Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,128 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 7 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #124

Aug 222013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were at a light and when it turned green we accelerated to approx. 15 mph and suddenly we lost momentum. A semi truck behind us locked up its wheel and luckily we started moving again or he would have drilled us.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #123

Aug 212013

Fiesta

  • 200 miles
We bought a 2013 Ford Fiesta in August of 2013.  not three weeks into owning it, we had some troubles and the car wouldn't start. It turns out there was a bad fuel pump that needed to be replaced. While it was being replaced, I was given a Ford loaner to drive for almost a week, while they had the car to replace the fuel pump."?the transmission has been looked at 3 different times. The first time the service rep said that there was some kind of liquid on some part that makes it not change gears quickly and that they wiped it off and it should be good but that it can come back. The second time they said they reworked the computer and the car needs a chance to ?get to know the way I drive? and they sent me away. The third time they looked at the transmission, they said nothing was wrong and that the loud, crunchy, jumpy things I am experiencing are called "normal for the car" and they send me away.  they refused to do anything else and someone higher up in the service department printed out a notice about Ford Fiesta transmissions to assure me that the sounds and jerking I was experiencing was normal when we receive the survey for our experience, of course we give a negative rating. We did not get a service that we feel we were due and the car does not drive as promised. The next time I brought it in for the same issues, our rep, [xxx] told me that ?we screwed her on that survey and that her job is on the line with things like that ? if she gets anything lower than excellent". well, sorry, our experience was not excellent. We are not happy with the way the car drives, it sputters from idle to first gear and is sometimes unsafe when you need to turn into oncoming traffic. But we were told it was all in our heads and even that we should learn to drive it differently. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #122

Aug 102014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Always: Later response to acceleration, roll back on hill, and grinding noise. Dealers were never able to determine the problem.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #121

Nov 032014

Fiesta

  • 25,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Ford Fiesta has 25K miles it started to shuddering when in reverse and when in drive at about between 20 and 40 miles per hour. I have taken it(6 times) to the Ford dealer where I bought it. They had it this time for two days at their shop and ran diagnostics the dealer told me everything was fine. The next day as I was driving in reverse and it started to shudder very hard so much that I had to stop and had a get of the car. Waited for more than 20 minutes before I restarted, I have ask for to buy or trade in the car for another but they refuse to do it I really and fed up and about to kick the car to the curb....please help

- San Benito, TX, USA

problem #120

Dec 302013

Fiesta

  • 11,601 miles
2013 Ford Fiesta has water leaking into trunk area from rear seat to back of car. Car has been to dealer seven times for repair and still has water leak in trunk area. Also vehicle has a hesitation when pulling out, transmission jerks and makes grinding noise. Car has been to dealer two times to have transmission checked. Transmission has been reprogrammed two times and still has same problem. Dealer says this is normal operation for this transmission. Car feels unsafe when pulling out into traffic, feels like engine is going to stall.

- Beaver, WV, USA

problem #119

Oct 012014

Fiesta

  • 20,000 miles
The vehicle shudders at low speeds when it tries to change gears. There is also grinding noise at low speeds and the vehicle jumps.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #118

Jan 012015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman fleming on behalf of constituent re 2013 Ford Fiesta complaints. The consumer stated when she pulled off from a stop, or made turns, the vehicle would jerk, as if the vehicle was going to shut off. Several weeks later, the command button on the steering stopped working. The consumer was informed the vehicle needed an update. The command button only worked for a couple of months and the jerking happened more frequently. The consumer was informed once again, the vehicle needed another update and the vehicle needed a new clutch. The consumer stated the vehicle performed as normal for one day. The consumer experienced a new issue, where the vehicle would squeal, when it was placed in reverse, or when she made turns. The command button stopped working again, and she was informed a pin was bent and was rubbing against the rotor, which caused the squealing noise.

- Fort Polk, LA, USA

problem #117

Feb 242014

Fiesta

  • 6,000 miles
The new* automatic clutch system is malfunctioning and jumping/stuttering/skipping through the first 1-3 gears. It has already been replaced once and am setting up an appointment to have it fixed/replaced again. The car was bought new with 7 miles the first occurrences happened before 5K and now it has less than 15K mi and is happening again. Often the response to accelerate is delayed making it unsafe to merge, flow with traffic, change lanes etc.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #116

Oct 182013

Fiesta

  • miles
Delivered on 7/8/13 dealer: Jersey city Ford. Dear Ford, we are upset over the repeated problems with our 2013 Ford Fiesta, brand new on 7/18/2013. The car has been bucking, grinding and almost stalling. When we called to complain or ask questions we were told that this was normal. The next call and visit for repair we were told it was the new transmission/ power shift on the Fiestas & Focus. Also informed there was an "open recall" on a part that is involved in the clutch of these new vehicles. They say it sounds/drives and feels like a manual transmission but its good on gas. Well, the problem with this is, we turned in a 2011 Ford Focus SE with this same transmission that is in the 2013 cars and no way did we have these problems. Here are the following times we went to jc Ford repair: Oct 18, 2013 - same day states problem with transmission. May 2, 2014 - oil change, complained about transmission but not on documents. May 21, 2014 - left car for a reboot of electronics on the car and picked the vehicle up on May 23, 2014. They ordered part due to "hesitation and shutter" in transmission (they said it was the clutch; open recall on a part). May 28, 2014 left vehicle at Ford for replacement of parts and reboot of electronics, picked vehicle up on June 4, 2014. When we picked up the car on June 4th, 2014, my wife pulled out of the garage and went 3 blocks and turned back to the Ford garage. [xxx], the repair section manager called the mechanic that did the repair and had him take a test drive with her. The car sounded and ran worse than when we brought it in and had a new sound, the front end or wheels were making noise, brakes were shaky and the same transmission problem sound was still there. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #115

Mar 032014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I bought a new 2013 Fiesta in 6/13. I have been having problems with it since 3/14. The car shakes, shifts and looses power when taking off. These problems are a great concern to me since I have 2 kids and I am afraid we are not safe in this car. In one instance car lost all power while entering the freeway and I could have been easily rear ended by someone. In other instance the car shake while waiting on a red light and then no power to take off. These are really big problems that put a person at a very high risk for accidents. I have been to Ford dealer in pittsburgh ca more than 7 times related to multiple problems with this car and all they do is put fluid/oil and clean parts of the transmission/ clutch and honestly is very disappointing. I bought a new car to have a safe transportation for me and my kids and this is not what I was expecting. I am always scared I am going to hit someone or that I am going to going to get hit because the car cant take off.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #114

Sep 172014

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the engine rpms increased. The contact heard a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice, but the failure was unable to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 01/28/15

- Wyandotte, MI, USA

problem #113

Dec 022014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 34,582 miles
I had just bought this car four days prior to the incident. I was accelerating from a stopped position (stop light). It seemed as though my car *skipped* and *jerked* a little in order to gain momentum. Then, when I turned a corner, I heard a slight rattling/grinding noise coming from underneath the hood, especially on the left side. I called the dealer's ([xxx] in alexandria, ky) service dept to report the problem and schedule an appointment. I was told that they're so backed up, the first available appointment is on 2/18/15. The lady I spoke to mentioned that my car is part of a recall, and that the clutch assembly needs to be replaced. She said something about the manufacturer being unable to build the parts fast enough. I've now had the car ten days. On the eighth day, the *service engine* light came on and has not turned off. Because of this, the dealer has given me an appointment on 12/10/15 to have it checked out. One of the salesmen that I interacted with on the evening of the sale, said it's probably related to the transmission problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #112

Jun 202013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
Sluggish acceleration, sputtering, hard shifting upon accelerating from stop (lower gears). Day after purchase of vehicle returned to dealership and/or service dept. Service not available - spoke to sales who advised this is normal due to type of clutch system. Was advised no service could/would be attempted. Dealer suggested altering style of driving... problem has persisted and I have taken vehicle in several times, each time being told the same thing (with no diag or write up being done). On 11/24/14 while traveling over 350 miles in open desert, problem escalated to all gears and vehicle would not accelerate or decelerate properly without lurching, jerking, shuddering, etc. Took to service at dealership out of home state and was advised, prior to inspection, clutch would need to be replaced as same year, make, and model coming in daily. Confirmed with inspection clutch was faulty. Parts on backorder at least 3 weeks and would not order on my behalf as would not be in that location to have work done there. Contacted purchase dealership and confirmed backorder. Requested parts be ordered but was advised they would not order until veh inspected by them (2 weeks out as out of state) and then 3 weeks at least for parts. I consider this a safety issue as lurching, jerking, etc causes veh to become unmanageable as well as effecting acceleration and stopping times.

- El Cajon , CA, USA

problem #111

Apr 172014

Fiesta

  • 12,000 miles
The 2013 Ford Fiesta jerks, hesitates and sputters during acceleration greatly. It rolls backward on inclines like a stick shift, but the car is an automatic. The car feels unsafe.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #110

May 232014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 40,614 miles
The car is unsafe!!! its jerks, shakes, rolls back, accelerates on its own and the transmission makes weird sounds. A few days ago I took it in because it wouldn't move. That was the second time I had taken it in for that issue. I picked the car up Monday night and Tuesday it was back in the shop. The car stalled in mid turn, almost causing me to get into an accident. I am now afraid to drive my car. Ford knows the vehicle needs to be recalled. Instead of doing so, they extend the warranty in a effort to make customers happy. In the meantime the problem isn't being solved. They are wasting countless manhours on a situation that isn't going away.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #109

Nov 092014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,300 miles
I've had the car for two years. I've been complaining about the car "shuttering" issue for a year and a half. Within the first year I complained about it they said that they were getting similar complaints and handed me a flyer from a stack that they had readily available at their desk which mentions what I'm experiencing is normal and will go away with time. Earlier this year I brought the car in with this issue and they had to remove the transmission and replace parts in the gears. The issue seems to be getting worse. Yesterday, I was at a traffic light waiting to turn left. I started to accelerate then the car started to majorly shutter. It caused a significant delay in time that it would normally take to make the turn while I was in mid turn at a very busy intersection with approaching traffic. A few weeks ago I made an appointment to bring my car in today. When I explained what happened to me yesterday they said they were aware of this "shuttering" issue and had multiple complaints. I asked them many questions....some of the questions were: When I brought this to your attention in the first year why did you ignore my complaint and hand me a flyer telling me this is normal" when my husband brought the car in for scheduled maintenance a few weeks ago why didn't you inform him that there was a recall notice on the transmission that extends the service warranty and that there could be a safety issue" she explained that Ford was to blame and not the dealership. She said that Ford was giving them misinformation and told them all along that this was normal of the transmission and so that's what they were telling their customers. I urge you to please look into this because this is a severe safety hazard.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #108

Oct 092013

Fiesta

  • 31,483 miles
On 10-9-13 only after a year owning the car I started having serious issues with the transmission so I took it in to Ford to have it looked at. The car shifting became very harsh and there is considerable jerking, clinking and vibration. Ford at the time performed a reprogramming but this did not solved the issue. I took the card back to Ford on 11-7-13 to complain again because the noise and clunking had become worse to the point I was not feeling safe driving the car. Ford reprogrammed once again and ordered the parts needed to rebuild the transmission clutch. On 12-10-13 loud banging noise had become extreme and Ford took the car in and performed extensive work on the transmission replacing the clutch assembly and seals. According to the invoice there was a leak at the bell housing (input seals leaked) allowing the clutch to be oil soaked. On 9-11-14 I took the car in because the transmission had failed again displaying the same issues. Ford agreed to repair and ordered the parts needed however I was told it might take over a month. After waiting nearly two months I was forced to take the car in again on 11-7-14 because the noise and clunking is excessive to the point I do not feel safe. This was only augmented with the fact last month the rear diver side latch broke and yesterday the other latch broke. Ford service manager agreed completely the Fiestas and Focus are not safe and they have a backlog of transmissions to repair. He offered me to complain to Ford and gave me the phone number. He suggested I called and file a complaint and attempt to return the car. I am extremely dissatisfied and will pursue resolution by having Ford take the car back. I cannot expose my family and my own safety because Ford would not come forward and recall all these defects at once.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #107

Oct 032013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 7,978 miles
The transmission grinds and rattles at 35-45 mph. Transmission serviced under tsb# 14-0131 to no avail.

- Steamboat Springs, CO, USA

problem #106

Apr 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 23,408 miles
Engine revs but vehicle barely speeds up, transmission slipping. Took to Ford dealer on 4/11/14, diagnosed as oil leak from transmission, 612 RPM slip, oil on the clutch. Needs warranty transmission repair at 23,179 miles. Ford transmission tech was on vacation, schedule appointment for 4/21/14 to return to dealer for warranty repairs. Returned to Ford dealer on 11/03/14 at 34,540 miles for transmission problem again, low speed chattering during take off and shifts, gears not engaging, slipping on acceleration, unsmooth harsh shifting, loss of power, jerks and shutters, rolls backwards on inclines. Car is unpredictable and unsafe to drive. Car was diagnosed again as needing transmission warranty repairs. Clutch parts are on backorder possibly until 11/28/14. Was informed that Fiestas have had faulty transmissions since 2011. Ford replaces the clutch along with other related parts with the same "new" faulty clutch. Ford has not found a solution for this transmission problem, they are just replacing with same faulty parts that are expected to fail again in approximately 10,000 miles. Ford is bandage fixing my Fiesta transmission, leaving the car at high risk of unsafe transmission issues to continue to happen. The transmission problems with the Ford Fiesta is a well known and documented problem for Ford, I wish I knew this before I bought mine. Now I have to deal with an unsafe car when the transmission decides to fail again besides for dealing with the hassle of repairs every 10,000 or so miles and ending up owning a car that after 100,000 miles cannot have further warranty repairs on the transmission. The end result for me is owning a worthless and unsafe car.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #105

Nov 052014

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles
We bought the 2013 Ford Fiesta brand new. The transmission/clutch causes the car to lurch excessively. Nearly rearended another car. Ford replaced the clutch, but it continues to have the exact same issues. Ford should be required to replace these junk dangerous transmissions/clutches with the old style used on most cars which actually work. Please give the public satisfaction by requiring Ford to come up with a real solution to this problem.

- Fishers, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?