Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,128 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #224

Jul 182016

Fiesta

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle is unsafe and should be recalled. Dual transmission cluch is a serious problem disengaging while driving slow or fast and shutters at all speeds. Its electronic throttle body (ecb) is defective just like 1.6 million 2009-2014 Ford escape and Fusion and Mercury mariner and Milan vehicles that Ford started a "customer satisfaction program" in lieu of a recall. Of course the ecb is not under warranty (3,000 over) and Ford did not identify the Fiesta as one of the customer satisfaction program cars. $545 plus labor for a car that is 3 years old. No more Ford products for home or work for this cfo.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #223

Feb 102015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that vehicle has been in the shop five times for transmission related issues. The clutch was replaced three times. The dealer was unable to determine a solution. The contact was unable to determine if the vehicle would be repaired. The vehicle was at the dealer for further inspection and diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure several times and was unable to provide a remedy to the dealer. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 08/04/16.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #222

Jun 162016

Fiesta

  • 40,000 miles
The transmission on my 2013 Ford Fiesta shudders, jerks and pauses/stalls on acceleration while in low gears. When entering traffic from a stopped condition extra time has to be allotted because the car transmission will jerk and pause on acceleration. The driver has no control over the speed of the car, in other words accelerating will not allow the driver to get out of the way because the transmission pauses. This is a very dangerous situation. This car has been to the dealer 4 times. The clutch has been change multiple times. The garage finally gave up on trying to fix the transmission and replaced it. The car has the same issues with the new transmission. Additionally the transmission shifts erratically at low speeds, it's not consistent and smooth. These issues happen all the time, this just isn't a one time occurrence. This is daily driving!

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #221

Jan 052016

Fiesta

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Taken vehicle to dealer 5 times for transmission. Shutters, intermittent transmission staying in 2nd gear which could cause a crash.I am at a loss with this vehicle.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #220

Feb 172016

Fiesta

  • 20,000 miles
Taken vehicle to dealer 5 times for transmission. Shutters, intermittent transmission staying in 2nd gear which could cause a crash.I am at a loss with this vehicle.I wish Ford would replace transmission instead of having technicians replace clutches and seals or clean clutch to remove transmission oil off clutch. I have decided not to purchase a Ford product while I am on this earth. No customer should have to suffer with inadequate engineering designs!!!!

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #219

Jan 172016

Fiesta

  • 30,000 miles
On a cold morning car failed to start and transmission failure came on display. Ford replaced trans module and said my battery was starting to get low. Two weeks later the same thing happened. Car was again towed to dealer who said I needed a new trans module. I informed him this was second module in two weeks and that there must be something else causing the problem. He said there was nothing else. I then found online where Ford has painted the surface where the ground cable from the battery is attached. A youtube video stated the cleaning the surface of paint, applying di-electric grease and re-attaching cable would cure the issue. Have completed this and haven't had an issue since. Ford needs to recall all units to fix this issue.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #218

May 102016

Fiesta

  • 27,607 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Reference complaints #'s 10639225, 10744924 & 10820141 for background concerning this vehicle. Also, documents associated with on-going problem are submitted with complaint #10744924. Current issue is clutch #4 being replaced in this vehicle in less than four years! if that isn't grounds for action against Ford for their defective designed transmission then I sure don't know what would be" sure, Ford gave a seven year warranty for the flaw, but it's just replacing the part with the same faulty part that fails every year! three more years then it's out of my pocket!! it's the transmission clutch for heavens sake...it shouldn't be replaced every year!!! I own an eight year old Ford F150 that not once has had a transmission issue...matter of fact...I've never owned a vehicle until the Fiesta with such a problem"

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #217

Nov 042014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving various speeds, the vehicle accelerated without warning and made a grinding noise. In addition, the vehicle temporarily stalled, accelerated without warning, and then decelerated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under a recall, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The recall information was not provided.....updated 06/30/16 the consumer stated the dealer replaced the clutch twice. Updated 07/21/16.

- Muscle Shoals, AL, USA

problem #216

May 062016

Fiesta

  • 50,000 miles
You guy know that the transmission on this car is not safe and no recall has been ordered. Shame on you. I guess people have to die from it first. It pushes forward when trying to stop and stalls when you need to go. I have had the clutches replaced atleast 4 times and every 6 months I am back to my car trying to kill me. Shame on this dept. When did this happen you ask? the entire time I haved had this car starting at about 2000 miles.

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #215

May 052016

Fiesta

  • 79,000 miles
Transmission shudders, rather violently, between 1-2, and 2-3 shifts. Recently the transmission has shifted into neutral at two very inopportune and frightening times, once on the 202 freeway in mesa, AZ and the other in a 3 way intersection attempting to make a left turn. The vehicle has become unsafe because of the random transmission shifts, whereas the shuddering was just a very irksome annoyance. Ford needs to replace these transmissions. It's ridiculous for a person to own a car less than 3 or 4 years old and have these kinds of unsafe issues.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #214

Sep 012015

Fiesta

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While attempting to start the vehicle, it hesitated to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be repaired. The transmission was replaced; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #213

Apr 112016

Fiesta

  • 78,339 miles
While driving on the highway the power train/engine malfunction warning light (wrench shaped) warning light came on and remained on until I parked and turned off the car. At the end of the work day I started the car and the warning light was not on. I took the car to a Ford service center and was told wires had melted together and needed to be replaced. The reason I was given by the service center is:" Test drive - check engine light on, no symptoms detected. Ids test PCM koeo-pass. Cont - P2138 (app sensor correlation error), koer-pass, per tsb 13-11-15, bypass circuits LE136, LE137, and RE137 at connector C210, pins 1, 8, and 9 respectively, switch app sensor connector pins 1 and 2."

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #212

Apr 152016

Fiesta

  • 77,000 miles
Continued transmission problems; jerks, clutch studders; scared to cross intersections because car will stop or jerk; transmission malfunction; seat belts not locking properly; taken car to the dealership more than 4 times due to the same problem (transmission malfunction)

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #211

Dec 192013

Fiesta

  • 12 miles
Makes noise while driving between 30-50 ml/H from day one. Many times, from stationary to move, it will suddenly jump, accelerate, hard to control. Has known transmission problem and sometime will not start.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #210

Jul 222013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the vehicle jerked and the transmission slipped without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact stated that the vehicle had to be restarted for the jerking to stop. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 3,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 06/15/16

- Madison, NC, USA

problem #209

Apr 302013

Fiesta

  • 200 miles
This was a brand new 2013 Ford Fiesta purchased on April 2013 that has always intermittently stuttered / bogged on acceleration with sometimes a metal noise. I was told this was due to the "new" type of double clutch transmission designed to improve gas mileage. Clutch was already replaced once and I was told yesterday clutch needs to be replaced again. I took the car in to the shop a month ago as the car was stuttering on acceleration fairly badly and told then they couldn't find a problem.

- Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #208

Apr 302015

Fiesta

  • 1,600 miles
The transmission has a recall on it. It has been in the shop and replaced 3X. It still is not fixed. It passes the test when its hooked up to the machine but when driven it fails and goes back to the shop. The problem apparently has something to do with Ford and how it is made. Now a engine malfunction light always comes on. The manual says that it should not be driven because it may not shift. I have almost been in countless accidents because the transmission will not shift. It does not accelerate. It jerks, shakes, and grinds. I wrote to Ford and they didn't care. Told me to take it up with the dealership. This has been nonstop since I bought it last year till now and its ongoing. I do not feel comfortable driving my child in this car. Someone needs to be held accountable.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #207

Apr 042016

Fiesta

  • 82,000 miles
On-going issue w/ chugging, gringin and jerking-front derivers side of car. Started in 2014- told dealership steven Ford(patchogue, NY) they stated no issue. Noise got repeadetly worse over time. Had Missouri dealership look at when I foundout there was recall on the transmission- stated reset computer all repaired. Came back to NY with extended issue took to tower Ford (great neck, NY) kept for a week stating they had to diagnosis w/ 260 fee. Was then told it was a part in the transmission - not covered under warranty and will cost $ $5,000 to fix. Was told I could drive off lot-took to outside garage in glen oaks, NY where they informed me I had a hole in my transmission that by looking at could have been noted w/ no diagnostic needed. Tower charged me for the 260 diagnostic and sent me on my way. Ford corporate had been notified of all issues and refuses to help. I am 8 months pregnant- drove this car across the country and no one connected to Ford wants to help- it is a 2013! tower Ford told glenoaks garage that we did this to the transmission when we drove it 6 miles from one location to the other. This car has been a danger to drive and no one advised me of this extensive transmission issue!

- Glen Oaks, NY, USA

problem #206

Apr 082016

Fiesta

  • miles
70,000 miles currently, 2013 Ford fiesa sfe with 6 speed power shift automatic trans. The transmission on this car is a flawed design. Since I've had this car, there is excessive clutch shudder when the car shifts from first to second and from second to third. It also sounds like there are loose marbles in the transmission. I had the tsb/recall performed in April of 2015 but that didn't help. The car was at the dealer for 2 weeks while the transmission was opened up and parts were replaced. To be honest, it's now worse than ever. Unless I'm driving at highway speeds, the car is a nightmare to drive.

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #205

Mar 102016

Fiesta

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When attempting to accelerate the vehicle, it would either lunge forward and accelerate at high speeds and stall without warning, or fail to accelerate at all. When attempting to stop the vehicle, the engine revved, the vehicle accelerated and lunged forward, and stopped suddenly. The dealer stated that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?