Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,222 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments

problem #20

Oct 012003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles


The contact had to replace the brake pads, calipers and rotors at 30,000 miles in October 2003. Then at 47,000 miles on July 29. 2005. The brake pads wore out and the rotors rusted and pitted. The service dealer stated this was normal. The consumer has contacted the manufacturer.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 102005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles
I have replaced my rotors and brakes 3 times already and now they are starting to make that sound again where it starts to drag. I just replaced my brakes in may of 2004 and I have only driven it 8,000 miles. I still have 4,000 miles left on the warranty. I took it in to bill pierre Ford and they told me it was normal to have this niose and that there is plenty of brake left. I am thinking that they are wanting me to drive it until the warranty is up so I will have to replace the rotors and brake pads and pay out of my pocket instead of just replaceing them now! I am very irritated now cause I can not get any help and it is going to cost me another $600 dollars!! I have already replaced them 3 times out of my pocket. What the hell is going on with Ford how can they get away with this!

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #18

Feb 012003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Brakes have had to be replaced twice in the past year. Dealership refuses to replace them the second time. Brakes are totally unsafe.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #17

Oct 262004


  • 360,000 miles


Rear brake pads had to be replaced by the dealership because the consumer would hear a squeaking noise when braking.

- Coats, NC, USA

problem #16

Apr 062004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The consumer stated that the front brake pads on the vehicle were wearing out prematurely. The consumer stated that the pads were wearing down at less than 8000 miles. The dealer stated that it was normal wear for this type of brake pad.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #15

Jul 192004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,550 miles
Vehicle was making loud grinding sounds when brake was engaged, so I took it to dealer to have it checked and was told that brake pads and rotors were worn and would have to be replaced. Parts were not replaced because, according to Ford, this is normal wear. At 32,500 miles, rotor damage is not normal wear, especially when grinding sound begins once failure has occurred.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #14

Jul 072003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles


I have a Ford Focus SE 2001 and there is a design flaw in the front brake pads. The pads are not sufficient enough to support the weight of this vehicle, therefore the brakes are wearing at a rapid rate in 8 to 10,000 miles. I had an accident in July of 2003 because the brakes wore almost gone and I could not stop in time and hit a vehicle in front of me. The brakes on the Focus need to be investigated and I am sure I am not the only owner who is having problems. So far Ford has replaced my brakes twice and my car has 33,000 miles. Now they are lying to me and telling me my brakes are fine and I know that they need to be replaced, but they won't do it again under warranty. I have service records to prove that the brakes have been a problem since I bought the car. Please investigate this problem these should be recalled and Ford needs to design a brake pad to support the weight of this vehicle. This is a serious issue and I could not prove my accident was a result of these faulty brakes.

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #13

May 132003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,411 miles
On 11-12-2001 I purchased a new Ford Focus at a Ford dealership. On 5-13-03, the front wheels began to make a loud grinding noise and the brakes failed to operate normally. The car had only 18411 miles on it and when taken to the dealership where it was purchased, they said the brake pads and rotors were shot and needed to be replaced. I complained that no vehicle brake systems should fail that early at that low mileage but the dealership would not assist me in any way, instead charging me $469.57. The vehicle was not misused and was driven under normal conditions by mature drivers. This year/model Ford Focus was manufactured poorly and I have read of numerous other complaints about this vehicle. There was a problem when Ford built the car and they should be held responsible for correcting the problem.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 032003


  • miles
The vehicles brakes squeaked frequently. The dealer stated that the front pads needed to be replaced at 37000 miles. The consumer stated it is to early to change pads. Both tires also need to be replaced.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #11

Sep 032003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,125 miles
Problem with the 2001 Ford Focus brakes!!! many complaints.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 292003


  • 2,001 miles


Consumer states that since purchasing the vehicle rear brake pads wore out at 8000 miles. Front rotors and pads have been replaced twice. Once at 12000 miles, and 34000 miles. Needs to replace them again.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 122002

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Purchased the car in October 17th 2002. I drive usually highway to work on a straight road. My brakes squealed frequently. Changed brake pads and rotors at 19700 miles at the inspections. They started to squeal noisely again 31500 miles. There is always dust in the front wheels. Probably next year, I need to replace them around 38-39 thousand for the second time.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 192003


  • 21,000 miles
The rotors and pads had to be replaced at a low mileage......

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 142003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles
Front disc brake pads are worn and must be replaced after 15,000 miles. Ford dealer claims the premature wear is normal and not covered by warranty. The vehicle is driven gently in a combination of city and open road driving, without any unusual braking requirements. We live near some mountains, but this vehicle is almost never driven in the mountains. There have been no unusual events that might have damaged the brakes. Therefore the pad and/or rotor are defective in design or manufacturer. There is no way that total wear of the brakes should occur in only 15,000 miles of normal driving.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 212003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,400 miles
Front brakes and rotor with premature wear

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #5

Oct 152002


  • 15,000 miles
Vehicles' brake pad deteriorated, they were only at 20% stated the mechanic.

- Morrisville, PA, USA

problem #4

Dec 202002

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 16,950 miles
I own a 2001 Ford Focus ZX3. I have put 17,100 miles on it since its purchase in may, 2001. At the last service, just before christmas of 2002, the Ford mechanic at price Ford in millington, tn. Stated that my front brakes & rotors would have to be replaced soon. There is no way on earth this amount of wear and tear can occur on a car with only 17,100 miles! I have owned 9 automobiles in my life and I have never heard of brakes wearing out in under 20,000 miles! this must be a defect, or engineering mistake with Ford's brakes! I initially thought the mechanic was high or something because there's no way the brakes can be worn out, but I have nearly wrecked 3 times since then due specifically to the brakes having no affect on the speed of the car. I'm looking at a minimum of $400 to get new rotors and pads and labor to install the new parts. This is crazy! you need to investigate this to see why me and many others are experiencing these issues!

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #3

Apr 162002


  • miles
Brakes made noise at 2057miles on 6/22/01 - dealership advised me after inspection "cold pads" - brakes made noise at 2383 miles on 7/3/01 - dealer advised me after inspection "glazed pads" - now at 16,000 miles - (always made noise) brake pads gone - rotors ruined - (tom rivers) at dealership refuses to replace.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #2

Aug 152001


  • miles
Purchased car in December 2000 within days brakes squealing and grinding..called dealer said to let wear in..problem persisted..engine light came on..took car to nearest D January 2001..brakes shoes back and pads on front replaced. Oxygen sensor, and parking brake replaced..brakes still had problem engine light still on..took to dealership where purchased..kept 12 days..brakes adjusted and computor and ignition were replaced..light off..brakes still trouble..took back numerous times..for 16,000 told brakes need to be replaced in front and tires where all worn away on inside of tire..bald!!..manufactor and dealer would not pay for..replaced all four tires, alignment, and new brakes put on front still not right with brakes..shaking violently of car while braking at any speed. Or going downhill.took back to dealership rotors were no good as well as front brakes. They replaced..inner tires already wearing out...brakes still giving noise and grinding..took back within month..they said fine..took back again when oil changed..brakes where said to be fine..brakes noisy and grinding as usual..3 weeks later brakes failed..had car towed to dealership....they state needs new brakes on front and backshoes cracked and need new rotors...they keep saying its the way we drive way..never had this much problem with any brakes in any car we have is very unsafe and made with inferior products.. (tiresize: 15)

- Middletown, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 012001


  • miles
Stopping distance has increased, and brake pads are wearing out at only 13000 miles. Contacted dealer.

- Bronx, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?