Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,864 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #132

Mar 182015


  • 3,000 miles


Since I have had the car, it shutters and jerks while driving at any speed. The car flips out of gear into another gear while driving. It's unsafe, and it's a huge problem.

- Windsor, VA, USA

problem #131

May 012013


  • 5,000 miles
Transmission issues since purchasing the car brand new in 2013. Car jerks and accelerates sporadically. When taking off from a stop the car does not respond to pushing on the gas, but will then suddenly take off. It moves through the gears in a clunky manner. Makes grinding noises upon acceleration. The car rolls back on hills. I do not feel safe driving this car. Ford have no responded in a helpful manner to my enquires and appear not to be able to fix the problem.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #130

Mar 012015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 13,240 miles
Our Ford Fiesta was bought new in 2013 and ran great until 10K miles at which point the automatic transmission would not select a gear when attempting to accelerate from a slow down. Ford dealer took car in and per the service bulletin did a re-flash of trans control. Car ran fine another 1K miles, than issue occurred again, the car not selecting a gear and causing a hazard because we were unable to get out of the way of oncoming traffic while making a left turn. Dealership at that point replaced clutch pack because the say it had fluid in it, also another service bulletin. Now another 2K miles and the car did it again during a snow storm causing us to be unable to get out of the way of a plow which narrowly missed hitting are car. Ford has now had the car another half week and said there is nothing they can find wrong so there is nothing to do.this is very unsafe car and more needs to be done about this major hazard. Hopefully no one loses there life because this issue is not taken more seriously by Ford Motor Co.

- Milford , CT, USA

problem #129

Mar 022015


  • miles


2013 Ford Fiesta. Consumer writes in regards to transmission problems. The consumer stated it felt as though the vehicle was going to stall, as it would sputter and make noises. The dealer informed the consumer the parts were on back order.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #128

Sep 092013


  • 10,149 miles
On 02/27/2015 my Ford Fiesta with 20,904 miles was taken in for a transmission issue that became potentially life threatening. When my wife approached an intersection to make a left hand turn and came to a stop the engine began to shutter and bog down. The idle picked up but the engine almost stalled. When traffic cleared my wife attempted the apply pressure to the throttle pedal but the vehicle only moved forward at about 2mph. With more traffic headed toward us (35mph zone) about 50yards away. My wife lifted to her foot off the throttle to apply again, the car suddenly lurched forward with my wife's foot off the pedal. The same issue happened while driving on windy mountain roads. The vehicle will become hesitant the lurch or bog down.we had this vehicle in for the same fix on 09/09/2013. The dealership took the vehicle on a road test and diagnosed the transmission needed a software upgrade. The cars transmission still had minor problems that the dealership stated as "normal". the diagnosis of my vehicle now is that the clutch needs to be replaced but a road test wasn't even done to the vehicle. A Ford "specialist" diagnosed the problem with a computer stating he could only get the engine to shutter. I don't understand how a proper diagnostic can be done if the car is not driven on the road. The dealership service department cannot tell me when the vehicle will be fixed and told I can pick the car up and drive it until the clutch comes in. Obviously not caring about the customers safety and the fact we told the service department about the potentially deadly situation that occurred a rental vehicle was not offered cause they feel the car is safe to drive.

- Newhall, CA, USA

problem #127

Feb 202015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The vehicle shuttered, make grinding sound and hesitated when starting up and driving. At every stop light, stop sign when starting up again, the same sounds, and hesitating would occur. Took vehicle in to the dealer who said I needed another clutch and transmission. About $3000. I have another vehicle same year, same model, and exactly the same situation is happening, these vehicles should be recalled immediately.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #126

Feb 202015


  • 29,000 miles


Took the car in and they gave us a rental. The tech called yesterday to say they are working in it (day 2) then they call this morning to say what it is doing is normal. I told them it is not normal for a car to just lose momentum then when it does go it lurches forward and starts going real fast. There is a problem either with the engine or transmission. Someone is going to get killed and I am deadly afraid its going to be one of us. Ford just does not want to admit there is a problem.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #125

Feb 102015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
This is at least the 12th time we have taken in the car out which 2 times (now a third) they have admitted there is a problem. Ford sent me a letter advising they were aware of "possible" problems with the transmission. They say its an automatic/manual transmission and it can leak from one chamber to another causing grinding, loss of motion etc. They gave all owners a 100,000 mile warranty for the transmission. Problem is I paid for a 100,000 mile warranty on the car already. We were turning a (winding road) slight curve when it sounded like the whole transmission was falling out of the car and we lost motion. The car behind us slammed on his brakes horn blaring and swerved just barley missing us.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #124

Aug 222013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
We were at a light and when it turned green we accelerated to approx. 15 mph and suddenly we lost momentum. A semi truck behind us locked up its wheel and luckily we started moving again or he would have drilled us.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #123

Aug 212013


  • 200 miles
We bought a 2013 Ford Fiesta in August of 2013.  not three weeks into owning it, we had some troubles and the car wouldn't start. It turns out there was a bad fuel pump that needed to be replaced. While it was being replaced, I was given a Ford loaner to drive for almost a week, while they had the car to replace the fuel pump."?the transmission has been looked at 3 different times. The first time the service rep said that there was some kind of liquid on some part that makes it not change gears quickly and that they wiped it off and it should be good but that it can come back. The second time they said they reworked the computer and the car needs a chance to ?get to know the way I drive? and they sent me away. The third time they looked at the transmission, they said nothing was wrong and that the loud, crunchy, jumpy things I am experiencing are called "normal for the car" and they send me away.  they refused to do anything else and someone higher up in the service department printed out a notice about Ford Fiesta transmissions to assure me that the sounds and jerking I was experiencing was normal when we receive the survey for our experience, of course we give a negative rating. We did not get a service that we feel we were due and the car does not drive as promised. The next time I brought it in for the same issues, our rep, [xxx] told me that ?we screwed her on that survey and that her job is on the line with things like that ? if she gets anything lower than excellent". well, sorry, our experience was not excellent. We are not happy with the way the car drives, it sputters from idle to first gear and is sometimes unsafe when you need to turn into oncoming traffic. But we were told it was all in our heads and even that we should learn to drive it differently. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #122

Aug 102014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


Always: Later response to acceleration, roll back on hill, and grinding noise. Dealers were never able to determine the problem.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #121

Nov 032014


  • 25,600 miles
2013 Ford Fiesta has 25K miles it started to shuddering when in reverse and when in drive at about between 20 and 40 miles per hour. I have taken it(6 times) to the Ford dealer where I bought it. They had it this time for two days at their shop and ran diagnostics the dealer told me everything was fine. The next day as I was driving in reverse and it started to shudder very hard so much that I had to stop and had a get of the car. Waited for more than 20 minutes before I restarted, I have ask for to buy or trade in the car for another but they refuse to do it I really and fed up and about to kick the car to the curb....please help

- San Benito, TX, USA

problem #120

Dec 302013


  • 11,601 miles
2013 Ford Fiesta has water leaking into trunk area from rear seat to back of car. Car has been to dealer seven times for repair and still has water leak in trunk area. Also vehicle has a hesitation when pulling out, transmission jerks and makes grinding noise. Car has been to dealer two times to have transmission checked. Transmission has been reprogrammed two times and still has same problem. Dealer says this is normal operation for this transmission. Car feels unsafe when pulling out into traffic, feels like engine is going to stall.

- Beaver, WV, USA

problem #119

Oct 012014


  • 20,000 miles
The vehicle shudders at low speeds when it tries to change gears. There is also grinding noise at low speeds and the vehicle jumps.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #118

Jan 012015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from congressman fleming on behalf of constituent re 2013 Ford Fiesta complaints. The consumer stated when she pulled off from a stop, or made turns, the vehicle would jerk, as if the vehicle was going to shut off. Several weeks later, the command button on the steering stopped working. The consumer was informed the vehicle needed an update. The command button only worked for a couple of months and the jerking happened more frequently. The consumer was informed once again, the vehicle needed another update and the vehicle needed a new clutch. The consumer stated the vehicle performed as normal for one day. The consumer experienced a new issue, where the vehicle would squeal, when it was placed in reverse, or when she made turns. The command button stopped working again, and she was informed a pin was bent and was rubbing against the rotor, which caused the squealing noise.

- Fort Polk, LA, USA

problem #117

Feb 242014


  • 6,000 miles
The new* automatic clutch system is malfunctioning and jumping/stuttering/skipping through the first 1-3 gears. It has already been replaced once and am setting up an appointment to have it fixed/replaced again. The car was bought new with 7 miles the first occurrences happened before 5K and now it has less than 15K mi and is happening again. Often the response to accelerate is delayed making it unsafe to merge, flow with traffic, change lanes etc.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #116

Oct 182013


  • miles
Delivered on 7/8/13 dealer: Jersey city Ford. Dear Ford, we are upset over the repeated problems with our 2013 Ford Fiesta, brand new on 7/18/2013. The car has been bucking, grinding and almost stalling. When we called to complain or ask questions we were told that this was normal. The next call and visit for repair we were told it was the new transmission/ power shift on the Fiestas & Focus. Also informed there was an "open recall" on a part that is involved in the clutch of these new vehicles. They say it sounds/drives and feels like a manual transmission but its good on gas. Well, the problem with this is, we turned in a 2011 Ford Focus SE with this same transmission that is in the 2013 cars and no way did we have these problems. Here are the following times we went to jc Ford repair: Oct 18, 2013 - same day states problem with transmission. May 2, 2014 - oil change, complained about transmission but not on documents. May 21, 2014 - left car for a reboot of electronics on the car and picked the vehicle up on May 23, 2014. They ordered part due to "hesitation and shutter" in transmission (they said it was the clutch; open recall on a part). May 28, 2014 left vehicle at Ford for replacement of parts and reboot of electronics, picked vehicle up on June 4, 2014. When we picked up the car on June 4th, 2014, my wife pulled out of the garage and went 3 blocks and turned back to the Ford garage. [xxx], the repair section manager called the mechanic that did the repair and had him take a test drive with her. The car sounded and ran worse than when we brought it in and had a new sound, the front end or wheels were making noise, brakes were shaky and the same transmission problem sound was still there. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #115

Mar 032014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I bought a new 2013 Fiesta in 6/13. I have been having problems with it since 3/14. The car shakes, shifts and looses power when taking off. These problems are a great concern to me since I have 2 kids and I am afraid we are not safe in this car. In one instance car lost all power while entering the freeway and I could have been easily rear ended by someone. In other instance the car shake while waiting on a red light and then no power to take off. These are really big problems that put a person at a very high risk for accidents. I have been to Ford dealer in pittsburgh ca more than 7 times related to multiple problems with this car and all they do is put fluid/oil and clean parts of the transmission/ clutch and honestly is very disappointing. I bought a new car to have a safe transportation for me and my kids and this is not what I was expecting. I am always scared I am going to hit someone or that I am going to going to get hit because the car cant take off.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #114

Sep 172014


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the engine rpms increased. The contact heard a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice, but the failure was unable to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 01/28/15

- Wyandotte, MI, USA

problem #113

Dec 022014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 34,582 miles
I had just bought this car four days prior to the incident. I was accelerating from a stopped position (stop light). It seemed as though my car *skipped* and *jerked* a little in order to gain momentum. Then, when I turned a corner, I heard a slight rattling/grinding noise coming from underneath the hood, especially on the left side. I called the dealer's ([xxx] in alexandria, ky) service dept to report the problem and schedule an appointment. I was told that they're so backed up, the first available appointment is on 2/18/15. The lady I spoke to mentioned that my car is part of a recall, and that the clutch assembly needs to be replaced. She said something about the manufacturer being unable to build the parts fast enough. I've now had the car ten days. On the eighth day, the *service engine* light came on and has not turned off. Because of this, the dealer has given me an appointment on 12/10/15 to have it checked out. One of the salesmen that I interacted with on the evening of the sale, said it's probably related to the transmission problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?