Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,562 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Five Hundred engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Aug 122009

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was backing out of a parking space in a parking garage the enigine reved up and jumped hitting a beam in the garage. Upon impact the engine was still reved so I immediately turned the engine off and back on. The engine continued to rev up and the check engine and yellow wrench illuminated. The car was towed to a dealership in which they replaced the throttle body and the car was driven to a local body shop for repairs. Total cost over $1200 yesterday, September 7, 2011, (mileage 108000 and speed from 0-40 mph) as I was driving to work the check engine light came on. Each time I would stop the engine would rev and when I would accelerate it would jump and rev. Not wanting a repeat of the last accident, I took it to a mechanic near work who stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced again along with the engine mount. Total cost $1076 after resaerching this problem it seems that it is a typical issue with this type of vehicle. Most have included that they are fearful that they will be injured or injure someone else in a accident.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #50

Jul 012011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
When going slow like pulling into and out of a parking space or going through school line, car will "surge" or lunge unexpectedly. Very unsafe for the people and vehicles nearby.

- Dickson, TN, USA

problem #49

Oct 252010

Five Hundred

  • 98,000 miles
The vehicle lurches forward and has stalled on a busy street. The car was taken to a mechanic where the owner was told that the problem was the throttle body, but it was safe to drive until the repair could be made. The repair has not yet been made.

- Cotton Valley, LA, USA

problem #48

May 202011

Five Hundred

  • 83,549 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

5/20-7/18/11 car accelerated quickly and lurched backward with brake on while backing out of parking space; wrench light came on. Error codes were for alternative fuel control module and throttle actuator control system. Sometimes car lurched forward while braking, engine revved, car shuddered, and wrench and/or check engine light came on. Started happening almost daily. Very scary and unpredictable. Mass air flow sensor and egr valve were replaced. Had same issues 2 days later. Throttle body and vacuum hoses were replaced. Contacted Ford and they refused to cover parts and labor because car was no longer under warranty. Last repair was done 30 days ago and I've had no more problems, but it cost me $1600 to repair.

- Youngsville, LA, USA

problem #47

Feb 012011

Five Hundred

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that while attempting to park with her foot on the brakes, there was an increase in engine rpms and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred a total of three times prior. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #46

Aug 202011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced sudden acceleration while reversing from a parking space. The vehicle accelerated over a curve and crashed into a fence, fracturing the oil pan. A police report was filed for the incident. The contact had to shift into park in order to get the vehicle to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was told that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. Updated 11/03/11 updated 11/30/11

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #45

Jul 012011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. While attempting to make a right turn, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the check engine warning light illuminated. The dealer did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the throttle body was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 34,601. The approximate failure mileage was 34,500... updated 09/19/11 the consumer stated the throttle body was replaced at a cost of $ $54.30. There has been no further problems. Updated 09/28/11

- Herford, AZ, USA

problem #44

Jun 012011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Five hundred, and it has recently the engine accelerates the vehicle during low speeds in forward and reverse, while approaching an intersection with foot on brake. This has happens continuously. I am not sure what to do. I have read the other complaints and it seems that Ford is not interested in solving the problem. Read more: www.faqs.org/car/Ford-five-hundred-2006/fuel-system/#recalls_0#ixzz1U0A0pmoy

- Santa Fe, TX, USA

problem #43

Nov 202009

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I have a 06' Ford Five hundred that I purchased certified used in 07'. within a few months I started experiencing surging problems especially when the A/C was running. The dealer replaced the instrument cluster in 08' but did not fix the problem. On each return to the dealership they could not fix the problem. On my last visit to the dealer they cleaned the throttle body and said that would fix the problem. This did not fix the problem and they could not diagnose the problem. This problem has caused me to rearend a vehicle in 2009. Ford is not responding to the problem at all. After 3+ years of trying to figure out what the problem is I all but have given up. That is until today when the repair shop that I use on a regular basis hired a new mechanic who was able to diagnose the problem. The problem turns out to be the throttle position sensors in the throttle body. It took the mechanic over 2 hours to get to the bottom of the problem. The unfortunate thing is the cost of a new throttle body is over $500 then add labor. If I have the throttle body replaced there is no guarantee from Ford that the new throttle body won't do the same thing. It is obvious that Ford has a problem with the throttle body and is not willing to resolve the issue and back their products.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #42

Jul 042011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Ford Five hundred surging at low speed when putting into drive and reverse. This problem gas occurred on many occasions with near misses on parking and pedestrians and my research has found it to be an issue with the throttle body control. When is this Agency going to help the consumer in a case against Ford"? its been happening since 2005 on many of theses models??"

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #41

Jul 182011

Five Hundred

  • 67,673 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated as she accelerated from a traffic light the vehicle would suddenly accelerate causing the rpms to increase excessively. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed the throttle body as being defective. The repair cost was $900. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 67,673.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #40

Jul 122011

Five Hundred

  • 81,000 miles
While putting the Ford Five hundred in reverse the car briefly accelerated and lunged backwards barley missing another car. Thinking I might had hit the accelerator I went on to where I was headed. As I was leaving my destination once again the car just took off while in reverse. The car then gave a wrench fault on the console. I looked up the issue in the manual and it said it was a throttle control issue. I spoke with the dealer today and they said it was a throttle body problem. Upon investigation I find that this is a recurring issue. If someone had been within 3 to 5 feet of my auto I would have hit them.

- Pleasanton, KS, USA

problem #39

Jul 102011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
2006 Ford Five hundred sel on several occasions our 2006 Ford Five hundred has accelerated while pulling into a parking spot in a parking lot or into our garage. This usually occurs while our foot is on the brake at idle speed. Acceleration varies from mild to very noticeable by the passengers. Concerned about hitting pedestrians or other vehicles or losing control of vehicle.

- Perry, GA, USA

problem #38

Jun 152011

Five Hundred

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle came to a complete stop while the brake pedal was engaged and the vehicle lunged forward with hesitation. The identical failure occurred fifteen times. During the most recent failure, the engine warning indicator illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the throttle body assembly would need to be replaced. The contact planned to have the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Franklinton, NC, USA

problem #37

Jul 022011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 113,702 miles
My 2006 Ford Five hundred will suddenly lunge forward then sputter and die. It will also do this when backing out of parking spots. There is a brief "wrench" dash light that comes on. This has happened while sitting at red lights and could be deadly. Code says failed throttle body. Why no part recall? widespread problems have been reported on the web and apparently the same part is still being used. Please look into this before lives are lost.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #36

May 262011

Five Hundred

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that when putting the vehicle in reverse, the engine would exhibit an unusual increase in rpms of up to 2500 and the vehicle would lunge in reverse. The vehicle would also lunge forward when attempting to park the vehicle. A local mechanic diagnosed that the throttle body needed replacing but the failure was not repaired. The failure mileage was 79,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #35

Jan 132011

Five Hundred

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Five hundred. The contact stated that when shifting from park to drive or reverse, the vehicle would lunge forward or backward and then abnormally accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated there were no failures and the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was contacted who stated he should take the vehicle to the dealer and offered no other assistance. The contact stated that the vehicle had been taken to the dealer twice but was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Mabelton , GA, USA

problem #34

Jun 042011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 70,134 miles
No injuries...yet. However, our 2006 Ford Five hundred accelerates for no apparent reason at all. It does it when going forward or reverse and will stop by either tapping the accelerator pedal or turning off the car and restarting it. I will be bringing the car in for service this week, but just want to bring this problem to your attention as it seems other individuals have reported the same situation.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #33

May 152011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Car lunges when coming to a stop or backing. Took car in for an oil change and brake job. When I picked my car up, it was running rough sometimes stalling when letting off the accelerator. In addition to spontaneously lurching forward, the engine will race when put into park. I have come close to hitting other cars, parking garage walls, etc due to this problem. My dealership now is telling me the throttle body is not within the proper parameters and needs replacement. After some research this seems to be a common problem.

- Lowry Crossing, TX, USA

problem #32

Jan 012009

Five Hundred

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated the vehicle would momentarily surge forward while driving approximately 5 mph or with the brakes engaged. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the throttle body was replaced. The failure had not recurred since. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Platte City, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?