Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,603 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Focus accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Focus Owner Comments

problem #10

Jul 132014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


The Ford Focus from 2007/2001 has had lots of door latches braking and the door will not open, in my case from the outside. I know Ford dealers seen a lot of these problems. This should be a fix at Ford expense. Were can I get the part other than the dealer? thank-you

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #9

May 152012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 110,231 miles
While driving my vehicle locally, my car shut off and engine light came on. I was told it was the main flow valve. I have to replace it, but then my key got stuck in the ignition. My friend was able to get it out. On August 12, 2012, my driver seat moved while I was driving and continues to skip on a certain click latch. Indecember, I had to take it back to the mechanic, cause my engine light keeps coming on, but we are unsure as to why it keeps doing that. Every now and then I can smell smoking wires/electrical wires burning. Now my lighter in the car is not working, but I think that runs in a fuse...not sure. On April 13th, 2013. I returned home from a wedding and I am unable to yet again, get the key out of the ignition. I took it to my mechanic and he told me to check to find out if others are having the same problem and what they did. Then my friend told me about the major Ford recall.

- Willingboro, NJ, USA

problem #8

Oct 222010

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 205,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 for Focus zxw station wagon. The contact stated that when the key was in the ignition and the shift over ride button was depressed, the key would become locked in the ignition. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact glued the shift over ride button in place and changed the ignition, which resolved the failure. The contact also stated the metal frame of the driver's seat became cracked. The contact had to prop the seat up so that he could drive the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 205,000. Updated 02/20/13 the consumer stated the transmission was poorly designed. Updated 02/21/13 the consumer stated the experienced numerous problems with the transmission, after having the fluid flushed. The consumer stated the side view mirrors were rigid and were easy to break, the rear suspension springs were not designed to carry weight, which caused the vehicle to bounce on the highway and secondary road bumps. The heat shields attached to the exhaust system were designed poorly, to the point they were bent and caused a rattle. The steel rims, bent easily, which created a vibration and balance problem. The headlights lenses were discolored, the valve cover gasket leaked oil onto the spark plugs, the hood cables were defective. The hood cable froze and broke. Updated 07/25/13

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012012


  • 190,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the driver's seat disintegrated leaving only one piece of a metal shard in place. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the vehicle needed a new seat. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 190,000.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #6

May 042009


  • 45,000 miles
I own a 2005 Focus ZX4 whom has been serviced several times for engine mounts, alternator, headlights/tail lights, stereo, and now passenger front seat airbag sensor. I was told back in 2009 that the passenger front seat airbag sensor was not covered by the extended warranty but the stereo was!!! so everytime I have an adult in the passenger front seat the airbag sensor in the seat malfunctions; a safety feature to keep your family safe is not covered and now I see another car manufacturer recalling the same thing but Ford is not willing to fix. I called Ford headquarters and no help or care to do so... this will be my last Ford I purchase after years of growing up with Ford. You would think they would care about their consumers.

- Orange City, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 262011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 112,800 miles
On 2/26/2011 at approximatly 1900 hrs. I was at nellis air force base in las vegas Nevada I had to pull over in a safe area to look for my id as I got out of the car with the car in park and emergency brake on I proceeded to lift the handle in front of the seat that allowes it to be moved forward so I can look under the seat for my id, I couldn't see it so I proceeded to do the same with the passanger seat and it wasen't there so again I was on the drivers side and again pulling up the handle and my right side of my face and ear was within an inch of the side air bag when it explodedand nocked me up against the drivers door frame and the airbag powder was all over me and for 30 seconds I couldn't see or hear. My face was on fire with acid burns all over my face and my right ear. I was seen at the er and was treated which included a cat scan of my hear to see if there was any internal trama and that was negative however I had developed tmj because of the impact to my jaw and migrain headaches which have not subsided to this day. All reports and pictures id taken were sent through E-mail to Ford claims dept. I was sent the paper work to fill out and send it back to them, in March 2011 I have to got to a dealer to have the chip red and it cost to have that done was $103.48. It states that the dtc B1231 restraint system was sufficient impact to warrent a deployment yet indicates that no collision occured. So then now the modual needs to be taken out by the dealer which I went to Ford and they refused to help, so that evening went to another Ford and they helped it took them January 2012 to coordinate with Ford to take out the modgual, I just found out a week ago June 14th. That bosh is just now taking a look at that product that was sent to them in January $2012.16 months later nothing else has been done and I don't know what else I can do. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- N. Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

Jul 242011


  • 53,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the lever to adjust the front drivers seat no longer functioned and she could no longer make adjustments to the way the seat was positioned. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The failure and current mileages were 53,000.

- Wingdale, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 272006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I owned a 2005 Ford Focus station wagon and suffered a rear end collision while stopped at a light. As a result of the poor seat construction, my lumbar spine was wedged in the gap between the seat cushion and the back cushion during the impact. At the time, I had the seat lowered for comfort. Unfortunately, as you lower the seat, you also create a gap between the seat cushion and the back cushion, exposing the lumbar spine to that gap. This is where my lower spine was wedged as a result of the rear-end collision. The back cushion has too little support to keep the spine from buckling and wedging itself, butt first. Now, the gap wasn't that big for me, only about an inch or so, but the seat padding around the gap is unsupported and flexible. Imagine now a rear end collision with a tall person sitting in that seat, where there is a considerable gap between the seat cushion and the back cushion, say maybe two or more inches. In a rear end collision, with the front brakes applied, the rear of the vehicle actually buckles upward and forward, while the bodies in the car move down and back, as in my case (since objects at rest [my body] respond only after the impact to the vehicle). Just watch all those dummy commercials... this is a serious safety hazard if you manipulate the lever to lower the seat cushion. Fact: The european Ford Focus driver seat moves as an entire unit (both seat cushion and back cushion move together as a unit, never creating such a gap) fact: The U.S. model is the cheap alternative to give the impression of an adjustable seat. Instead, the lever lowers and raises only the seat bucket portion for the driver, while exposing a gap between it and the back cushion. The back support stays in the same place another fact: All european models have headrests in the back seat another fact: Al U.S. models have no headrests in the back seat.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #2

Mar 272006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The driver's pant cuff on the right leg can be snagged by seat height adjustment. Crank when the vehicle is being operated under cruise control. This prevents the driver from being able to use the right foot to apply the brakes.

- Moosup, CT, USA

problem #1

Aug 112004


  • miles
The vehicle was delivered to the consumer with a defective front passenger seat. The back rest did not lock, so the seat belts were ineffective.

- Apo, AE, USA

Not what you are looking for?