when we took in for first service, Ford service recognized the was an issue with the automatic transmission, but gave no explanation or fix. We were told that Ford knows there is an issue but have been kept in the dark since, no followup at all. They added 'you do have roadside assistance' as a response. Are we to wait for the vehicle to completely fail or get in an accident before they do something.

- London, MI, USA

problem #11

May 092013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 9,035 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the first 9,000 miles everything worked well. Then trouble. Now, out of the blue, the vehicle stutters, or shudders, sometimes quite violently at various times when shifting through the gears. It's happened in all six gears. There are times when the engine fails to respond to the gas pedal, usually when pulling away from a stop light, until it's depressed beyond where it should be, and then the car will suddenly "catch" and lurch forward. All of this happens at random times throughout the day, but never when the car has just started and is still cold. I do a lot of interstate highway driving, and on two occasions, the slow response to the gas pedal put me at real risk. I'm taking the car to the dealer tomorrow to get this fixed.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #10

Dec 012012

Fiesta

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the vehicle would lose power when driving uphill. In addition, the vehicle responded poorly when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer re-calibrated the transmission control module, the position control module, and reset the computer however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 5,745.

- Ranger , WV, USA

problem #9

Nov 272012

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 88 miles
2013 Ford Fiesta bought 11/23/12. Problems within 4 days; it's definitely a death trap. To repair shop 11/27/12, 11/30/12, 12/12/12 & 03/27/13 for intermittent problems. Initially started hearing a buzzing from right side of motor & smelling something hot like rubber burning. The original problems were joined with a grinding noise from the transmission area on the left side of the car (loudest between 32 & 42 mph), it began to hesitate, shutter, stall, lurch, not move forward until high rpms reached & then it suddenly lunged forward. Difficulty pulling steep hills/driveways & doesn't reverse at times. We've nearly been rear-ended & broadsided on more than once; I almost rear-ended someone else. Cruise control problem on interstate could have gotten my family killed; tapped brakes to disengage cruise control as I was being passed on one side & was approaching a slow moving vehicle. I pulled to the left lane & proceeded past the slower vehicle building my speed back up to 70; I pushed the resume button & suddenly the car's speed dropped drastically & then jumped back up causing the rpms to rev very high before returning to normal. Thankfully no one was behind me; if it would have happened in the other lane we would have been hit by a semi-truck. The car continues to develop more problems each day. In April 2013, the car was parked on a level store lot. My son had just entered the car & I was getting in the driver's side. I had just got my butt on the seat & my right leg in the car when I hear a clicking noise, then the car started to roll forward; I immediately jerked my left leg in & instinctively pressed the brake & reached for the gear shift thinking I forgot it in gear but to my surprise it was in park. Now I always pull the emergency brake & at home for added safety I put a block in front of the tire also.

- Ronceverte, WV, USA

problem #8

Dec 102012

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
Within the first 2 weeks of owning this car, I noticed a grinding rubbing sound coming from the front of the car as I would accelerate, generally it would stop after 2nd or 3rd gear. My husband made sure nothing was rubbing under the car but the noise continued. As we drove more miles, new symptoms appeared such as lurching when gas pedal was released and depressed, shuttering upon acceleration to the point where the car barely moves, while idling at a stop it sometimes lurches and bucks, and down shifting while accelerating causing the engine to rev to 2500rpm while driving. Also, while using the cruise control, the car will downshift and rev without provocation just driving on a flat straight highway. My husband drives me to work sometimes because the car is so unpredictable and dangerous, I'm afraid I will get stuck in an intersection and get broadsided or I'll lurch into another car.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #7

Apr 212013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I'm writing about our 6 month old 2013 Fiesta, 11,000 miles. I love it except the 6 speed automatic transmission. Most of the time the shifting is smooth, but there are periods of time, say a day or two, that it shudders going into first gear, then second. The other day I was starting up a gravel driveway (uphill), and the transmission finally engaged right about halfway up the driveway, and I almost ran into the house I was visiting because of the surprise. It's almost as if the transmission is slipping. To me, this is a safety issue. Both my wife and I feel very uneasy about this and don't think it should be called normal. We had the 10,000 mile inspection, complained about it then, but they didn't find any problem - but then again, it was Saturday afternoon. An analogy to this is an athlete getting ready to run at the start line. If he stumbles, he may trip and fall, and for sure will not do well in the competition.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 042013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
When shifting into second and third, it shudders like driving on a corrugated road. During this time, the car accelerates only very slowly. I am afraid that I am going to need to get out of someone's way or trying to pull onto a road, get stuck unable to accelerate and be hit. This is with the 6-speed double dry clutch transmission on the Ford Fiesta. The car only has 14,000 miles on it.

- Shawnee, OK, USA

problem #5

Nov 012012

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
I bought a 2013 Ford Fiesta in October of 2012 and I have 13000 miles on it and today 4-17-13 is the 3rd time I"ve dropped the car off at the dealer ship to have the transmission worked on. The first time the dealership rebuilt the transmission, the 2nd time they said they couldn?T find anything and I am waiting to hear from the shop to see what they say today. My transmission has a grinding sound, when I push the accelerator it sometimes doesn?T engage and drive forward until I let my foot off and then repress the accelerator. When sitting in rush hour traffic it will lunge forward. I am not happy with the time I"ve spent or having to do this many trips to the dealership to have a brand new car fixed. They need to do something about this. How can this many people be unhappy and nobody does anything to make Ford recall their transmissions.

- Osceola, WY, USA

problem #4

Feb 272013

Fiesta

  • miles
Transmission makes rattling noise I took it back to the dealer where I bought car I was told it was normal which I have a hard time accepting it.has anyone complained about this problem before. ## VIN failed ##

- Union, MO, USA

problem #3

Jan 092013

Fiesta

  • 3,000 miles
With automatic transmission, car will roll backwards when releasing brake at a stoplight to move forward.

- La Plata, MO, USA

problem #2

Aug 082012

Fiesta

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph uphill, the brake was depressed when suddenly the vehicle rolled backward. The vehicle was taken to three authorized dealers who all advised the contact that the manual transmission was operating normally. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hickory Hills, IL, USA

problem #1

Sep 292012

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
Transmission started grinding while trying to accelerate from sitting idle. Brakes locked up 3 different times while I had my foot on the brake. The transmission revs very high with any street that is not completely flat. When I sit at a stop light it will roll backward when I try to go. It is an automatic transmission.

- Louisville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?