Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
57,896 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Focus seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Jan 192015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving down the road at the posted speed limit of 35 mph. Hit a patch of ice on the untreated icy roads in glocester ri. Caused me to increase speed while spinning in circles. Ended up hitting a tree with the front quarter panel on the passenger side destroyed everything on that side under the hood and the chasie in the front!! next I spun again hitting the front bumper on the right side! air bags never deployed and they should have at the speed and velocity the car hit the tree at!

- N. Scituate , RI, USA

problem #52

Jun 132013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
Warning light on dash for passenger airbag pops on at times. The indicator in the middle of the console will also light up as if someone is in the seat. The warning light will stay lite for days and at times weeks and then just go off. I've attempted to reset as the owner manual explains to, but it hasn't worked. I've taken it to a mechanic (Firestone) to inquire of issue. I was told it maybe electrical. I've even taken to a dealership's auto repair department and was told the same thing. 99% of time since I've owned this vehicle no one has ridden in my passenger front seat. So this concerns me because if something happens what if the airbag, which seems to be faulty, doesn't deploy.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #51

Nov 232013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
Vehicle was involved in a car accident. I was sitting at a red light when I was struck from the rear by another vehicle who failed to stop in time. The vehicle that impacted hit my car was going a speed of 50mph. My airbag did not deploy. My 2007 Ford was pushed a few feet. 3 wks of repair work was required to the rear of my vehicle. I underwent four months of physical therapy for neck and back problems that I still deal with today. I don't understand why my airbag didn't deploy. Because the vehicle that hit me realized the light was red and I stopped, he was able to turn his vehicle a bit to use the impact otherwise this would have been much worse.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #50

Oct 072014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag wiring and clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000...updated 12/02/14 updated 01/07/15

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #49

Oct 252014

Focus

  • miles
Is my air bag for my car on the recall list?

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #48

Oct 252014

Focus

  • miles
Is my air bag for my car on the recall list?

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #47

Oct 252014

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Is my air bag for my car on the recall list?

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #46

Oct 242014

Focus

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was continuously illuminated. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a mechanic for a diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they had informed the contact that the VIN was not included in any recalls regarding the air bag. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Strafford, CT, USA

problem #45

Apr 012011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Just as a preface, I sent this same description of my airbag problem to Ford and they were unwilling to help in any way. I purchased my used 2007 Ford Focus from a beasley Ford dealership in June 2010. Not even one year after I purchased the vehicle in April 2011, I was driving down the road and the airbag light started to flicker. Shortly after, it just stayed on. I noticed that the center dash passenger airbag light, the one that senses a sitting passenger, was also flickering from time to time and would sporadically come on or off. In May 2010, I called beasley Ford and the woman said that it would be $88 to diagnose the airbag light and that my vehicle was not covered under any warranty for this matter. I took my car in for an oil change and decided to spend the $88 dollars to have the airbag light diagnosed. I waited for an hour and forty-five minutes. I was called to the service center. The technician told me that he needed another two hours with my car to diagnose the problem. He had already spent one hour trying to diagnose the problem and he was able to narrow it down to 3-4 possible causes. I was told that it would be another $88 per hour, totaling $167, just to figure out what is wrong with the airbag. I told the service representative that I called and the woman said it was $88 dollars and never told me it was $88 dollars per hour. I was then told that after the diagnosis, I will have to pay for parts, which could be upwards of $617 if the airbag needs to be replaced, plus labor. Frustrated and completely shocked, I came home and checked to see if the airbag was an ongoing problem for other Ford Focus owners. I read about hundreds of other individuals who have had the same issue within the years 2005-2007. One of the main reasons why I am writing is because if this issue hasn't been looked into, I think it should be.

- Wrightsville, PA, USA

problem #44

Oct 192013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Front left tire blew causing to loose control of the car it went off road and slammed into a ditch. Front bumper and quarter panel damage, front axle broke, rims dented, suspension needs to be replaced to name a few. Almost $5000 in damage. Person jerked forward enough to have cuts in the chest/shoulder by the seat belt yet the airbag did not deploy.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #43

Jul 112012

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard extreme heat. Wiring for airbag switch no longer works. Airbag light stays on. Switch on dash no longer works.

- Ruther Glen, VA, USA

problem #42

Jun 162014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
In the news reports show of how at high temperatures these airbags implode for no reason. At 90F traveling 30 mph up the hill the side airbags exploded without the vehicle hitting anything. Car was taken to the local Ford dealer. The local dealer had called Ford Corp. Ford Motor Co didn't want to take responsibility for the repairs as this should be at least covered under lemon regulation or at most $100 deductible from my Ford esp extended plan. They made a lot of excuses&neglected to fix it. They remained indifferent. I tried to call Ford's customer service manager for the West territory. The person would not fix the concern nor give authorization to the local Ford dealer. I left several voice mails at 321-435-1206 with no responses. There has been a lot of complaints. Here's one example www.wptv.com/money/consumer/BMW-Chrysler-Ford-Honda-Mazda-Nissan-and-Toyota-airbag-recall-expands-to-seven-car-companies. other examples were articles of how car companies don't want to recall these airbag issues because it has costly repairs. The 2008 Ford Focus had airbag problems. I would like for this to be looked at. It seems like Ford has given the local dealer a hard time&doesn't want to take responsibility with what they had sold. For privacy reasons as this may become published I'm withholding personally identifiable information. If you would like to contact me directly NHTSA we can review this...updated 09-15-14

- Mt Prospect, IL, USA

problem #41

May 012014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
Air bag warning light intermittently appears and fails to extinguish at startup. Vehicle purchased from bell Ford in phoenix AZ. Had battery & alternator fail on freeway in phoenix prior to 2012 yet after 2010. Same vehicle required new battery and alternator at pep boys pasadena Texas approx. 2011-2012 and multiple battery changes in 2014. Latest news is that negative battery cable shows corrosion near terminal. See also date complaint filed: 05/27/2014 component(s): Electrical system, exterior lighting, vehicle speed control date of incident: 08/24/2013 NHTSA id number: 10594425 ref. Heavier gauge cable on 2008 than 2007, P/N 14300A,14300B (mfr.)

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #40

Feb 282013

Focus

  • 170,000 miles
I was hit in a head-on collision by another car on Feb. 28, 2013. The car was totaled, but the air bag failed to deploy. I reported the problem to Ford and after requesting that I send them pictures of the car, they concluded that they were not responsible for my injuries. I had previously owned several Ford vehicles, and convinced my daughter that it was a good decision to purchase a brand new Ford. Unfortunately, she was disappointed because there were problems with the vehicle from the time she got it. The cd player broke while it was under warranty, but they told her at the dealership the $750 cd player would be covered under the warranty, but she'd have to pay $150. For the labor. The airbag light on the passenger rarely lit up when someone was in the passenger seat, but they told me it was fine. Just like some of the other reports I've heard, it had started making strange noises long before the accident, but we were unable to find out what the cause was. Before the car was 5 years old, I had replaced the alternator, shocks, A/C compressor, and I can't say how many times I had to replace the brakes.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #39

Apr 272014

Focus

  • 157,000 miles
My car was hit head on, the passenger side seat felled to hold and all the slack came loose causing the passenger to hit the dash. The air bags felled to deploy. The passenger could have been really hurt or worse, could have went through the wind shield. Contacted Ford motor and would get a written response in six weeks. Received a phone call a few days later telling me to work with my insurance company to get it repaired. I asked to be compensated for driving this car for seven years with an defected seat belt with I purchased new. Ford showed no interest in this issue.

- Cement City, MI, USA

problem #38

Apr 022014

Focus

  • 94,000 miles
My car was in a single vehicle accident as we hit a power pole head on going at least 50 mph. I wasn't the driver. At impact both the driver and myself had our heads crash into the dashboard. The driver smashed his head into the steering wheel and I hit the area above the glove box. My head also hit the passenger door. The car caught on fire and burned completely to the ground. My concerns are that with an accident of that magnitude, not a single airbag deployed in the car. All 4 passengers received multiple severe injuries. I'm aware that in some situations air bags can make things worse, but in this case I'm sure that the airbags should have deployed and would have been better than us violently slamming our heads and faces onto the dashboard and steering wheel. I'm also interested in seeing why the seat belts didn't constrict us from moving that far forward.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #37

Feb 092014

Focus

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle while traveling approximately 50 mph. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck, head, and spinal injuries. A police report was not filed of the incident. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Boston, TX, USA

problem #36

Jan 072014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 45 mph, the driver's seat air bag erroneously deployed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. Updated 02/27/14

- Elverta, CA, USA

problem #35

Dec 162013

Focus

  • 114,659 miles
Monitor failed and clock spring in steering column lost connectivity causing air bag system to no longer operate. Repairs to make system operable again resulted in charges of over $900. No accident was involved to cause the failure. Parts related to safety that should have lasted as long as the car was operable failed resulting in expensive repair costs.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #34

Oct 302013

Focus

  • 60,000 miles
The air bag light stays on all the time. Moving the steering wheel in and out makes it turn off, so I suspect the steering wheel airbag has a bad connection. Searching online, it sounds like the clock spring goes bad.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?