Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,937 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Five Hundred engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Jun 152011

Five Hundred

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the entire instrument panel warning indicators illuminated until the engine was turned off. Also, when approaching a stop signal, the brake pedal was applied and the vehicle began to lunge forward unintendedly. The failures occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who replaced the alternator. The failure persisted. The vehicle was then taken to a different auto shop for a diagnosis. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to the throttle position sensor. The dealer was notified and they stated that the part was on a massive back order. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #45

Jul 282008

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,887 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that when shifting out of the park position with the brake pedal engaged, the vehicle would unexpectedly lunge. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and an authorized dealer, who both stated that the throttle body would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 79,887 updated 7/12/12 the consumer stated the engine would rev up and then the vehicle would lunge forward or backward when shifting from park or neutral or from reverse to drive. Even when the brake was applied, the vehicle would accelerate. The dealer replaced the throttle body. Updated 07/24/12

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #44

Mar 152012

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
For several months car has been lunging forward without my foot on the gas. A couple weeks ago while pulling into my driving way it lunged and the car ran into my concrete steps causing 3,500 worth of damage. This is very dangerous and could have been one of my daughters. I really hope you take this seriously because once lives are lost you can't get them back. I just want Ford to fess up and to take responsibility for this problem, so I may get it fixed and not kill or injure anyone.

- Saint Joseph, MO, USA

problem #43

Jan 162012

Five Hundred

  • 124,795 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact was braking from 15 mph when the vehicle jerked forward with the brakes applied. The vehicle was parked and turned off for several hours and the contact was unable to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they advised that the throttle body needed replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 124,795.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #42

Mar 012010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The vehicle will speed up on its own. This vehicle has been doing this several times. It seems to have a mind of its own. My wife has named the car [xxx] and she won't drive it anymore. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #41

Jun 012011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge backward when reversing out of parking spaces. The vehicle would also lunge forward when driving out of parking spaces. The vehicle had not been inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 87,000. Updated 04/11/12 updated 05/10121

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #40

Mar 232011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Some months ago, my car started to oscillate in ralenti from 700 to below 500 RPM, when braking even stops. Some times decelerate suddenly, frequently slow response when accelerate, etc. Ford local dealer told me this is a regular problem with this throttle body on this engine models, and I have to replace it. I am aware this is a common issue on 3.0L V6 engines due to I have a friend with a montego 2005 with same problems. So far, no Ford company recall was advised. I do not agree into replace this part, should be Ford responsibility.

- Queretaro, PR, USA

problem #39

Jan 102012

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited several instances of unintended acceleration. The contact stated that the failure occurred when the vehicle was placed into drive or reverse and also when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 60,000. Updated 03/16/12 the consumer stated the vehicle lunged forward when he shifted the gear from park to drive or from park to reverse. It caused a loud banging noise in the transmission. Updated 05/10/12

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #38

Nov 182009

Five Hundred

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. While driving approximately 25 mph, the brake pedal was engaged and the vehicle began to accelerate abnormally. The vehicle eventually came to a stop after the second attempt. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed the throttle body would need to be replaced. The vehicle was currently being repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified of the malfunction. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Montgomery Village , MD, USA

problem #37

Dec 142011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
At a stoplight with the brake on the engine revved up and the car jumped forward about 20 feet before I could stop it. At the next light the same thing happened. At my final destination approximately 2 miles away my son (who was with me the whole time = I was taking him back to college) told me to let the car run to see if it would do it again. With the car in drive and my foot on the brake (hard) it revved up 2 more times in less than 2 minutes to at least 1500 RPM and was very difficult to hold back. I took it in to the dealer the next day and they replaced the throttle body at a cost of $800. After calling Ford and reporting the situation they refused to document this or make a case number until I told them I knew there was a technical bulletin on this according to the dealer. They gave me a case number [xxx] but were rude to me and could not answer if the replacement part addressed the issue and has been fixed. I do not know if it will happen in the next mile, next 100,000 miles, or never again if they will not say if replacement parts have corrected a problem. If a car or pedestrian were in front of me when this happened I would have had an accident without doubt. This car has a safety problem and the incident happened on Nov. 27, 2011. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lenoir, NC, USA

problem #36

Apr 042011

Five Hundred

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Five hundred started lurching or lunging when placed in gear. From a parked position.. the car lurched back into the wall of the carport crushing the back bumper. On another occasion the car lurched when the door was open and knocked into the carport post. Very dangerous.

- Chuluota, FL, USA

problem #35

Sep 212011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 50,458 miles
Defective throttle body causing "lunging issues" almost had three accidents, just from the lunging. Once I let off the gas pedal the car would turn off, dealer advised that it due to a defective throttle body that they will replace costing me $900.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #34

Sep 252011

Five Hundred

  • 35,000 miles
This car has lunged forward and backward almost causing several accidents. Dealership say they don't know what is causing it. Warranty is worthless. Air conditioner went out when temp's were over 105 degrees. Over $1000 to repair.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #33

Sep 232011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 139,124 miles
Car will "jump" when shifting into drive or reverse gears!! sometimes the car wont immediately accelerate when applying gas. Was told my multiple mechanics that I was the throttle body control causing this but Ford wont do anything about this!!

- Georgetown, SC, USA

problem #32

Nov 162010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
In November of 2010 my 2007 Ford 500 began to "leap" foward or backward after shifting from park to reverse or drive. This action has continued for the following months. It seems to be happening more and more often. In may of 2011 it "lunged" when I was backing out of my driveway causing damage to both my vehicle and my husbands who was parked near me. I took it to the dealership today after it "lunged" in a parking lot last week almost hitting a child walking by. I assumed it was the transmission. However, I am told it's a bad electronic throttle body and is not covered under the powertrain warranty. I am told it will go out sometime, there isn't any way of knowing when but it will go into "fail safe mode". after searching online I see Ford had a recall on this part that included models older then mine. The problem isn't fixed as many Ford owners are experiencing the same problem.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #31

Jul 042011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
When car is in either drive or reverse and the car is idling then the car will lung and almost caused numerous accidents.

- Chesterland, OH, USA

problem #30

Sep 042011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
We have had the car for about 3 years now, the car surges a little when it is put into gear (drive, reverse), more recently the car has begun to surge and or lunge sometimes dangerously when the car is stopped. (not all the time, randomly) I have researched this issue on the internet and I have discovered that its not covered under any Ford warranty. I haven't found a definitive solution for this issue either.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #29

Aug 312011

Five Hundred

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated abnormally after braking to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic but found no failure. The dealer was contacted who advised that there was a design flaw within the throttle body that was causing the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that they were unable to provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Brookville, LA, USA

problem #28

Aug 122010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 69,886 miles
2007 Ford Five hundred, in July/August of 2010, at around 70,000 miles, began to have irregular acceleration and would lunge forward while braking or at a complete stop with brake pedal pushed all the way to the floor board. Had the dealership run the diagnosis, was told it was the throttle body and it needed replacing. Had the repair work done at the dealership on August 12, 2010. On August 30, 2011, took my car back to the dealership after having the same problem repeat, only more aggressive from the first incident just two days ago, even as I pulled into the dealerships service parking space. Was told they will have to diagnosis the problem again, nothing is under warranty. I am just over the 12 months, and at about 30,000 miles after the repair was done last year. Warranty or not, this repair should have lasted the life of the car or at least another 70,000 miles, not 30,000. I didn't have the dealership keep the old throttle body. The warranty company had told me last year that the part, the throttle body was on back order, but the dealership had no problem getting the part, supposedly. I'm concerned the part wasn't replaced, but I have no evidence of such. I have noticed each time, the problem is worse after I have the car idling for a time before putting in gear, reverse or drive. Repair order detail - internal copy reads "inspected and tested vehicle for accelerating without a command. Ran self test to retrieve pass codes. Installed monitor and fuel pressure gauge to road test. Testing resulted finding the throttle motor binding intermediately. The throttle body was removed to inspect and replace. The processor was reprogrammed and retested to verify operation." I had to pay for fuel injection service, replace fuel filter, which I was told I needed to have done with the repair/replacement of the throttle body.

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

problem #27

Jan 092011

Five Hundred

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that while in reverse, the vehicle suddenly surged backward and crashed into a wall. The contact also stated that the vehicle and the wall did not suffer much damage from the crash. No injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where the contact was informed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the throttle body. The contact also stated that defective throttle bodies were a known issue among this year, make, and model vehicle. The failure mileage was 83,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?