Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,616 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Five Hundred brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments

problem #20

Aug 152011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles


We bought my car in July 2011, its was garaged by the 1st owner so it was like brand new!! low miles just 12,850, start what now seems to be the endless drives in a rental car and with empty wallets totaling now approx; close to an additional $3,500 now in repairs from the battery in Aug 2011 to now to having the throttle being replace along with a set if tires and the 2nd set of both rear and front brakes in less then a year, all due to the consent stopping and going of the car by hitting the brakes too much and having to accelerate, because the car would while tempting to pull out of my garage at what should of been a mere 3miles per hour; resulted in flying backwards suddenly while foot was applying pressure on the brakes to keep from mowing down my teenage son at 15 miles a hour on its own with the mp rising rapidly, was the scare of my life!!!! please someone recall this car, before someone really does get killed or hurt!!! as of today the total this time to repair my car is at a total if$ 1,585.00; to replace the throttle and tires & brakes again, and Ford wouldn't even comp, us a rental car this time on our 5 trip down to the service dept of Ford!!!!

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 022011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
I own a 2005 Ford 500. I have had to have the right passenger front ball joint tightened several times. The local Ford dealer does not what is causing this issue. The ball joint becomes loose cause the front end to come out of alignment and will jerk the car across the highway.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #18

Sep 032007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph in the driveway. When pressure was applied to the brake pedal, a loud grinding noise sounded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis; and the brake lining kit was replaced under a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer. The identical failure occurred three years later. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the rotors and brake lining kit were replaced. The failure mileage was 76,400. Updated 02/17/11 updated 05/02/11

- Lower Lake, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 032007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While driving approximately 5 mph pressure was applied to the brake pedal and she could hear a squeaking noise in the brakes. The failure began to occur more frequently when pressure was applied to the brake pedal. She was notified by the manufacturer of an unknown brake recall so the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired. The failure continued to occur. While the vehicle was parked she opened the front passenger side door and noticed water leaking from the bottom of the door panel. The vehicle was not examined for the cause of failure but she installed window rain guards on all four windows. The failure continued to occur. While driving approximately 35 mph she could feel the vehicle shaking in the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the oem motor mount and bracket were replaced. The failure had not recurred. She also stated that while the vehicle was parked she turned on the air conditioner but there was only minor air flow coming through the vents. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where a new compressor and expansion valve were installed. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 12/23/10 the blend door motor was replaced. Updated 04/06/11 updated 05/26/11 updated 05/31/11

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #16

Jun 012010

Five Hundred

  • miles
Hi, I have a 2005 Ford Five hundred while driving one day about a month ago I heard this noise when I press the brake pedal, I didn't think it to be nothing, but it felt like a stuggle to stop and the noise get worst it feels like the cables of the brake line are to tight and evertime I step on the brakes it makes a creeking sound, a few day ago I took the car in to have the noise check I found out that it was the brake booster and master cylinder and was told it was no need to have it fix because the noise would only come back and that the estimated cost to repair was around $1345.99. I contact the Ford Corp., by E-mail and recieved a reponse and was told that there was no recall or warrant on this part in other words they could not help. I hope that you can help because I'm afraid of the safety for others and my family. Thank you

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #15

Sep 132006

Five Hundred

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While washing the vehicle the contact noticed that the rear brakes were hotter than the front brakes and they began making a squeaky noise when applied at any speed. The failure mileage was 14000 and the current mileage was 86000.

- Eureak, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 232009

Five Hundred

  • 83,235 miles


I recently took my car in for an oil change and tire rotation only to be advised that I needed rear brake rotors, rear brake pads and brake fluid flush. This is the third time I've replaced the brakes on this vehicle. The vehicle has approx. 83,000 miles on it and I live in the suburbs. I argue with the service tech's every time they insist that the brakes need to be replaced. I can't believe that a car can go through so many brakes in such a short period of time.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #13

Sep 292008

Five Hundred

  • 42,469 miles
2005 Ford 500 rear brake problem. At 42,469 miles a grinding noise came from the rear of the car. Both rear rotors and pads were damaged and needed to be replaced. The front brakes were not worn. Ford does not pay to correct this which is evidently a design problem.

- Franklin, NC, USA

problem #12

Apr 272008

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 38,800 miles
Rear brakes excessive wear.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #11

May 012007

Five Hundred

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My wife received a notice from Ford about a possible safety problem with the rear brakes. The notice was received after the repairs were made and we paid for them.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,500 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact had to replace the rear brakes on his vehicle. He found it to be unusual since the vehicle is front wheel drive and only had 19,500 miles. The mechanic at the dealer stated that they were receiving several complaints regarding the brakes for that make of vehicle. The current mileage is 20,500 and failure mileage was 19,500.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #9

Feb 122007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,736 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While driving 55 mph, the contact heard a noise and pulled into a parking lot. She attempted to drive but was unable to because the rear brakes locked and ruined the rotors. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and was repaired. The current mileage is 19,000 and failure mileage was 17,736. The consumer has provided a copy of the invoice. Updated 05/21/07

- Chatanooga, TN, USA

problem #8

Nov 172006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,976 miles
Subject: Excessive rear brake wear on 2005 Ford Five hundred. New car was purchased from local Ford dealership on April 17, 2005. Rear brake pads were replaced and rotors turned by Ford dealership on April 13, 2006 at 29,976 miles. Ford dealership replaced the rear brake pads and rotors on Nov. 17, 2006 at 46,691 miles. Why did the Ford factory rear brake pads/rotors get 29,976 miles and Ford dealership installed rear brake pad/rotors get only 16,715 miles" pads front: Ford factory installed still on car with 46,691 miles: Left front: Outside 6mm thick inside 8mm thick right front: Outside 6 mm thick inside 8 mm thick pads rear: Ford dealership installed new 0 miles left rear: Outside 8 mm thick inside 10 mm thick right rear: Outside 8mm thick inside 10 mm thick Ford recommended replacement of brake pads is less than 3 mm. The front pads are 6 inches long and the rear pads are only 2 inches long. Why are the rear pads only 1/3 the size of the front pads? the rear wheel rims are always black with excessive brake dust. The front wheel rims have very little brake dust. The rear wheels when jacked up and spun by hand seem to drag on the pads/rotors. Other cars I have will spin by hand 8 to 10 seconds. The Ford 500 will spin only 3 seconds. Is it possible the emergency brakes are the problem for this drag and wear" the Ford dealer is helpful, but Ford warranty is only 18,000 miles/12 months on factory installed brakes, and 12,000/12 months on Ford dealership installed brakes. I have filed a complaint with the Ford Motor Co. Customer relationship center. Their answer was that there are no brake problems. Ford dealership checked with the Ford factory tech and again no brake problems. NHTSA web site has 11 complaints like mine. How can Ford Corp and the Ford dealership tell me there are no rear brake problems with my 2005 Ford Five hundred.

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 222006

Five Hundred Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to put the vehicle in reverse, the rear rotors made a grinding noise with no prior warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop, who replaced the rotors due to brake pad damage. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who stated there was a service bulletin advisory in regards to this matter # 10014650 about the service brakes, hydraulic. The vehicle was on its third set of brake pads.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #6

Sep 152006

Five Hundred

  • 53,000 miles
I have had my rear brakes on my Ford 500 changed twice. Vehicle had 53,000 miles on when second brake job was done. Dealership stated "they are see the rear brakes go about every 20,000 miles. Heavy brake dust and heat around brakes are also a concern.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #5

Sep 222006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Brand new 2005 Ford 500 purchased on September 24 2005 began at 15000 miles with brake problems. Same problem occurred at 30,000 miles. My job is 100% sales and my car is my only revenue provider. At 35,000 car showing problems when hitting the gas, it would not run. At 39,000 miles an electric short circuit. At 39,000 I asked the dealer to recheck the whole car that it was showing transmission and brake problems. At 43,000 miles now is sitting in the Ford dealer where I purchased at since last Friday Sept 22,2006. The Ford dealer mechanical director was inside the car and me test driving it, and could not believe the problems with the transmission. His words were' if this was my car I would not be sitting in it, it's a risk to anyone's life" today, Ford informed me that they have to bring the transmission down and open it. They ask me every time to sign in acceptance they will pay for everything. It is being reported to Consumer Affairs department tomorrow, I have notified the bank who gave me the loan. This does not include all the car rental expenditures I've had to incur in addition to constant repairs prior to car reaching 1 year.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #4

Jun 152006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
My 2005 Ford five-hundred. It does have 56,000 miles but almost all are interstate miles. Rear passenger brake is scraping badly and even making noise going down the road. I suspect a failed system and the pad's on the rotor all the time. Kayser Ford in madison tried to sell me entirely new rear brakes for $400. That's ridiculous. I don't ride the brake. Why are the front brakes okay and the rears gone already on a 2005"?" I suspect a defect. I want it fixed without being gouged.

- Marshall, WI, USA

problem #3

Jun 152006

Five Hundred 8-cyl

  • 3,200 miles
I purchased a new 2005 Ford 500 in mid 2005. I only have 3600 miles on the vehicle. Rear wheels of my vehicle are completely blackened by brake dust that he had. Rear rotors were are deeply grooved and should be repaired or replaced. Shop foreman at dealership showed a release from the Ford engineer division that notified Ford dealers that Ford was aware of the problem. They are investigating the problem and will use different brake pads in the....4th quarter of 2006, but were presently considering the problem to be normal and will not allow any warranty work. The shop foreman admitted that he considered the problem to be an engineering issue, was having problems with other new Ford vehicles, and was going to call Ford engineering about the issue. Shop foreman called June 22, 2006 and advised that Ford was not considering the problem to be a problem and were not going to back any warranty work. I was advised that the ┐┐owner┐'s manual" recommends that the wheels be washed at least once a week. A serious problem and the answer is to wash the wheels once a week? son-in-law also determined that after driving several blocks, the front and rear brake rotors were be incredibly hot. He advised me that the excessive heat could cause my brakes to brakes to fail and me or others could be injured, or worse. ** rear brake pads degrading and rear brake rotors need replaced. Excessive heat in rear rotors.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #2

Jun 082006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Excessive rear brake wear. Rear brakes wore before the front.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #1

Apr 302006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles
: the contact stated while at a stop with the brake pedal depressed, the pedal went completely to the floor without warning. The failure does not affect the performance of the brakes and the vehicle continues to stop within a reasonable distance. The dealer has replaced the master cylinder, the ABS sensor, and has bled the brakes four times in an attempt to remedy the problem. Although the problem is not as severe or as often, it still occurs intermittently.

- Rushmore, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?