Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,927 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Five Hundred brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments

problem #11

Oct 272007

Five Hundred

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Five hundred rear brakes worn at 14,000 miles. Scrapping sounds were coming from the rear of vehicle, taken to dealer, told 15 days to get parts. 1 month later went to dealer, told parts available Feb 2008, told to repair vehicle on my own and would be reimbursed. Called Ford, told to go ahead. Found parts and had vehicle repaired (new pads and rotors - $192), later in the afternoon dealer calls, parts have magically appeared, dealer told car is repaired. Both Ford and dealer refuse to reimburse. This seems to be a problem with the vehicle and Ford will not own up to it. The rear wheels up to the time of scrapping sounds showed excessive brake dust vs the front which showed almost no dust. Both Ford and the dealership dismissed the reimbursement saying repair was offered, where were the parts that just appeared out of thin air when the were supposed to be received in Feb 2008? this is a safety issue that Ford is ignoring. Guess I will never buy a Ford again if this is the way they treat a customer.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 012007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle's two rear rotors have failed. She had both of them replaced along with the brake pads. The dealer stated that there was a groove in the rear rotors due to a design flaw that Ford has just recently noticed in the Ford Five hundreds and freestyles. The contact heard a loud grinding noise when driving in reverse. Ford stated that the vendor of the parts is for the failure. The contact also notified the better business bureau. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 40,400 and failure mileage was 39,000.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #9

Apr 102007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,137 miles
The Ford Five hundred had rear brake pad and rotor failures after only 22,137 miles. This required replacing the pads and rotors at my expense. My last car required new brakes at 53,000 miles. In addition only the rear brakes were warn out. The front pads were still okay. In my opinion this was clearly either a design failure or a materials failure. I contacted Ford, and was told that brakes were a wear item, and they will do nothing. From the number of cases of this type failure on the Ford Five hundred and the Mercury montego, on this web site I would think an investigation would be started.

- Apalachin, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 102007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,024 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred with a current mileage of 29,345 miles. After driving the vehicle for 191 miles the contact heard a thumping noise coming from the rear brakes. She took the vehicle to the dealer, and was told that there was corrosion between the brake pads and rotors. Both rear brakes were replaced. The contact drove the vehicle for another 9,319 miles. When the contact took the vehicle to the dealer for routine maintenance she was told that the rear brakes were 90% corroded. The contact replaced the brakes. The contact called Ford, and was told not to use the brakes as frequently. The consumer states door latch freezes at times, dealer performed recall on vehicle. Update 05/04/07

- Marblehead , MA, USA

problem #7

Mar 012007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Ford Five hundred customer states that the vehicle is a lemon and that the brakes needs to be recalled** the rear rotors were machined.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #6

Mar 262007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,619 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The vehicle was taken to dealer for routine maintenance on March 26, 2007. The contact believes there was a defect with the brake rotors and rear brakes. The current and failure mileage were 19600. The consumer took the vehicle to dealer and the dealer fixed the rear brakes and rotors. Consumer is concerned that there was no indication that the rear brakes and rotors were worn and states that poses a safety issue./17tr

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 072006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2005 Ford Five hundred in July 2005. I had noticed immediately that a large amount of black brake dust accumulated on the rear wheels. This vehicle is driven 80 to 90 percent of the time on the highway with minimal braking. At 6000 miles I noticed a grinding noise coming from the rear wheels. I took the vehicle to the dealer where I purchased the car and they told me that the rear brake pads had worn out and ruined the rotors. They replaced the rotors and brakes on warranty. At 32,000 miles during a routine maintenance the shop mechanic told me that the rear brakes were gone. I returned the vehicle to the dealer where I had purchased the car and had completed the last brake replacement and asked them if premature rear brake wear was a problem with the 500 hundred. They did not respond. I asked them if they thought it unusual for the brakes to wear out twice in 32,000 miles" I told them that all of my other vehicles which wear/are driven in similar conditions usually do not need a brake replacement until they are at 80,000 miles or more" they told me that it all depends on the my driving habits. I do not drive any differently now that I have over the past 25 years. They told me on this second visit for a brake problem that they would have to charge me to inspect the brakes and if they did not find a mechanical problem, I would have to pay for the repairs. They came back to me and said that the rear calipers were sticking. I don't believe that was the problem. The rear rotors and pads were replace again. For some reason twice now the rear brakes are failing long before the front brake pads have event 25% of their wear gone. It appears that the rear brakes are doing most of the braking and the front are doing little. This may cause a safety problem.

- Easton, WA, USA

problem #4

Dec 052006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
I took my 2005 Ford 500 with 18,000 miles to the dealer for a noise in the back of the car and after replacing the strut under warranty to take care of the noise, I was told that the car needed new rear brakes and rotors. There is absolutely no reason why rear brakes should be required and certainly no excuse for the rotors needed to be replaced when the vehicle only have 18,000 miles and the front brakes are fine. It is clear that this vehicle has a design problem since the rear brake wheels are doing most of the work. This is a serious safety issue that needs to be address by Ford and NHTSA.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 142006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,900 miles
I purchased a 2005 Ford 500 new in July 2005. I had it serviced by the book at my dealership. On Nov 14,2006 I took it in for a routine oil change and the 22,000 mile check up. I was told it needed new rear brakes and "rotors". since 75% of these miles are all highway miles (very little braking), there is absolutely no reason why rear brakes should be required....and certainly no excuse for the rotors needing replaced. Since I take extremely good car of my vehicles, including washing it by hand, I have noticed since I bought it that the rear wheels are always black with brake dust. The front wheels are typically clean. That must mean the rear wheels are doing most of the work. This is without a doubt an engineering issue. Also, having visited the NHTSA website, it is littered with complaints from other Ford 500 owners experiencing the exact same problem. And via their reports, a denial by Ford that there is not problem. (wonder why they are on the ropes as a car maker"?") I "chatted with the service advisor to no avail. I plan on going higher....wish me luck. On the other hand, I present to between 15 and 20 thousand individuals each year across the country talking about integrity and customer service. Ford is about to learn the true meaning of the term "customer terrorist". I can assure them that I will get my money's worth a couple of hundred times over. Maybe you should wish them luck...they are going to need it.

- Munhall, PA, USA

problem #2

Oct 102006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 714 miles
2005 Ford 500 robin marshall Ford Motor Company executive offices form letter states that Ford "review indicates that the previous decision provided by Ford Motor Company is appropriate" dated Oct 3 2006 as I was watching cnn news about recall 06V383000 and Ford # 06S45 of Sept 28 2006. Purchased March 28 2005 and as previously reported numerous suspension and braking problems. ODI id number : 10123895 - ODI id number : 10135289 and numerous communications with Ford they finally had dave munn Ford rep have the car towed to omeara Ford for an inspection. The vehicle has been sitting for 15 months with a Colorado affidavit of non use for safety related issues, after omeara Ford ground down the rear rotors to within 1/1000 of minimum and braking issues continued. I had a heart attack and 5 way bypass and cannot take the stress this vehicle has put me under. I consider the car unsafe to drive. Fords inspection was a sham, as omeara Ford's service ticket indicates no mileage in and 5000 miles out but the car has 4190 miles on it today. The service ticket indicates no-trouble found plus the rotors were still rusty when the car arrived back at my residence. Even braking and straight tracking on the road with this car has always been an issue.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #1

Sep 152005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
The parking brake in the rear wheel area did not release properly. The contact noticed the problem in the middle of September 2005. He could smell a hot odor inside of the vehicle. The wheels were aluminum, and the rear wheels were black from brake lining dust. The contact took vehicle to a dealership twice. They were unable to find the cause of the problem with the parking brake. The contact will be taking the vehicle to deale R again. The contact noticed groves forming on the brake rotors. Updated 11/29/05.

- Reding , PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?