Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,129 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Five Hundred transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments

problem #17

Jun 202007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,561 miles


The transmission will engage the engine and leap forward without giving it any gas. No creep, just leaps forward several yards... updated 08-27-12

- Elkhaart, IN, USA

problem #16

Jan 102012

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited several instances of unintended acceleration. The contact stated that the failure occurred when the vehicle was placed into drive or reverse and also when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 60,000. Updated 03/16/12 the consumer stated the vehicle lunged forward when he shifted the gear from park to drive or from park to reverse. It caused a loud banging noise in the transmission. Updated 05/10/12

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #15

Nov 162010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
In November of 2010 my 2007 Ford 500 began to "leap" foward or backward after shifting from park to reverse or drive. This action has continued for the following months. It seems to be happening more and more often. In may of 2011 it "lunged" when I was backing out of my driveway causing damage to both my vehicle and my husbands who was parked near me. I took it to the dealership today after it "lunged" in a parking lot last week almost hitting a child walking by. I assumed it was the transmission. However, I am told it's a bad electronic throttle body and is not covered under the powertrain warranty. I am told it will go out sometime, there isn't any way of knowing when but it will go into "fail safe mode". after searching online I see Ford had a recall on this part that included models older then mine. The problem isn't fixed as many Ford owners are experiencing the same problem.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #14

Jun 062011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


I have a 2007 Ford 500 that started surging forward and backward. I took the car and my extended warranty to a Ford dealership only to learn that the dealer that I bought the car from had back-dated my warranty to the time the car was put in service. (I had purchased the car as a "program" car.) my warranty had run out according to them 6 days before I took it to the dealership. I wrote a letter to Ford and they refused to honor it even though I thought I had purchased a 5 year, 100,000 mile warranty. The car is still surging forward and backward and Ford refuses to do anything. I will never purchase another Ford product. I have owned Lincoln and Ford all of my life and I will never get another one. I cannot believe Ford refuses to take care of their customers. This is obviously a safety hazard that Ford needs to repair. Seeing all of the complaints that people have sent in, Ford knows that they are in the wrong and still they do nothing.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 102010

Five Hundred

  • 49,226 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle received repairs for an intermittent loss of communication between the trans control and the onboard computer. After repairs, the contact stated that the vehicle would abnormally accelerate sporadically. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the dealer was unable to diagnose the exact cause of failure. The dealer then updated the PCM and made no further repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,226, and the current mileage was 43,623.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #12

Jul 212011

Five Hundred

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostics, where the technicians stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The failure continued after the repairs were performed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technicians stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #11

Jul 192011

Five Hundred

  • 115,000 miles


The vehicle lunges forward on its own power. The gas pedal is not pressed and it is not obstructed by any foreign or manufactured object. This has resulted in many near crashes.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #10

Jun 142011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 53,400 miles
2007 Ford Five hundred sel accelerating and lunging while pulling into a parking spot, garage, or drive-thru lane. Occurs in drive and in reverse. Sudden acceleration lunges the car several feet and has caused several near-miss incidents. Can't park too close to another car in parking lot or garage or pull up behind another car very close at a red light for fear of car lunging into the car in front. Very scary not being able to control this. Afraid to coast into parking spot without foot on brake for fear of hitting someone or some thing.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 032011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
In September 2010 (at 42K miles), my 2007 Ford Five hundred sel started to suddenly lurch forward or backward when shifted from park, especially if the front end was sitting higher. When this happened, the wrench and check engine icons would light up and the car lost 95% of its power. Turning off the engine for 30 seconds or so would cause the wrench icon to turn off, but the check engine icon would stay lit. The car would drive normally and the check engine light would turn off overnight. After this happened several times, a Ford dealer said that itwas the tcm module which wasn't covered by my extended warranty. I paid $1000 to have the tcm replaced by a certified Ford mechanic. In April 2011 the car began to repeat the same symptoms. I've had the car to 3 Ford dealers, but they all say they can't do anything unless the car is actually malfunctioning at the time. I was passing another vehicle on a 2 lane highway recently when the last incident occurred. Fortunately, I was able to get back into my lane before meeting an oncoming car. I say fortunately because the car loses all power until the wrench icon goes out! this is a tremendous safety hazard and I don't understand why Ford is "stonewalling". didn't they learn from Toyota's brake issues?

- Morrison, IL, USA

problem #8

May 182011

Five Hundred

  • 91,000 miles
2007 Ford 500 transmission problem. Driving on interstate and the transmission starts to buck out of the blue. Cannot pass people on normal roads or barely make it up hills, acceleration is very slow. Failure occurs every time the car is driven, getting worse every day. It used to occur at higher speeds, now it is happening anywhere above 30mph. Have not done anything to correct problem, been reading up on it; and everyone has the problem and there is no "cheap" fix yet.

- Saint Leo, MN, USA

problem #7

Aug 202010

Five Hundred

  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Five hundred. The contact attempted to start the vehicle but it would not shift into drive or reverse. The gear shift knob moved and the engine revved but the gears would not change. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer who was able to get the gears to change but could determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 40,200.

- Kaiser, MO, USA

problem #6

Jan 032011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Car lurches at inappropriate times. This occurs mostly when putting it into reverse from park.

- Searcy, AR, USA

problem #5

Jan 152010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Car: 2007 Ford 500 limited. Moving shift lever from park to reverse or to drive, after about 1 second the car "lurches" forward or backward. I keep the brake locked down when changing gears for several seconds until im sure it wont jump but I have to remember to do it. This is dangerous. When this first started happening, I almost ran over someone. I hope you can identify the problem and let me know or have Ford put out a safety recall and a fix for the problem. Thanks

- Granite Falls, WA, USA

problem #4

Mar 012010

Five Hundred

  • 65,000 miles
Car: 2007 Ford 500 limited. Moving shift lever from park to reverse or to drive, after about 1 second the car "lurches" forward or backward. I keep the brake locked down when changing gears for several seconds until I'm sure it won't jump.this is dangerous. When this first started happening, I almost ran over someone in a parking lot as I wanted to back out of a parking spot. I took this in for service and mentioned it to the service manager. As he drove the car around to the back, he said he noticed it too and asked the transmission man to look it over. Since I was having the transmission oil changed, he thought it might be related to old fluid. (car had about 70K miles at the time). Its about 5K miles since the service and the caris as bad or worse than it has ever been. I believe the problem is related to the computer getting a wrong signal from one of the throttle sensors and causing the engine to surge. Dealer said he had not seen the problem before and didn't know what to do. The problem is still occurring but since only my wife and I drive the car, we are compensating by holding the brake for several seconds after moving the shift lever. I hope you can identify the problem and let me know or have Ford put out a safety recall and a fix for the problem. Thanks

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #3

Mar 202010

Five Hundred

  • 40,000 miles
My wife has a 2007 Ford 500. Since 40K miles, she's had continous problems with the vehicle surging at inappropriate times. I also had a 2007 model 500 as a company car. I began experiencing the same problems in/around the same mileage. Several other people with our company were also driving 500's and experienced the same problems. Ford sent a representative to green Ford in greensboro, nc and diagnosed the problem as the electronic throttle body. The vehicles were repaired out of warranty. The problem has gotten progressively worse. As a result and after the vehicle almost surged into our daughter, I took my wife's car to the Ford dealership today. The service rep acknowledged "some problems" with the throttle body, but advised it was not a problem in all vehicles. I told him about the same problems with my 500 and the problems with the other company cars. I even offered to provide him the name and contact information for the other dealership, but was told they were in a "different district" and had a different reprsentative. I asked if they communicated with each other to which I received an intelligeible response. I work as an insurance investigator and will ensure this problem is not overlooked. I've almost wrecked the car 3 times in our carport and parking lots as a result of sudden surge. It appears Toyota is not the only car company with sudden surges and/or problems with throttle problems. We've been fortunate that nobody has been injured, but I don't believe someone should be hurt or worse before a company does the right thing and takes a proactive response to a known problem. Thank you.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 032009

Five Hundred

  • 38,000 miles
Engine idle speed is excessive at intermittent intervals while transmission is in reverse, causes vehicle to inadvertently accelerate at inappropriate speeds. Local repair shop scanned vehicles repair codes, determined it to be a transmission failure. Authorized dealership, said nothing was wrong with the vehicle after they scanned it. Vehicle, went into a "creep mode" immediately following one of the instances, but the computer reset itself after several minutes.

- Coal City, WV, USA

problem #1

Oct 062008

Five Hundred

  • 150,000 miles
It started out as a loud thump that rocked the car when shifting into gear... that has continued but now it also when accelerating hesitates then you hear the thump and then it will accelerate. I have had this at my dealership 3 times now and they refuse to fix it. They continually say the cannot "recreate" the problem. I also have a airleak in the car that is so loud you cannot hear the radio when driving on a interstate. They are blaming that on the antenna on the outside of the car. I have less then 20,000 miles on this car and a extended warranty. I have no idea what to do to make them fix it. I worry about the safety of this, I have a newborn and am afraid if it is the transmission, which it sounds like, that it could seize up and possibly cause a accident.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?