10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #145

Aug 012013

Fiesta

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since I bought this car back in July of 2013 it has had transmission issues. It fails to accelerate quickly, instead just grinds gears and violently shakes. Ford supposedly "fixed" this 6 months ago, with the end result being actually worse. I was told it needed another part (clutch) and have been waiting 6 weeks for it, which is how long they said it would be. I just called and they said this is such a big issue that there were 35,000 of these parts on back order and it would be another 12 weeks at least until this issue is fixed. This is a huge safety concern! I have 2 little children and if a car were to swerve into my lane I would not be able to accelerate out of the way. I told this to Ford and what they said is that "this hasn't happened yet" which after reading reports online, I can tell is untrue. Thousands and thousands of complaints have been filed for over 4 years. They didn't offer any other assistance, except to tell me that maybe I should just trade it back in. I don't understand how this issue hasn't been addressed yet. And it is shocking to see how little Ford cares for the safety of their customers.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #144

Apr 052013

Fiesta

  • 2,000 miles
When starting to accelerate the car will begin to shutter and act like it wants to die and then it will stop and continue to shift and accelerate without a problem. This is an ongoing problem between speeds of 10-25 miles per hr. The most time it will perform these problems is when the car has been driven over an hour or in hot N humid temperatures. The shuttering and attempting to die is getting worse. When examined by Ford dealership they discover no problem and suggested I live with the problem or better yet baby the car. Idid not pay $26000 to baby a car that has a bad transmission. Unless a reliable suggestion is given me on how Ford will fix the car I will consult an attorney in the near future.

- Lewistown, IL, USA

problem #143

Sep 022013

Fiesta

  • 13,000 miles
Transmission jerks, jumps, hesitates and makes horrible grinding noise. Transmission was completely rebuilt at 13000 miles, but within 5000 miles it was doing the exact same thing. I feel very unsafe at time, especially in low gears. I fear I will turn left and the car will stall or that it will jump forward so hard I may rear end someone.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #142

Oct 012013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I leased this as my first new car. When I first purchased it, I loved it. As time went on, I noticed that my car would start to jerk as I'd accelerate and the shifting was never smooth. When I had an oil change, I asked about it and was told that because it was converted from a manual to an automatic (like all the automatic Fiestas), it felt like I was shifting gears. I'm not too good with cars, so I trusted Ford. It got worse over time and to this day they say that it is normal. I've went in twice for recalls and services on my car. They still say it's normal. This is not normal. I've opted to lease another car because I am so unhappy with my Ford. I still have it, but I don't like to drive it. If I had to do it again, I would never lease a Ford. It feels like I've wasted my money and they do not care about their customers.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #141

Apr 242015

Fiesta

  • miles
I had routine maintenance performed at the dealership on my 2013 Ford Fiesta on April 10, 2015. Everything passed inspection. Shortly thereafter, I began to notice the vehicle was sounding louder. As the weeks went on, it got progressively louder, I liken it to the sound of an airplane engine, and it would sometimes hesitate. On April 24, 2015, while running errands with my wife and 2 young children, the car stalled as we attempted to pull out of a store parking lot onto an extremely busy route. An SUV narrowly missed hitting us. The car finally went into gear and we were able to proceed with caution. From that point on, it has been shuddering and there is a grinding noise that can be heard. I brought it in to the dealership the next day. They say they are aware of this problem occurring with numerous Fiesta's and Focus's, but cannot do anything because the parts are unavailable. I feel unsafe behind the wheel and I fear my car may be irreversibly damaged, or worse, someone may lose their life.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #140

Apr 152014

Fiesta

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving at approximately 10 mph and accelerating, the vehicle jerk and shook without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch to the transmission failed and needed to be replaced and the RPM needed to be adjusted. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #139

Dec 152014

Fiesta

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After I had this car about 16 months and around 12000 miles, the transmission started to act up. It would jerk the car and then it wouldn't accelerate. They reset the computer and changed the transmission. It ran ok for about a month or two and driving one day it felt like the whole bottom dropped outta the car and I couldn't go. They reset the computer 2 more times in a 5 month span and said there is nothing else to do bc all the tests come back within Ford specs. I feel like I'll get killed on the highway because if I try and change lanes I cant accelerate to keep up with the flow of traffic. In the city it jerks all around. It seems to work best under 25 mph as long as I don't hit the gas or brakes. It takes alot to get it up to 65 mph and as soon as you take your foot off the gas it drops to 45 in seconds and then its hard to get going again. For a brand new car its ridiculous, I'm just happy I can hand the keys in another few months, if it doesn't kill me first.

- Jessup, PA, USA

problem #138

May 082014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12,569 miles
Within the first year of owning this car, the transmission started displaying signs of defectiveness. It began exhibiting a grinding noise when in low gears. As mileage increased (~12,000 mi), it started not shifting properly with either hesitation, skipping or jolting forward. Now (~25,000mi), the vehicle is shuttering and vibrating in low gears (1 & 2). In other words, I feel like I have no control over my vehicle and both myself and others on the road are in danger. I have brought my car in three times for the same problem. It has been reprogrammed twice with the PCM and tcm updated. The problem has been occurring for 1.5 years without any potential to be resolved. I would have brought my car in to get serviced additional times, but I was told by the service technician that there is nothing else they can do but run tests on the transmission, that will result in the same outcome. My transmission apparently "runs within spec" but there is something wrong and this problem should be a concern to all drivers, not just owners of Ford Fiesta's or Focus', as they are endangered just being on the road with said vehicles. When driving my Ford Fiesta, I fear that I am going to rear end someone or get stuck in an intersection because I am no longer in control of my cars acceleration.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #137

Jun 302014

Fiesta

  • 7,000 miles
Fiesta shifts hard, shudders, has issues accelerating, has issues braking. Dealership confirmed, needs clutch replaced. Part has been on back order for three weeks with no eta.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #136

Apr 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 41,680 miles
I slowed down for a truck turning into a driveway, when pressing the accelerator the transmission slipped, and I had to pull over into the turn lane, and put my car into low to re-engage the transmission. I cannot help but to think that this same scenario with me slowing down in the same manner could have happened at a stoplight when trying to turn left before an oncoming car. I have had it bog down and hesitate quite a few times at lights, but this is the first time the transmission actually slipped out of gear. I have had the car in twice to the dealership, and the second time they told me they didn't do anything to fix it because everything is normal. I bought a new car so I did not have to worry about my family's or my safety. Could you please look into this issue. Thanks

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #135

Mar 192015

Fiesta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3/27/15 I only had my car for a year(the problem started from the first week of purchase I called they try to brain watch me stating the car was built that way). And I'm in the process of taking my car back in for service. I just took it in a week ago for the same concern. The vehicle hesitates severely gears and transmission shudders. This is a safety hazard when in traffic the transmission will stall and pull. I'm in danger of any normal speed car hitting me from behind. Ford dealer wants to put me in a waiting list for a clutch and transmission issue. Ford should be more concern for their consumers!!!! but for the look of it they do not care!!! I'm fear for my safety. They refuse to get me into a new car or even loan me a car.(this is Ford in the san fernando valley) this car should not be on the road it is a hazard for the rest of the drivers as-well.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #134

Mar 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the transmission failed intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the engine light would illuminate and then go out. Also, the vehicle accelerated on its own while the cruise control was activated. Updated 08/20/15

- Harrisburg , IL, USA

problem #133

Dec 162013

Fiesta

  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle even after numerous software updates and transmission replacement continues to wear out automatic transmission clutch. Vehicle hesitates severely during 1 and 2nd automatic gears and the transmission "shudders". Ford is aware of the problem and extended the warranty but the problem continues and they are unable to fix it. This problem is very dangerous when trying to pull out onto a road. The slipping transmission sometimes doesn't allow vehicle to normally accelerate onto traffic.

- Hessel, MI, USA

problem #132

Mar 182015

Fiesta

  • 3,000 miles
Since I have had the car, it shutters and jerks while driving at any speed. The car flips out of gear into another gear while driving. It's unsafe, and it's a huge problem.

- Windsor, VA, USA

problem #131

May 012013

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles
Transmission issues since purchasing the car brand new in 2013. Car jerks and accelerates sporadically. When taking off from a stop the car does not respond to pushing on the gas, but will then suddenly take off. It moves through the gears in a clunky manner. Makes grinding noises upon acceleration. The car rolls back on hills. I do not feel safe driving this car. Ford have no responded in a helpful manner to my enquires and appear not to be able to fix the problem.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #130

Mar 012015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 13,240 miles
Our Ford Fiesta was bought new in 2013 and ran great until 10K miles at which point the automatic transmission would not select a gear when attempting to accelerate from a slow down. Ford dealer took car in and per the service bulletin did a re-flash of trans control. Car ran fine another 1K miles, than issue occurred again, the car not selecting a gear and causing a hazard because we were unable to get out of the way of oncoming traffic while making a left turn. Dealership at that point replaced clutch pack because the say it had fluid in it, also another service bulletin. Now another 2K miles and the car did it again during a snow storm causing us to be unable to get out of the way of a plow which narrowly missed hitting are car. Ford has now had the car another half week and said there is nothing they can find wrong so there is nothing to do.this is very unsafe car and more needs to be done about this major hazard. Hopefully no one loses there life because this issue is not taken more seriously by Ford Motor Co.

- Milford , CT, USA

problem #129

Mar 022015

Fiesta

  • miles
2013 Ford Fiesta. Consumer writes in regards to transmission problems. The consumer stated it felt as though the vehicle was going to stall, as it would sputter and make noises. The dealer informed the consumer the parts were on back order.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #128

Sep 092013

Fiesta

  • 10,149 miles
On 02/27/2015 my Ford Fiesta with 20,904 miles was taken in for a transmission issue that became potentially life threatening. When my wife approached an intersection to make a left hand turn and came to a stop the engine began to shutter and bog down. The idle picked up but the engine almost stalled. When traffic cleared my wife attempted the apply pressure to the throttle pedal but the vehicle only moved forward at about 2mph. With more traffic headed toward us (35mph zone) about 50yards away. My wife lifted to her foot off the throttle to apply again, the car suddenly lurched forward with my wife's foot off the pedal. The same issue happened while driving on windy mountain roads. The vehicle will become hesitant the lurch or bog down.we had this vehicle in for the same fix on 09/09/2013. The dealership took the vehicle on a road test and diagnosed the transmission needed a software upgrade. The cars transmission still had minor problems that the dealership stated as "normal". the diagnosis of my vehicle now is that the clutch needs to be replaced but a road test wasn't even done to the vehicle. A Ford "specialist" diagnosed the problem with a computer stating he could only get the engine to shutter. I don't understand how a proper diagnostic can be done if the car is not driven on the road. The dealership service department cannot tell me when the vehicle will be fixed and told I can pick the car up and drive it until the clutch comes in. Obviously not caring about the customers safety and the fact we told the service department about the potentially deadly situation that occurred a rental vehicle was not offered cause they feel the car is safe to drive.

- Newhall, CA, USA

problem #127

Feb 202015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The vehicle shuttered, make grinding sound and hesitated when starting up and driving. At every stop light, stop sign when starting up again, the same sounds, and hesitating would occur. Took vehicle in to the dealer who said I needed another clutch and transmission. About $3000. I have another vehicle same year, same model, and exactly the same situation is happening, these vehicles should be recalled immediately.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #126

Feb 202015

Fiesta

  • 29,000 miles
Took the car in and they gave us a rental. The tech called yesterday to say they are working in it (day 2) then they call this morning to say what it is doing is normal. I told them it is not normal for a car to just lose momentum then when it does go it lurches forward and starts going real fast. There is a problem either with the engine or transmission. Someone is going to get killed and I am deadly afraid its going to be one of us. Ford just does not want to admit there is a problem.

- Fontana, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?