Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,884 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Five Hundred accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments

problem #17

Dec 112011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the lights on the instrument failed and all of the gauges were inoperable. In addition, the rear back up sensors were buzzing haphazardly. The contact checked all of the fuses and was unable to locate a cause for the failure. The vehicle was not inspected by the dealer or a mechanic. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 1/27/12 updated 02/01/12

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

Jun 302010

Five Hundred

  • 75,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While the contact was parking the vehicle, all of the gauges on the instrument panel failed to function. The failure also recurred intermittently while driving at various speeds. The contact also stated that when the failure occurred she was not able to use the turn signals. All of the warning lights on the instrument panel began to shut on and off intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that they could not duplicate or diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 75,200.

- Vernon, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jun 012008

Five Hundred

  • 85,000 miles
My instrument panel lights will blink off and on. Started about 6/1/2008. Does it randomly in all weather conditions. Mostly on initital start up.

- Tuscola, IL, USA

problem #14

Nov 012008

Five Hundred

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sporadically, the instrument cluster on my car fails. Sometimes the dashboard lights go off, sometimes all the needles got to "0" and just twitch for a few seconds. Then they come back up. This happens day and night, warm and cold. It started happening around 60,000 miles.

- Sanborn, NY, USA

problem #13

Apr 072008

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,500 miles
I would like a safety recall issued for the Ford 500, the instrument panel has a defect causing all of the needles and controls to malfunction leaving the driver with no speedometer, gas gauge or temperature gauge, Ford is aware there is a problem and has issued a technical service bulletin to the dealers, however, with no recall you will be charged for the replacement of the panel and this may keep some people from having them replaced, I was charged a $100 deductible for this repair and in all fairness it should have been covered by a Ford recall since they are aware of the problem and has the potential to be a serious safety issue!!

- Waymart, PA, USA

problem #12

Mar 042008

Five Hundred 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a 2005 Ford Five hundred used last 2/07; on 3/4/08 my instrument panel went out completely while driving. No gauges, lights, nothing. I took it to my Ford dealer 3/5/08 who looked at it, after 3 hours returned it to me saying I needed a new instrument panel, but they had to order one and said to come back when they had it. The panel worked, so I wondered what was up; however after a few days, the gauges would quit momentarily before working again periodically. I have yet to hear from Ford about my part, also, they say I have to pay for it. This is not normal wear and tear and obviously a defect, I've owned 5 cars in my life and never had an instrument panel replaced ever. I've owned vehicles for 10 years. I shouldn't have to pay for a factory defect which is a safety hazard. I have yet to get the part replaced, as they don't seem to have one yet. So I risk my safety every time I drive.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 112007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,058 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled on the highway. The contact was able to pull off the road. On July 11, 2007, the dealer performed a diagnostic test. The vehicle was returned one week later. The failure recurred on July 17, August 31, September 25, October 3, November 2, and December 18. The dealer did not return the vehicle until February 23,2008. The dealer was able to duplicate the failure once the vehicle was returned. The contact experienced the failure again and the dealer picked up the vehicle on March 20, 2008. The dealer replaced the instrument panel. The failure and current mileages were approximately 31,058.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #10

Feb 172008

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,180 miles
2005 Ford Five hundred, intermittent instrument cluster, vehicle odo 20K miles, multiple failures, panel goes dark, then all lights illuminate. Drivability not affected. New defect on car.

- Johnstown, CO, USA

problem #9

Jan 142008

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The instrument panel would flicker on and off when the headlights were activated. A few days later, the instrument panel failed completely. The dealer stated that the instrument cluster needed to be repaired. The current and failure mileages were 48,000.

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

problem #8

Aug 202007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
2005 Ford Five hundred instrument panel temporarily stops working and all gauges go to zero. I was told I needed a new nodule, but it was not immediate. This happens almost daily for a few minutes.

- Shelby, OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 192007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. When the vehicle was started, only the wrench and air bag indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure occurred while it was dark outside and the fuel gauge and speedometer were not visible. The radio was still operating. After 15 minutes, there was a power surge and the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was still at the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 45,200. Updated 01-30-08. The consumer stated took the vehicle to the dealer on January 11, 2008 and stated there is a service bulletin to problem and reset the system. Updated 01/30/08

- Eastlake, OH, USA

problem #6

Aug 032007

Five Hundred

  • 38,891 miles
Instrument cluster failure. All gauges drop to zero. Multiple dash warning lights come on, dashboard lights go black, turn signal lights will not operate. Problem is intermittent. Problem began 8/3/07. Off and on since. Dealer can not find problem.

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #5

Jan 012006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The 2005 Ford Five hundred had just under 30000 miles on it and for the last 5000 miles the dashboard had been acting up to the point that it did it almost every time we used it. Symptoms: Aib ag light went on and dash lights went off, the 4 gauges in the instrument cluster went to zero, digital display went out and some times reset gals used & miles traveled, directionals went out when dash lightswent out.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 282006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,900 miles
While driving my 2005 Ford Five hundred with 18000 miles on it all gauges dropped to zero. The lights went out and air bag failure light came on. I took the vehicle to the dealer who said they needed to order a new dash cluster panel, after 2 weeks called dealer and was told it would take a month to get part I was told by another mechanic that car was unsafe to drive because of air bag was in failure mode. Not once was I told this by dealer. Has not been repaired.

- Odd, WV, USA

problem #3

Jan 092006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,060 miles
On the two occasions that we had snow this past winter, my Ford 500 began to surge uncontrollably and the engine failure light came on when accelerating. It became necessary to pull to the side of the road and turn the vehicle ignition off. When I restarted, the trouble light was off and I continued my journey home. Within a few minutes the same problem occurred, engine failure light and the surging. Needless to say, it took quite awhile to get home. I brought the vehicle to an authorized Ford dealer the fist time and they could not find anything wrong. After the second snow storm, and the same symptoms, the dealer said the problem occurred because the filter was installed backwards. Somewhat skeptical, I accepted their explanation because of my good relationship with the dealer owner and service manager. While at work the other day, I noticed a co-worker with a similar type vehicle and inquired as to how she liked the Ford 500. Her response shocked me when she stated that she liked the vehicle, but had trouble this past winter in the snow. She described the same problem that I had experienced and now I wonder how many other 2005 Ford 500 owners have experienced the same problems. I am hoping that you will be able to assist me in determine the cause of this problem.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #2

Aug 172006

Five Hundred 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,285 miles
Dash gauges drop to zero while car is running usually for a few seconds, sometimes for several minutes. Occasionally the led display also goes out with headlights and turn signals for 10 seconds to 10 minutes while the engine is running perfect.

- Wendover, NV, USA

problem #1

Sep 012005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 750 miles
Oil life diagnostic message continues to report zero percentage life remaining.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?