Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: For the third year in a row, the 3rd generation Focus is experiencing massive transmission problems.

Most notably owners keep complaining about how there's bad hesitation and jerking when starting from a stop. This isn't the result of an old, worn out part. In fact, the average mileage it's reported to us is just over 15k miles.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,035 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Focus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Feb 222016


  • 8,875 miles


We bought a 2014 Focus on March 27, 2015 and drove the Focus without problems until January 2016. On February 22, 2016, the engine oil warning was flashing. Almost all the oil was depleted. It had been less than 5,000 miles since the last oil change, so it was strange. We took our car into kayser Ford the next day. They couldn't find anything suspicious. It was concluded that not enough oil was filled previously. They then filled oil to the max level. On March 10, we checked the oil level after 500 miles since the last change. The oil level was low. We went back to kayser, and they found that the oil level varied. They suspected an oil burning problem. We then made an appointment with an engine specialist and had 2 quarts of oil put in. On March 15, we visited kayser again and had the engine specialist check it. They again felt that not enough oil was filled the last time, and we should bring it back after another 500 miles. The last full oil change was done by kayser on February 23. We made another appointment on March 24, and we then went on a 400 mile trip. After we arrived and checked the oil on March 20, the oil was much lower than the minimum level. Since it was Sunday and we did not want to risk an accident, we added Ford motorcraft 5W20 oil. On March 24, we went back to kayser and the technician said that we had to come back again later because we added oil since the last service. We showed evidence through photos, but he refused to do a detailed diagnosis. He said that they had to report the exact amount of oil consumption lost in order to do more. We had to visit family living about 170 miles away, but we did not feel safe driving that far. We asked kayser Ford to provide us a rental car, but they wouldn't. we made it to our destination, but we had a low amount of oil the next day. We then took it to a nearby Ford dealership for a fill up.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #90

Mar 102016


  • 60,000 miles
The vehicle a 2014 Ford Focus S model was moving at a high rate of speed going down the highway when it stalled out due to the wiring splices going bad causing the vehicle to stall out and stop without warning

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #89

Dec 032015


  • 12,000 miles
At around 12000 miles, noticed unsettling shuddering of transmission going uphill. Had Ford dealer inspect at 14000 miles at which time they reprogrammed the transmission control module and I was told to drive it for 1000 miles to see if that fixed it. It started shuddering again in first gear at 15000 miles. I was told that it needed a clutch, but there was a backorder list for these clutches of 4-6 weeks. I am driving in fear of worse transmission problems on the way that might cause serious damage to property and people. I was never notified of a recall, but on the repair invoice, it was noted "recall #15B22 reprogram transmission control module cause: Fsa reprogram PCM/tcm and perform clutch adaptive learning procedure 997310 w auth code 005479"

- Boulder City, NV, USA

problem #88

Oct 142015


  • 12,000 miles


Bad hesitation/jerking when starting from a stop position I have had my vehicle to the dealership and they have ordered a part back in October 2015 which still has yet to come in, and I was informed today it will be another 6 weeks before it arrives. In the meantime the hesitation and jerking are getting worse than they were initially. It concerns me what else could this unresolved issue be impacting. And what happens if this causes my transmission to go out while I'm driving.

- Middletown, DE, USA

problem #87

Nov 222015


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Focus. While the vehicle was parked, an abnormal sound was heard from the engine and the driver side fog light illuminated independently. In addition, while driving at various speeds, the radio turned on and off independently. The failures recurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed, but the cause of the failures was not found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #86

Jan 202015


  • miles
Takata recall. My complaint is the severe hesitation with my car when taking off. I bought my vehicle 09/20/2013. It is a 2014 Ford Focus. When we first got the vehicle the hesitation was not noticeable at first, but after a few months of driving it, it started doing it. We took it back to Ford and they suppose to have did something to rectify the issue. It was okay for awhile, but now it is doing the hesitation more worst now than it was the first time. It is to the point trying to go up a hilly road takes a minute because the car is not taking off right away. Basically it takes it a few minutes to get in gear. I did not know it was a recall until I visit a Ford dealership; looking at another car. The salesman informed me and then I looked it up on the nhsta website. I never received anything from Ford alerting me of a recall. This issue with the hesitation is really annoying, especially now that it has gotten worse.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #85

Feb 012014


  • miles


I have had problems with my car ever since I bought it brand new. I have taken it back to the dealership so many times but nothing has been done about it. I feel unsafe driving this car.

- Lovington, NM, USA

problem #84

Jan 252016


  • 34,425 miles
Car hesitates and shutters when driven. This is worse at lower speeds or when turning. This happens both on the highway and on city streets. It's been serviced 4 times for this issue, each time the module requires reprogramming, but the problem persists. Recently the check engine soon light had been on. We've been to the dealer and they repaired it, but the engine light has turned on again only 5 days after the last repair. I've checked and the Focus has 5 different active recalls, 2 of them with regards to power train, but this car seems to be excluded from them at this time.

- Boyertown, PA, USA

problem #83

Oct 222015


  • 32,000 miles
I have escaped being hit multiple times with my car doing this. I have a fear I am going to be rear ended or killed because of my car. The car stalls on the road there is something wrong with the transmission our car has been at the dealership for over a month, second time on the transmission jerking and stalling on the road when you would be stoped at a red light then in motion it jerked when you increased your speed, very unsafe to drive and no one is doing nothing about it. Ford can not fix the problem. Should be a national recall.. not japordizing my family life for a car that stalls on the road.

- Vinton, VA, USA

problem #82

Dec 282015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 12,400 miles
The car shudders upon acceleration from a stop; changing gears more like a manual transmission than the automatic transmission that it is. Also, the car began shaking and shuddering during right hand turns. So far, this is an intermittent problem. The acceleration from slow speeds and from a stop is dangerously slow and nearly unresponsive at times.

- Monroe, WA, USA

problem #81

Mar 052015


  • 16,500 miles


Shudder in first to second gear losing power with engine or transmission; loss of speed and shaking and no accerlation from stop to start; loss of power and auto jumps up and down without going anywhere.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #80

Dec 012015


  • miles
Letter from congressman neugebauer on behalf of constituents of the 19th district of Texas re Ford safety issues. The consumer owns a 2014 Ford Focus SE with the optional dps6 power shift transmission. The transmission exhibited a severe, erratic movement, along with shuddering/jerking, with the most severe being while the vehicle was in reverse, park or drive on four different occasions. On two of those occasions, it happened when the consumer was accelerating from a complete stop and the vehicle lurched backwards; once hitting a pedestrian and leaving scratches on the back of the vehicle with a dented license plate. On several occasions, the vehicle accelerated on its own and applying the brake did not slow the vehicle down. Last year, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the consumer had to hit a curb, in order to avoid an accident with another vehicle. The consumer stated the vehicle had numerous transmission and engine leaks where seals had to be replaced. Five days after the vehicle was inspected, the vehicle went into park while in the midst of driving 65 mph/ the vehicle shook, and revved and the rp's were extremely high, then the vehicle started to slow down without any assistance from the consumer. The vehicle came to a complete stop, an error message appeared that said transmission not in park.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #79

Aug 012015


  • miles
Transmission control module is defective. My car judders severely. Failed to get up to speed correct. RPM is 4,500. I have contacted Ford corporate, they have failed to execute. There is a recall on the part but there is 6-8 week back order. I do not feel safe driving my vehicle

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #78

Jul 292015


  • miles
I purchased this vehicle from a reputable dealership in town as a used vehicle but with only 20K miles on it. The dealership refused to let me test drive it on the highway citing dealership rules. Everything seemed to work fine. One week after getting car home it began shuddering and failing to accelerate only to rapidly shift gears once it figured out what it wanted to do. When trying to enter highway the car would run through 4 gears before hitting mph causing horrible and sluggish performance. When finally get up to 55 mph or more, the car shutters so bad it is making other parts fall apart and come the steering and A/C not working properly...I have to go 80 just to get it to reduce slightly. I called up dealer and demanded they repair. Dealer reset transmission to factory defaults which fixed nothing. Took car in 3 more times when finally they admitted it was a clutch issue and put me on a back order list. I waiting 3 months while having to drive an unsafe vehicle but it finally was replaced. To no ones surprise the car performs worse now then it did. Took back to dealer 2 more times, to which I was told the clutch has a 1000 mile break in period. I asked then why didn't anyone say that when I picked it up. Spoke with service manager who keeps trying to tell me they can duplicate the problem...I asked why is it I have the problem 100% of the time I drive it but it never seems to happen when you have it.... I even tried demonstrating but they literally just ignored me and said they didn't hear anything or feel anything...I have reached out to class action lawyers for details on how to sue and get car paid for taken back so I can get a safe car....otherwise I have to drive a known safety hazard.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #77

Jun 202014


  • 80 miles
This problem start since I got the car they told me it was normal but this is the 3 time I almost have an accident on the highway and intersections the car engine stall when that happen the car wont respond this happen all the time if I am driving fast our slow. I already take it to the dealer 6 times to get it fix and the car is getting worse I only have one repair invoice they wont give me anything because they say nothing is wrong with the car they also replace the clutch and restart the transmission a few times.

- Del Rio, TX, USA

problem #76

May 142014


  • 3,000 miles
I purchased the car brand new. It started bogging out dying in slow traffic and in the middle of turns. I have had it in the shop 5 times for same issue nothing was resolved. I have almost gotten in a couple accidents when turning the car dies in the middle of street and I have almost been T boned. I sounds like the engine is going to fall out at times. Sometimes when it starts to die it excelerates and send the car forward at a fast speed. I have only had car 18 month. I am terrified to drive this car!

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #75

Sep 302015


  • 19,000 miles
The vehicle has went into reverse on 3 occasions while the gear stick selector is in the drive position. One incident it went into reverse, striking a pedestrian causing injury. On another it went into reverse while on a freeway, then came to a crawl and stopped. Ford sent out their field service technician and said that an engine crankshaft seal was leaking (in addition to the clutch seals that had been replaced for leakage earlier). The dealer says that these leaks are common and cause the transmission to exhibit erratic behavior, including going into reverse. According to the Ford dispute resolution department, they could find no abnormal codes in the computer of the car - which could be a whole other defect in itself. Ford refuses to provide me paperwork on the technician's report/review of the vehicle and cannot guarantee that it will not happen again, nor will they verify that the fixes are safe. Ford was "unable to duplicate" the transmission going in reverse during their 7 mile test drive. A person at the dealership's service department told me that they try not to drive the cars very far and with a cold transmission so that the issues are not prevalent and cannot be duplicated and they will not have to diagnose anything. They also verified that they have a lot of issues with these vehicles, and with Ford in general trying to authorize repairs. I feel that something as serious as this should not have to be "duplicated" in order to have a fix looked into. I wish we were able to form a petition with the NHTSA to file a formal investigation into the safety practices of Ford and the safety of these particular dps6 transmissions. Search Ford fiesta 2011-2014 and Ford Focus 2012-2014 on the NHTSA - they are all made with the same transmission technology. I have filed a lemon law complaint with my state, who seemed very frustrated with Ford.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #74

Oct 262015


  • 16,500 miles
Car intermittently stalls when the clutch pedal is depressed. This can occur at a stoplight or at freeway speed.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #73

Aug 272014


  • miles
Car jerks and shakes. Especially when taking off or on turning vehicle jerks badly. I understand that is when automatic transmission is trying to shift gears. I have had the clutch replaced once already. This causes a huge danger to me because if I would like to try to make a left turn in front of traffic I never know if my car will go or resist. Sons days are so bad that I just give up driving because it feels as if my car will stall. This is not what you expect a car that you've bought new and paid thousands of dollars on to run like daily. Dealership, today, says it's fine. Initial issues date back to August 2014.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #72

Oct 192015


  • 42,000 miles
The engine overheats for no reason and as a result the car shuts off. Took the car to Ford and was told due to it being a dual clutch transmission there is nothing under the hood to cool the engine down and to just put the hood up for 20 minutes and it is fine. This has happened 3 times now in stop and go traffic.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?