Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,935 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Focus wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Focus Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 212014

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sidewall of tire blew out. Tires are not even 2 months old. I have seen other complaints about the same issue. Douglas xtra trac II 185/65/14.

- Sandusky , OH, USA

problem #11

Jul 012012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I was driving my 2003 Ford Focus on the road when this incident happened. Suddenly I heard a crash sound in the right front side of my vehicle. I felt there was a force on the right front side tire. Then I noticed black smokes behind my car and then I stopped. I called aaa to have roadside assistant. The aaa guy came and checked my car and told me the coil spring was broken and the broken part damaged my tire too. I found there was a recall for the coil spring on 2000-2003 Focus then I called a local Ford dealer to get it fixed. However, the local Ford dealer told me my Focus was not eligible for the recall. Clearly this is the fault of Ford. The aaa guy told me if this happened on the freeway, I would probably be killed. I urged the NHTSA to contact Ford about this issue before this actually killed lots of people. I also urged Ford to place a recall to check all the coil spring on all cars they make to make sure this part has no problems.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #10

Nov 012010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Driving to work, no rain, no ice on road, normal but cold conditions (30F) and couldn't stop my vehicle with low roll resistance tires. When I applied brakes my car immediately went into a slide/skid and I hit another vehicle from behind. Was going around 35 mph and should have had plenty of space to stop.

- New Hartford, CT, USA

problem #9

Jul 072010

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

July 2010 ignition is locked, key will not turn in ignition. It was happening every now and then but today, July 7, 2010, it will not turn at all even with tapping lightly on the end of the key and pulling the steering wheel down while turning the key nothing has yet to be done as I am still waiting for Ford to decide if they want to pick it up! June 2010 driverside spring coil snapped - no letter to the owner of the Ford models when the problem was a known safety issue and was covered under a warranty extended by Ford (because they knew of the problem) June 2009 - driverside firehawk gta factory installed tire blew right off the steel rim, leaving the steel from the tire on the rim... this happened in my driveway and not while I was driving the vehicle, thank goodness.

- Midland, 00, USA

problem #8

May 072009

Focus

  • 48,500 miles
Valve stem failure on Ford Focus.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 102006

Focus

  • miles
I have purchased 3- cooper life liner touring sle 205501687 H tires. 2 were on the rear. 2 months after purchase, the right rear tire went flat. I replaced it. 2 weeks later the left rear went flat. I filled it and the very next day the right rear went flat. I put a spare on and took them where I bought them. They ran tests and found nothing to be wrong with the tire and could not explain why they just went flat. I replaced the 2 rear tires with a different brand and have yet to have a problem with them.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #6

Feb 272006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated there was premature wear on the rear tires. The tires have been replaced twice, and need replacing a third time. The brand of tire has been changed. The manufacturer determined the tires should be rotated every other oil change, but the tires had never been rotated. Updated 3/17/2006 - the first set of tires went bald at 22568 miles. The second set went bald at 31500. The dealer aligned the rear to specs and aligned the front end and straightened the steering wheel.

- Marlette, MI, USA

problem #5

Jan 082006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My boyfriend and son took my car to have it washed. When they turned the corner the steering wheel just spun. Causing them to almost crash. I have had several other things happen with the car since I bought it in May 2004 used. I have replaced the back tires 4 times in a year. They all have cupped. Every tire place we have went has said the rear of the car has a defect in it. Also, my seat belts used by my children do not always work properly. Last Jan, the transmission wouldn't shift out of first. Ottawa Ford did fix this issue as a speed control sensor wiring problem. With the steering issue the car is undrivable and I am a single mom with no other transportation or means of income to fix. I need some help with this.

- Baldwin City, KS, USA

problem #4

Oct 112005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact states she owns a 2003 Ford Focus. The rear tires kept going bald on the outside of the tire only. The vehicle is a front wheel drive. This happened four times. Vehicle has 61,000 miles on it. The dealer had to replace the back frame two kits, one on each side due to an engineering notice put out on the tires. This did not fix the problem. The contact had to have the springs, struts, and shocks replaced recently with approximately 55,000 miles on the car, and the problem recurred. Car bounced, and when she hit a bump the car picked up, and the rear end moved to the right or to the left. She had to have the car realigned at least six or seven times. Sometimes the contact would have to go back the very next day to have it aligned again, and the dealer would not charge them for the service.. the front brake pad and the front rotors on the driver's side had to be replaced at 30,000 miles. She talked to the manufacturer, and they told her she would have to continue to shell out money because there were no recalls on the vehicle regarding the tires, and the car was out of warranty. The warranty doid not cover the tires because it was blamed on uneven wear or/and the alignment.

- Three Rivers, MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 192003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Buy the car in livingston Montana 09-28-2002 the VIN [xxx] the car had only like 20 miles we drove it off the lot. We went on vacation that summer we had a blow out on the rear driver side. We called the Ford company in livingston, Montana we were in id so they said that they could not do any thing for us. We had to drive to the next town about 14 miles back. We got back we took it to Ford company. The car was pulling to the left and shaking really bad and the trunk will not lock (it will not lock if we push the button ) we do not use the trunk still, the clutch pops out them told us to double clutch and it ( still pops out went you back up sometimes). We took the car back to they, them on 09-24-2003 they had the car for two weeks almost I have a listed of thing want was wrong an still wrong with the car, we told them we want an new car but they still would not give us one or would not work with us, them said I'm sorry but we could not do that. I know you folks had a lot of trouble with the car but I can not do anything. I was mad an still we bought about four sets of tires for that car. The car was only has 48003 miles, we had many outs, we had a back blow again in Nov- 2004. My wife will not drive it much because she is scared of it. It pulls you all over the road in the bad weather we lived in whitehall, Montana very small town if we want to go shopping you have to drive 20 mins plus away, she waits on the weekends to take my car. She only drives the car to take our child to school which is a mile there and back. Please help us a get different car. That my wife will not be scared of. Updated 07/24/2012

- Whitehall, MT, USA

problem #2

Nov 012004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,223 miles
Rear tires wear out prematurely on 2000, 2001 and 2003 Ford Focus. All have new tires installed because of rear tire wear and misalignment. The consumer stated that the rear tires began thumping and the tread wall started cupping. The consumer stated that he has had three vehicles of the same make and model with the same problem. The consumer no longer owns the 2000 and 2001 Ford Focus only the 2003.

- Dickinson, ND, USA

problem #1

Apr 222004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
Bought 2003 Ford Focus August 2003; March-April 2004 heard thumping noise off rear tires. (please note: I put on 3,000 miles monthly and change my oil monthly as well as rotate my tires every other oil change.) treads are wearing in coaster size spots, but under 25%. Goodyear is replacing only one tire under the "warranty" "nuisance" clause. Will monitor all tires. The old tire is wavy, unlike the others, which are fine thus far. Gy suggested possible suspension, but doubted due to the youth of the car and tires and also suggested alignment. Had the new tire put on...free..and had a "free" alignment analysis performed.

- Woodruff, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?