Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.5

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Focus Electric fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Focus Electric:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Focus Electric Owner Comments

problem #10

Oct 292015

Focus Electric

  • 12,225 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle subject to customer satisfaction program 15N03 and 16B02. After two repairs for random loss of motive power, with two replacements of high-voltage wire harness, car continues to display "stop safely now" warning on dash and loss of motive power. Obviously a safety hazard as car has loss power in traffic several times, fortunately without injuries or damge. I am returning vehicle to dealership for third time today for same issue. First repair was in beginning of November, 2015 and second repair was done at the end of April 2016.

- Washington Depot, CT, USA

problem #9

Feb 232016

Focus Electric

  • 25,000 miles
"stop safely now". while driving, power to the car completely stopped multiple times. "stop safely now" message shows on instrument panel. This has happened at least 7 times. The first while driving 65 mph on the freeway in February. Luckily I was able to get out of way of traffic before it came to complete stop. I took it to Ford on 2/24/16 and they stated there was a recall to fix this (I never received notice of recall). They made the repairs and said it was safe to drive. On 4/18/16, the car again completely stopped as I entered an intersection and "stop safely now" message appeared again. A semi-truck behind me came to a skidding stop, a few feet from my bumper. I was very lucky once again to avoid an accident. I took the car to newark Ford again on 4/18/16 and they said they had to upgrade the software. I asked if was safe to drive and they said "absolutely", they don't see any problem with the car. On 4/21, the car again suddenly stopped while driving 50mph. The same message"stop safely now" appeared. Please see attached photos of the last two times this happened. I called Ford corporate office and they said if the mechanics said the car was safe to drive, it was safe to drive. I said I don't feel safe since this keeps happening and they obviously don't know what is wrong. He said if you don't feel safe, you don't have to drive the car. I told him that is not a good solution as I am paying Ford to lease the car and need transportation. He said there is nothing Ford can do, it has to go through the state, Ford is not going to do anything for me. How can I feel safe driving a car that might suddenly stop at any time"? I drive 50 miles each way to work on the freeway. I am extremely scared that this problem is going to cause me to get in a bad accident. Why doesn't Ford accept responsibility for this car and the extremely unsafe issues"

- Martinez, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 162015

Focus Electric

  • 9,500 miles
The vehicle was stationary with no power. The vehicle would not start and displayed a yellow tool wrench that read 'see manual┐ and then would change to a yellow triangle with a red exclamation mark that read 'stop vehicle safely.┐ had the vehicle towed to av Ford and they have been nothing but unhelpful. They state it's water intrusion to the connectors and is not covered under the manufacture warranty and to file a claim with my auto insurance company. They cannot provide any diagnostic testing to conclude their water intrusion to the connector's theory. We had a rainstorm the day before I brought the vehicle in to them. They are using water intrusion damage as a scapegoat to fixing the real issue which is a defect to the powertrain control module. Ford did however provide me a written estimate of repair for $33,160.42. This is absurd and is more than the car is even worth. These cars continue to have this issue despite of the recall they had for this problem. Ford Focus electric vehicles that were not part of the original recall in November 2013 are experiencing the same complete loss of power because the issue has not been fixed.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 222015

Focus Electric

  • 22,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Tuesday, September 22, 2015, while my son was driving on the freeway at 65 mph in the carpool lane, the car suddenly stalled on him and loss all power to the car. A message popped up on the dash in an orange triangle stated "stop safely now". since he was in the carpool lane, he did not have enough time to get the car off to the side. He was stranded in a busy carpool lane and almost got rear end from behind when the car suddenly cut off all power and came to a stop. This has put my son in a great danger situation!!! he could have got rear ended and the stalling of the car could have caused a multi-cars accident in the carpool lane on the freeway. Somehow he managed to able to restart the car after turning the car on, off and opening the driver side door and closing it several time. The car continue to have the same problem on and off for the next couple of days. We finally got the car into Ford dealership September 24, 2015. At the time of this report, Ford dealership has not call me with a cause for the issue. I also noted that there was a recall for a similar issue that was issued from Ford for the electric vehicle for model 2012 to 2014. The serviceman at Ford dealership told me that my VIN number was not on that recall list yet my son still encountered the same issue that was described in the NHTSA investigation report a couple of years ago. I don't think Ford has done enough to correct this dangerous problem.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 062015

Focus Electric

  • 18,000 miles
"stop safely now" warning light came on at ~18K miles, 17 months into ownership, while driving on express way at ~35 mph. Car powered off after coming to a complete stop at next stoplight, was stranded before intersection. Car did power up again and was driveable after opening and closing driver door, waiting several minutes, and turned power off and on.

- Fremont , CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 142015

Focus Electric

  • 7,238 miles
This model has a "sticky" steering wheel that will not always return to the neutral position with out driver assistance and needs to be constantly adjusted to keep the vehicle driving in a straight line. You can actually let go of the steering wheel while going around a gradual curve in the road and the car will follow the curve the whole way without breaking its arch. It also suffers from dangerous "torque steering" which causes the vehicle steering to lose control when you accelerate aggressively. In addition, the electric steering reacts poorly with the regenerative breaking. If you need to break hard, the steering will swerve dangerously and inhibit driver control. I've approached Ford about this and taken to the dealer several times and they say that's just the way the car is. I've talked to other owners of this type of car and not all but a good portion have had similar problems. One man even said he's afraid to drive the car 1. for safety, but 2. because it looks like you're driving drunk because you have to constantly adjust the steering just to keep the car in line - looks like you're swerving. Lastly, the mileage they say you can get from a charge isn't accurate and their app doesn't work in all locations. Neither of which they disclosed before I leased this car. Please check into this as Ford doesn't care. I'm happy to assist your investigation in any way. Thanks!

- Manhattan Beach , CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 232014

Focus Electric

  • 2,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stop safely now error message displayed along with multiple other error messages (tire fault, engine coolant error, rear parking sensor error, etc). Car is brand new and unable to drive.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 232014

Focus Electric

  • 5,000 miles
Three separate times while backing up from parking spaces and while pulling forward, the stop safely now light came on and the car lost all power. I was able to restart and drive normally but have heard of this condition happening while at speed. Car is in dealership for replacement of high voltage wiring harness.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 142014

Focus Electric

  • 3,600 miles
3 miles after leaving the parking lot with my mom and 2 kids in the car the "stop safely now" warning flashed and the car lost power. I found similar complaint 10512459. I had to pull over in the bike lane, turn off the car and restart it until power war restored. Same thing happened next day right after leaving home. Now I am afraid to go out on the highway or on narrow country roads with this car.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 202014

Focus Electric

  • 2,850 miles
Car was in the garage with fully charged. I tried to start car and I got message "safe mode shutdown" on the right screen and "stop safely now" on the left screen. Car lights start blinking and after a while whole car shutdown and disabled. Car is not responding remote key. Back door is locked and can't open. I tried to put back to charged and nothing changed at all. I called Ford road side assistance and taking car to service tomorrow.

- Fremont, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?