Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,864 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 3 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #192

Nov 022015


  • 22,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While the vehicle was coming to a stop, the transmission failed and the vehicle jerked severely. A warning message in the instrument panel indicated that the transmission malfunctioned and needed to be serviced. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module failed and needed to be replaced. The transmission control program was updated, but the failure recurred. The contact mentioned that the transmission control module was replaced twice, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- 1021 Mckavett Drive, TX, USA

problem #191

Jan 012016

Fiesta 6-cyl

  • miles
2013 Ford Fiesta. Consumer writes in regards to transmission recall notice issues. The consumer stated she went to the dealer several times to try and get a resolution for the transmission issue.

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #190

Dec 112015


  • 20,000 miles
When I drive the car in a low gear (usually stuck in traffic or leaving a parking lot) it will flash several warning lights and the computer console will say "transmission malfunction, service now." Then the car will stop responding to the gas pedal entirely. I can usually get it to respond again by turning the car off and turning it back on again. After several minutes, this will work, but it's only a matter of time before it stalls out again. I've taken the car (still under warranty) back to Ford for this same issue 5 times now, and each time they replace the transmission module. Each time, after some time (shortest: 2 days, longest: Four months) the same stalling out presents in the same way. I've broken down/stalled out in parking lots, on surface streets, and on major freeways: Each time in traffic. The first incident happened in August of 2015, then 12/11/15, 12/15/15, 12/18/15 and 1/14/15.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #189

Jan 052016


  • 5 miles


This is the 3rd follow-up in regards to complaint #'s 10639225 & 10744924. The following is my specific event timeline. First event (17sep2013) 1st transmission shudder...2nd clutch installed, second event (30sep2014) 2nd trans joint leaking, third event (10nov2014) 3rd trans dealer action, fourth event (10jun2015) 4th trans dealer action, fifth event (29jul2015) 5th trans shudder...front suspension control arm replaced, sixth event (12sep2015) 6th trans shudder...3rd clutch installed, seventh event (5jan2016) transmission wouldn't shift...transmission control module replaced. All the other individuals who have filed complaints (concerning this transmission), all the issues I've detailed above (for a 3 year old, normally operated car), and nothing more is being done here" was nothing learned from the GM debacle?" this cars design is flawed and holds a potentially deadly defect that Ford just quietly throws parts at and everyone's ok! thank you!!

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #188

Feb 162015


  • miles
I took my 2013 Ford Fiesta in to get the oil changed and to determine why the car was making a grinding/shutter/tugging noise/feeling on February 16, 2015 to randall reed's prestige Ford, 3601 South shiloh road, garland, tx 75041. I was informed there was a recall on the clutch and that it would be replaced free of charge. Prestige Ford did the work on March 6, 2015 and replaced the clutch. A week later the car was still making the grinding/shutter/tugging feeling. I returned to prestige Ford and the clutch was on back order. Prestige Ford replaced the clutch a second time on May 14, 2015. 5 star Ford has replaced the clutch a third time on Dec. 14, 2015 and it is still making the grinding noise and they failed to put water in the cooling reservoir and the check engine coolant light is on.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #187

Jan 012014


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated the transmission failed. While, at a complete stop the transmission jerked violently, causing the vehicle to engage acceleration slowly and shake. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer replaced the transmission twice. However, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #186

Sep 042015


  • 10,451 miles


Hesitates, grinds, shutters, lurches when excellerating from a stop or slow speed. It also rolls back from a level stop sometimes when you swith your foot from brake to gas. It has been to the shop at least twice but continues the same things. The explanation is that after its worked on it resets and has to learn how to shift as transmission again.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #185

Sep 042015


  • 10,451 miles
The transmission stutters, grinds, slow to engage can also pop into gear hard when excellerating or hestitates when excellerating. It also allows the car to roll backwards when stationary. Two times in the shop and the explanation is needs new parts, then has to learn how to be a transmissionj again. What"?" it has only 14K mile on it.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #184

May 122014


  • miles
Have taken the 2013 Fiesta into the dealership 3 different times for lack of power, not accelerating, sluggish feel between gears shifting. Each time it has either been reprogrammed or I was told no problem could be found! it is scheduled for repair Thursday, December 10, 2015, we are taking it in because this last time the car nearly stalled on my daughter as she tried to go around a vehicle on the interstate, and she was at full speed but tried accelerating. This will be 4 times in two years. The vehicle jerks or stops. Vehicle has always been in motion, all the time on city streets and highway also when turning

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #183

Apr 162015


  • 41,000 miles
I initally leased, and then purchased, a 2013 Ford Fiesta. I have been the only driver of the vehicle. I have had a the transmission pieces replaced once and the vehicle is back in the shop for the second time. I don't understand how there can be so many recalls related to the transmission but no recall of the car itself. It lurches forward, will not shift into gear from a complete stop or almost stopped car. I've had many near misses and feel incredibly unsafe driving the vehicle. The car only drove for a few thousand miles before the problems crept back up, possibly even worse than before.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #182

Dec 122014


  • 10,000 miles


Automatic transmission slips and does not shift smoothly. The Ford dealership has worked on it twice without repairing it. It is in for a third time and the plan is to replace the same part they replaced last time. The problem began at 10,000 miles and reoccurs every 10,000 miles. Though the car remains under warranty, this is a dangerous situations that needs to be corrected by Ford immediately before some one gets killed.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #181

Aug 012015


  • 12,000 miles
I bought the car in October 2014. It was a week later I noticed the issues with the transmission that I would push on the gas pedal that it would either jerk or take a second just too get the car to move. I took it in to a dealership and the dealership was terrible and said they fixed it. However when I got the car back the next day I was driving to work in sandy, Utah on state street when the transmission went out and I had to get it towed back to the dealership where they wouldn't take any ownership of the issue. They said it was a "coincidence". they fixed it and I didn't have an issue until two months later the issue started happening again with the jerking forward and feeling that it was lurching forward.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #180

Nov 152015


  • 58,000 miles
Transmission is junk. Jerking and sputtering going from 1st to 2nd. Unsafe, has been to Ford 3 or more times for this and they can't fix it.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #179

Nov 092015


  • 42,000 miles
The car almost stopped in the middle of the road when we tried to cross the road from a stop sign. It felt like it had no power to move. We finally were able to complete the maneuver but the risk of an accident was pretty high as the other cars were approaching the intersection.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #178

Apr 152014


  • 8,000 miles
Bucking, kicking, jerking, harsh engagement, and delayed acceleration and lurching - rolls backwards on hills - transmission rebuild two times and replaced in 24000 miles, these cars a safety issue and Ford needs to take responsibility. Ford will not discuss and just keeps deny. They will not return our calls - please help also, all door pawl spring tab latches have failed more then once.

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #177

May 152015


  • 15,000 miles
The rear passenger side door, where my son sits in his booster, stopped closing one afternoon on our way to his soccer game. I used a piece of rope to tie the door across the car to the door opposite until I could get my car into the Ford dealership the next day. I searched the internet and saw an article regarding other 2013 Ford Fiesta's having the same issue. I took my vehicle the next day to the dealership and since I was there I let them know that my car, which only had 15K miles on it, has a problem with acceleration. When I accelerate I hear an airy sound coming from the engine and I lose power so that I accelerate very slowly. This is a huge safety issue when getting onto the highway. I was advised when I picked up the car that the lock was a recall item as was an issue with the cooling system that they fixed. In addition, when they checked for the airy sound they found I have a bad transmission. My service rep said the transmission was on back order for 30 days. That was May 2015. Today is 11/2/2015 and I still do not have the parts to replace my transmission. I have asked several times if I could have a rental car or borrow a car from Ford until my transmission is fixed due to the low acceleration and have been told time and again that they can not "authorize" it.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #176

Sep 012015


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the service engine warning light illuminated intermittently. In addition, the transmission hesitated. The contact also stated that while driving, the door popped open without warning and could not be closed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the door latches needed to be replaced and the transmission needed to be repaired. In addition, there was a manufacturers recall on the engine warning light. The vehicle was not repaired for the failures due to the parts not being available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #175

Oct 012014


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the transmission failed. The contact mentioned that the shift lever would not shift into first, second, or third gear. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be rebuild. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #174

Jun 152013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that she heard an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle hesitated and shuttered. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.......updated 04/01/16

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

problem #173

Oct 122015


  • 48,783 miles
There have been multiple instances that my transmission, while in motion, has stuttered, stalled, or been completely unresponsive. In low gears, the transmission sounds as if it is grinding metal cans. When my car stutters or jerks seemingly out of nowhere, my lights and dash will flicker as well. Both my Ford dealership and Ford itself has told me these safety issues are normal and to be expected. Twice I've almost collided with semis on the highway when I was unable to get up to speed properly due to the chugging and stuttering. There are thousands of complaints on this issue. I've already had my clutch and seals replaced once, to no avail. This is the first vehicle I've bought and I'm scared for my safety. Ford and my dealership won't take responsibility for these hazards and insist that I'm not driving my car right. The grinding, stuttering, stalling, and outright transmission failure has been occurring for the full 7 months I've had the car. If maintenance invoices are needed, I do have access to these.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?