Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

Feb 242014

Fiesta

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The new* automatic clutch system is malfunctioning and jumping/stuttering/skipping through the first 1-3 gears. It has already been replaced once and am setting up an appointment to have it fixed/replaced again. The car was bought new with 7 miles the first occurrences happened before 5K and now it has less than 15K mi and is happening again. Often the response to accelerate is delayed making it unsafe to merge, flow with traffic, change lanes etc.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #116

Oct 182013

Fiesta

  • miles
Delivered on 7/8/13 dealer: Jersey city Ford. Dear Ford, we are upset over the repeated problems with our 2013 Ford Fiesta, brand new on 7/18/2013. The car has been bucking, grinding and almost stalling. When we called to complain or ask questions we were told that this was normal. The next call and visit for repair we were told it was the new transmission/ power shift on the Fiestas & Focus. Also informed there was an "open recall" on a part that is involved in the clutch of these new vehicles. They say it sounds/drives and feels like a manual transmission but its good on gas. Well, the problem with this is, we turned in a 2011 Ford Focus SE with this same transmission that is in the 2013 cars and no way did we have these problems. Here are the following times we went to jc Ford repair: Oct 18, 2013 - same day states problem with transmission. May 2, 2014 - oil change, complained about transmission but not on documents. May 21, 2014 - left car for a reboot of electronics on the car and picked the vehicle up on May 23, 2014. They ordered part due to "hesitation and shutter" in transmission (they said it was the clutch; open recall on a part). May 28, 2014 left vehicle at Ford for replacement of parts and reboot of electronics, picked vehicle up on June 4, 2014. When we picked up the car on June 4th, 2014, my wife pulled out of the garage and went 3 blocks and turned back to the Ford garage. [xxx], the repair section manager called the mechanic that did the repair and had him take a test drive with her. The car sounded and ran worse than when we brought it in and had a new sound, the front end or wheels were making noise, brakes were shaky and the same transmission problem sound was still there. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #115

Mar 032014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I bought a new 2013 Fiesta in 6/13. I have been having problems with it since 3/14. The car shakes, shifts and looses power when taking off. These problems are a great concern to me since I have 2 kids and I am afraid we are not safe in this car. In one instance car lost all power while entering the freeway and I could have been easily rear ended by someone. In other instance the car shake while waiting on a red light and then no power to take off. These are really big problems that put a person at a very high risk for accidents. I have been to Ford dealer in pittsburgh ca more than 7 times related to multiple problems with this car and all they do is put fluid/oil and clean parts of the transmission/ clutch and honestly is very disappointing. I bought a new car to have a safe transportation for me and my kids and this is not what I was expecting. I am always scared I am going to hit someone or that I am going to going to get hit because the car cant take off.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #114

Sep 172014

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the engine rpms increased. The contact heard a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice, but the failure was unable to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 01/28/15

- Wyandotte, MI, USA

problem #113

Dec 022014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 34,582 miles
I had just bought this car four days prior to the incident. I was accelerating from a stopped position (stop light). It seemed as though my car *skipped* and *jerked* a little in order to gain momentum. Then, when I turned a corner, I heard a slight rattling/grinding noise coming from underneath the hood, especially on the left side. I called the dealer's ([xxx] in alexandria, ky) service dept to report the problem and schedule an appointment. I was told that they're so backed up, the first available appointment is on 2/18/15. The lady I spoke to mentioned that my car is part of a recall, and that the clutch assembly needs to be replaced. She said something about the manufacturer being unable to build the parts fast enough. I've now had the car ten days. On the eighth day, the *service engine* light came on and has not turned off. Because of this, the dealer has given me an appointment on 12/10/15 to have it checked out. One of the salesmen that I interacted with on the evening of the sale, said it's probably related to the transmission problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #112

Jun 202013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
Sluggish acceleration, sputtering, hard shifting upon accelerating from stop (lower gears). Day after purchase of vehicle returned to dealership and/or service dept. Service not available - spoke to sales who advised this is normal due to type of clutch system. Was advised no service could/would be attempted. Dealer suggested altering style of driving... problem has persisted and I have taken vehicle in several times, each time being told the same thing (with no diag or write up being done). On 11/24/14 while traveling over 350 miles in open desert, problem escalated to all gears and vehicle would not accelerate or decelerate properly without lurching, jerking, shuddering, etc. Took to service at dealership out of home state and was advised, prior to inspection, clutch would need to be replaced as same year, make, and model coming in daily. Confirmed with inspection clutch was faulty. Parts on backorder at least 3 weeks and would not order on my behalf as would not be in that location to have work done there. Contacted purchase dealership and confirmed backorder. Requested parts be ordered but was advised they would not order until veh inspected by them (2 weeks out as out of state) and then 3 weeks at least for parts. I consider this a safety issue as lurching, jerking, etc causes veh to become unmanageable as well as effecting acceleration and stopping times.

- El Cajon , CA, USA

problem #111

Apr 172014

Fiesta

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 2013 Ford Fiesta jerks, hesitates and sputters during acceleration greatly. It rolls backward on inclines like a stick shift, but the car is an automatic. The car feels unsafe.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #110

May 232014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 40,614 miles
The car is unsafe!!! its jerks, shakes, rolls back, accelerates on its own and the transmission makes weird sounds. A few days ago I took it in because it wouldn't move. That was the second time I had taken it in for that issue. I picked the car up Monday night and Tuesday it was back in the shop. The car stalled in mid turn, almost causing me to get into an accident. I am now afraid to drive my car. Ford knows the vehicle needs to be recalled. Instead of doing so, they extend the warranty in a effort to make customers happy. In the meantime the problem isn't being solved. They are wasting countless manhours on a situation that isn't going away.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #109

Nov 092014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,300 miles
I've had the car for two years. I've been complaining about the car "shuttering" issue for a year and a half. Within the first year I complained about it they said that they were getting similar complaints and handed me a flyer from a stack that they had readily available at their desk which mentions what I'm experiencing is normal and will go away with time. Earlier this year I brought the car in with this issue and they had to remove the transmission and replace parts in the gears. The issue seems to be getting worse. Yesterday, I was at a traffic light waiting to turn left. I started to accelerate then the car started to majorly shutter. It caused a significant delay in time that it would normally take to make the turn while I was in mid turn at a very busy intersection with approaching traffic. A few weeks ago I made an appointment to bring my car in today. When I explained what happened to me yesterday they said they were aware of this "shuttering" issue and had multiple complaints. I asked them many questions....some of the questions were: When I brought this to your attention in the first year why did you ignore my complaint and hand me a flyer telling me this is normal" when my husband brought the car in for scheduled maintenance a few weeks ago why didn't you inform him that there was a recall notice on the transmission that extends the service warranty and that there could be a safety issue" she explained that Ford was to blame and not the dealership. She said that Ford was giving them misinformation and told them all along that this was normal of the transmission and so that's what they were telling their customers. I urge you to please look into this because this is a severe safety hazard.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #108

Oct 092013

Fiesta

  • 31,483 miles
On 10-9-13 only after a year owning the car I started having serious issues with the transmission so I took it in to Ford to have it looked at. The car shifting became very harsh and there is considerable jerking, clinking and vibration. Ford at the time performed a reprogramming but this did not solved the issue. I took the card back to Ford on 11-7-13 to complain again because the noise and clunking had become worse to the point I was not feeling safe driving the car. Ford reprogrammed once again and ordered the parts needed to rebuild the transmission clutch. On 12-10-13 loud banging noise had become extreme and Ford took the car in and performed extensive work on the transmission replacing the clutch assembly and seals. According to the invoice there was a leak at the bell housing (input seals leaked) allowing the clutch to be oil soaked. On 9-11-14 I took the car in because the transmission had failed again displaying the same issues. Ford agreed to repair and ordered the parts needed however I was told it might take over a month. After waiting nearly two months I was forced to take the car in again on 11-7-14 because the noise and clunking is excessive to the point I do not feel safe. This was only augmented with the fact last month the rear diver side latch broke and yesterday the other latch broke. Ford service manager agreed completely the Fiestas and Focus are not safe and they have a backlog of transmissions to repair. He offered me to complain to Ford and gave me the phone number. He suggested I called and file a complaint and attempt to return the car. I am extremely dissatisfied and will pursue resolution by having Ford take the car back. I cannot expose my family and my own safety because Ford would not come forward and recall all these defects at once.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #107

Oct 032013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 7,978 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission grinds and rattles at 35-45 mph. Transmission serviced under tsb# 14-0131 to no avail.

- Steamboat Springs, CO, USA

problem #106

Apr 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 23,408 miles
Engine revs but vehicle barely speeds up, transmission slipping. Took to Ford dealer on 4/11/14, diagnosed as oil leak from transmission, 612 RPM slip, oil on the clutch. Needs warranty transmission repair at 23,179 miles. Ford transmission tech was on vacation, schedule appointment for 4/21/14 to return to dealer for warranty repairs. Returned to Ford dealer on 11/03/14 at 34,540 miles for transmission problem again, low speed chattering during take off and shifts, gears not engaging, slipping on acceleration, unsmooth harsh shifting, loss of power, jerks and shutters, rolls backwards on inclines. Car is unpredictable and unsafe to drive. Car was diagnosed again as needing transmission warranty repairs. Clutch parts are on backorder possibly until 11/28/14. Was informed that Fiestas have had faulty transmissions since 2011. Ford replaces the clutch along with other related parts with the same "new" faulty clutch. Ford has not found a solution for this transmission problem, they are just replacing with same faulty parts that are expected to fail again in approximately 10,000 miles. Ford is bandage fixing my Fiesta transmission, leaving the car at high risk of unsafe transmission issues to continue to happen. The transmission problems with the Ford Fiesta is a well known and documented problem for Ford, I wish I knew this before I bought mine. Now I have to deal with an unsafe car when the transmission decides to fail again besides for dealing with the hassle of repairs every 10,000 or so miles and ending up owning a car that after 100,000 miles cannot have further warranty repairs on the transmission. The end result for me is owning a worthless and unsafe car.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #105

Nov 052014

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles
We bought the 2013 Ford Fiesta brand new. The transmission/clutch causes the car to lurch excessively. Nearly rearended another car. Ford replaced the clutch, but it continues to have the exact same issues. Ford should be required to replace these junk dangerous transmissions/clutches with the old style used on most cars which actually work. Please give the public satisfaction by requiring Ford to come up with a real solution to this problem.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #104

Jun 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Hello, my wife and I purchased a 2013 Ford Fiesta in may of 2013. We noticed a hesitation and stalling problem almost immediately. We thought it might be bad gas so we waited and put higher grade gas in it and the problem still continued. At this time, we thought that the problem would be a recall by Ford since it was happening all of the time so we waited for a recall notice. Approximately in September of 2014 the car was still having this problem and Ford sent us a notice that they were aware of the problem. My wife took the car in to have it looked at and they said they have a fix for it which should make it better but would not stop the problem but it would take a while to get it scheduled for service. We scheduled the vehicle and a few weeks later it was done and the problem continued so I took it back in and told them it was still doing it. The employee at the dealership, that I purchased it at, told me that they could not do anything about it until Ford comes up with a fix for the problem. I posted on Ford service on facebook and then they contacted me and looked into the problem. A customer service representative called me today and verified the same story saying that the problem could not be fixed right now. I asked about the warranty and they seemed uninterested stating again that they can't fix it. Another problem is that this car has had this problem over a few year period, so they are aware of it yet they continue to sell it. This car is dangerous, it has even shut off on us a couple of times. The biggest problem driving it is that it will start to take off then will almost shut down leaving you at risk to oncoming traffic before it takes off, there have been some close calls. It is shameful such a large company as Ford would not fix this problem or take care of its customers. Worst car I have ever owned.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #103

Nov 012013

Fiesta

  • miles
First noticed a leak stain on my drive so took it in Ford dealership they didnt put it on hoist just laid under it said oh no its fine so I drove it longer took it in to local speed lube to get oil change and they wouldnt touch it saying that I was leaking transmission fluid so I drove it straight to Ford dealership finally they put it on hoist and said oh yeah it is leaking I have a list of everything they did to it ( but its in the car and the car is currently back in shop so I dont have it with me) picked it up several days later on the way back to work the engine light comes on again so I take it back they say it was the computer stuff needs reset so by the end of my workday I picked it up about a mile it seemed fine next day engine light comes on again the car was jerking would not eccellerate almost got into a wreck took it right back to shop 4th time now...at one point while driving it my son was with me and asks what are you doing mom I tell him its not me its the car and I know its suppose to shift and it has since I've bought it but never like this....

- Clinton, IL, USA

problem #102

Feb 012014

Fiesta

  • 4,000 miles
I bought two brand new 2013 Fiestas in September of 2012. My kids picked the colors and we're excited to have new cars. My older sons car started first, it had more miles on it. The car was making awful sounds, not going into reverse, popping out of first. After 15 months of owning the car, it wouldn't shift at all. He took the car to Ford and they traded it for a Fusion. My daughters car only has 12,000 miles on it and is taken to Ford every couple of months with the same complaints. It won't go into reverse and now it is making weird noises and popping out of gear while she's driving. I want something done. I'm spent over $33,000 on these two cars that don't work and now have become hazardous to even be driving. My baby is driving this car and they will not fix it.

- Mount Dora, FL, USA

problem #101

May 012013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 5 miles
When I take off from a stop, using light or hard acceleration, the automatic transmission exhibits an intermittent transmission violent shudder, which shakes the car and causes hesitation on acceleration, creating a safety hazard. This has caused me several near misses trying to cross traffic because the transmission hesitation and shutter, causes delay in acceleration across on coming traffic. Because of this, I do not let my teenagers drive the car. The car has now developed leaking transmission fluid. 2013 Fiesta. I have taken the car to the dealer several times, they say its normal, simply reprogram the transmission, and hand me a paper from Ford which says the phenomena is normal. Ive never herd of an automatic transmission that shifted so poorly and violently as normal. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #100

Aug 162013

Fiesta

  • 1,000 miles
Was accelerating after a stoplight, and suddenly after much hesitation, the vehicle lurched forward violently and shuddered. It continued doing this at every stop-and-go for well over a year, as well as making horrific grinding noises, and started dragging horribly recently. I took it in for clutch/seal replacement as indicated by a letter from Ford, and got the vehicle back yesterday. It isn't lurching as much, but never shifts into sixth gear (it never did before either) and now vibrates at high speeds, as well as making a noise only describable as "a barrel rolling down a road". I am in the midst of a complaint case with Ford, and am also researching a class-action lawsuit/have submitted my story for a lawyer working on a suit. I have almost had multiple wrecks in the last year due to these issues, and as I am a photographer, I carry expensive company equipment in my car daily. This vehicle puts my equipment and myself at risk. My own demand is for Ford to buy the car back, or at least pay it off so I can sell it, and recall the car or at least the transmission. This car was a horrible mistake to build. Who puts two three-speed manual transmissions together with electrical wiring and calls it a six-speed automatic? someone who's trying to be cheap, that's who. With no regard for the safety of customers.

- Axtell, TX, USA

problem #99

Jul 172014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
This is the second time now that my car has to go back in to the shop the first time the transmission has burnt out the cliche and the told me this happen time to time. This car has made me almost get in to several car crashes so now is the second time my transmission has gone out its just a matter of time till it happen again hopefully it won't be while I driving and try to change lanes it shifts very hard and hesitate when you give it gas lest see what the Ford dealership will try to pull a fast one on me and tell that there is nothing wrong with my car.

- Suffolk , VA, USA

problem #98

Sep 242014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
We have had our Ford Fiesta in on three separate occasions to have the door latch replaced. The door flies open while driving my nephew almost fell out of the car. The just replace it with the same defective parts. The transmission has not shifted properly since we bought it new and the my sync has never worked. This is the worst car we have ever had.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?