Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,794 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #94

Feb 192013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 9,912 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the vehicle stalled and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. She was informed of a recall for NHTSA campaign number: 03V482000 ( fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 04/30/13

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #93

Oct 282012

Focus

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that when driving 5 mph and attempting a turn, the vehicle would stall without warning. The contact stated that the failure was possibly caused by the fuel system failing to transfer to the engine. The vehicle was not been inspected by a dealer or an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure and current mileages were approximately 78,000.

- Ridge Crest, CA, USA

problem #92

Dec 152011

Focus

  • 152,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled and immediately restarted independently. The failure recurred intermittently when driving various speeds and occasionally, the vehicle could not be restarted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing where the mechanic advised the contact that the failure was caused by the fuel system. The dealer was unable to determine the exact repair the vehicle would need in order to remedy the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 152,000.

- Milton, NH, USA

problem #91

Mar 232012

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact heard metal scraping the ground and then plastic being dragged underneath the vehicle. She immediately stopped the vehicle and discovered the fuel tank on the ground. She called the fire department to get permission for triple a to tow the vehicle. The contact stated that the bolt that holds the arm in place on the fuel tank had no thread remaining.

- Poughkeepsie , NY, USA

problem #90

Dec 262011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 65,297 miles
Fuel pump failure at only 65297. Fuel system has no sign of foreign matter in tank. Car was running fine before fuel pump failure. Cost to replace fuel pump and labor cost of dropping exhaust system and protective metal shield to gain access to fuel tank. Fuel tank must be removed to repair. No engine light came on prior to car not starting while in my driveway. This is a outrageous repair for a car with such good maintenance. I request an investigation into defective fuel pumps on this year and model car.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #89

Feb 042011

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Focus. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for fuel pump replacement the consumer stated her mother had not experienced any problems with the vehicle prior to the recall. However, in Feb 2011, the vehicle came to a dead stop without warning. The vehicle was towed to a service station, because it couldn't be restarted. The problem was soon diagnosed as a fuel pump failure and subsequently it was replaced. The consumer's mother contacted the dealership and was told she was eligible for reimbursement. But, soon after the statement was retracted. Ford stated the replacement coverage was for a period of ten years from the original warranty start date on the vehicle.

- Park City, UT, USA

problem #88

Jan 092009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 96,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car began to hesitate and stall. Multiple start failures. Dealer repeatedly failed to fix the problem even though it was under recall for exact issue (csp 03M01). This issue started in January of 2009. The dealer stated it was a vapor management vacuum leak and "repaired". issue not resolved. Fuel filter replaced again in March of 2009. Issue not resolved. In may of 2009 dealer did multi-point inspection found no cause for problem. Issue not resolved. November of 2009 back at dealer for inspection still no cause found. April 2010 car back to dealer had computer tested still no cause found. It's shocking to me that this car had a csp on it for the very issue I was having...and it was never resolved. Now the car is out of Ford 10 year recall and they won't fix the know defect. Seems like Ford and the dealer delayed repair until after recall coverage!

- Pequea, PA, USA

problem #87

Jan 012005

Focus 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
When exiting a corner or banked turn at any speed, the car will sputter and then shut off when gas levels approach 1/4 tank. The car will either coast and then regain power or completely die and come to a stop. At freeway speeds this is extremely dangerous to the occupants and passing traffic. The car will also sputter during bursts of quick acceleration.

- Fountain Valley, CA, USA

problem #86

Dec 032011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
Going uphill on freeway, the car started lurching. The lurching was intermittent as it would run smooth again and started lurching. I experienced a loss of power going uphill until I went down to 3rd and second gear. I had the fuel pump, fuel filter, and fuel pump relay replaced. The symptoms are very similar to recall number #03V482000(2001 Ford Focus fuel system recall). I called Ford about this recall, they looked up my VIN number and said told me there is no recall for my vehicle.

- Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #85

Sep 042009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
My main complaints are the power windows, air conditioning, fuel system issue 3 of the 4 power window mechanism in my car have broken and two are wedged up, which wasn't a huge safety concern to me because I rarely have people in the rear seats. Now, I have to decide if I should fix my driver window or wedge it. It is a safety concern for me because if I get into an accident and cannot open my window then I might make it out alive. My A/C is broken as well so in the summer months, I need to choose to either fix my A/C or fix my power window so that I can have ventilation. Also, I have been trying to get an issue fixed with the fuel system as it sometimes lurches in the middle of driving. It hasn't stalled on me yet in the middle of an intersection like it has for some people, but I am worried it will happen soon. I am hopeful Ford will fix my window issues as this is a direct cause of cheap parts.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #84

Sep 012011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 156,973 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle surges and lacks power or engine dies. When doing online research of these symptoms. I found a recall that is expired for the vehicle. (recall # 03V48200) I believe the recall should be extended indefinitely do to the nature and scope of the problem. This vehicle is reliable other than that and can provide many more years of use. Also, these are generally good starter vehicle for young drivers, and could prove to be a safety issue for inexperienced drivers, including their personal safety if the vehicle leaves them stranded beside the road.

- Summers, AR, USA

problem #83

Aug 152011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 92,400 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic but the mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. He then informed the contact of NHTSA campaign id number: 03V482000 (fuel delivery module) and referred the contact to the manufacturer. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the recall and was advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The contact then took the vehicle to the dealer where the dealer replaced the fuel delivery module. The had not experienced any failures with the vehicle following repairs. The failure mileage was 92,400. Updated 10/04/11 updated 10/05/11

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #82

Aug 212011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 192,247 miles
While passing a car while driving down a two lane road, my accelerator pedal continued going down to the floor on its own. I tapped the brakes, checked to see if there were any obstructions by the pedal, tried everything I could to free the accelerator pedal but nothing worked. By this time the car was traveling in excess of 80 mph and applying the brakes were not slowing the car down at all. Finally I put the car in neutral and while the engine kept racing at full throttle, I turned off the ignition and coasted to the side of the road. My husband returned to look at the car and found the accelerator cable disconnected and lodged between the mounting bracket and the throttle actuator, jamming the throttle at full throttle. Fortunately this happened about two miles from the house. He was able to reconnect the cable and drive the car home, but he said that while driving back, the throttle was slow to throttle down when he released the pedal. Once back home he found the cable had disconnected again. We are going to contact Ford to see if there has been any recalls on this for the 2001. We found recalls on the 2000 model but none on the 2001. We also found one complaint that was described exactly as ours with the cable disconnecting and hanging up on the bracket.

- Abita Springs, LA, USA

problem #81

Jul 012011

Focus

  • 115,101 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact noticed that while attempting to make a right turn, with a quarter tank of gas or lower, the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning. The dealer was notified who informed the contact that they were aware of the failure and that the manufacturer had issued a silent recall for the fuel delivery module. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the vehicle needed an entire fuel pump assembly. The manufacturer was aware of the failure; however, did not repair the vehicle under campaign id number: 03V482000 ( fuel system, gasoline). No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileages were 115,101.

- Warwic, RI, USA

problem #80

Jun 032010

Focus

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus SE. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning. The contact stated that the failure would only occur when the fuel tank was one half full or more. In addition, the vehicle would lunge forward abnormally and would often hesitate. The vehicle was not inspected by the dealer nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised him that the vehicle had no recalls associated with it. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #79

Dec 272010

Focus

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact was driving 5 mph and applying the brakes for a traffic stop when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The failure would occur intermittently and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis and possible repairs. The dealer advised the contact that there was a leak in the PCV hose. The vehicle was repaired yet the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer advised that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline) that could potentially be the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed that the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 56,000 and the current mileage was 56,500.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #78

Jan 222011

Focus

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus ZX3 (na). The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the fuel system stalled and he was unable to move the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that the fuel was not being pumped to the engine which caused the failure; the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance and advised him that his VIN was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 180,000.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #77

Dec 062010

Focus

  • 96,500 miles
I am the original owner of a 2001 Ford Focus purchased in mooresville nc the VIN is #[xxx]. the fuel pump had to be replaced. The pump is the same one described in the Ford extended coverage program03N01 dated 2003 and supplements 1 & 2 dated January 2004. Ford said my was not covered under the program because it was built in Aug. 2001 after June 13, 2001 cut off. The car was built in the wayne assembly plant, the location of the fuel pumps that fail. After more search on the internet, my husband found a technical service bulletin article #04-5-6 describing the procedure for installing a new design fuel delivery module in the 2001-2002 Ford Focus. Under the issue it states: There is a new design fueled delivery module available for service on 2000-2002 Focus built before 12/31/2001 at wayne assembly plant and built before 2/13/2001 at hermosillo plant. The Ford Motor Company said that my does not qualify for the extended coverage program as it was built in Aug. 2001. We think that because the car this the pump described in the bulletin, was built at the wayne assembly plant within 2 mos. Of the June 13, 2001 that Ford could have cove the repair but the company will not. This is an $800 repair. The steering column locking key cylinder is also in need of replacement again. I need to turn the key manually back to a neutral position for the engine to run after starting the car. This is the third locking cylinder that I have had installed in my car. I think four cylinder is a little much for a 9 year old car! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #76

Jun 012010

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Focus. Consumer states faulty fuel pump the consumer stated as she was driving, the vehicle began to loose power. The vehicle began surging to the point where she had to press the accelerator all the way down to the floorboard and the vehicle was still barely maintaining power to get out of the way of traffic. The fuel filter was replaced and she was able to get the vehicle back onto the highway. As she began to drive, the vehicle began to surge again and finally the vehicle shut off. After doing some research, the consumer discovered the vehicle was built using a faulty fuel pump which was found to be a safety issue. NHTSA required Ford to issue a csp 03N01 which replaced the fuel delivery module. The consumer stated her vehicle should have been included, but because the vehicle was built two months after the end of the csp production date range Ford would not replace the fuel pump free of charge.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #75

May 162010

Focus

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that fuel was not flowing into the engine properly. When he first started the vehicle it began to function properly, however within a few minutes the vehicle would hesitate. The contact changed the fuel filter and the vehicle functioned normally for a few days. The contact noticed that the vehicle would hesitate, lose power and stall whenever it was driven for more than an hour at 40 mph. He had to shift into neutral gear and then back into drive gear in order to temporarily fix the failure. When the contact called the manufacturer about recall 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline), he was informed that his vehicle was not included. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The current mileage was approximately 150,000. The failure mileage was approximately 145,000.

- Canton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?