10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #165

May 012014

Fiesta

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission grinds, hesitates and has trouble shifting at low speeds. Sometimes the transmission has a slow reaction to the pedal and jolts forward after the delay. In stop and go bumper to bumper city traffic this can cause issues. I've had the clutch assembly replaced twice but could have had it done 5 + times at least. It's too much trouble to constantly have to get it fixed at the dealership. After the dealership fixed it both times its good for a few thousand miles then problems start all over again.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #164

Aug 222013

Fiesta

  • 15,000 miles
Transmission slips, chugs, grinds, hesitates, jerks, fails to accelerate and bogs out each time before slamming into gear, jerking the car forward quickly, then fails to decelerate when engaging the breaks causing very near rear end wrecks. On highway at 55-65 mph, car is unable to down shift properly. The vehicle has been brought to the dealership times cleaned and replace clutch or programmed. Still not shifting properly

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #163

Jun 032013

Fiesta

  • 10,000 miles
Transmission slips, chugs, grinds, hesitates, jerks, fails to accelerate and bogs out each time before slamming into gear, jerking the car forward quickly, then fails to decelerate when engaging the breaks causing very near rear end wrecks. On highway at 55-65 mph, car is unable to down shift properly. The vehicle has been brought to the dealership 5 times and I'm told it's how I'm driving the vehicle, nothing is wrong. After 5 visits, Ford dealerships will not see the vehicle. Simply telling me "if I don't like it, trade it in". the car is worthless, and therefore "trading it in" would be throwing more money away.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #162

Oct 272014

Fiesta

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the vehicle jerked and failed to accelerate. The failure recurred numerous time. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- St Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #161

Jul 302015

Fiesta

  • 45,000 miles
When accelerating the Fiesta lurches and then goes forward. The air conditioning pumps out cool air and then hot air off and on. The lurching issue has not been repaired and this is the fourth visit.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #160

Jun 112015

Fiesta

  • 23,684 miles
This is follow-up to incident #10639225 (26sep2015), and details continued trouble from initial complaint. The vehicle has returned to the shop four times (currently in shop) for power-shift transmission clutch shudder. Two of the four found shudder tsb logging 150-170 RPM loss between shifts (Ford claims acceptable?), one found/replaced leaking cv shaft seal, and fourth currently being diagnosed. On the third incident (one listed above), dealership found shudder and 170 RPM loss (stated on invoice they drove vehicle), but invoice shows zero miles driven in-shop? my first question is this...why is any RPM loss (above 100 RPM's) acceptable for a computer controlled automatic transmission?? second...under normal driving conditions (which this car is driven) why are there cv issues"?" Ford has multiple tsb's and fsa's surrounding this transmission yet NHTSA does nothing about it! this transmission (with all of the NHTSA complaints against) clearly is a design flaw and a safety risk!! I request feedback on this issue. Thank you! updated 9/28/15..updated 01/13/15..updated 05-19-16

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #159

Jul 082015

Fiesta

  • 44,388 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When at a stopped position and I go to take off, the car will shutter and almost want to cut out. It almost does not know what gear it wants to go into. I am worried with this transmission. I never have had a car that shifts like this before.

- Concord , NH, USA

problem #158

Sep 202013

Fiesta

  • 500 miles
Had trouble shifting gears from a stop position. Presently it has trouble shifting not only in low gears but all the way up to 50mls pr hr. When slowing down it jerks and hesitates. In Oct 2014 took it back to repair and was told needed new clutch due to internal oil seal leak contamination.nine months later the manufacturer has still neglected to repair it, I have been told due to backorder of parts. It has only 20,000K on it.

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #157

Apr 152013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2013 Ford Fiesta. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle automatic transmission shifting problems. There was a leak coming from the transmission output shaft seal. The shaft seal and clutches were replaced. The consumer continued to experience problems. MA 10/5

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #156

Jun 132013

Fiesta

  • 14,000 miles
I was driving on a street in my Fiesta and was at a stop. When I pressed the gas to go again the vehicle jerked forward more quicker then usual and bumped the car in front of me. I have had this car in the shop 5 times for transmission problems and no one is fixing it. I was in another accident recently when I pressed the gas and the car did not accelerate while I was turning in front of traffic. I could have been killed, my car was hit due to me not accelerating.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #155

Jan 282014

Fiesta

  • 20,829 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2013 Ford Fiesta in April and by January 2014 the transmission started chattering, shuttering and feeling like it will stall or drop out of gear. I took the car to the Ford dealership in monroe mi. On 1/28/14 w/20829 miles, was told this is normal for your transmission. They reprogrammed the trans. Took back 5/21/14 at 30282 miles same problem, was told this is normal for your transmission. They reprogrammed the transmission. Took back on 7/18/14 at 34361 miles same problem, dealership rebuilt transmission. Took back on 6/24/15 at 59048 miles same problem again happening. They reprogrammed the transmission. I've been having this issue for over 40000 miles with a 23000 mile time after the rebuild that the problem was very small or weak until it started getting worse again. Ford won't do anything, they say the transmission is in specification according to the dealership. The dealership drives the car very few miles and deems the car in specification. I drive 30 miles to work and this problem persists daily, intermittently from stop to stop. This is a dangerous flaw in the transmission because at times when taking off the car looses power feeling like its going to stall or pop out of gear.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #154

Feb 252013

Fiesta

  • 6,600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving 10 mph, an abnormal rattling noise emitted from the transmission. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,600.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #153

Jul 162013

Fiesta

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and jerked. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer, and the computer that controlled the clutch was reprogrammed but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Ovideo , FL, USA

problem #152

Mar 182015

Fiesta

  • 42,000 miles
Purchased Fiesta used in Dec 2014. Told by golf mill dealership no recalls on this vehicle. In March or April 2015 clutch in automatic transmission was replaced because upon acceleration the car hesitated and lurched forward. In may the same issue is occurring. Had the timing reset and the car is lurching again.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #151

Jul 242013

Fiesta

  • 2,500 miles
I purchased a 2013 Ford Fiesta in July of 2013. The first two weeks I was driving it, I noticed jerking, lunging, and shuttering when trying to accelerate from low speeds or from a stopped position. Soon thereafter, a metal noise started from the engine area. I took it back to the dealership and they said I had a problem with the "clutch" in the transmission and it would have to be replaced. It took a while (11 days) to get the part in, but the work was done. Several weeks later the problem started again. I drove the car as it was because I needed it for my busy job. When I transferred to houston in the fall of 2014, I had it serviced again at the local Ford dealership because the problem was getting worse. They had my car for 3 days and all they said was it "needed an update." Update or not, the problem was and is still there. The lunging, and mis-shifts have never been worse. I put up with it until this week when I accelerated in houston traffic and my Fiesta would not go. I could have caused a terrible accident and injury to myself and others due to the transmission not functioning properly. The shuttering is so bad that it seems as if the car's back brakes are locked up and the car is dragging its back end. I have a new appointment on 6/29/15 with the same dealership that did the "update." This will be the third time I have had a dealership attempt to fix this problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #150

Jan 022013

Fiesta

  • 900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When the contact depressed the accelerator pedal, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate for approximately three seconds before operating as normal. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 900.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #149

Nov 012014

Fiesta

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and jerked. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times who diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,000. MA 08/14/15

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #148

Jul 032014

Fiesta

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving approximately 20-35 mph, the vehicle shuttered, hesitated, and made a clanking sound. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, but was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #147

Dec 102014

Fiesta

  • 8,000 miles
While traveling at 55 mph on the highway my Ford Fiesta started to not shift up or down and seemed a bit stuck. After taking it to the dealer they reprogrammed the powertrain control module. Only a couple months later the car started to having trouble with gear shifting at low and high speeds and also seems to slip when trying to shift. Car has repeatedly come close to stalling and has lost almost all power at various times. The car dealer now says it needs a new clutch and it will take 16 weeks for it to arrive. Until then I am not to drive it long distances. Very dangerous car, I am afraid I will be hit trying to turn because the engine will lose power at the wrong time.

- Twain Harte, CA, USA

problem #146

Oct 302014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Car makes a grinding noise as mileage increase and does not shift properly. Hesitation while trying to accelerate, makes grinding noise and stutter /shuttering. It rolls backwards on inclines and the transmission jerks while I am driving. It has been serviced twice for the same problem and each time I was told that this normal. Car runs okay for 3000 miles most of the time. I fear that I am going to rear end someone and that someone will rear end me. It makes noise as I turn corners.

- Woodbine, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?