Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,080 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Sep 012014


  • 15,000 miles


I have had this vehicle for almost two years and after only 15000 miles my car has made a rattling noise. I noticed as of lately a jerking/stalling feeling as I accelerate. I was contacted by a law office notifying me of transmission issues of ratting/jerking/stalling/ and to file a lawsuit in order to have the transmission repaired for free or to get a completely new vehicle. I have almost stalled out in the middle of an intersection with oncoming traffic in all directions. This is not safe.

- Alpena, MI, USA

problem #52

Jun 012015


  • 10,000 miles
Too many recalls on this car. Only have had it for 7 months. They have sent several recall slips saying that different parts need to be replaced and that some things are wrong with the engine and now I found that the car will not cut off even when the key is out of the ignition. My daughter is 4 months pregnant and she has a 7 month old that rides in the car as well and I would hate for this to turn into a law suit for Honda and Ford. Honda sold me the car and Ford has been made aware of this problem. I would like someone to pay attention no matter how busy they are. My grand kids are very important to me and so are my kids. Thank you, Mrs. Salazar

- Ramseur, NC, USA

problem #51

Jul 242013


  • 2,500 miles
I purchased a 2013 Ford Fiesta in July of 2013. The first two weeks I was driving it, I noticed jerking, lunging, and shuttering when trying to accelerate from low speeds or from a stopped position. Soon thereafter, a metal noise started from the engine area. I took it back to the dealership and they said I had a problem with the "clutch" in the transmission and it would have to be replaced. It took a while (11 days) to get the part in, but the work was done. Several weeks later the problem started again. I drove the car as it was because I needed it for my busy job. When I transferred to houston in the fall of 2014, I had it serviced again at the local Ford dealership because the problem was getting worse. They had my car for 3 days and all they said was it "needed an update." Update or not, the problem was and is still there. The lunging, and mis-shifts have never been worse. I put up with it until this week when I accelerated in houston traffic and my Fiesta would not go. I could have caused a terrible accident and injury to myself and others due to the transmission not functioning properly. The shuttering is so bad that it seems as if the car's back brakes are locked up and the car is dragging its back end. I have a new appointment on 6/29/15 with the same dealership that did the "update." This will be the third time I have had a dealership attempt to fix this problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #50

Aug 012013


  • 5,000 miles


I purchased this vehicle, a 2013 Ford Fiesta titanium hatchback on May 28, 2013. I have had numerous problems with it since I purchased it, especially with the transmission and now the catalytic converter. I just received a recall on the locking mechanisms for the doors. They could become unlocked anytime. There have been various recalls and updates to the car. However they have no parts at this point to correct the problems. The transmission has been temporarily corrected but no permanent fix. There has been a clutch on order since March 7, 2015 and the converter was diagnosed on March 27, 2015 and those are not available either. I drive about 600 miles a week and really need a dependable car. When I go to pull out into traffic the transmission bogs down so I have to give myself ample time to get out. I purchased this car with the expectations that it would give me a long repair free life. I did purchase an extended warranty but at the rate it's going the car will not make it that far. You would think that Ford would have the parts to correct the issues with this car. Either fix it or replace it. Ford is truly living up to it name. Fix or repair daily. I even called Ford customer service but they have never called me back either. My dealer has no info either. As much as I love the car itself I find myself wondering if I would ever purchase another Ford. If this is what I get for the money I paid why give them my hard earned money when they sell me a lemon. There is actually a class action lawsuit for this car. I have been hesitant to join it but I am now considering it since Ford doesn't seem to care. As for the date of the first incident and mileage I couldn't even guess. I know I had several issues within the 1st year of owning it.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #49

Dec 242013


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle jerked, failed to accelerate, and the engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Tulsa , OK, USA

problem #48

Dec 102014


  • 8,000 miles
While traveling at 55 mph on the highway my Ford Fiesta started to not shift up or down and seemed a bit stuck. After taking it to the dealer they reprogrammed the powertrain control module. Only a couple months later the car started to having trouble with gear shifting at low and high speeds and also seems to slip when trying to shift. Car has repeatedly come close to stalling and has lost almost all power at various times. The car dealer now says it needs a new clutch and it will take 16 weeks for it to arrive. Until then I am not to drive it long distances. Very dangerous car, I am afraid I will be hit trying to turn because the engine will lose power at the wrong time.

- Twain Harte, CA, USA

problem #47

Aug 012013


  • 1,000 miles


Ever since I bought this car back in July of 2013 it has had transmission issues. It fails to accelerate quickly, instead just grinds gears and violently shakes. Ford supposedly "fixed" this 6 months ago, with the end result being actually worse. I was told it needed another part (clutch) and have been waiting 6 weeks for it, which is how long they said it would be. I just called and they said this is such a big issue that there were 35,000 of these parts on back order and it would be another 12 weeks at least until this issue is fixed. This is a huge safety concern! I have 2 little children and if a car were to swerve into my lane I would not be able to accelerate out of the way. I told this to Ford and what they said is that "this hasn't happened yet" which after reading reports online, I can tell is untrue. Thousands and thousands of complaints have been filed for over 4 years. They didn't offer any other assistance, except to tell me that maybe I should just trade it back in. I don't understand how this issue hasn't been addressed yet. And it is shocking to see how little Ford cares for the safety of their customers.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #46

May 082014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12,569 miles
Within the first year of owning this car, the transmission started displaying signs of defectiveness. It began exhibiting a grinding noise when in low gears. As mileage increased (~12,000 mi), it started not shifting properly with either hesitation, skipping or jolting forward. Now (~25,000mi), the vehicle is shuttering and vibrating in low gears (1 & 2). In other words, I feel like I have no control over my vehicle and both myself and others on the road are in danger. I have brought my car in three times for the same problem. It has been reprogrammed twice with the PCM and tcm updated. The problem has been occurring for 1.5 years without any potential to be resolved. I would have brought my car in to get serviced additional times, but I was told by the service technician that there is nothing else they can do but run tests on the transmission, that will result in the same outcome. My transmission apparently "runs within spec" but there is something wrong and this problem should be a concern to all drivers, not just owners of Ford Fiesta's or Focus', as they are endangered just being on the road with said vehicles. When driving my Ford Fiesta, I fear that I am going to rear end someone or get stuck in an intersection because I am no longer in control of my cars acceleration.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #45

Mar 252015


  • 14,659 miles
I have less than 15 thousand miles and my catalytic converter needs to be fixed. I took it in and now they have to order the part today. I have had engine leak, a bad transmission, a recall on emission, bad tranny they extended warranty. What next. I barely road the car. They need to be ashamed of themselves for selling. The car still jerks even though they adjusted the tranny.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #44

Mar 192015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 21,325 miles
My check engine cluster came on the one with the wrench, I immediately took it in to the dealership the airport marina. I got there at 7:45 am I was met with agitation when I told him my check engine warning came on I needed to know what it meant. I also included could he fix the recall that came in the mail for the 14E08 he said that they weren't doing the transmission recall for another 6 weeks. I told him I was unaware of transmission recall. Both of our attitudes changed his of quiet mine of quiet and shock. He let me leave without fixing any of the recalls gave me an oil change, failed to tell me of why my check engine light came on and never put it in my invoice. I called him back and asked him why he didn't fix, tell me or set me up with and appointment to get my recalls repaired? he tried to tell me other things I needed instead at a cost. I was upset but made a appointment and called customer relations. However after going online I got the real picture! when I first bought the car I returned it after two weeks because of the very thing on the internet, the shuddering, hesitation in moving forward and it didn't seem like the gas was getting to where it needed to go. So the car would jerk and poot and shake along with rattle noise. It also leaked in my drive way. I thought maybe someone parked in my stall after I went for work. Not the case. I took it in, they said it was normal, each and every time. They even said we will look at it and said it was a minor thing that they adjusted. I never saw it on paper so I thought they were treating me well and fixing things for free without a paper trial. And they were!! now that the check engine light came on and they reset it and did not do the recalls sent up red flags. That is considered my first denial of service on record, I foolishly let them get away with the others. Will take it to another Ford dealership.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #43

May 012013


  • 5,000 miles


Transmission issues since purchasing the car brand new in 2013. Car jerks and accelerates sporadically. When taking off from a stop the car does not respond to pushing on the gas, but will then suddenly take off. It moves through the gears in a clunky manner. Makes grinding noises upon acceleration. The car rolls back on hills. I do not feel safe driving this car. Ford have no responded in a helpful manner to my enquires and appear not to be able to fix the problem.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 092013


  • 10,149 miles
On 02/27/2015 my Ford Fiesta with 20,904 miles was taken in for a transmission issue that became potentially life threatening. When my wife approached an intersection to make a left hand turn and came to a stop the engine began to shutter and bog down. The idle picked up but the engine almost stalled. When traffic cleared my wife attempted the apply pressure to the throttle pedal but the vehicle only moved forward at about 2mph. With more traffic headed toward us (35mph zone) about 50yards away. My wife lifted to her foot off the throttle to apply again, the car suddenly lurched forward with my wife's foot off the pedal. The same issue happened while driving on windy mountain roads. The vehicle will become hesitant the lurch or bog down.we had this vehicle in for the same fix on 09/09/2013. The dealership took the vehicle on a road test and diagnosed the transmission needed a software upgrade. The cars transmission still had minor problems that the dealership stated as "normal". the diagnosis of my vehicle now is that the clutch needs to be replaced but a road test wasn't even done to the vehicle. A Ford "specialist" diagnosed the problem with a computer stating he could only get the engine to shutter. I don't understand how a proper diagnostic can be done if the car is not driven on the road. The dealership service department cannot tell me when the vehicle will be fixed and told I can pick the car up and drive it until the clutch comes in. Obviously not caring about the customers safety and the fact we told the service department about the potentially deadly situation that occurred a rental vehicle was not offered cause they feel the car is safe to drive.

- Newhall, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 202015


  • 29,000 miles
Took the car in and they gave us a rental. The tech called yesterday to say they are working in it (day 2) then they call this morning to say what it is doing is normal. I told them it is not normal for a car to just lose momentum then when it does go it lurches forward and starts going real fast. There is a problem either with the engine or transmission. Someone is going to get killed and I am deadly afraid its going to be one of us. Ford just does not want to admit there is a problem.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #40

Feb 032015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 19,137 miles
I am bringing this car in for the fifth time now for different reasons. Main problem is shuddering, jolting, and hesitating. I almost got in an accident on February 3rd from the car hesitating when placing foot on gas pedal. I have to replace clutch for second time, and I only have had the car for 6 months.....updated 04/08/15

- Arroyo Grande , CA, USA

problem #39

Oct 212013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I also have had engine hesitation with my Fiesta since the first days with my new car. From a stop, either on a incline or flat surface, the car has trouble shakes and give you a feeling of safety concerns that it might stall and not move forward. Also, while driving when you attempt to accelerate the car will take a very long time, if at all, to add to your speed. Maintaining your speed while driving is also impossible. This is a unsafe car and Ford needs to address this major problem before a more serious accident occurs. I do not want anyone to be a statistic to begin action. This problem seems to me to be well documented if all the dealerships are passing on the company line from Ford " that this is how the Ford Fiesta operates" to the consumers that come to the dealerships for help.this is something that if I or any of the other affected drivers would have know we would not have purchased this vehicle.I hope Ford will correct this problem before a tragedy.

- Upperco, MD, USA

problem #38

Sep 172014


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the engine rpms increased. The contact heard a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice, but the failure was unable to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 01/28/15

- Wyandotte, MI, USA

problem #37

Dec 022014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 34,582 miles
I had just bought this car four days prior to the incident. I was accelerating from a stopped position (stop light). It seemed as though my car *skipped* and *jerked* a little in order to gain momentum. Then, when I turned a corner, I heard a slight rattling/grinding noise coming from underneath the hood, especially on the left side. I called the dealer's ([xxx] in alexandria, ky) service dept to report the problem and schedule an appointment. I was told that they're so backed up, the first available appointment is on 2/18/15. The lady I spoke to mentioned that my car is part of a recall, and that the clutch assembly needs to be replaced. She said something about the manufacturer being unable to build the parts fast enough. I've now had the car ten days. On the eighth day, the *service engine* light came on and has not turned off. Because of this, the dealer has given me an appointment on 12/10/15 to have it checked out. One of the salesmen that I interacted with on the evening of the sale, said it's probably related to the transmission problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #36

Aug 132014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Jerking, shuddering, loss of power on acceleration. Was almost been rear ended because of this. This is a recurring issue. Received recall from Ford for transmission. Took car in to dealership and was told they found no problem or issue with my car. Car continues to be a concern because of the jerking, stuttering and loss of power on acceleration.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #35

Jul 172014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 28,700 miles
A year and a half ago I brought my car, 2013 Ford Fiesta in for a regular oil change and the shop notified me to bring car to Ford dealership immediately for a major oil leak fix, which, I had thought was the reason for my car sputtering and hesitating from a complete stop to acceleration. Ford fixed oil leak and report had also claimed the transmission was removed to clean up "contaminated clutch". after, my car seemed to run smoother and acceleration and sputter was alleviated. A month later my car began intensely sputtering and in a couple instances would begin to accelerate then completely stop even though my foot was on the gas pedal. It seemed to stall out one time and I was almost T-boned by a car coming around the corner, even though I would have had plenty of time to turn if the car accelerated properly. Months pass and my car was still acting weird, shaking when in a low gear and struggling to accelerate. At 35000 miles I brought the car in(still under warranty) and they fixed the clutch in the transmission. Upon leaving the shop the car felt better, but still had a shake to it, especially on hills. I called colonial Ford and notified them it needed to be fixed again (this was four days after I picked it up from being fixed) they told me it was fixed to "their standard" and the sputter is "always going to kind of be there". my concern is my safety, I do not feel safe at all driving this vehicle and I do not want to endanger anyone else on the road. It's bothersome that I'm paying for a broken car that I do not feel safe in.

- Kingston, MA, USA

problem #34

Nov 092014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,300 miles
I've had the car for two years. I've been complaining about the car "shuttering" issue for a year and a half. Within the first year I complained about it they said that they were getting similar complaints and handed me a flyer from a stack that they had readily available at their desk which mentions what I'm experiencing is normal and will go away with time. Earlier this year I brought the car in with this issue and they had to remove the transmission and replace parts in the gears. The issue seems to be getting worse. Yesterday, I was at a traffic light waiting to turn left. I started to accelerate then the car started to majorly shutter. It caused a significant delay in time that it would normally take to make the turn while I was in mid turn at a very busy intersection with approaching traffic. A few weeks ago I made an appointment to bring my car in today. When I explained what happened to me yesterday they said they were aware of this "shuttering" issue and had multiple complaints. I asked them many questions....some of the questions were: When I brought this to your attention in the first year why did you ignore my complaint and hand me a flyer telling me this is normal" when my husband brought the car in for scheduled maintenance a few weeks ago why didn't you inform him that there was a recall notice on the transmission that extends the service warranty and that there could be a safety issue" she explained that Ford was to blame and not the dealership. She said that Ford was giving them misinformation and told them all along that this was normal of the transmission and so that's what they were telling their customers. I urge you to please look into this because this is a severe safety hazard.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?