Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Focus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Focus Owner Comments

problem #14

Oct 062015

Focus

  • 35 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my car from the original owner. I had to buy a re-furbished motor, the tires were splitting and the suspension and air conditioner all needed repairing. When I received the recall from dot, frank S. borris II, I immediately contacted tallahassee Ford. They denied there was a recall and I was mistaken. My VIN # was listed in the recall. I tried several times but Ford kept giving me a run-around and they lied. So now, I have apparently missed a deadline which was not listed on the original notice to me. I am a senior citizen and this has really stressed me out and it really makes me not to purchase another Ford from anyone. On ethics alone, I should be able to make them do what they basically refused by lying to me. It was in motion and went to the shop within two weeks after the notice.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 212014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 157,000 miles
All 4 Eagle GT tires that are only 6 months old are worn and scalloped due to a know problem to Ford technical service bulletin id: 10034585 July 10, 2010 and service bulletin no.: TB-21399 component(s): Tires NHTSA id number: 10034585. Our mechanic ran a diagnostic and service bulletin search for possible manufacturing issues to cause the tire wear. The solution that Ford has come up with it to add 4 additional upper control arms at $140 a piece plus labor. When I spoke with Ford they indicated that the problem is a known one but are unwilling to do anything to correct the problem. They are waiting until people are either injured or killed to correct the problem. Advised them that I will keep all receipts for new tires. This is the 4 set of tires in 3 years due to this problem. I advised them I will wait until the tires are totally worn and cause an accident and damage and then let my insurance carrier deal with their faulty vehicle.

- Itasca, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 072006

Focus

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the rear end of the vehicle began to vibrate severely. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was being driven. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where both the passenger and driver side stabilizer arms were installed. Prior to the repair, both rear tires were replaced twice due to premature wear. In addition, the air filter was replaced even though the vehicle was designed that the component did not require replacement. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 200.

- Hemlock, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 222010

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 205,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 for Focus zxw station wagon. The contact stated that when the key was in the ignition and the shift over ride button was depressed, the key would become locked in the ignition. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact glued the shift over ride button in place and changed the ignition, which resolved the failure. The contact also stated the metal frame of the driver's seat became cracked. The contact had to prop the seat up so that he could drive the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 205,000. Updated 02/20/13 the consumer stated the transmission was poorly designed. Updated 02/21/13 the consumer stated the experienced numerous problems with the transmission, after having the fluid flushed. The consumer stated the side view mirrors were rigid and were easy to break, the rear suspension springs were not designed to carry weight, which caused the vehicle to bounce on the highway and secondary road bumps. The heat shields attached to the exhaust system were designed poorly, to the point they were bent and caused a rattle. The steel rims, bent easily, which created a vibration and balance problem. The headlights lenses were discolored, the valve cover gasket leaked oil onto the spark plugs, the hood cables were defective. The hood cable froze and broke. Updated 07/25/13

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #10

Dec 032011

Focus

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the rear passenger tire separated from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure and the current mileages were approximately 87,000.

- Warner, NH, USA

problem #9

Jun 162008

Focus

  • 64,000 miles
I purchased my used vehicle in 06/08 and immediately there were issues with the tires. I took it back to the dealership and they agreed to replace "one bad tire". in order to keep all the tires in good and equal condition I purchased three more. Over the past 10 months it has been back to the dealership three times for "alignment issues" and to a private alignment shop for the same issue. Extensive research online has indicated that there is a "known issue" with the Ford Focus that allows a "generous" spread for alignment specs. As long as it can be aligned within Ford's specs it is considered acceptable, however the tires continue to wear unevenly causing vibration and incorrect tread wear. I was told by Ford today that they don't know what the "number is" but that they are allowed to do nothing until that "magic number" is reached. Evidently they have also issued a "silent recall" that allows only those vehicles that cannot be adjusted to their "generous" specs to be repaired. This is not only a potential safety issue when it comes to tire wear but affects tracking in snow and water which also heightens risk.

- La Plata, MO, USA

problem #8

Dec 212008

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,319 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 15 mph on normal road conditions, there were loud noises outside of the vehicle. Suddenly, the driver side rear tire disengaged from the vehicle. The drive was able to safely maneuver the vehicle to the emergency lane. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for inspection. The mechanic stated that the failure was related to the suspension, rear wheel bearing; however, the part was unavailable and on back order. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact is aware of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 56,319. Updated 02/02/09. Updated 02/03/09.

- Myrtle Point , OR, USA

problem #7

Oct 252006

Focus

  • miles
Where do I begin? I've had almost all of the issues/complaints already filed here from the dome/airbag lights going off for no reason, the key getting stuck or the car stalling in not starting, disrespect/unprofessional from Ford repair staff or calling Ford corporate, and the most famous Focus moment of all, when the car shakes at speeds of 50 or above on highways. O Ford!, how you've screwed us all!!!!!!!

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #6

Mar 012008

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle will not stay aligned. During the 62,325 miles I owned the car I went through 3 sets of high quality tires and 7 alignments. After some research, it looks as though this happens a lot, Ford denies any problems with this but tire shops and car owners will tell you different. I put about 25K miles a year on a car, someone that puts 10K would nt notice this problem as often.

- Boiling Springs, NC, USA

problem #5

Jun 232006

Focus

  • miles
2005 Ford Focus strut broke which caused the axle to break. The consumer lost control of the vehicle and flipped over.

- House Springs, MO, USA

problem #4

Jun 232006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is about a 2005 Ford Focus ZX3, bought new with 8 miles on the car. Driving along @ 65 mph & according to witnesses in back of car, the driver-side front wheel came off of the car. The car then fish-tailed then started flipping front end to back end 5 to 7 times for a good 100 to 150 feet along the side of the road. The car was totaled and because of a seat belt there was only minor injuries.

- House Springs, MO, USA

problem #3

Mar 142006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph around a sharp curve, the brakes failed. Also, there was a loss of steering control which resulted in the vehicle running onto a sidewalk. The vehicle was towed to a dealership, where it was determined the steering and the brakes were not defective. The dealership further determined the ball joints were fractured as a result of the accident and needed to be replaced. The contact believed ball joint failure led to the accident. Repairs were made to front and rear suspension, as well as a wheel alignment.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #2

Nov 112005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated the wheel covers popped while driving, one of the covers came off the car. The contact was unable to get the cover because of traffic. He contacted Ford, and they would review the problem only if the wheel cover was available for inspection. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they could not diagnose a problem. The vehicle pulled to the left, and the dealership was unable to diagnose a problem.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 152004

Focus

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
Car bought Sept 2004. Car regularly doesn't start, and if it does always runs at over 3500 RPM for up to 5 minutes with no accelerator pressure. Alarm goes off when driving, for no reason. Car swerves and vibrates on road in dry and wet conditions (seems like steering and / or suspension broken / defective). Brakes also creak. All problems from car purchase to now, March 2005. Taken to 2 dealerships on 4 separate occasions, who could not "replicate the concern". reported to Ford Motor Company in January who informaed me that the original dealer service manager would contact me. So far, 7 weeks on, and no contact. Possible lemon law case.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?