Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford changed a lot of things for its 3rd generation, just none of them were a good idea.

The transmission tends to hesitate and jerk when accelerating. The new electronically-driven power steering can fail suddenly and without warning. Even Ford's SYNC can be a headache. Actually, scratch that last one --- it's always been a headache.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,373 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Focus drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 11 of 25)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #289

Apr 132015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles


Car would not start, would not go into gear. Clutch has been replaced twice. Car shuttering on acceleration in low gears and hesitates when changing gears and sometimes lurches.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #288

Feb 262015


  • 28,643 miles
While driving 40 mph behind a pickup truck, I came over the top of a hill and down to bottom where road is flat and was able to pass the truck. I slowed down to 30 mph when attempting to make the pass (I had my foot off gas and brake both). I could start the pass without pushing on gas at this time. I was beside the truck when I started pushing on gas to speed up then instead of up shifting, the rpms went up and acted like I was in neutral. I kept letting off gas and slowly pushing on gas. The truck ended up stopping in the road behind me. I almost had to stop with foot off gas till the transmission caught and I was fine the rest of the way home. This was not the first time it happened but this was the first time that it affected another driver and could have caused an accident. Luckily for me, the driver stopped and gave me the room to slow way down. Reading in the book from car says when foot of gas it shuts gas flow of for fuel economy. Saving money on gas is not worth getting in an accident. It looks like the torque converter clutch did not unlock to allow fuel to flow. I have only got 28,643 miles on this Ford Focus and I am not happy with this problem.

- Frazeysburg, OH, USA

problem #287

Dec 062013


  • 10,194 miles
At 10K miles I took my car into dealer to have service and ask about continued issues with shuttering and jerking of transmission. I was given a piece of paper from Ford stating this was a known issue with the transmissions. The dealer told me there was nothing they could do. This was not disclosed to me when I purchased the car and was told it was an issue with "break in period" and would go away; it did not, worsened. At 20K I went to a different Ford dealer for my service as the issue continued to get worse. At low speeds or coast into acceleration the car would jerk violently at times. A known seal leak that had damaged the clutch was found. I was told this was probably an issue from time-of-purchase since I there were signs of long continued leaking and clutch wear. At 30K I went to a different Ford service and asked to go to have my transmission looked at again as I felt unsafe. The car will need a 2nd new clutch replacement. However... the parts are on backorder from Ford and won't be available for 12 weeks!! that's 3 months waiting to repair a new car under warranty!!! I absolutely hate to drive the car because I never know when it is going to bolt forward or slip and not accelerate when the need is urgent. I have spoken to many many other Focus owners who have similar nightmares, out of pocket costs for rentals during service and lost daysâ¿¿ work for service repair. I skimped and saved to pay cash for this car and it is heartbreaking to be told I have no recourse. Please please please... have someone look into this safety issue and lemon of model transmission. Thank you! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #286

Apr 072015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 24,300 miles


Transmission shudders & make a grinding sounds & sometimes jumps forward.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #285

Apr 012015


  • 71,200 miles
Upon entering the highway and merging into the passing lane to pass a semi truck, car lost all transmission gears and entered "transmission fault mode" resembling a neutral transmission selection. The car immediately decelerated towards a closely following semi truck in the fast lane. This has occurred to me, a few months prior, at an intersection (from a stop) in which I had to place the transmission in park-then back to drive, which seemed to calibrate the computer in selecting a gear (quite harshly I might add) and allowed me to travel in transmission fault mode until I reached home. In this instance on the highway, I attempted placing the transmission in neutral then back to drive, which once again appeared to allow my transmission to roughly select a gear at a decelerating highway speed and slowly remove my car out of the passing lane out of the way of fast-moving traffic. Upon leaving the highway, I was stopped at a stop sign and learned that I had lost all gears once again. After rolling some many feet, it engaged into gear and slammed through multiple gears until I arrived at the car dealership, at which I had purchased the car. I later found that the car had lost reverse capabilities as well. The dealership subsequently (4/3/15) replaced the transmission control module (tcm) on the car for the second time and updated the software. After receiving the car, the same situation occurred on the highway on 4/6/15. Now I am awaiting the dealership's course of action. Am told warranty will only cover the clutch and tcm. Transmission has been defective since I purchased the vehicle. Have spoke to Ford customer service representatives and have been told that the two extended warranties are all they are willing to provide for transmission related issues. I fear driving this car, as I have now been placed in three separate incidents which put myself in immediate danger.

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #284

Sep 142014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 16,600 miles
I was in heavy stop and go traffic. Every time I would start to go the car would shudder, buck and stumble. It actually stalled in traffic. I continued to stumble, shudder and buck shifting gears until I got to free flowing traffic. I had been to dealer several times prior to reprogram the transmission but it never fixed the problem. The car got so bad in October 2014 that Ford authorized the dealer to replace the dual clutch unit to the transmission. That temporarily cured the problem. The car has since started to shift rough, shudder and stumble in slow traffic. The dealer is documenting the dual clutch unit is failing again. Ford refuses to replace the new dual clutch unit at this writing. The car currently has 20,800 miles on the odometer 4/2015.

- Monrovia, CA, USA

problem #283

Feb 022015


  • 24,000 miles


When turning car sometimes hesitates when gas is pushed, could cause accident when there is oncoming traffic. Automatic transmission (or dry clutch) also grinds loudly often, and car jerks and shudders when shifting. Been to dealer twice for repair, transmission replaced once. Still messed up and dangerous.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #282

Apr 022015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
After having the transmission checked for leaks yesterday at rizza Ford, they told me a new clutch assembly was ordered but the vehicle was safe to drive until then. On 355 this morning, the transmission slipped and I was unable to drive the vehicle. I can't get the car in reverse and can only drive forward at a low rate of speed. There are issues with this make/model's transmission nationwide.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #281

May 192014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
I own a 2013 Ford Focus. I haven't had the car a week and I already feel a grinding/shuddering in the transmission. It also has a hard time shifting at low speeds. I've taken the car to the shop and Ford employees keep telling me its normal and nothing is wrong. Ford needs to recall this car!

- Jacksonville , IL, USA

problem #280

Mar 022015


  • 18,860 miles
Bought on 2/23/15 and reported problem with car hesitating/shuttering at start of moving and at stopping. Set up appointment. Was told they could find nothing wrong and suggest to me I was under warranty not to worry. A week later it is now shifting hard from 1st to 2nd. I found a letter from Ford to prev. Owner about this exact problem I'm now describing. Recall this vehicle B4 someone dies.

- Pricedale, PA, USA

problem #279

Feb 182015


  • 15,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving at various speeds, the engine stalled and the check transmission warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 6/11/15

- Iron Belt, WI, USA

problem #278

Feb 142015


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle jerked and the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the input shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V495000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Dunn, NC, USA

problem #277

Sep 102013


  • miles
Pulling from red lights/stop signs is very dangerous due to the transmission stalling, shuttering, grinding. Very easily to get into accidents because stalling in transmission. Please recall this vehicle a lot of families are not safe in this vehicle.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #276

Aug 012014


  • 15,000 miles
Car will not shift, sputters, stalls, jerks. Has been to dealer 4 times with no results.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #275

Jun 152013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 4,672 miles
Purchased the 2013 Ford Focus on 02/25/2013 with 5 miles. On 6/15/13, I went to the dealership after tsb 13-4-5 was released and presented it to the dealership. The dealership said that it was normal shifting and that there was nothing that they could do to fix the issue. January 2014, I took it back to the dealership for the same issue that I complained about in June, and they said what I was experience was the transmission clutch shudder and Ford is well aware of the issue and how to repair it. That was repair #1. over the next eight months, I had multiple issues but was told I would have to leave the vehicle for multiple days before the vehicle could be diagnosed for repair. I went for a second option and got the vehicle repaired on 9/24/24. Repair #2. repair #3 was made 11/4/14. Repair #4 was made on 1/10/15 and the issue is still ongoing. When speaking with Ford about the situation at hand and the issues that I was having, I was told by a senior regional manager that one resolution Ford could recommend is to trade in the vehicle. There have been multiple times were the Focus has jumped, stalled, chattered and loud grinding coming from the transmission. The same senior regional manager also told me that if they were to repurchase the Focus, that I would end up paying money to Ford for the usage!! she also said that I will never qualify for a lemon due to the first "repair" that was made exceeded what Ford would allow according to the state" Ford needs to own up for the issues they have caused the consumer and producing an unsafe and unreliable vehicle. The suspension issue is that there is a popping in the front end. Due to the popping, they have replaced top and bottom strut bearings on one side then the other side. The problem is still occurring and at this point they have replaced both strut towers, including new bushings/bearings.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #274

Jan 012015


  • 10,000 miles
For a number of months the vehicle transmission shudders, lags, and acts intermittently lurching. Very dangerous. When applying gas, one never knows if the vehicle will go forward smoothly, or instead lurch or shudder potentially causing to be rear-ended by someone or hit because the vehicle doesn't accelerate to queue. All accompanied by a loud grinding sound. A piece of junk!

- Harrison Township, MI, USA

problem #273

Feb 142015


  • 37,000 miles
Pulling from red lights/stop signs is very dangerous due to the transmission stalling, shuttering, grinding, etc. I have owned the car for 2 weeks and I am beyond mad that I traded a great truck for something I am afraid to drive.

- Portland , TN, USA

problem #272

Jan 012015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
The 2013 Ford Focus has an ongoing safety concern regarding the transmission. This is a known problem, as there is a plethora of similar complaints online. The transmission jerks/shutters/jumps/vibrates etc. When shifting, mostly between neutral and gears 1 through 3. this is most prevalent when starting from a stop, or any low speed/coasting situations. This is a huge safety concern which Ford needs to address. I commute in stop and go traffic every day, and I never know when the card is just going to suddenly jerk forward, quickly accelerate, or not accelerate at all. This could easily lead to causing accidents, or not being able to avoid accidents, as I feel like I have little to no control over the car at low speeds. This is a safety concern I have every single day I drive the car - it's not a once-in-A-while incident, it's all the time. Ford should really fix this problem before people have catastrophic failures (if they haven't already) from this transmission failing, causing serious personal and property damage, accidents, and possible death.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #271

Jun 172013


  • 5,000 miles
This vehicle is horrible. Bought it brand new in April of 2013 and before the year was up it was in the shop 3 times (been in there 2 more times since then) for transmission grinding, shaking, stuttering, bogging down and stalling. Ford tries to say this is "normal" for this dual system transmission. There is not anything "normal" about almost getting run over on a daily basis because the lower gear shifting is faulty. I guess Ford is waiting on someone to die before recalling this piece of junk. I should not have to worry about a brand new car this way and deal with the constant frustration and embarrassment this car is casing me, not to mention the money Ford gets every month from me. I can't believe I am paying them to drive this lemon. They need to own up to this bad performing car and recall it now.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #270

Feb 032015


  • 42,400 miles
Transmission is causing car to hesitate when giving it gas witch making it pretty scaring turning at open intersections and just driving it starts vibrations bad also its like it puts on brakes be driving and car slow down as if like some one was gearing down does all on its on!! needs fixing the proper way be for some one it's hurt or killed!!!

- Dunn, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?