Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,080 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Nov 092013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,650 miles


From a stop sign making a right turn onto a highway my 2013 Ford Fiesta now decides to make loud grinding noises from the 6 speed auto transmission when accelerate to normal highway speed hesitates and almost was rear ended from the vehicle behind me had to quickly pull to the right of the road before merging back on the highway. Have taken to the dealer three times for unusual transmission slippage, and noises waiting on a back order dual clutch kit part,1700 hundred on back order was told may take up to 6 months for this part to arrive.

- Atwater, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 152013


  • 1,300 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, she noticed a loud grinding and growling noise upon acceleration. The vehicle also jerked forward at different speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three different times where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was nor repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 1,300.

- Ripley, TN, USA

problem #11

Aug 122013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 4,523 miles
Was at a complete stop. Went to step on gas to turn right and the car would not go above 7 mph for about 8 seconds, then it shifted hard into second gear and sped down the street. I completed 4 more turns around the block of my housing track and at all 4 it did the same thing until I reached my driveway and had it towed to a dealer.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 152013


  • 26,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, the vehicle shook and the contact noticed an abnormal rattling from the engine on several separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- El Paso , TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 262013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
June 2013, Ford Fiesta 2013 (bought new Oct 2012) began to shudder upon takeoff from a stop and also when shifting between 1st and 2nd gear. Took car to dealership on July 18, 2013; they performed a software update and said (at that time) if that didn't work the clutch would have to be replaced. Took car back on September 4, 2013. Took mechanic out but traffic was heavy and I couldn't reproduce the exact issue. However, problems listed above still persist, and an additional issue of power loss when turning the corner at speeds of 10 mph or less has developed.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 012013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Took car to get accelerator sticking, chugging down, loosing power for the 5th time. When they put it on the computer to see what was wrong they found out that the last dealer that did the airbag recall left the thing unplugged. What" really" if we would have got the accelerator to stick or car die when I was pulling out and got hit and my husband would have gotten hurt because the airbag didn't deploy, what would their excuse be this time.

- Gibsonville, NC, USA

problem #7

Aug 302013


  • miles


My Ford Fiesta 2013 has been having issues with shuddering, lunging, jerking, and failing to engage gear shifts. I have been told by several Ford dealers and servicemen that I need to drive the vehicle as if it were a stickshift and hesitation between gear shifts is normal for this car. A Ford dealer hooked up a laptop and reset the vehicle to tsb 13-4-5 "intermittent transmission clutch shudder dps6 automatic transmission". the problem was not resolved, so I filed a complaint with Ford Motor Company; complaint #2989023. I was told that I need to bring the car to a dealer and they need proof that there is something wrong with the car. The service person said I need to be driving the car while faults are documented because the car has an adaptive learning program that responds to the driver's actions. I brough the car to schaumburgh Ford in Illinois. The service director test drove the car while I was in the passenger's seat. He said he did not experience any faults with the vehicle. However, there was one instance as we were returning back to the dealership, that the car shuddered. The dealer took the car for the afternoon 8/29/2013 and said he reset the car again for tsb 13-4-5 update although they were unable to provide me with a receipt of work that was done. On the morning of 8/30/2013 the car experienced overheating and burning under the hood. A service person from the schaumber Ford dealership in Illinois met to pick up the vehicle. The service person told me they would not be able to provide a rental car due to the weekend schedule. The issue is still being addressed by the dealer at this time.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #6

Jul 252013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 13,486 miles
I've experienced my new Ford Fiesta 2013 shuddering, shaking, and chugging. Especially when I'm on a hill stopped and I try to accelerate. I have an automatic and it acts like a manual transmission. When I attempted to accelerate on the hill after stopping, the vehicle almost shut down completely. I brought my vehicle to the dealership which I purchased it from on two different occasions. Both times, the service advisor and the service manager informed me that the vehicle is performing as it should and there are no problems. I can't rely on the vehicle to accelerate as it should. Many times I've been afraid of my safety to merge into traffic because I know it won't perform.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 052013


  • 290 miles
I picked up this vehicle brand- new from the dealership on 8/2/13. By 8/5, three days after I got the car, the entire front end had started to shudder and chug, and the "check engine" light came on. It felt like a deep-seated timing issue (the engine rpms had been a bit off since I picked up the car on 8/2, and it appeared to be shifting oddly, even before the check engine light came on). The clutch also engaged at odd times (I bought an automatic), and it didn't appear that the engine rpms and transmission shifting were synching up correctly at all. My diagnosis was confirmed when I took the vehicle to romano Ford in syracuse, NY, where I purchased the vehicle. The next day (8/6), I was told that a "cam phaser" had failed on the engine due to a manufacturing defect, and that the engine oil would need to be completely flushed and changed. After a bit of research, I found out that the phaser is a small gear that regulates engine being cut incorrectly, metal shavings from the gear had contaminated my engine oil. This, obviously, is not an easy fix. By screwing up my engine timing, the regulation of my entire vehicle is screwed up. The car has been sitting in the shop since 8/6 (it is now 8/22), with no resolution in sight. They brought in a Ford technician from god-knows-where that is supposed to fix it; it was supposed to be fixed 2 days ago to no avail. I am now closing in on the time period for invoking the NY state lemon law; I hope I can get my $ back and send this thing to the dump! Ford needs to recall these crappy things asap!

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 082013


  • 20,000 miles
When trying to take off car almost shuts off and then all of the sudden picks back up and takes off. Sometimes coming out of first gear the gas sticks and chugs like it isn't getting gas just going down the highway. It is so bad that if you want to take off into traffic you have to cut the air off or heat to get all the power you can. If you have the ac on and make a turn and shift down you have to go a gear lower if the ac is on. Then it chugs along until it catches up.

- Gibsonville, NC, USA

problem #3

Jul 082013


  • 18,000 miles


First time it almost completely died on me getting on the highway, then all of the sudden it gunned it and took off. About 3 miles down the high way engine lights and service lights came on. I got to work and they towed it. They said they changed some kind of wiring under the front window and dash. That didn't fix it. The next day I was pulling out of wendy's and give it some gas and nothing happened. I rolled then all of the sudden it gunned it again. I almost got hit. Got it home and parted it. Took it in the next day and they changed the throttle body on it. It still hesitates as you go down the highway. Has very little take off and merging power. The only thing I am glad I did when I bought this car was I got a straight drive. It would have no power if it was an automatic.

- Gibsonville, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 272013


  • 10,700 miles
I almost died in this car today. I rented it for my trip in maui. It was practically new with only 10,000 miles on it, so there should not have been anything wrong, even if the people that rented it before me drove it horribly. Today I drove it into the hills (upcountry maui). I was on a road with a cliff on the left side and a driveway on the right. I pulled into the driveway, which was a hill going up, and everything was initially fine, the car was going up the hill just fine, but a little over halfway up the hill the car stopped accelerating/moving. I was pressing the gas pedal to the floor but it had no rpms and the car began rolling backwards. Suddenly, the transmission (?) kicked in and the car lurched forward at 20mph. Thankfully I was able to control it and make it to the top of the hill, where there was a parking lot. Had the transmission not kicked in at that second, the car would have rolled all the way back down the driveway and off the cliff. There is absolutely no way that I was pressing the brake pedal or not pressing the gas. I was going up a hill and obviously didn't want to roll back, so of course I would have my foot pressed down on the accelerator. This is further exhibited by the fact that the car suddenly lurched forward after a few seconds of not moving, so I definitely had my foot on the accelerator the whole time. I have read online hundreds of people that have issues with the car not accelerating/moving while pressing on the gas, so this is not an isolated issue. What if this happens to someone else who is riding it in the hills or mountains? please do something about this car before someone is seriously hurt.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Mar 022013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 3,600 miles
While driving on the freeway my vehicle got very shaky and uncontrollable to drive, the check engine light came on and we noticed a burning smell and smoke coming from under the hood area. After being able to pull off freeway and check car we noticed a huge trail and puddle of oil coming from my car. Turned car into Ford dealership and was told that it was a oil leak from my engine oil cooler and resulted in a shattered piston in my engine from it being starved of oil. Was told by Ford I needed a new engine, but received a "remanufactured" engine long block from Ford. After almost 3 weeks I got the car back and that same day the car started to shudder and shake badly, everytime I start the car the car would crank over and take 5-10 seconds to actually catch and start. It would not accelerate, exhibits grinding scraping thumping noises from under the hood while driving low speeds. Trying to accelerate from a stop, forget it, the car gets stuck but revs high even though the speed wont change. Almost got into an accident due to not being able to accelerate like a car should. Told Ford and now sending car back again, but was given a tsb that these are "normal" characteristics. Im sorry but there is nothing normal about that and this car is a death trap!!

- Paradise Valley, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?