Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford changed a lot of things for its 3rd generation, just none of them were a good idea.

The transmission tends to hesitate and jerk when accelerating. The new electronically-driven power steering can fail suddenly and without warning. Even Ford's SYNC can be a headache. Actually, scratch that last one --- it's always been a headache.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,273 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Focus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #144

Sep 012016


  • miles


Tcm updated 3 times die to cel. 4th car wouldn't start or even engine turn over. Towed to dealer, after 9 days new tcm placed in car. Back at dealer for another 7 days. Car driving sluggish and only getting 20mpg. Ford dealer claims nothing wrong. Car feels like a pickup truck.

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #143

Sep 122016

Focus 4-cyl

  • 50,323 miles
Car was in motion in rush hour highway traffic at speed of 55 mph when engine went to neutral revving and would not move. Almost rear ended because of this. Car would show drive on the lcd panel but be in park. You could not move the shifter either. I had just left (5 minutes) an authorized Ford service dealer after having my car towed there from a previous occurrence and explained to the service people the exact issue as above but they said there was no issue and said my Focus was fine well obviously it is not and my understanding is that this has been a common complaint for this engine. To be driving at highway speeds and your coming to a stop is very dangerous thankfully I or my family was not harmed just mentally shaken. Please investigate this issue as it looks as if Ford is ignoring the problem. Thank you.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #142

Jul 182016


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. The contact stated that after vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 15V813000 (electrical system) and while driving at 35 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle hesitated before moving forward. In addition, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #141

Jul 272016


  • 40,000 miles


When accelerating from first to second gear the car will shudder like it wants to stall. It seems to happen the most when there is any kind of extra weight in the car, when accelerating from a stop, and when going uphill. It will be fine for a while then all of a sudden it will do this every time I try to accelerate. The car only has 52,000 miles on it and definitely shouldn't have this kind of a problem

- Pawcatuck, CT, USA

problem #140

Jul 092016


  • miles
On October 6, 2012 I purchased this new automobile. February 27, 2013, the auto was taken to a local dealer. There seemed to be a shuddering/dragging when the gas pedal was applied from a complete stop. An inspection was done and no problem was found (it was happening sporadically). After taking it in a few more times they still could not find a problem. August 4, 2014 I took car a dealer 110 miles away. After describing what was happening, the mechanic told me it was probably the clutch was not engaging. They repaired it and it seemed to be driving much better. By mid 2015, the car started shuddering again, so on November 11, 2015, since I knew what was the probable problem was I took the car to a local dealer and told them what the other dealer had done. They verified the problem and had the car for several days while parts were ordered and a new clutch was installed. They told me the car was leaking oil and they would order the necessary parts (new clutch). The car was brought in again on 12/8/15 and left several days. They again ordered parts and replaced defective ones with other parts. On 1/18/16 the car had to be towed to the dealer because all the oil had leaked out of the car. The car would not move and there was a computer message stating there was a problem with the transmission. Again the car was at the dealer for several days while parts were ordered and installed. On 2/16/16 the car again was brought into the dealer. This time extensive work was done on the car. Three engines were ordered and another clutch was installed. I received my car back the week of April 5 (6 weeks later). On 7/11/16, the car had to be towed to the dealer (50+ miles away) because the computer message read transmission hot stop car immediately. Again another clutch was put in with other parts due to the clutch breaking. My car was at the dealer for another 6 days.

- Jordan, AR, USA

problem #139

Jul 082016


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While the vehicle was merging into traffic, the vehicle failed to accelerate for approximately ten seconds. The vehicle was diagnosed and the transmission and power control module were replaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #138

Dec 312015


  • 30,000 miles


2012 hatchback Ford Focus automatic the vehicle stalls whenever accelerated. It feels as if the computer sends the signal to maintain the speed or speed up but the transmission can not keep up with it, therefore it stalls. It does it when I'm driving on the city street and on the highway, the speed does not relate to when it occurs. In order words, if I am driving at a constant speed for a lapse of time it will still stall and if I need to speed up, for example when making a turn onto a street it will stall or when making a lane change.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #137

Sep 012015


  • miles
Engine light comes on, car will not back up, driving car will hesitate going forward, and sometimes as driving hesitates to change gears. Took to Ford three times including a free receiving recall letter. Had to buy a battery for them to check car! no problem starting ever! idling car will cause car to hesitate going while driving. Recall was for a part for transmission, and asoftware update program 15B22

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #136

May 012016


  • 68,000 miles
The car shudders when taking off from a stop sign or light. This is ridiculous!

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #135

Nov 022015


  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle began to vibrate. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate and lost power. The check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module and clutches in the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to another dealer, but was not diagnosed or replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Black Wood, ID, USA

problem #134

Oct 172015


  • 40,000 miles


I started having transmission problems in 2014, Ford validated the problem and put a part on order in may of 2015. In October of 2015 the part was scheduled to be put in but they ran out of parts so the appointment was postponed. A week or so later the transmission issue caused an accident. The transmission stalled/jerking as I was making a left hand turn and my son and myself were struck by an oncoming vehicle. After numerous attempts to have the vehicle fixed followning the accident, we voluntarily surrendered the vehicle to Ford credit. The vehicle is not safe.

- Weaverville, NC, USA

problem #133

Apr 102016


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated. In addition, the engine rpms fluctuated and there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred on two occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it diagnosed that the tcm and PCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 15V813000 (electrical system) however the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 86,000.

- Mariposa, CA, USA

problem #132

Mar 192016


  • 10,000 miles
Transmission does not shift into gears as it should, no power going up hill.sounds like motor going to fall out when you park.these happens several times and at different places

- Cambridge, OH, USA

problem #131

Mar 012016


  • 51,000 miles
Engine will stop running intermittently while driving on city streets or while turning off of a highway. Also, occasionally will die at a stop light. Vehicle has a rough and erratic idle while stopped at a traffic light. Sometimes idling so low as to almost die. Other times idling at 1400 or 1500 rpms

- Belle Isle, FL, USA

problem #130

Mar 142016


  • 57,600 miles
I have a 2013 Focus and on 3/14/16 on my way home on the freeway, my oil & battery light started flickering on and off at the same time and as it did the car was stalling out. I put my 4-way flashers on, slowed down and moved to the right lane as a safety measure. After another few miles both lights came on and stayed on and the car shut down. I pulled over to the berm, waited a few minutes, tried starting, it started and drove home with no issues. I drove to work the next day with no issues. On the way home things started happening again, the car shut down, but this time after waiting a few minutes the car never started. I had it towed to the dealer and they found that a wiring harness was up against the throttle body and wore through the protective insulating tape, then the wires causing the problem. Also, in speaking to the mechanic he said that the bracket the harness was using to keep in place was causing it to be up against the throttle body so he unclipped the bracket. I'm going to call the Ford customer service center to discuss. Another issue was that the "book" said it would take 3 hours, but only took 2. and yes they tried to charge me for the 3. interesting at $125/ hour, that would be $250/ hour they're making while the mechanic starts on the next car! unbelievable.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #129

Feb 012016


  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle staled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the oil needed to be changed. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V813000 (electrical system) and 14V495000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Groveport, OH, USA

problem #128

Dec 012015


  • miles
When I stop at stop lights the engine vibrates and stops when I come to a stop at times. Also the engine vibrates when I continue to drive and also sometimes the engine cuts off while driving. This is really dangerous and can also result in a crash. I just want Ford do a recall and fix everybody's cars so it want be fatality.

- Blue Spring's, MO, USA

problem #127

Jan 152016


  • 136,000 miles
Driving in rush hour traffic on interstate 96 near milford mile marker 175, passing in the left lane about 75 mph the engine died and the engine fault light came on, so I pulled over to the left side shoulder, could not restart, had tow truck take to nearest Ford dealership to troubleshoot, 3 days later was informed that the engine wiring harness had rubbed thru on something and shorted out. The crank position sensor was bad, total repairs $700 for wiring repairs and parts. This car has been dealer maintained since new have all receipts, not covered under warranty.

- Stockbridge, MI, USA

problem #126

Oct 052015


  • 28,000 miles
I am not an expert so have no idea what may be causing the problem. I purchased car in late September 2015. Early on I noticed that when starting from a stop it felt like the engine was going to stall. Very rough running at slow speeds such as in heavy traffic. My driveway is at blind curve of a high speed 4-lane road. To say I am nervous pulling out would be an understatement. I want to move and fast. Since I may not always be able to see what's coming, I have always depended partly on my hearing as I pull out but during cold weather, in addition to rough running engine, the driver's window does not work until the temperature rises (all other windows work fine). Ford dealer in waynesville nc supposedly repaired the problem under warranty before I signed papers on the purchase at waynesville Chevrolet. I believe it was 10/5 before I actually had possession of the car.

- Sylva, NC, USA

problem #125

Jul 132015


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The contact also mentioned that the gear failed to reverse the vehicle intermittently. The contact also stated that while attempting to accelerate, the vehicle hesitated. The failures was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Los Angelos, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?