Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Ford Focus 2.0L SOHC engine has a defect where the intake valve seat fails. The valve then falls into the cylinder, destroying the engine & most owner relationships with Ford in the process.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,096 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Focus transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Aug 152010

Focus

  • 98,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Focus. When the vehicle stopped it began to shake. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle stopped. Approximately one month later a check engine light began illuminating on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the contact was told that the engine was misfiring. The contact was later told that the failure was within the transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 98,200 and the current mileage was 101,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #21

Apr 202010

(reported on)

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Ford Focus SE station wagon. Consumer states problem with automatic transmission. Engine has strong noise. The consumer stated it took three times to fix the transmission. The window regulators were replaced four times, the thermostat housing failed twice which caused coolant leak. Also, there was a problem with the air bag system and the cover on the passenger side.

- Camuy, PR, USA

problem #20

May 162007

Focus

  • 38,000 miles
The gear shift switch that locks the car into park and allows the driver to remove the key is faulty. The driver can put the car in park and then pull the gearshift back to reverse without having to engage the button on the gear shift. Also, the driver is unable to remove the key. There does not appear to be a fix or recall on this issue and there should be, it is not safe and the car is just not that old to have such problems. The safety feature has failed and made the car unsafe.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #19

Oct 302009

Focus

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The bracket that holds the transmission mount at the rear of the car, failed and dropped the transmission down on to the rear-transaxle and damaged motor mounts. The bracket appears to be made of very flimsy metal and is not an adequate piece of machining for the task holding the transmission mount.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #18

Feb 012009

Focus

  • 78,450 miles
While driving at freeway speeds sudden loss of acceleration and smell of burning fluid. Car would not shift beyond 2nd gear. Took to dealer and was told that the 3rd and 4th gears were burnt up. Req'd replacement of transmission at cost of $4,000. Vehicle mileage was 78K and well maintained.

- Quinton, VA, USA

problem #17

Jun 302008

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Focus ZX3. While driving 60 mph, the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle began moving very slowly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the diagnostic indicated failure at the transmission main control body valve. The dealer replaced the main control valve. The manufacturer stated that there was no recall for the failure. The failure and current mileages were 53,000. Updated 09/25/08 updated 09/26/08.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 032006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission slips and shifts extremely rough. Other times when the times comes for the transmission to shift, there is great hesitation. At times it doesn't change until the very last high RPM. The shifting patterns have been off completely. Horse power as well as torque are lost due the faulty shifting.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 152005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,300 miles
The consumer complained about a transmission problem. While driving at any speed the transmission would slip. The vehicle was not in cruise control, the consumer manually pushed the accelerator pedal and the transmission would slip into neutral. After 10 to 20 seconds it would go back into drive. At times when stopping at a traffic light the vehicle would attempt to surge forward. The dealership was unable reproduce the problem, therefore this could not be fixed. (11/23/05) recall campaign#03V482000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 102004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Drivers side lach breaks so the door doesn't open from the out side. So you have to open the door from the passenger side the problem is there is only two locks on this car.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 072003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Transmission went out 2 times in 1 year. Driver airbag shifted on its own. Rear passenger door does not unlock/open. Front ball joint cracked. Gas cover/door fell off. The smell of gas inside car at all times. Blinker would not turn off by itself. Key chime goes off when the key is out.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #12

Mar 042004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 390,302 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle's engine began to race while driving and then vehicle lost power. The consumer stated she experienced the problem again, but this time she took the vehicle to the dealer and it was determined that the transmission was beyond repair.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Transmission shifted into neutral and kicked back into drive while driving. The dealer was unable to duplicate the consumer's concern. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times before the warranty expired.

- Pharr, TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 042004

Focus 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
While driving 40 mph, the vehicle revved. The revving continued for about 30 seconds, then returned to normal. The vehicle was examined by the dealer who found that a new transmission was needed.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 112004

(reported on)

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,004 miles
While driving at highway speeds engine lost power, nearly resulting in a rear end collision. Dealer was not able to duplicate the problem. The tachometer would suddenly race up to 7000 and the wheels lost power. The vehicle felt as if it were in neutral, after 15-30 seconds or downshifted to 2nd gear, the vehicle re-engages and the wheel power was restored. This was an intermittent problem. Ford was unable to diagnose the problem. A flight recorder was installed twice. The engineers revealed that the problem could have been related to the speed sensors and input shaft sensors. The consumer's husband experienced a complete loss of power. The vehicle was unable to be moved because there was no power steering. The loss lasted 10 seconds, the gear was placed into 2nd gear, then back to drive and the power steering was back active. This problem returned two more times. On one of the incidences, the tachometer had gone over 7 then dropped. The transmission slipped intermittently.

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #8

Mar 042003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Went to start car and it would not start. When I turned the radio on the windshield wipers would come on, when I turned the wipers on the headlights would go off. Ford dealer tried to say that the cause was related to a remote starter that had been installed. Took it to another dealer and it was found to be a problem with the wiring. Also having transmission problems and problems with the lock on the trunk.

- Mcdonald, PA, USA

problem #7

Aug 112003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17 miles
On August 11, 2003 I took my car into koons Ford of annapolis, to have the have the ignition switch took at, because the key would not turn. I was told my service manager mike sheckells, the service advisor pete, and factory tech: 063 - randall bounds, and a cashier that this has been a major problem with most of the Ford Focus, I feel this I should be on a recall notice if its has been a major problem with the focuses. That the consumers should not have to pay for a major defect with these vechicle. Also, I had my Focus in koons for of annapolis, on May 10, 2003, to have new brakes, oil change and transmission problems. On the transmission problems because it was a intermittent that they could not find any thing. On July 25, 2003, I left my car for service on the transmission because it was slipping out of gear completely. They had the car until August 7, 2003, which they put in a remfg transmission and C. I left koons for with 1.5 miles on the trip meter, I went another 17.1 miles went the transmissions surged, I E-mailed mike sheckell on August 8, 2003 which he did not answer as of this day. I talked to mike sheckell on August 11, about this problem and the answer I get is they can not do any except to let some one go on at test dive with me. This is not the answer because it's a intermitten problem and some one would have to drive it for a few day before the transmission would surged againg. I have kept record of this problem is surged at 18.5 miles, 93 miles and at 250.0 miles on the trip meter. I feel the transmission was not fixed and fixed right and also, feel that this is a safety problem. I have done business with koons for of annpolis for over 20 years. My daughter is scared to ride in this car now, and I do not feel safe in the car neither. I have never had this type of bad service or incompetent service before, I also feel they are just telling me anything, because of being a female.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #6

Jul 232003

Focus

  • miles
My 2002 Ford Focus SE wagon purchased 1 year ago has been at the dealer over a week. The automatic transmission is slipping ;car is still under warranty. They are replacing it. I will be contacting Ford Motor Company as I have been drivinf Ford for the last 17 years. Also had problems with the door locks.

- Garrison, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 022003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,840 miles
Transmission was replaced after owning the Ford Focus ZX3 for less than a year, and is going back for repair again 2 1/2 months later.

- Calimesa, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 032003

Focus

  • miles
Consumer was having problem with automatic transmission. Dealer notified.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #3

Jan 212003

Focus

  • miles
Consumer stated that while driving at any speed and without warning the vehicle will shut off causing consumer to pull over. Dealer notified.

- Ocean Park, WA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?