Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,650 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Mar 252007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 70 mph the engine hesitated, sputtered, and completely shut off. The engine warning light illuminated immediately afterwards. The contact stated that the engine was warm and there was approximately 1/4 of a tank of gas in the vehicle. He had to wait approximately 5 minutes before he was able to restart the vehicle. A defect investigation recall campaign # 03V482000 included similar symptoms. The dealer stated that the failure was the fuel pump. The fuel pump was replaced, and no other failures have occurred. The current mileage is 40,500 and failure mileage was 39,800.ak

- Devon, PA, USA

problem #119

Jan 032007

Focus

  • Manual transmission
  • 47,312 miles
Driving on highway, 45 mph...5:30 am mst...no indication of any problem. Vehicle driving smoothly, no sputters and no indicator lights. Drove my son to his workplace approximately 20 miles and on the way home, vehicle simply stalled, jerked and as I stepped on the gas....nothing. Cars swerved around me as I struggled to pull off to the right. I was nearly hit by three different vehicles. It was very dark and I was alone in the car. I managed to walk to a gas station/store and called my daughter. Her husband helped me tow the vehicle to kearns auto center near where the car had stalled. The fuel pump had to be replaced. Manager advised that the fuel pump shield was a 2002 addition, even though vehicle was sold and manuals distributed was for a 2001 Ford Focus. The shield had allowed gas to leak until it totally destroyed the fuel pump itself. There was no disclosure, vehicle was bought brand new with 8 miles showing. Manual and care schedule was for that of a 2001. Vehicle mileage at the time of incident was 47,312 miles...Ford customer service, and two dealers in the salt lake city area were notified of the situation, none have responded.

- Kearns, UT, USA

problem #118

Dec 202006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Continually stalling of the engine vehicle while driving, hard to start as it will stall during startup. It began just stalling for a second about once a week at the most. Now when I drive it, it does it about every 10 seconds. It has lead to my car failing to speed up, the engine kicking and stalling while driving and the car altogether failing to drive while on a busy highway. It is now nearly undrivable. The car will be looked at in the following week but Ford says that while they have recall for the problem on the same year and model of vehicle, it does not include my vehicle because of the manufactured date.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #117

Nov 092006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As in NHTSA campaign id # 03V482000, my 2001 Ford Focus stalls when the fuel tank is less than 1/3 full, the vehicle is accelerating, and turning to the right. Ford will not fix the problem because they claim to have reached a solution on vehicles assembled after June 13, 2001. My vehicle was assembled June 19, 2001. Since it exhibits the same symptoms, they had not corrected the problem by June 13, 2001. According to NHTSA documents Ford didn't start installing redesigned fuel pumps until sometime in 2004. NHTSA should require Ford to extend the program to all Focus vehicles that used the poorly designed fuel pump and display failure symptoms.

- Walpole, MA, USA

problem #116

Sep 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle's fuel pump had failed 4 times, which caused a loss of power followed by stalling. The contact mentioned recall number 03V482000 (Ford recall 03N01), for the fuel filter, but did not contact the manufacturer to see if the VIN was included.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #115

Aug 282006

Focus

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I have a 2001 Ford Focus -- clogging of the fuel delivery module (FDM) filters in the subject vehicles leaded to stalling and other related symptoms. These symptoms become increasingly obvious to the driver as the clogging gradually increases over extended periods of driving. Stalling in these vehicles is most likely to occur when accelerating through a right hand turn such as merging into freeway traffic when the fuel level in the fuel tank is less than 1/4 full.

- Brno, Czech Republik, 00, USA

problem #114

Aug 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2001 Ford Focus. For several years we have been chasing a fuel system or electronic system bug in-which this car for some reason stalls. Our Ford dealer has been checking the spark, fuel injector and other systems looking for the stalling issue. It seems like it would stall only when you teen drivers were behind the wheel, only happens in the summer and always on crowded highways in rush hour traffic. Tuesday we goggled Ford Focus fuel pump and found that Ford won a lawsuit not to recall 2000-2002 Focus for stalling issues related to the fuel system. We are shocked that Ford would put that many drivers at risk. The Focus being a cheap small car is driven by mostly young inexperienced drivers. My kids have had this car stall several times on the busy interstate around milwaukee and green bay. Our local dealer replaced the bad parts N/C but the point is that lives were put at risk. If a Focus is run over by a semi because of stalling out in traffic, who would know the real issue or be able to recreate the circumstances that lead to the accident. The little car and driver would be crushed.

- Pulaski, WI, USA

problem #113

Jul 172006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
Vehicle starts surging and losing power 2 days later, vehicle stalls in left turn lane and continues at every stop(I have to double peddle to keep vehicle running). Found recall on NHTSA website take vehicle to dealership however, I am told that my vehicle doesn't fall under NHTSA: 03V482000. I am filing this complaint to have the plant my vehicle was built in to be re-evaluated I am having the same exact problem that the recall describes.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #112

May 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Focus ZX3. My wife and I were on a cross-country move from Michigan to Arizona. We were in New Mexico (in the middle of the desert) when the vehicle began to jerk/pulse at 70 mph, and then the vehicle proceeded to stall. All vital systems were fine. Oil was okay. We had a little more than half a tank of gas. The engine was not overheating. We proceeded to drive at 35 mph to the closest Ford dealership which was jack key, in deeming, New Mexico. They did a diagnostic, and came to the conclusion that it was the fuel pump and filter. They were able to repair the vehicle, but we had to stay in town overnight. After the incident, I thought that it was a little bit bazaar that a car less than ten years of age would loose it's fuel pump and it had just over 78,000 miles on the car. I began to do some of my own research and found that my vehicle was manufactured in August of 2001. In June of 2001, they started to change the fuel pumps. So any car made before June was recalled, but however, mine was not since the car came off the line in August. So, nicely enough, I'm left with a hefty bill...and if it was made only 2 months earlier, Ford would have replaced the part for free. Maybe Ford didn't weed out all of their issues with the 2001 fuel pump??

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #111

Mar 312006

Focus

  • 94,484 miles
2001 Focus fuel pump failed. The fuel pump failed while the vehicle was being driven and had to be towed to the dealer. The service dept manager shared a recall with the consumer which was given to them Jan 2004 regarding a recall of the fuel pump. The consumer never received that recall notice. The dealer replaced the fuel pump free of charge. The consumer requested reimbursement.

- New Stanton, PA, USA

problem #110

Feb 232006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took vehicle in for replacement of fuel pump that was on recall program number 03N01 due to having the vehicle stall on me twice in a single day. Dealership did replace fuel pump but stated the stalling problem was due to the pvc valve was collapse and shutting off the air supply to the engine. That had to be replace at my expense at a cost of over $200.

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #109

Jan 202006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle shuts off while driving. There are no warning lights and this occurs at various speeds. An independent repair shop determined the fuel pump needs to be replaced. The contact received a recall letter, #03V482000, for the filter in the fuel delivery module. The recall work has not been performed, because the dealership inspected the vehicle and determined this vehicle is not having the problem associated with the recall.

- Rio Grande City, TX, USA

problem #108

Dec 132005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 72,000 miles
I own a 2001 Ford Focus that I purchased in Nov. Of 2001. I have had intermittent stalling problems with this car starting about 2 yrs ago. I have replaced fuel filter, spark plugs etc assuming these were the causes of the problem. About 2 weeks ago, I was driving on I-90 in New York state when the car suddenly stalled while driving at about 65 mph. I was forced to pull off the road from the passing lane with a tractor trailer behind me. Fortunately, that driver was able to avoid me. I was able to limp off the road at an exit about 1/4 mile down the road. I filled the car with gas and the symptoms went away. The car was below 1/4 tank of gas at the time. I have had one more episode of this problem a few months ago on another trip (also below 1/4 tank of gas). I filled the car with gas and changed the spark plugs at that time. However, that situation did not involve a near miss of an accident. In my research of the problem, I discovered this is a common problem with Ford Focus vehicles. My car was made in the "interim period" mentioned on the NHTSA website. I contacted Ford's customer service line, but was told my vehicle was not involved in the service bulletin although my symptoms seem to be identical. I typically keep my tank filled except on longer trips which probably hid the symptoms up to this time. At this point, it appears that the fuel pump will need to be replaced.

- Avondale, PA, USA

problem #107

Oct 052005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Focus problems problem 1 - in the past, whenever I would transition between freeways, my car would begin to stall. I push the gas pedal, and nothing would happen for at least 10 - 15 seconds. It happened mostly on a circular on ramp. And I think this problem lead to the next issue. Problem 2 - I had to replace the fuel pump (which was expensive). I think this issue happened due to this statement I read "NHTSA investigators said the alleged engine stall problem may be caused by debris accumulating in the gas tank, blocking fuel from being delivered to the engine." Eventually, this "debris" problem causes strain on the fuel pump. And now, my check engine light came on. I checked the issue, and they said it's a gas vapor leak or something to that affect. They told me to keep an eye out for a gas leak. That issue maybe from the mechanic who fixed it, but if Ford would have put a recall for that issue, I wouldn't be having this problem. Problem 3 - I took my Focus into Ford to get a "buzzing" sound checked out. They fixed the bearing problem because my car was under warranty. Now, 2 years later, the sound is back. I read a statement "...a rear-wheel bearing failure that could lead to a wheel falling off..." I am afraid that this noise I hear today is due to that same problem 2 years ago. I called Ford and they told me it was going to cost me close to $400 to repair it. First of all, that's a lot of money to me. Secondly, I'm very afraid for the safety of my wife. I'm afraid something might happen when she drives the car. Third, I don't think it's fair for me to have to repair something that is "faulty" due to the manufacturer.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #106

Dec 182001

Focus 4-cyl

  • 8,001 miles
2001 Ford Focus experiencing problems with the front brakes, fuel pump, battery, sway bars and tires. The consumer replaced the front brakes five times, the radiator went out, the thermostat and sensors pertaining to the engine light ad gone out, the fuel pump and the battery went out and the mechanic could not find the problem. Currently the starter showed signs of going out and the vehicle needed sway bars and 4 tires.

- Verona, NJ, USA

problem #105

Sep 062005

Focus

  • miles
2001 Ford Focus developed problems with the fuel pump. The consumer son received recall 03N01 on the fuel pump and had it replaced at the dealer. Several months later the problem recurred. On September 6th the vehicle was taken to naples Ford and the consuemr's son was told that the fuel pump had indreed failed again. The dealer was informed the consumer that they could not replaced the fuel pump again free of charge.

- Marco Island, FL, USA

problem #104

Jul 152005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,636 miles
I took my vehicle to the Ford dealership in December of 2003 for the so called "recall" of the fuel delivery module because my vehicle was experiencing the listed symptoms among other issues. The dealership kept my car for 2 days and drove it less than a mile and determined that my vehicle was not affected by the fuel pump problem and charged me for a diagnostic test. Since that time I have had several other repairs due to exhaust problems and fuel problems. Now my vehicle will not start due to a faulty fuel pump which should have been replaced when I requested it to be done. Now I have to get my car towed to the dealership to benefit from the 10 year warranty that they put on the fuel system. My vehicle would sometimes have small surges. On July 15, 2005 it surged while at a red light and caused me to hit another vehicle from behind. Now my insurance may increase. I am a teacher and we don't make a lot of money. I have spent more than $1600 in repairs not covered in my warranty since I purchased this vehicle brand new in 2001.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #103

Jul 152005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,519 miles
The car began chugging as if having bad gas. While on rte 40W in Texas, the car died and the power steering failed when the car died. I was traveling at apx. 75 mph when this occured. I was towed into nm and had the fuel pump replaced. Ford will not honor the recall of my fuel pump and they insist that the recall only extends up to 2000 models. I have a 2001 Focus ZX3.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #102

May 142005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
I own a Ford Focus wagon 2001. I am writing to complain about a fuel pump problem that should have been corrected during recall# 03V482000. I had this recall performed on my car in 2002. This past month the pump failed and I had to replace it. After reading your discription of the origonal problem with the fuel pump I realized Ford never corrected the problem. I experienced the exact problem with the supposed corrected fuel pump. I took the car to my mechanic and he confirmed that the fuel pump was clogged and had to be replaced. He said it was due to a design flaw and the new fuel pumps had been changed. Once I realized this had been involved in a recall I contacted Ford and they refuse to help with this problem.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #101

Jun 282005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,259 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Focus. Over the past 1 1/4 years, my car has experienced intermittent engine problems. The car experiences a loss of power, "bucks like a Bronco", and eventually stalls within a matter of moments. This has occurred three times on hilly state highways where the speed limit is 65 mph. If the car is allowed to sit, it will typically restart after a hour or so. Last week this occured on flat terrain with the air conditioner running and the car going approximately 40mph. I had the car towed to the dealership, however they did not look at the vehcile until the next day and advised me that it was most likely the fuel pump however, they were unable to guarantee that replacement would correct the problem. I advised the dealership of NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 and was advised that it did not pertain to my car. I contacted Ford and was advised that unless the dealership could duplicate the problem, the FDM would not be replaced under the program.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?