Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,032 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Nov 292011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 64,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This van has a bad computer board (PCM) due to rainwater that is allowed to funnel under the hood due to poor design of the hood. It is also possible that the transmission is being affected by this as well. The vehicle just stopped shifting into gear, followed by all sorts of electrical problems. The mechanic said the PCM was full of water and would need to be replaced. There are numerous message boards on the internet discussing this exact same problem with Ford Freestars ranging from 2004-2007 model years. Ford needs to issue a recall on these vans as this causes the engine to stall and this could happen at any time - in the middle of a busy intersection, on the highway, etc. This could have devastating results if it happens at the wrong time. Also, from what I've read on these message boards - this is a repeat problem!!!! once you fix this you will have the same problem in a year or two. NHTSA should do some research outside of formal complaints filed as I'm sure most people do not know the proper route to go. A simple internet search (that would allow you to contact or respond to individual reports) would direct you to hundreds of people with the exact same issue!

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #18

Jul 012008

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Numerous problems with this vehicle. Transmission went out, replaced it and still having original problem. After exiting highway and coming to complete stop, transmission will whine out in 1st gear, will not shift unless you stop accelerating. Alarm system went off and would not stop, lights would not shut off unless you disconnect the battery. Consistent problems with drivers side ventilation system (heat blowing cold, air blowing hot). Airbag warning light on. Pass warranty, to tired to keep putting money into this vehicle.

- Wentzville, MO, USA

problem #17

Sep 152011

Freestar

  • miles
Moisture damage to powertrain control module (computer system). Vehicle would not idle, transmission would not shift, and erratic electronics resulting in multiple warning lights to go on and off. Fortunately, I was in a parking lot, however, this could have resulted in catastrophic failure if I was driving on an interstate. Repair shop stated that they have seen this same problem. I have to have a new computer installed and the vehicle is only 6 years old.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #16

Jul 192011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 85,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Ford Freestar has stop driving.it starts but when I shift into gears the car does nothing. It won't drive or go in reverse. I had a mechanic look at it and they said water got into the PCM. And would cost about $1200 to fix.I have notice many other 2005 Ford Freestars with the same problem. Many have repaired the problem out of pocket because Ford won't pay for the problem.we didn't design the vechile so why is it we have to pay for the problem.I was lucky that I was pulling into my house when my car cut off.but many other stories with the same water on the PCM problem have been on highways or busy streets when their car dies so is Ford waiting for someone or a group of people to die in order to recall this problem and take resposibility and repair it so the consumer don't have to pay with thier money or thier lives.I swear had I known that Ford has ignored serious lifethreating problem like the water on the PCM or transmission problem I would have never gotten a van from Ford or any vehicle from them. Ford clearly stands for found on road dead and soon its not going to be just the vehicle but someone life as well if they drive a Ford.and Ford doesn't give a crap.

- Cutler Bay, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 142011

Freestar

  • miles
Water leakage through the left windshield wiper cowling caused our power train control module to go bad. This repair is costing us almost $1,000 dollars to fix. Upon researching this issue on the internet we have come to realization that this is a very prolific problem with this make and model of van. Just for them to get the part is going to take a month. That shows you just how prolific it is. Ford is not taking responsibility for this faulty cowling that leaks directly on to the PCM even though tens of thousands or more people are having to have this part replaced multiple times costing them thousands of dollars out of their own pockets. There needs to be a government forced recall on these vehicles cause it's apparent that Ford is not going to take responsibility for their faulty equipment design on their own.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 092010

Freestar

  • miles
Failed component #1: 8/9/10 - transmission failed - replaced transmission - $1,732.32, failed component #2: 10/9/10 - remove and replace alternator - $442. Failed on route 95 South ct headed to NJ, battery failed, alternator failed, power surge, power lost, coasted to a safe place off of exit where I was stranded with 2 children late at night. Had to get towed and fixed, stayed over night in seedy part of city. Failed component #3: 11/1/10 - remove and replace alternator - $297.68, failed on route 113 again, power surge and power failed, alternator died, lost power and managed to get home a few miles down the road, had to get towed to shop, new battery failed as well. Had it in the shop for almost 2 weeks total.

- Pepperell, MA, USA

problem #13

Oct 092010

Freestar

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failed component #1: 8/9/10 - transmission failed - replaced transmission - $1,732.32, failed component #2: 10/9/10 - remove and replace alternator - $442. Failed on route 95 South ct headed to NJ, battery failed, alternator failed, power surge, power lost, coasted to a safe place off of exit where I was stranded with 2 children late at night. Had to get towed and fixed, stayed over night in seedy part of city. Failed component #3: 11/1/10 - remove and replace alternator - $297.68, failed on route 113 again, power surge and power failed, alternator died, lost power and managed to get home a few miles down the road, had to get towed to shop, new battery failed as well. Had it in the shop for almost 2 weeks total.

- Pepperell, MA, USA

problem #12

Jan 032011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Freestar sel, while driving down the road the van will stall with no warning. I have pulled the van over to the side of the road and placed the van in neutral and restarted the van. While the van is in neutral the RPM's will go up to around 2000. While placing the van back in drive it seems fine after attempting to drive the van it jerks and after getting up to about 20 mph the van will stall again. I took to the van the Ford dealer ship and they found that there was water in the connection plug for the PCM, the dealer ship cleaned the plug and connection. The dealer ship resealed the connection with silcone, they also sealed the plastic guard that covers the PCM with silcone. So far we have not had any problems yet.

- Cape May, NJ, USA

problem #11

Nov 162010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 47,947 miles
I was driving on hwy 36, approximately 50mph, when my Ford Freestar's engine failed, resulting in loss of all control. I was able to restart the vehicle, but the transmission would not engage.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #10

Oct 212010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestars apparently are subject to a leak that allows water to enter the electircal system during rains and cause shorts and transmission failure. We have experienced this problem three times - the third time, after combing through service bulletins, our dealer discovered a bulletin that precisely described our problem. When the transmission is affected, the car stalls while driving, fails to shift gears (including shifts into reverse) and other times, when stopped, alternately races and slows. The sudden stalls obviously can occur in traffic when a failure could put drivers into danger. Our dealer has repaired the problem by sealing the leak. However, while Ford is well aware of this problem, as indicated by the service bulletin, the company will not reimburse drivers for repair under extended warranties, claiming that it is a "body" and not a mechanical or electrical problem.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #9

Jul 152010

Freestar

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Van stalls at lights. Just cuts off. Mechanic said it has some thing to do with the PCM. Trans has been replaced. But still having problems with that. Rear brake calipers ceased up. This van is a road hazard. Never know what it is going to do or when it is going to fail.

- Henrico Co., VA, USA

problem #8

Apr 042010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestar limited -- vehicle stalls while driving and loses power steering and brakes. Vehicle has had acceleration and revving of engine when idling in neutral, and also sometimes no reverse gear. Sometimes it just fails to start. All of these problems have been attempted to be repaired by two different Ford dealership maintenance departments and another local mechanic. All problems appear to be related to the computer (PCM) and/or transmission. The computer (PCM) has been replaced twice by Ford in the last eight months but the problem persists. Water keeps getting into the PCM compartment and causing havoc. They don't seem to know how to stop it, and the problem keeps repeating itself. Last time, two weeks ago, we had to call 911 when we stopped for a red light on a busy highway. When the light turned green, I stepped on the gas, but the van did not go forward. Cars were now racing past our stopped van, on both sides, at high speed. We were sitting ducks. We called 911 to get police out to stop traffic for fear of being rearended at high speed. Myself, wife and three kids (10,7,2) were stuck there. Good samaratin risked his life and stopped all traffic behind us while I carried kids out of van to safety. Others helped push the van off the road. Van has been at dealership since then for the last two weeks, but they say "can't duplicate the problem" (when they know exactly what it is). I asked them to open computer again to check for water but they refuse -- saying it's too difficult and it can't be in there (even though it has proven to be the problem on numerous previous instances). I reported issue to Ford national "customer care" hotline several times. I have asked them to recall the van for safety issues and to help me. They refuse (citing "out of warranty"). the vehicle has about 42K miles on it now. Problems began spring 2009 (at about 35K miles) when heavy rains happened all year. Many other owners with same dangerous problem.

- Haddonfield, NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 012008

Freestar

  • 50,800 miles
My family and I pulled into the bank to get some money then when we were pulling out across a four lane highway our van acted like it was pulled into nutrual. I coasted it back into parking lot. We called Ford and they said it was not covered under warranty because it had 50,800 miles on it and the warranty ran out at 50,000 miles. I had an independent mechanic fix it. Also it has been up at our local dealer 5 times since 10/1/2009 because it was shuting off in the middle of the raod whne it rained.they changed the computer and said that was what the problem was but it did it again. I was informed the next time it was the trans. Again. It turned out that the fire wall was leeking water on the wiring harnes.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #6

Feb 102010

Freestar

  • 39,500 miles
Purchased a 2005 Ford Freestar March 2009. Has suffered from repeated loss of motive power with the computer often recording "no codes" per the dealer. Has been to the dealer atmultiple times for various supposed repairs including new computer, alternator, etc., but the problem continues. The vehicle shuts off unexpectedly while driving causing a loss of power steering and brake control. This has occurred at least 8 times in the last 12 months and we left the vehicle at the dealer from 9/10/09 through 11/12/09 and again from 11/15/09(?) through 2/5/2010 due to our concerns about the vehicle's safety. On 2/10/2010 an accident occurred where the vehicle lost power, the road turned and the driver was unable to make the turn or brake adequately and hence ran off the road sustaining neck injuries.

- Kingston, NY, USA

problem #5

May 082009

Freestar

  • 160,000 miles
I was driving about 60mph and slowed down to make a left hand turn. Upon completing my left hand turn I started to try to accelerate but the van didn't go any were. I immediately pulled off the side of the road and realized that I had no transmission. I tried all the gears and could not go any were. I had the van towed to my house only to call a dealer and find out that my transmission was going to have to be replaced. I asked how much and found out that the tranny was more then my van was worth. The van sat in my yard for 9 months before I could save enough to replace the tranny. I had no signs or symptoms that the transmission was going out at all. I am glad my family was not in the van with me. This seems to be a routine problem for Ford. I have seen more Ford tech. Bulletins for this model van then any other car of theirs. How is this van considered a family vehicle if it can leave you stranded on the side of the road? looks and sounds like deceptive advertising on Ford part.

- Pitts, GA, USA

problem #4

Oct 012009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 51,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar purchased in 2008. He stated that the vehicle would continue to stall without warning. An independent mechanic confirmed that the computer was damaged. An authorized dealer stated that the computer and entire wiring harness needed to be replaced since the components were wet and the seal was damaged. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer would not take any liability for the failure. The current and failure mileages were under 51,100. Updated 12/9/09 the dealer replaed the wiring harness and computer as the termnal ends of the harness were corroded. The computer was damaged from water. The deaerl stated the upper seal failed on both sides which allowed water to seep in fromt he top cover. Updated 12/10/09

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 082008

Freestar

  • 66,000 miles
Twice our 2005 Ford Freestar experienced water leakage through the cowl grill on the hood. After heavy rain in March 2008, the first of several breakdowns and fix attempts occurred, resulting in 3 months out of service, and replacements of the wiring harness, the PCM computer, several other computers and sensors, and the entire transmission, equaling nearly $5,000 in tow, rental car, and repair bills--some of which the dealership talked my insurance to pay for as a "water damage claim." In between, we've had multiple electrical system problems and breakdowns, and then this past March 2009, also during heavy rain, the car experienced the water damage breakdown. This time the water only ruined the PCM computer, but the dealership refused to honor the repairs that were less than 12 months old and we took it to a private licensed repair technician. He found the technical service bulletin online that described the known water leakage problem in some 2005 Freestar models and did the recommended fix twice. In his opinion and in the geico insurance adjusters opinion, this is a serious problem that Ford needs to address. This time we had no coverage for the damage and were out of a vehicle for two months and out of pocket over $3,000. I've begged Ford's corporate offices to take the vehicle back and just let me out of the financing but they refuse due to the number of miles. Also, the attorney general's lemon law office said there were too many miles. In addition to these problems, in 90,000 miles, I've had to replace the rotors now four times because they are warping dangerously. The pads are ok, but the rotors are continually warping and it costs $800 each time to have the brakes fixed.

- Roxbury, NY, USA

problem #2

Jan 152009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 20,710 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving various speeds, the vehicle does not go into gear and the RPM's go up and down. When driving more than 15 mph, the vehicle begins to jerk. When driving more than 20 mph, the interior lighting illuminates and the vehicle stalls. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop, but they could not locate the cause of the failure after approximately four diagnostic tests. Currently, the vehicle is still at the repair shop. The first three repairs were at the contact's expense, but the failure still persists. The failure mileage was 20,710 and current mileage was 20,986. Updated 05/05/09 updated 05/06/09

- Walla Walla, WA, USA

problem #1

Dec 262006

Freestar

  • miles
When accelerating at about 1800-2000 RPM, the tachometer makes a noise since day one.

- Lewistown, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?