Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Focus accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

May 152016

Focus

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the rear doors failed to latch. The contact had to use a bungee cord to keep the doors closed; however, they would open every time a turn was made. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in a recall. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- St Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #23

Dec 142007

Focus 4-cyl

  • 42,495 miles
Upon opening, three hard clicks are heard - and lock opens on occasion. Often refusing to latch and on many occasions, I am unable to open the door. It appears to be as stated in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V030000 I have spoken with dealer and Ford on many occasions the past several years, and they insist this car was not part of the campaign and refuse to inspect, or view, or assess.

- Presque Isle, ME, USA

problem #22

Sep 232010

Focus

  • 90,050 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Focus. The contact stated that both of the rear doors failed. The rear driver side door would not open and the rear passenger side door would not close. The dealer advised the contact to speak with the manufacturer in regards to the failure. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V030000 (latches/locks/linkages: Doors: Latch). The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 90,050.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #21

Apr 112008

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Ford Focus. While parked in the backyard, the contact started the vehicle and the rear window blew out. The dealer repaired the window. A few days later, the locks on the passenger side door would not unlock. The dealer repaired that failure as well. Afterwards, the ignition cylinder began to fail. The contact took the vehicle in for repair and had to pay $300. The current and failure mileages were 5,000. Updated 05/21/08 the consumer stated the trunk needed to be repaired as well. Updated. 05/20/08.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #20

May 202007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Focus. When the vehicle was purchased, the contact noticed that the rear passenger side door was tied shut because it would not latch properly. The dealer stated that her vehicle had previously been repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 05V030000 (latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch) and she would be liable for the repair costs. The manufacturer did not assist. The vehicle has not been repaired. The powertrain was unknown. The failure mileage was 96,000 and current mileage was 96,748. Updated 05/06/08 updated 05/06/08

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #19

Jan 152007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
NHTSA campaign id 05V030000 regarding recall of Ford Focus models 2000-2005 for rear door latch problems (Ford recall 05S27) identifies vehicles manufactured at the wayne assembly plant from May 22, 2002 through January 26, 2005 as potentially affected. My vehicle was not identified as affected by Ford for this recall. However, my vehicle was manufactured at the wayne assembly plant in June 2003 and I have experienced the same door latch problems described in the recall notice. I feel that my vehicle should have been included in the recall and that Ford Motor Company should address this problem. So far they have refused to take any action to remedy my complaint.

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #18

Jun 012007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Door latches are very difficult to open, both from the outside and inside, sometimes leaving me sitting in the car wondering how I am going to get out. Before my warranty was up, the dealer told us that this was just typical of our model of car and that there was nothing that could be done about it.

- Cortland, IL, USA

problem #17

Aug 182007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ref. NHTSA 05V030000 my daughter took her car to reemy Ford of johnson city tn. To have the safety recall taken care of. Reemy Ford said they complied with the recall. Since then the door will not latch. The recall states if the latches do not pass the evaluation they will be replaced. When reemy was call to fix the problem they told my daughter that they had complied with the recall and that was not the problem. Latch does not latch, sounds like the recall notice.

- Shady Valley, TN, USA

problem #16

Dec 042006

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
Ignition key switch would not turn to start key. I had to replace the lock assembly on 2003 Ford Focus I bought brand new 12/31/2003. Told by scott reynolds of reynold's Ford that even one of his mechanic's wife had same problem as a number of people have.

- Hampton, IL, USA

problem #15

May 052005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,898 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Focus. The contact pressed the unlock button to open the passenger side door and it failed to open. She had to manually pull the door three times before it opened. Ford stated that her vehicle was not included in recall # 05V030000 (latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch). The current and failure mileages were 46,898.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #14

Apr 292004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while attempting to start the vehicle, the starter failed. There were no warning signals for the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who determined the flywheel and the starter had to be replaced. After the first incident, the contact took the vehicle to the dealer thirty times for the following failures: Brakes rotors were replaced four times; battery and alternator had to be replaced; the transmission had to be replaced after the second attempt to repair it. The electrical wiring under the dashboard had to be rewired. The air conditioning was repaired three times with the replacement of defective valves; the rear door latches were repaired according to recall # 05V300000. The dealership had not corrected the noises from the steering column. The manufacturer was contacted and refused to cooperated in finding a suitable resolution. The last problem found by the dealership was the required replacement of the engine heads. The engine heads were attached to the vehicle frame.

- Playa Del Rey, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Owner of a Ford Focus/2003. Ignition switch locked up and had to get my car towed ($45) as well as pay for repairs ($183). Called Ford headquarters and talked with a representative about being reimbursed. I also mentioned the problem I was having with my gauges. Upon starting car, gauges are all out of wack, swinging back and forth and landing on zero. After being on the road for about 15 or 20 minutes they will positioned at the right place. The representative seem to only care to hear about one of the problem (ignition switch) and not the other one. I was put on hold for a while and when rep return she told me to call company that was repairing my Focus and they will help me in this matter. I called the company and the guy that eagerly took my money stated that he will do a claim for me and he stated that I will get some of my money but not all of it back. In checking the recalls I see ignition switch lockup is one of them. I only have had my car for a little over a year. My windshield is cracked and insurance says I must pay $250 before they fix it, when turning on air conditioner, driving seem difficult (hard to pull), liftgate water leaks, and upon purchasing my car, brakes were squeaking; I mentioned this to the dealer and he told me not to worry about it that the brakes were new and had to be broken in. Well they are still squeaking after a year in a half. I need all of these things fixed on my car, right now I am a month behind in car payments (good record on making my payments), had to use the money to get the ignition switch repaired.

- Wadesboro, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 102006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 40,000 miles
My door handle on my driver side of my car has broke again and I can't open it from the outside. It won't open from the inside sometimes either. Back in 2005 both the driver's side and passengers side handles on my vehicle broke. I have a two door and had to climb through the trunk to get my car to the dealership. I had to pay for the repairs which were very pricey considering the parts were less than $50. I now am having the issue again and I refuse to pay out of my pocket to fix it. I want to know if there has been a recall and why the Ford dealership is telling me that I am going to have to pay for it. I take very good care of my vehicle and this has become a very frustrating experience.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 092005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Back doors are difficult to open when I pull the handles it will (pop) open. I am afraid that the doors will not latch properly when closed.

- Spencerport, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 252004

Focus

  • miles
My 2003 Ford Focus has had problems with the trunk latch for about a year now. When I go to close the trunk it does not shut. It will shut if I pull on the safety latch they have in case somebody gets locked in the trunk, however even when it closes that way whenever it rains my trunk when I open it gets all wet!I had a bunch of christmas presents in the back and when I opened the trunk they were soaked! also the door latches sometimes lock on their own. Twice I have been locked out of my car. I no longer ever leave my car without my keys!

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 192005

(reported on)

Focus

  • miles
Consumer complaint regarding 2003 Ford Focus recall work not done, because there were no parts. (recall # 05V030000)

- Stillwater, MN, USA

problem #8

Jul 022005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The door pops open even if its in a locked position, the light does not come on unless the door is open completely. Found a recall contacted the dealer they said this vehicle was notunder the recall due to VIN. This happened around in July 2, 2005. The door latches corroded.

- San Dusky , OH, USA

problem #7

Apr 212005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
Rear door opens hard to the point that breakage of door handle seems imminent. At times door will only open from interior. A small outward dent has appeared in the door handle area as a result of pulling on door handle so hard. Problem has not been corrected to date as no injuries have occurred.

- Friendship, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 142004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
In July of 2004 opened rear passenger door and it would not close. One month later right side passenger door would not close after being opened. Both doors had to be tied together with a rope to keep them shut. As of July 14, 2005 both the rear passenger doors will not open. Both driver and passenger door in front stick and occasionally will not close. This was reported to Ford customer service in March of 2005 by phone. I was told there was no recall on 2003 Ford Focus but there was a recall on 2000-2002. I was told that I would have to take it to the dealer and pay to have it fixed myself. The cost is $250 per door. The car was only a year old when this problem started. It was also out of warranty. I cannot afford to have each latch repaced. I also will not carry any passengers in the vehichle for fear the doors will fly open.

- Howard, OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 012005

Focus

  • miles
The rear doors were difficult to unlock on the consumers 2003 Ford Focus. On 2 separate occasions, the rear door opened by itself. The rear passenger door is now being held shut with bungee cords.

- Middle Grove, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?