Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Focus transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Focus Owner Comments

problem #13

Jul 162013

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the gear shifter would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 83,600.... updated 08/19/13 the shifter was replaced on July 30, 2013

- Duncanville, AL, USA

problem #12

Oct 222010

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 205,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 for Focus zxw station wagon. The contact stated that when the key was in the ignition and the shift over ride button was depressed, the key would become locked in the ignition. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact glued the shift over ride button in place and changed the ignition, which resolved the failure. The contact also stated the metal frame of the driver's seat became cracked. The contact had to prop the seat up so that he could drive the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 205,000. Updated 02/20/13 the consumer stated the transmission was poorly designed. Updated 02/21/13 the consumer stated the experienced numerous problems with the transmission, after having the fluid flushed. The consumer stated the side view mirrors were rigid and were easy to break, the rear suspension springs were not designed to carry weight, which caused the vehicle to bounce on the highway and secondary road bumps. The heat shields attached to the exhaust system were designed poorly, to the point they were bent and caused a rattle. The steel rims, bent easily, which created a vibration and balance problem. The headlights lenses were discolored, the valve cover gasket leaked oil onto the spark plugs, the hood cables were defective. The hood cable froze and broke. Updated 07/25/13

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #11

Jul 102011

Focus

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the second and third gears failed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately 50,000 miles later, the failure recurred and the transmission began to slip. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000. Updated 09/19/11 updated 2/23/12

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #10

Sep 142010

Focus

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stopping car and placing car in park sometimes the car will not go all the way in park and the keys will not release from ignition. When the car is restarted the button for the automatic shifter will shift out of park without pressing down the brake pedal.

- Middle Island, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 222010

Focus

  • 52,000 miles
O/D light came on. Automotive shop ran a test and retrieved code P0767. Shop replaced the solenoid and car would still not shift into 2nd gear. Shop wanted to replace the transmission but I declined as the car only had 52,000 miles. Took the car to a Ford dealership and they said there was no 2nd or 4th gear. Dealership said it was a possible broken band or failed band apply piston. They removed the pan and verified broken band. They replaced the 2-4 band and installed new band apply piston at a cost of $931.22 plus the cost of a rental car at $101.16. No car should have a transmission fail at 50,000 miles. I feel there was a defect in the parts used in the transmission. When I asked about installing a new transmission, I was concerned that they would install the same transmission that failed in my car. The shop said not to worry because the transmission has all updated parts! the response leads me to believe that the parts in my transmission were defective and I should be reimbursed the cost of my repairs. I called Ford Motor Company and since there was not a recall they could not help me. Again, no car should have a transmission fail at 50,000 miles.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #8

Jun 182010

Focus

  • 90,200 miles
I'm having problems with the car hesitating while driving. This has repeatedly happened. I have a little over 90,300 miles on the car. It really scares me when I'm going at least 60 mph on the highway and press the gas to accelerate and then get the hesitation or pullback as if it is going to cut off. I'm afraid it is going to cut off while I am driving it. It also happens when I'm driving 35 mph. When this happens and I cut the car and start it back up, the clock resets to 12:00 and the radio comes on blasting. My lights flicker when it happens at night. I took it to the dealership and they replaced the fuel pump module. This has not helped one bit and I am out $462. They have quoted me a price of $1500 if the fuel pump module replacement did not work. They tell me it will probably be the PCM that needs replacing.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #7

Feb 242010

Focus

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ignition key sticks in my 2005 Ford Focus. It cannot be removed from the ignition. Research on the internet reveals that this a common problem. It has to do with shifter cable that costs $650. Is it safe" I am not certain. I am not sure whether the shift is locking adequately. Why hasn't Ford recalled this problem"

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #6

Jul 142009

Focus

  • 20,000 miles
Ford Focus 2005, 20,000 miles can not remove key from ignition due to problem after shifting the car into park. This is not an isolated incident as we have discovered many other owners with Ford Focus from 200-2007 having the same problem. The dangerous issue here is that we have to leave the car parked with the key in the ignition. Even though the key can't be removed it can still start the car again and go. This car is left open for thieves to steal. It has not been recalled and it is an expensive fix by dealers since it's not under warranty. Why if there are so many sites on the web with owners like myself with this problem, not being addressed as a recall by Ford.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #5

Apr 022009

Focus

  • 40,000 miles
I purchased a used 2005 Ford Focus with exactly 30,000 miles on it, around 40,000 I noticed my transmission started to slip, further research revealed many people complaining of this same thing before they even reach 60,000. Seems to me it is a factory defect in the transmission. Even after being looked at I am going to have to pay lots of money to get it repaired due to the warranty only being at the 40,000 mark. Which the dealer never told me that the warranty they offered was void if original factory warranty was still in effect. In which I ended up on the short end of the stick because their warranty they give for the used cars outlasts what I had remaining on the factory warranty. This is ridiculous. Severe slipping when transmission goes to shift into third and fourth gear.

- Whiteland, IN, USA

problem #4

Mar 232007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The transmission on my 2005 Focus was difficult to shift into 1st gear. The dealership replaced it under warranty during 7 - 16 March 2007. While doing the work they nicked the brake line just enough to create a slow leak. The location of the leak was near the front left tire. After one day of driving, all the fluid leaked out and the brakes failed while my wife was driving it. The dealership arranged to pick up the Focus with a tow truck. They repaired the brakes (19-23 Mar). On 23 Mar, my wife picked up the Focus. Approximately 1/2 mile from the dealership, the driver's side airbag deployed while she was turning left. The force of the impact pushed her left arm down and to the right, pulling the steering wheel to the left, causing her to hit the curb. No other vehicle was nearby or involved. She was able to maneuver the Focus into the parking lot of a medical treatment facility, where she was treated for cervical injury. The dealership picked up the Focus with a tow truck. At the dealership they put the Focus up on a lift and I inspected the undercarriage along with the service manager and mechanic. The brake rotor was complete separated from the wheel and the lower control arm was bent at about a 20 degree angle from normal. The wheel was noticeably scratched and the tire was cut. The service manager suggested that my wife hit the curb causing the airbag to deploy. My wife is absolutely positive the airbag deployed causing her to hit the curb.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 012004

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Focus automatic transmission complaints. The transmission whined at low speeds (40-50 mph). Ford refused to send a factory rep.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #2

Oct 152004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Complaint received via E-mail. Problem concerned annoying low speed transmission at 40-50 mph. Ford refuses to send a factory representative.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #1

Aug 052004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission slips & erratic shifts.

- North Cape May, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?